MP3
Submitted: Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 22:33
Member - Chris R (NSW)
I'm considering buying a new radio complete with USB port for MP3 purposes. Would simply pull out the existing Toyota radio-cassette and have a new unit installed.
I am aware of various adapters that will make radio-cassettes play MP3 but really wanted the simplicity of one unit, no wires, no clutter.
Noticed that ebay lists USB MP3 radio units for $140-$450 and that retail outlets seem to start at about $300 plus installation.
Anyone got experience with low cost radio-CD-MP3-USB units?
Reply By: Busy Bee - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 22:57
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 22:57
In June I bought a Pioneer MP3/CD (no USB) from Autobarn under $200 and played MP3 CDs to
Bamaga and back and it went brilliantly. I didn't expect it to play under all road conditions but it did. Ain't technology grand!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:16
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:16
few weeks ago I bought an MP3 player tht plays DVD's as
well as MP3's for $350, it was Sony from JB Hifi...
you can get close to 1000 songs (depending on length, type, sample rate etc) on a DVD :)
Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:18
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:18
Hi Chris,
Did similar, bought an Alpine CD/ MP3 / Radio to replace normal Troppy installed fare. Brilliant even over the worse corrugations. Use an Ipod /Ipac interface to the unit to play all your ripped / legit tunes. Great way to go, if you are into music.
Ian@Mt Dare
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:25
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:25
Thanks Ian
How's the Alpine am/fm performance out there? Equal to Troopie standard fare?? Concerned to at least get the same performance from the radio.
Oh - and nice reply to the critical traveller recently
Follow Up By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:54
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:54
Hi Chris,
Where we get radio coverage, the radio is perfect. Mostly we have to get the ABC through HF to get any kind of news when travelling. Then again Pat and I talk when we travel and don't have a great need to be entertained.
Ian@Mt Dare
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:13
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:13
The alpine I hve in the GQ is great too.. sounds good, and is all quality.. shame I couldnt get a deal thru mate on them at the time, would have gone with alpine gain
Reply By: Henz - Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:48
Monday, Jul 24, 2006 at 23:48
I recently bought a Clarion unit (755USB model I think) and its great - Cost about $260 and has a USB connection on the front pannel (also plays cd/ mp3/ wma/ mp3pro FILES). Also has a remote (which has been far more handy than I thought it would be).
The thing is great - has not missed a beat on any tracks - corrugations and I love the flexibility of changing my 'package' of songs for each trip. The only issue I had was using an older USB1.1 memory stick - couldn't be read fast enough and had some dropout periods during song playback, particulalry at higher Kbps. Problem solved by using only USB 2.0 compatable memory sticks. Also looked at JVC model with USB port but this was an earlier release (~ 04' and about $80 more).
Henry
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:13
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:13
I've purchased from Luna Imports on Ebay several times, they are in the US but great to deal with.
They have a CD player that also takes USB and as
well SD memory cards (which would be even better) $US99
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:15
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:15
Forgot to put the link in
auction number 7628424060
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:22
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:22
Thanks Traveller and all earliers. Will check out Luna.
Just a small nagging question re buying radios from unknown sources. Do I stand to lose any radio performance(ie reception) or are all am/fm radios about the same in terms of performance?
Heard also that radios not intended for our market can give tuning problems???
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:26
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:26
Some may 'step' at a different spacing when scanning/step tuning across the bands as not all countries have their radio frequencies for radio stations at the same spacing as ours.
Worst case is that you have to use the fine tune to get the station and then memorise the location with a preset button.
Most would be ok these days I'd reckon.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:02
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:02
HI Traveller2
Yes, I suspect it's units from, or made for, USA. Not sure. As resident techno-neanderthal... will try to get something with assurances of aussie compatability
Best regards
Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:43
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:43
Some units use the headphone jacks rather than the USB to connect the player to the radio.ie, no adaptor, just a headphone jack connector. I can't see any reason why this wouldn't work just as
well as a wire connection and its cheaper. This is available on some really cheap units as
well as high end models. Repco have one for abour $40.00. Salesperson in Alice told me this unit works really
well if used with reasonable speakers. Didn't buy one, but might be worth a look. We use an adaptor that goes from headphone jack on the mp3 player into the dash tape deck. Works very
well. Also have a FM connector but found the headphone jack connection to the tape deck works better. If you use this approach, all the shuffle/track controls etc have to be done on the mp3 player whereas many of the expensive USB connecting models give you control over the mp3 player from the controls on your car audio system with track info reading out on the info display of the car system. Never worries us as we run the mp3 player on shuffle and just let it do its thing. The element of surprise helps to keep the driver awake.
Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:50
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 08:50
A further thought. Some manufacturer soon is going to wise up that we don't need cd/mp3 players/tapedecks as
well as radios any more in our cars. All we need is a decent radio with an input jack on the front so we can plug our mp3 player into the cars amp and speakers. Should be quite a bit cheaper (and smaller).
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:41
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:41
fewster, what I did with my Troopy - threw the old rooted unit out, replaced with a Pioneer ($180) with Aux-In jack on the front - bought a 20gig Iriver off ebay for around $200 - loaded around 3500 songs and bob's your uncle - don't need any more. Whole exercise cost me less that $500 - you'd pay more for a IPOD alone.
Works a treat.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:43
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 16:43
I should add that iPod tends to over complicate these things with all the attachments - you pay $500+ for the base unit and another $300 for all the gizmo attachments.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:54
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 09:54
Has anybody made a car radio with a docking station for an IPOD yet ? It would be good if there were no wires and the IPOD was always on charge .
Willie .
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:28
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:28
Willie the stereo's that take a USB frive or memory card have bypassed the MP3 player completely.
We used one 1g USB drive for a whole three week trip last month, no cd's, no skipping even when hammering over
sand dunes
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:30
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:30
Hi Willie
That's where Im going with this question really. I'm told that the USB allows playback and charging of the Ipod in one connection. Further down there's a reply noting that Sony is also onto this with another solution with storage in head unit - but out of my price range regretably
Best regards
Reply By: bruce - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:23
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:23
Just bought a Teac CD/MP3 player on Ebay for less than $50 that uses a cassette that goes into the player in the car and plays mp3 through that...at present converting lots of my lp records to mp3...depending on what settings they are converted with depends on how tracks you can get on a cd...one that I have made has 200 tracks on it....have since found out by using a slightly lower setting I can more than double that amount , but it does cause a small loss in sound quality...cheers
Reply By: ed. - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:35
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 10:35
Hi Chris,
Sony have a headunit out that has 1gb of memory in the faceplate.
So you take the faceplate in and hook it up to the PC via USB.
I think they are around the 6-700 mark locally though.
Ed
Follow Up By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:35
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 15:35
Thanks very much for all responses to this
Much appreciated