Pajero or Discovery?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 22:49
ThreadID: 36161 Views:7309 Replies:9 FollowUps:16
Hi there all.
I am new to the site and was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice on purchasing a second hand 4 wheel drive. I currently own a NH '92 Pajero on gas but want to purchase a diesel and cant decide between a disco 300tdi and 2.8L Paj.
Any comments on how they stack up against each other? Thanks.

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:19

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 23:19
Lyall,
What a question, personally I would go for the Disco, depends on how much you want to spend and what you want it for. The Disco has it's problems, I suspect it will be in the same bracket as my Rangie, in standard configuration off road I would put my money on the Disco, Paj with IFS is good on the road but not as flash off (Make a note these are my opinions, maybe I should keep them to myself). My Rangie is great fun, once you get past electrical problems and the occasional oil leak, plus the price of the parts and a lot of other 4WD owners TTP (taking the P). I've heard of gearbox problems with the Disco's I suspect this will come down to what year, how much you want to spend, the service record and the history prior to you getting your mitts on it.
We have a Paj owner in the club I belong to it does what they want it to do and it's been super reliable, they're happy personally I don't like IFS, my opinion.
Over to others and good luck with whatever you buy.................
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 185332

Follow Up By: Bill13 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:47

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:47
Martyn,
Iown a 05DiD Pajero. I have been 4x4 driving for 30 years. If I was in WA I would be saying to you " pick an offroad track of your choice and lets see who who can negotiate it. With a little bet on the side." I have owned a Disco and matched against the DiD Pajero it's a heap of bucket of bolts. Try a Pajero and you will see what I mean.
FollowupID: 442260

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:53
Bill,
Thanks for your comments, I was giving my opinion, I've also been driving for 30 years and enjoy my off road adventures. My Rangie to me isn't a "bucket of bolts". I don't wish to challenge you to an off road duel, "not my gig", I've taken my Rangie to some pretty exciting places and pushed the envelope and in some cases I've had to get a bigger one. The rear diff lock made the vehicle just that little bit better. I choose to drive a Range Rover, from what I know and my experiences I'll stick with it. This vehicle was the best $5000 I ever spent. If you will sell me your Paj or swap it or the same sort of money I'll take you up on the offer to drive one. It has oil leaks, the electrics aren't the best, the gearbox isn't a Rolls Royce and the spares aren't cheap, but I'm happy, I have a lot of fun and it's never been on the back of a tow truck.
No offence meant or taken.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 442321

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:01

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:01
Hey Billy boy, anytime mate, i got a series 2 Disco :-))

Dunno if this vid will work but here's a little log we did.

FollowupID: 442354

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:09

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:09
Ooops don't work oh well

But anytime you wanna tackle Whitemans or slippery rock or the Zig Zag let me know ;-))

FollowupID: 442357

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 03:25

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 03:25
What are you going to be doing with this 4x4? touring or taking the kids to school, towing the boat or trailer? mucking around in 4x4 parks?
AnswerID: 185344

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:27

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:27
i own a discovery , have put it alsorts of conditions sand mud and rock , the suspention has much more travel than a pajero especialy when the older models have tortion bar suspention. coil springs al round are the way to go . maintence parts are no more expensive than others if you stay away from the dealers, i have replaced front disc rotors new from repco for $80 each wheel bearings for 65 bucks, oil filter 14 bucks, transmission filter and seal for 18 dolars. i doubt if any one could say the same for a pajero, the pajero has an absolutly shockin gearbox that i have replaced too many times(5 speed) my disco is a 95 model , it has no oil leaks . and i have never done any repairs other than services, i clocked up 30000 last year with out a hick up. the new pajeros have coils in the front but lack the full chassis. disco has been nominated king of the road more times than any other 4x4 to date.
FollowupID: 442616

Reply By: Pajeroman - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 05:41

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 05:41
For what it is worth. The Paj will be more reliable and therefore cheaper to run but the disco will get you more places, but will you get home on the back of a tow truck.
AnswerID: 185346

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 06:20

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 06:20
lol, wait for the bites.......at least you didn't mention all the oil leaks the disco will give him .Oops i think i just did :))))
FollowupID: 442129

