79 bench to bucket conversion

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 09:02
ThreadID: 36165 Views:3355 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
G'day all, Has anyone done, or got any info on if it is possible to replace the passenger bench seat in a standard 79 series with the bukcet seat out of a RV 79 ute. Does it bolt straight up, require engineering etc. SWMBO would be much happier!
Not interested in going down the path of SAAS etc.

Any info would be appreciated.
Jack

Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:49

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 11:49
Jack,

I fitted Aerotech to mine but a mate of mine simply took his truck to a good upholstery mob who trimmed the original passenger seat back to a bucket and looks and feels like a factory seat in my opinion. While he was at it they also put slightly deeper side padding to hold the passenger more firmly.

The base mount fitting for the driver and passenger seats are a bit different so simply trying to instal a drivers seat into the passenger side probably won't work.
AnswerID: 185386

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:02
Hi Jack,

The drivers seat changes straight over.

Not so simple on the passengers side. The middle runner has the hole at the front, but not at the back. So you'll have to get a captured nut installed. (They will need to cut a hole because there is no accessibility from below). Secondly, the seatbelt mounts are a problem. The rigid stalk for the middle belt will not hook up to the passenger side lap/sash. So you'll either have to use the floppy stalk or make it rigid with a plastic surround. Also you'll have to get a second captured bolt installed for that seat belt.

This is what I had to do to install Recaros in mine - had the engineering stuff done by Willshires in Adelaide.

phil
AnswerID: 185387

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:06

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:06
G'day Jack,
I've got a standard 80series and replaced the bench seat with a GXL passenger bucket and it bolted straight into the existing holes easy as. I don't see why the 79 would be any different to the RV.
AnswerID: 185389

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 12:10
Well, except for the stuff that Phil G mentioned LOL
FollowupID: 442179

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:03

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 14:03
hehehe
Just glad I got in 4 minutes before you!!!
FollowupID: 442201

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 15:14

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 15:14
I was able on two 75 series, with careful measuring, to drill a hole which 'found' the centre of the captive nut already on the underside of the floor. Don't know whether it is possible on a 79 as the floorpan is different.
FollowupID: 442214

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:57

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:57
traveller2,
I looked hard for any sign of that on the 79series - no sign - reckon they've changed things a bit on the later standard models. Willshires drilled a round hole and fed a plate and nut underneath.
FollowupID: 442335

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:07

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:07
The other way to do it is run a bar between the existing mount and the centre seat belt mount (the one in the centre of the cushion on the 1 1/2 seat) and then use that to provide a corner mount for the single seat. You could also pick up the other seat belt mount as well.
FollowupID: 442356

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:14

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:14
My 78 series troopie gave all the probs as stated by Phil - no rear runner hole. No alternative seat belt hole. I had hoped there would be a captive nut but drilled exactly where it should be felt around with a probe - and voila! nothing.

If you want the risk you could fit new heavy mounting plate (12cm!!) on the floor plate using the existing and no longer used seat runner anchor point, the old seat belt anchor point and the left hand rear seat runner anchor point. This plate is 12 cm thick so it can be tapped to take the new seat belt anchor point and the new seat runner anchor point. This would raise the seat rear by 12cm.

I have an idea seat converters do this conversion using an above floor plate.

AnswerID: 185445

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:03

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:03
The other option is to buy the base that is sold by Aerotech for the 78/79series. Saw one in a shop a few years ago for a bit under $200. It used 5x40mm steel flat to make up an adapter that ran between the rear holes, and the seat belt mount came off that.
AnswerID: 185497

Follow Up By: Jack79TD - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 09:59

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 09:59
Thanks for all your replies.
Phill, I am interested in the Goughs water tanks that you have listed under your rig profile. Where can i find more info on it?

Jack
FollowupID: 442383

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:30

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:30
Hi Jack,

They would be the best undertray tank going around, being very thick plastic, have built in baffles, are simply attached to the undertray with angle iron and captured nuts, so no straps are required. Three outlets, plus filler and breather. The supplied clear hoses all have a plastic taste, so I ditched them all and used Nylex blue drinking water hose. And they supply a nice tap that I've mounted to the back of the cab. And only 115mm deep, so clears the muffler well. You'll probably have to remake a tray support to slip it in.

But they cost a heap - about $500-600. But I would still buy the same again. I purchased mine from Opposite Lock in Adelaide.

Gough Plastics Website has all their tanks listed.

FollowupID: 442436

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:06

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:06
Jack, Opposite Lock sell the under tray tanks now, too, and Goughs Link is
www.goughs.com.au

Best Regards,
AnswerID: 185562

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:07

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:07
Bugga...that should be www.gough.com.au with no 's' in goughs!

Sorry mate.
FollowupID: 442399

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:49

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:49
Craig,
What brand was yours again - looked a very good bit of gear.

phil
FollowupID: 442442

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53
Afternoon Phil. Mine came from Opposite Lock at Mile End. I was having a look at their web site yesterday when I noticed the under tray tank. Thanks for the favourable comment - I hope to have it finally installed very soon (just finalising the battery stowage underneath as the ruddy hold down clamps didn't fit!).
FollowupID: 442444