Carry on up the Kidson...Part 2, warts and all

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 16:24
ThreadID: 36174 Views:4950 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Left the Gold Coast and headed to Camp 0.5 at Charleville where one observer claimed Burke and Wills were at it again. How rude, Dave hadn't seen his tent before. He nearly died of cold that night and had to purchase a better sleeping bag.
On to Coopers Creek where we had ice on the windscreen in the morning.
Birdsville had a warm welcome from Ruth awaiting us, sadly we were in a hurry.
A mystery stone in the brake system delayed us at Bedourie, and Dave's sleep in didn't impress the manager of the caravan park at Boulia. Dave later mentioned about that %itch from Boulia seeing the min min if he ever returned. Naaastee one.
The Plenty was pretty ordinary. One "gentleman" did a tyre and needed a jump start because his wife left the radio on all night, he wasnt impressed. Neither were we when we learned that he was travelling at high speed and didnt even bring a screwdriver along. The campground at Tobermorey had green grass...4 star camping !
In Alice we had a motel and the temperature plummeted.
On to the GJR and it was almost balmy at the tower hotel near Kintore. Checked out Lens old truck up the track and came across two stranded young female schoolteachers. Dave fixed their flat tyre and gave them some hand lotion ! (where do ya get it ? Gibson Desert of course !)
Met with two lots of Kidson bound travellers at Gary Junction.(They kindly made us a cuppa in 2 mts flat ! Talk about experienced bush travellers !)
My satphone service was still on the fritz but HF worked every day.
Well 33 was a scream. $2.80 a litre. Dave yakked to the lady about management and marketing and mentioned that I knew lectrical stuff so they wanted us to stay for a while...I was outta there as soon as the shower and pie was
finished. The place was full of CSR travellers. Lovely people but I wanted to press on.
Rang Willem but couldnt get through properly as usual, and he isnt on HF much...pity.
The two groups were supposedly in front of us on the Kidson so we pressed on in the dark. (actually they had camped and arrived days behind us.) Once onto the track in the dark we were committed. Exhaused, we camped at Razorblade Bore where I got rained on, sleeping outside on the ground.
The track was very narrow and almost overgrown in places. The bush is reclaiming it, although I screamed along at 80km/h on Swindel Field airstrip. Talk about a hoon !
The rest of the track was corregated and with regular washouts. Despite what the map says, take care everywhere. Heavy sandy sections were "interesting".
The desert was in full bloom with spinifex as high as the windows, and bushes that had to be removed for access to the washouts (track). We had some very interesting encounters with camels...lots of em in different groups. Imagine a guy with a colostemy bag jumping out of the passengers seat to shoo the camels away...I have the pix of the same guy swinging an axe...setting up tents etc...I thought it was suppiosed to be a disability ? :))
Apart from camels and birds we saw no sign of life between Well 33 and 80 mile beach (we didnt realize at least 4 parties were behind us somewhere) I spent two days in 2nd low, almost reaching 60 at one stage. Whoopee.
We reached Sandfire about 9pm on the second day. Dave needed to do some stuff in civilzation. I had planned on spending much longer on the track, but there are few places to camp on the ground due to the small rocks. The "rocky outcrops" were very interesting.
Dave recouperated by chatting to people (he's a city boy....he hit the roof when neither mobile would work...hint...you can take the boy out of the city etc.). His targets included female backpackers whose boyfriends werent really impressed (he's old enough to be their grandfather...but still...). Harmless but embarrassing at times. Of course I didn't chat to anyone...of course :))
On to Tom Price and Parrabadoo to have coffee with my son. Beautiful area that I'll return to one day. Quite a unique part of the country.
Back to Perth to let Dave recouperate ($18 for a hamburger at one roadhouse...didn't they hang Ned Kelly some time ago ?)
I scooted home to the Gold Coast, frozen to the wheel. The heavens opened up to greet me.
I really should unload the car, but I have post trip lack of stress. Its also called "I don't give a ........".