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:26

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:26
i fix all 4x4s and they all suffer oil leaks , most are caused by lack of service,( not changing oils on time) and actually using it as a 4x4.dirt gets in breathers and stuffs seals, the solution is simple service your vehicle, change all the oils in the drive train each 40000 except engine , do it every 5000 for diesel to stop soot build up, its harsh on seals. so if you are looking for a second hand 4x4 buy one with service history .. all these people that nock the landrovers for oil leaks can blame it on them selves.(or the cars previos owner) if you have your 4x4 in the mud and water the oils need to be changed more often unles you extend the breathers from the diffs all the way back to the aircleaner in the engine bay.any 4x4 can be a good one if you simply maintain it. surly i cant have the only landrover thats done 150000 with out a sign of oilleaks. and its never ever mist a beat, retreived a lot of other 4x4s but . no mater your comfort level just service it and it wil do you justice.
FollowupID: 442755

Reply By: cookie monster - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:02
ok. i will defend the paj !
ive had my 2.8td lwb for 3 years or so now, with no breakdown problems. just keep up with servicing and all should be good. my only advice is to check out the front suspension thoroughly. as they can wear out. the driveline is very strong, with an excelent rear lsd. there is plenty of aftermarket gear for them(front diff lock, with rear coming soon from arb, low ratio transfer gears etc).
off road they are really quite capable(dispite what other people will tell you!!).
havent had any experience offroad with a disco, so cant coment.
fuel consumption with a rear storage system and slightly larger tyres runs at approx 11l/100 town and 14l/100 highway with camper trailer and fully loaded.
good power without trailer, just enough with trailer.
hope this helps.
check out the 'outer limits' mitsi forum for heaps of info on pajero. Site Link
cookie monster
AnswerID: 185352

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:23

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:23
Hi there cookie monster, have you had any head trouble with yours, friend of mine has just sold her pajero due to doing 3 heads within 250k serviced by the book etc so was not a neglected vehicle, also did very little off road use, it was the 2.8 turbo diesel. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 442131

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:59

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:59
Stephen M,
Interesting. Have heard of vague reports re heads, but never talked to any one who has seen one go. Using the right coolant is the suggested answer by the pajero club.

At 266,000k (1996 model) mine still has the original head. Nothing touched yet on the engine itself except the fuel pump and the usual 100,000k timing belt and injectors/glow plug service. Did have a leaky top tank on the radiator, fixed and still the original radiator.

Cookie Monster, I have a friend with the discovery 300tdi. Good car. But are they the same price for the same year? Little more to maintain, usual rover parts pricing, from what I can work out. Soem one else may be able to confirm costs.
Both cars, being turbo diesel can be slow on initial take off, until the turbo winds up at 1800 rpm. Discovery will be better off road in the extreme conditions, and may have better economy by 5% to 10%.

It comes to personal preference, take both for a good drive. I did look at Discoveries, and our boys tried out the back seat. They hated the slope of the back floor, and the pajero seemed to have a more usable rear cargo area. Ended up going pajero so I could reuse the roof rack, back shelf and long range tank from the 1985 model we had. That and the difference in price saved us a good few thousand $$$.
FollowupID: 442134

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 10:17

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 10:17
Hi there Oldplodder, hope I dont jinxe you now with my comment, glad to see you have had such a good run out of it, it's a lot more enjoyable when you havnt got your hands in your pocket all the time fixing some thing. I must say thats why I like the old hilux, its had a few niggly problems of late the main one being the front axle seal but that has been rectified and a certain sqeak that come and goes from outside some where but other than that has been a good old beast, bit underpowered but hey my pumps only $700 for a full rebuild compared to the thousands people are paying these days to have pumps repaired and good thing is I can pick one up from a farm yard some where in the scrub if it decides to go. I was looking at trucksters patrol but have had to put things on hold for a while so unfortunately will miss out on his was a good looking truck with all the required gear. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 442163

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:44

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:44
Ahhh, rattles and squeaks are some thing else :-)))

Got a few of those. The car that is!
Yep, the pump rebuild cost me $880.00. Mostly seals.
One reason I havn't traded up to something with common rail, cost of repairs.
Plus what happens when the airbag sensors stop working, or the electric thingymigig on the transmission goes. Pajero is bad enough with super select and vacuum control of the front diff engagement.
Electric windows and electric throttles worry me.
Another reason why I may have steared away from the Disco.
I can get a 2.8l engine out of Japan very cheap when I need it.
Gave up on the idea of a 3.2DiD transplant.
Last time I talked to Theo at Birdsville he mentioned that 50% of his work used to be pulling cars out of the Simpson with transmission problems, now it is with the engine management systems (diesel and petrol) gone kaput. They don't seem to climb dunes as well on limp home mode.

Just getting old I suppose. Even the fuel injection system on the MK2 golf GTI in the family is semi mechanical! ( 'K'jetronic I think from memory). Was fiddling with the air sensor the other day. Just a rising disk in the throttle body with a mechanical linkage to the fuel injection system control. Even I can disassemble it and put it together again.

