Info on Volvo's required

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:38
ThreadID: 36184 Views:3426 Replies:14 FollowUps:22
Hi folks, I have a dentist that drives a Volvo XC90 and he has been at me to take him out to see what his car is capable of. He knows it won't be a "rock hopper" but would like to know if he could do beach runs safely and forestry type drives.
What I would like to ask the forum is ...does anybody know the true capabilities of this car? Does it have adequate recovery points front or rear (where I can at least hook a strap to, to pull him out of trouble) ? ect ect.
As he is my dentist, I am sceptical of getting him in too deep as to damage anything. Otherwise he may forget to put anaesthetic in, when he next drills in my mouth if you know what I mean.
Also any knowledge of the Mt Mee tracks the Qld forumites are planning to go on in August, would they be suitable for such a vehicle?

Any forthcoming info would be appreciated.
Thanks, Trevor.

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:47
Oh Trev - MATE!!!

This guy is either going to be your best buddy OR you are going to suffer years of PAIN!!!!!

Dunno about the vehicle but if it is similar capabilities to a Forester then it should be OK. Saw one of these the other day and close up they are quite a big vehicle. Will be interested to see how it goes.

Advise him to invest in a snatch strap - will save buggering yours up!

Muddy
AnswerID: 185463

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:59
Actually my snatch strap is almost buggered so if it breaks recovering him I may get a new one (free of course hahaha).
I am mainly concerned about recovery techniques if there is no recovery point on it.

Will fill everyone in when I find out this cars capabilities.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442290

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:47
I would say it would be capable to do anything a Forester, Territory, Adventurer type Soft roader can do, So forestry and light beach I would say.

Solid Recovery point’s, not likely
AnswerID: 185464

Reply By: Mark T - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:57
I have seen XC90s on the inland tracks at Fraser and they go very well.

I would say that it would easily surpass a Forrester (low front overhang) in the bush.

Mark t
AnswerID: 185468

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:02
Hi Mark,

I figured power to weight ratio would be a real advantage of this car but how do you pull it out of the poo when it finally gets into it????

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442291

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:43

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:43
Being a dentist, he's not short of a quid, so it might be helpfull if he takes a trip to the local 4WD store to get something added on!
FollowupID: 442308

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:53

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:53
Yeah good point Muzz, I will suggest to have at least one recovery point front and rear.

Thanks.
FollowupID: 442309

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:11

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 23:11
If he has a tow bar only a front point is necessary.

FollowupID: 442324

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:58

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 20:58
I'm only going on what I read in 4WD Monthly [flak to follow LOL]

The biggest downfall is lack of ground clearance which could be a bugger on a heavy beach or rocky track. Also the low profile tyres don't help, but as long as you are aware of what your limitations are, and of course having signed a prenup, you'll be right. LOL

Tyre pressures and driving skill are the key, as in any 4WD situation.

AH, you ripper. A spell check on ExploreOz. BRILLIANT !!!
AnswerID: 185469

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:05
"Tyre pressures and driving skill are the key, as in any 4WD situation."

You are dead right but what pressures to run is another question I would like answered. They are HUGE road tyres, 19 inch I think ???

I figured about 28PSI for most dirt roads in the forest type drives??? and 18 - 20PSI for the sand???

Thanks, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442292

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:04

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:04
Don't forget that being a low profile tyre you can't drop the pressures too much as you might start riding on the rims.
FollowupID: 442384

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:26

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:26
Yeah I was thinking about that, robak. Do you know what pressures would be ideal for these types of tyres? or is my thoughts about right?

Thanks for the help.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 442391

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:33

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:33
I have no idea, but I'd start at 25 psi and see how it goes form there. I guess it depends on the terrain. If on sand where there are no rocks or sharp edges then you could probably go lower. Just try and see. Just as long as you're aware of the issue.

After all that's what he wants to do, see how the car goes. So have some fun.

Let us know how it went.

R.
FollowupID: 442393

Reply By: strzelecki - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:02
Find a new dentist,one that does not drive a volvo ,jeezus what is this forum coming to!!
AnswerID: 185470

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:11
Actually I thought the post was quite relevant to "Exploring Oz". The poor bloke wants to get out and enjoy the country but wants a hand in seeing what his vehicle can do (wise when considering his vehicle). If someone on here has experience with the vehicle and what it can do, it may just make my life a little easier when helping him out. After all that is all I am trying to do....Help him out. Which is a damn site more than you have done for me here now !!

