Turbo Info??
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 19:25
shakey 69
Hi all, Just hoping someone can shed some light on the ya or na on intercoolers?? Im looking at a 2000 4.2 patrol factory turbo but no intercooler,should i be looking at a later model with factory intercooling??What year did this commence???whats the benifts??If any???Can i do an aftermarket conversion??And are they as good??And how much?? the 2000 model im looking at is in great nick with all the goodies bar the cooler!!Ive never owned a deisel so not up to date on all the gear,ect..so hopefully u guys (And Gals)wife made me do it!!!can set me straight!!, Cheers... Shakey..
Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:02
Mate put in intercooler on his, reckoned it made a bit of a difference. If you look at the specs for the intercooled Vs the non intercooled 4.2 it isn't a big difference.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:28
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:28
Hi Shakey,
I have a 2000 4.2Turbo Patrol that has been intercooled with a Safari kit. I have had the intercooler on and off a number of times and in my opinion it doesn't make that much difference to the driveability of the car.
If you are really working it in hot ambient temps then the intercooler will allow you to go that little bit harder for longer before the motor runs hot (which is also common for this model) but other than that I see no discernable advantage of the intercooler. If I had my time again I would spend the cash on a front locker (which I will do anyway but it will take a bit longer now hahaha)
Performance wise, if you want
seat of your pants horsepower you are probably looking at the wrong truck. But they are good and respond
well to enhancements within the boundaries as far as modifying a 4.2 Patrol goes anyway.
Hope this is of some help.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: shakey 69 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:08
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:08
Thanks Trevor for your input on the intercooler,I,ll take your advice as
well and go for the front locker as that was next on the list!! I notice you had the MTQ turbo upgrade done,was it worth it???And what was the gains???Ive been reading some old tests on the conversion and sounds it might be worth it?? Thanks heaps !! Shakey!!!
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:00
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:00
Shakey,
MTQ stage 2 upgrade
well woth it in my opinion. Standard 4.2 turbo runs at 66kw at the rear
wheels (on average)
mine is now running at 88kw last time it was dynoed. I have since put the intercooler back on so maybe a little more than this again now???
My uncle also had his 4.2T Patrol done and his went up to 95kw at the rear
wheels.
To me the upgrade does a lot more than pure HP it changes where and how much power comes on throughout the rev range. It is a different car
Trevor.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:41
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 20:41
GU 4.2 went intercooled in 2003. They apparently have a larger radiator too, plus EGR valve and more anti particle tricking up. I guess it is harder to tune up if you wanted to go that way.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:27
Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:27
From memory, the intercooler EGR valve etc was just enough for Nissan to get a couple more years out of the old girl and still meet emission standards. In factory spec, same kW but 30nm more torque. With just the intercooler and no extra pollution gear, you might gain a little more. I dont know that it would be worth the cash though......I've got a spare in the shed......factory off a 2.8 (same as the 4.2), complete with fan and cowling......haven't got the mounting bars though......
Not sure if I want to sell it or not, bu if your really keen I may be pursuaded.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:07
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:07
simply it will run better with a intercooler (is it worth the $$$ ????) the truck will run cooler for longer when used hard
for my money i would buy the older one as my 2004 td intercooled has nothing like the get up & go my old truck had & ive changed exhurst, retuned, up graded turbo etc
I would look at when/year they changed the injector pump to the new one as it just does not give it low down & with a load you will find you will be riding the clutch i was told by tubo glide
wollongong its the type of pump (to meet New Aust standards) as
mine is certainly geting the klw & others have all agreed to the same problem
& before every one writes about the different diff ratios ive checked that too
Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:18
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:18
I do not have one of these vehicles but I have read that your money is better spent on a turbo and exhaust upgrade, including re-tuning. Most diesel/turbo specialists can do this. The benefits can be substantial.
Once again I refer to 4wd Monthly, there is a common fix to the problem.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:21
Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:21
www.are.com.au <---- lots on Intercoolers.
aftermarket intercoolers always better, like aftermarket tires, turbos, seats, radios, dunny roll holders...