Time will tell. Maybe it is me, trying to keep a car for 10 years or more.
FollowupID: 442211

Reply By: LyalltheCrocodile - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:52

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 07:52
thanks for all that. I've had heaps of problems with my Paj (maybe cos on gas?) but inspite of that love the layout and design of the car. However with our third child just being born the back seat is a bit small (mostly due to its shape) so have lined up a friends disco to compare side by side to see how they go for size. The Paj is great to drive on the road very 'carlike' . We have also purchased an offroad camper trailer and are looking to travel shortly so the extra offroad ability of the disco may come in use but i dont want to trade off the on road aspect too much that we get with the Paj. I dont want to start anything but are disco's as good as a Paj on the road?
AnswerID: 185356

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:36

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 08:36
LyalltheCrocodile

THe exact thing happened to my parents when we where young, we had the 2.4 turbo paj, us kids where getting bigger so dad needed to change looked at getting a disco, test drives all the rest of it etc. But realised that a disco is not that big either, and i might add we had owned three landrovers previously. However push came to shuv and he bought a diesel 80 series for the whole family. Why? Well it could still fit us all in 10 years on. Buy a cruiser or a patrol for the long hall, service it regularly and keep it well, it will last you forever.
FollowupID: 442149

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:09

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:09
The boot space in the Disco is abysmal, not much good for anything other than an overnight stay in a hotel. Have heard many problems about reliability and oil leaks that others have already mentioned.

The new paj is a gun on road, dirt roads and on sand. From what i hear very reliable too. But the 4 wheel independent suspension does limit its low range capabilities.
AnswerID: 185398

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:26
If you're really concerned about low range capabilities, as mentioned earlier ARB have a front airlocker, and are releasing a rear air locker for some of the NM/NP variants.
FollowupID: 442244

Follow Up By: Baldrick - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:30

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:30
The boot space in the Disco just need setting up properly. It is actually bigger than most others, especially with the rear seats flat, just a different shape. With a cargo barrier and shelving it can be quite useful. I used my old Disco on extended self sufficient trips through the Centre.

I don't believe he was asking about the new Paj, but the older 2.8td.
FollowupID: 442303

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:02
NM Pajero (00-02) came with the 2.8L diesel.
FollowupID: 442310

Reply By: Member - Tim - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:36
I think if you are looking at towing anything heavy the Pajero is going to be a better ride. I know the Disco has a better towing capacity but I used to own a 97 and they have a fairly short wheelbase and tend to rock front to back when towing and it can be a fair bit of a pain. I changed to the 99 Paj and have towed quite a bit with it without any problems. The independent front on the Paj holds things together on road better when towing. If you are looking at more recent variants then I think the equation may change as they put a lot of electronic controls on the discos like automatically adjusting swaybars and so on. The very latest ones I think both would be great but that is not where you are looking.

Tim.

AnswerID: 185488

Reply By: Bytemrk - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:57

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:57
G'day Lyall,

You don't mention what sort of budget you have. The 300tdi Disco is a series1... I see plenty of answers comparing a series1 Disco to a 99, or 2000-2001 Paj...

If your looking at a Pajero of that vintage - test drive a DiscoII..( Discos moved to series II in 1999 - TD5 motor) I know more electrics etc... but they are a totally different car to drive that a Disco I .

They are longer and tow better... very comfortable on the road and as far as off road.. I'm with Baz on this one... just try and follow as standard DiscoII with any standard Pajero.

Don't get me wrong the Pajero is a good vehicle too.... but depending on your budget - a series II Disco is worth looking at. ( They are VERY cheap at the moment)

....and for the record.. mine has NEVER failed to get me home in the 140,000k I've driven it..

AnswerID: 185733

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:53

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:53
120,000ks on my Disco and never let me down.

Lyall, if you choose the Pajero then go with the petrol one, if your not getting the later DID (current shape) the older Paj diesels don't tow well, the newer ones are a great tow vehicle.

Baz
FollowupID: 442704

Reply By: LyalltheCrocodile - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:05

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:05
thanks all for the info! well i bit the bullet and decided on a ex-police 2001 2.8 Paj.
has done 100,000 and doesnt look like it's been near a dirt road. i decided the on road handling and reliability overall were more important than a bit of extra off-road ability. not sure on the diso series two seating, but the extra underfloor stored two seats in the Paj will be great for our growing family. the lack of electronics also appeals to me as i attempt most mechanical repairs myself. anyway, looking forward to commenting on its off-road ride and towing ability soon, as soon as we fing the time to hitch up the camper. thanks again all
AnswerID: 186019