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442294

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 06:56

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 06:56
I thought there was an element of humourism in your original post,sorry to have misinterpreted, I now see how serious a matter this is.
FollowupID: 442344

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:23

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:23
If I took your response the wrong way, I withdraw what I said.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 442360

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:22
Damn straight Trev! Although I may not be the best person for the job, I would feel honoured if someone asked me for this kind of help.

Plus, you never know what kind of freindship/mateship may come of these things.
AnswerID: 185477

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:25
Gday Trevor, you could help him out & lend him/swap vehicles for the outing.Could also if you don't want to do that take him down the used car lot help him select new vehicle. Hope this helps like you helped me. Hahahaha.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 185478

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:28
LOL Bob, your reply reminds me that EO is useful for both help AND entertainment!

hahahahaha

Muddy
FollowupID: 442302

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:37
What are mates for Bob if we can't lend them a hand.....even if it's to get them in the chit.

Cheers mate.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 442305

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:39

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:39
Muddy,heaven knows we need some sort of entertaiment not much on the idiot box or on hear for that matter we have to loosen up a bit as it can get a bit boring from time to time .
FollowupID: 442306

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:24

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 22:24
Hey Trev,

When one of the tracks looks a bit hard for him just tell him "Well, last time we were here this little X90 suzuki got up here". It worked for me :).

Tim.
FollowupID: 442316

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:25

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:25
LOL Tim. I doubt the Volvo would go places you and Bob would dare to go.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 442361

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:44

Wednesday, Jul 26, 2006 at 21:44
Thats right, but if you get him in the proverbial, you might have to look at getting recovery points in the mouth for his snatcth straps.Llots.
AnswerID: 185479

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:12

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 00:12
Trev

Lets take him out to Cruiser and find out :) I want to go out there again in about 2-3 weeks if I can.....
AnswerID: 185500

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 05:08

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 05:08
you gonna come to Mt Mee Cornel and Bob?

We'll have to take you both down to these Gold Coast tracks in a few weeks!

Jo
FollowupID: 442341

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:10

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 07:10
I think we will make it...but won't know till next week
FollowupID: 442345

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:28

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:28
Troll,

I'll pass on inviting him out to park ;-) Barely get him in the front gate and the bumper would be ripped off.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 442366

Reply By: ross - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:41

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:41
The XC90 is only barely a "4wd" The torque bias is split 95% to front wheels and 5% to the rear so the real wheels are only just stopping themselves from being dragged along.
The forestry tracks will be ok if they are not deeply rutted and the beach if its not too soft.
Volvos are not usually light in weight
AnswerID: 185555

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:04

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 11:04
bloody Volvo drivers....
AnswerID: 185561

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:08

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:08
And a Sri Lankan driver in a Volvo will be worse again, I am sure hahahaha.
He is Sri Lankan to boot.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 442506

Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:04

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:04
Trevor

I'd borrow his vehicle manuals and do a bit of bed time reading.

Having owned Volvo's for years you will probably find all sorts of clever stuff in it's pages that will help. I'd actaully be most surprised if there are no recovery points already built into the vehicle.
AnswerID: 185574

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:32

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:32
Don't forget to pack the Bowls uniform...and ya gotta where a hat & cardigan!!
Seriously, saw one having heaps of problems in the sand tracks inland from 1770.
Might not be a sand capable unit, but would be comfy and safe for outback touring type stuff.
AnswerID: 185600

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:13

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:13
I wonder if the Volvo having trouble up around 1770 was because they had the tyres at 40PSI and never been shown or had any experience driving in the soft stuff??
This is what the Dentist wants to avoid and the whole reason he wants to go out with a few other vehicles that can help point him in the right direction.
Possibly it could be just a dud vehicle in the sand also but we won't know until we have a go hey?

Thanks, Trevor.
FollowupID: 442508

Reply By: Shaka_Dog - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:36

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:36
Dont forget the XC90 is an AWD not 4WD. In its case it is always in front wheel drive only by defualt and the rear wheels only get drive to them when slip is detected.

How quickly that is i dont know but if you go somewhere slippery or in sand you could find yourself goign nowhere very quickly.

To the best of my knowledge there is no overide to lock into 4WD, if there is can you let me know please.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 185632