Two Sleeps!
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:09
Al & Mrs Al (Vic)
Yes this is one of those annoying threads where I crow about getting ready to head off for 4 weeks - sorry, but I"m excited!
Heading to the Flinders via
Coober Pedy,
Painted Desert,
Oodnadatta Track, leaving on Saturday morning and looking forward to catching up with a couple of EO people on the way back, we're tavelling in a silver landcruiser towing a green TrakShak trailer,we'll have an EO sticker somewhere on the vehicle, if anyone is out and about in those areas and sees up, say G'day, we're pretty friendly :)
One downer, my back is out big time, and I'm surviving on a chemical cocktail at the moment, hopefully it will be alot better by Saturday.
safe travels everyone
Lyn
Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:17
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:17
Have a great trip Lyn and rest that back, i know your pain.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:18
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:18
Thanks Baz,
resting as much as I can..not looking forward to climbing the ladder to go to bed in the camper at the moment :(
Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:50
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:50
Al & Mrs Al,
Sorry about your back. Hope that it improves quickly.
We're leaving tomorrow night after work, heading for Waikerie, then
Coober Pedy and further north and west. I'm excited too!! Only one more sleep, then put in a day at work which will go so slowly, then off.
I hope that you have a great trip...happy travelling.
Best wishes
Viv
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:36
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:36
Have a great trip Vivien
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:58
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 08:58
After just getting back, I can appreciate your excitement. Look after the back, it's more important than the trip.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:37
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:37
Thanks footy, I think it's easing up a bit, just got to take it easy and let Al do the packing :))
Reply By: Laura B - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 09:53
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 09:53
Have a good'n...
If you dont have a soe back before you leave your more than likely to get one out there!!
Be carefull and have fun!!
Laura
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:38
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:38
Laura
hoping your trip is as exciting and wonderful as you imagine..
Lyn
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:16
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:16
Giving you the finger..... with love of course dear. Give my kids a big hug from me and have an awesome trip. Will ring before you go. I leave on Sunday for 2 weeks OS. No good about your back. Spoke to glenn last night, he is in
derby.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:39
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:39
Hi, I shall give "our" kids a hug for you, and have a great trip OS, see you when we're back..
Lyn
Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:28
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 10:28
Have a great trip Chook. I'll have to give you one of my special treatments on the 23rd if you haven't recovered by then.
Stay Safe.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:39
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:39
Looking forward to catching up..I'm not sure I want to know what the special treatment is...lol
Lyn
Reply By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:27
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 12:27
Lyn
Have a great time. Sorry to hear the back is no good. Thought of the exciting trip will help with recovery. I bet the kids are excited.
I have been thru
the painted desert and is a wonderful part of this country. Camped in a dry
creek bed and have never seen so many stars at night.
Enjoy and look forward to a report when you get back.
The Bigfella
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:40
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:40
Thanks Brian,
we're all looking forward to it...
take care
Lyn
Reply By: Member - Craig M (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:08
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:08
Mrs. Al. Re the back.
Was it the stupidmarket trolley with all the dog food in it?
We need to talk. I had a disc prolapse 12 months ago - and had the op. Look at me now!! I know you'll still be going - tell Mr. Al he needs to bring the linament and heating - and will need to CARRY you up to the bed.
Have fun.
The squire.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:33
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:33
hi Craig
nah wasn't the trolley, it's wear and tear, an injury I've had since I was 14, and an op isn't an option unfortunatley, I will just put up with it, take the drugs and hope for the best....
I hope I don't have to be carried to bed...lol..might do more damage...
Lyn
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:42
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:42
Have a great trip, Lyn and Al, Tegan and Callum. Hope your back is better though BEFORE you go. Look forward to the trip reports along the way if you can achieve that............ A bit jealous, you may say.
Wow, that spell checker, but Tegan and Callum were foreign to it.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:42
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:42
Thanks John,
the back I think is on the improve, time will tell, Tegan and Callum would be foreign to the checker...probably not programed for celtic names.
Lyn
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:52
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 08:52
Have taught it the Celtic names now,
well those two anyway. I did notice a few mis-spellings though, perhaps it is learning fom others bad dictionaries. I wonder how long before the corrupted dictionary has to be replaced? I see it had spelling of Celtic with and without a capital 'c' even though it prompted as a spelling mistake.
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:51
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 21:51
Ahhhh deary me .......those backs always go within a few years of the menopause. Bit of a curse for the old girls that explorozteoporosis. Have a good trip, get plenty of vitamin D and don't forget your hat and tartan blanky.
Love to the big fella and kids.
Big Kidz
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:43
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:43
Thanks for your concern Andrew... :)) blankie is packed, but I've had to get a new hat,
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 21:03
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 21:03
Lucky guess - I could have been Jen - thought I was been anonymous by signing Big Kidz - I am suitably jealous - two weeks back at work is enough time for me.
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:07
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 23:07
Bon Voyage.
Or something like that.
Good luck with the back. Are you taking any anti inflammatories? Jenny finds that they work miracles and her back is "
wellington booted"
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:36
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 07:36
yes Jimbo on the anti inflams - I lived on them for about 2 years a while ago, on a relaxant as
well at the moment, it feels a bit better this morning..
Lyn
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:26
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:26
Tell someone who cares Hahahahaha
Have a good one, you will love the Flinders, catch up in
Adelaide, will be better for us all than Sunday at
Burra, will give you a call.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 16:07