Highlights...the people we met, the places we went...what a diverse, beautiful country
Lowlights...the cost. Plenty of people on the road but not as many as I'd expected.
Recommendations.....Just do it !!!!!!

Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 16:39

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 16:39
Footloose,
Sounds like you had a ball and a tad green here at the office.

You were very fortunate to visit Tom Price at this time as they have had a really wet summer and the place is as green as any one can remember with crystal clear waterholes.

Long trip from your end of the world but worth it by the sounds of it. Obviously your mate dave seemed to be setting the pace, disability or not..........

Welcome back!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 185422

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:02
Thanks John. Actually he's my older brother.
FollowupID: 442263

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 16:44
Good one Footy, $18 bucks for a hamburger????? $hit sound like Ned's grandson is running that road house.
Where was that?

And you bought a Globalstar I guess, I had no hassles with Iridium worked all over real well as usual. Sorry to say.

P.S Thanks again for the photos.

AnswerID: 185423

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:05

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:05
John, yep Ned Kelly. The locals know the place well and avoid it I believe. Can't remember its name but its at the junction of the road from Parrabadoo and the Great Northern (coastal) roads.
FollowupID: 442264

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:28

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 17:28
Welcome back Footy,but did you have a good time.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 185430

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:06

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:06
Bob, sure did! Out of this world.
FollowupID: 442265

Reply By: time waster - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 18:31
G'day Footloose we leave for the Kimberley's in 4 weeks and would like to know if you think we could tow our jayco off road camper on the kidson g/j tracks. to alice? The problem i think is that it is wider than the car.
AnswerID: 185437

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:15

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 19:15
Ok here's where I get into strife with those who are going to blast me. Firstly let me state that I have no experience with c/t's although I have towed a trailer through some pretty hairy country a lot of years ago. So my advice is tempered with no direct knowledge. But you have asked so I'll give it a go.
The Kidson track was, at time of travel, very narrow. Washouts (as in OMG ones) abound. Soft sandy sections are numerous, as are rocky outcrops. I lost some duco with scratching and my UHF aerial was severly bent (mounted on side of bonnett). If you email me at jimshire1ATiprimusDOTcomDOTau I can send a few pix. It's certainly not impossible , but it depends on your experience and setup and how much punishment your c/t can take. If doing it at a leisurely pace I'm sure you'd get through Ok..just not pushing it.
The g/j track will be no worries.
FollowupID: 442269

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:35
Time waster

check out rig pick

CT had broken suspension by the end and had to have welding repairs at well 33, the return to the west.

Yes it made it and it's 20 years old.

next time we travel with NO trailer

FollowupID: 442329

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:10

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:10
Glad to know you finally got to do the Kidson trk,great memory's even though it was only last year.And only just down the road now.
AnswerID: 185472

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:25

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:25
Ansd you're just itching to get back and do it again ? .....NOT... LOL
FollowupID: 442349

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:34

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:34
I hope you stayed at 80mile and had a beer as the sun set over the ocean?

Obviously not a big priority of the whole trip, but well worth it.
AnswerID: 185486

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:24

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:24
It WAS a big priority actually as I have stayed there before and was looking forward to it. Unfortunately the place was bursting at the seams and an icy wind blew, sending many further north.
FollowupID: 442348

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:37

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:37
Footloose

Good to see you made it this year (no rain out)

AnswerID: 185494

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:22

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:22
Thanks Richard. After last year the signs of rain while we were on the track were a little alarming to say the least.
FollowupID: 442347

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:52

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:52
Great read Footy,

Are you gonna post any photo's??

Michael
AnswerID: 185572

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:56

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:56
Thanks Michael. I'm in the process of getting some photos up on a webpage now (instead of unloading the 4wd). With over 400 photos, I have to select, resize em and upload them, so it may take a few days to get even a modest selection up and running.
FollowupID: 442412