Any Perth Trak Shak Owners with LC Hubs?
Submitted: Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 19:34
Davo
G'day,
We have just bought a 2nd-hand Trak Shak fitted with Mitsubishi Rims.
I drive a T/D 100-series cruiser, and want to convert the
wheels to the same as the cruiser so I can share my spares.
I would like to look at a Trak Shak in
Perth configured with IFS Landcruiser
wheels, and to also check out the "special hubs" which are apparently easily removable.
I think the Trak Shak we bought uses mechanical drum brakes (can't exactly remember, but it does have mechnical brakes); so I'm not sure if this has an impact.
I also eventually want to install a boat loader and an outboard motor mount, so I am chasing photos of these setups. I can't locate decent pictures on the trakshak website
Anyone who can assist with this query; it will be greatly appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Martin- Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 19:49
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 19:49
Hi Dave
Have a mate who has one but at the moment it is back at Track Shak getting fixed but i will ask him if he can help you. Give me your contact details and i will pas them on.
Follow Up By: Davo - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:40
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:40
Martin,
thanks.
email sent per your profile.
Reply By: Marn - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:02
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:02
Bringing costs into account, is it not just easier to carry another spare?
Follow Up By: Davo - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:12
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:12
Well, I saved a little bit on the CT purchase, so I figured having three spares (have a twin wheel carrier on the cruiser), then it gives me an ace-in-the-hole.
I already have an additional spare set of LC
wheels and two brand new tyres, so really am not up for too much. We already have all the other
camping gear, so really, for me personally, it's not too much extra
I'm also doing solar panel research as
well - all costs are within the allocated budget from SWMBO who approved purchase of the CT on
the spot that day :o)
hey - it's fun building the dream CT setup - we're starting a family, and I'd rather spend the money now whilst we can afford it.
Follow Up By: Marn - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 21:10
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 21:10
Yep, the kids do slow you down a bit but once you are set up, the kids dont cost that much (suprisingly). enjoy the first few years when they are portable........
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:42
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:42
I tend to agree with above -
Camping with kids is pretty cheap. Wish I'd bought a CT before they came along. RT camper usually just gets Mum in luxury on her own, while I rough it with the kids in the tent (3.5yo girl and 1.5yo boy). Recent trep to Cape Dommett - Same food costs as staying at home, possibly slighly more beer costs (20c per stubby home brew who cares!), 'bout $95.00 diesel and a bit of wear and tear on the car. 3 days of fun on the coast. Compare with a recent day out at sea world with the family on holidays.....not much change out of $200.00 for the day!
The thing I like about having the same rims on my boat trailers as the Nissan is the tyre rotation. When the tyres start to get down a bit -- still OK for highway use - I put them on the trailers and get a new set for the car. This way the trailer has not got an old perished set on, The car gets less flats(?) due to newer tyres on it, and I still get max life out of the tyres. The 3 spare
wheels all interchangeable is good insurance, although if your camper tyres are the same size as the car tyres but on different style of rims (but still 16" or 17" same as tha car) you could steal the carcuss in the worst case scenario.
Maybe there will be an option come up if you advertise in the right
places or the dealer where someone has one with th LC rims but owns the 'bichi, a swap may be organised.
becoming envious of the CT brigade, Andrew
Follow Up By: Davo - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:34
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:34
I'm not too worried about the costs - as mentioned the life experience you get from
Camping out with warts & all is a good way to educate the youngsters I reckon.
(
well - it worked for me anyway!)
Buying the toys while I can before we have conflicting prioirities is why we're doing all this.
Reply By: STEVE069 - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:08
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:08
Hay Davo,Take a trip down to Martins trailer parts, 41 Forsyth Street in O'Connor or have a look here.
www.trailerparts.net.au
hope this helps.
Follow Up By: Davo - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:16
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 20:16
Steve,
thanks for
the tip - I have already been down there today to get a quote for the hubs, axle replacement.
I need to see the Trak Shak " factory set-up" before pulling the trigger on the Martin's Trailr Parts Option (Cheaper than what TS quoted btw)
Besides, Martin's trailer parts don't do the boat loader & outboard bracket ;o)
Thanks for the advice though.
Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 00:37
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 00:37
One thing to consider, if the diameter of the toyota
wheels are greater than the size of the old ones, the tent area won't reach the groung properly unless you adjust the trailer height (via springs or reducing body lift if it has one)..
Follow Up By: Davo - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:07
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:07
Thanks.
I didn't think of this but wouldn't have thought that it was a problem.
I'll phone Trak Shak [Mark] today to investigate; although he is busy getting ready for another 4WD show somewhere.....