Trip Planning - Central Oz

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:09
ThreadID: 36204 Views:4031 Replies:7 FollowUps:8

Planning our first extended trip Sep 18 - Oct 1 (Vic School Hols) and appreciate any suggestions, hints, tips, do's, don'ts etc. re both the trip and equipment.

Be brutal - better to find out now than on the track! I've provided as much info as I can think of some of which might be overkill, so apologies in advance.

Itinerary yet to be finalised - current thinking is Melbourne, Flinders Ranges, Ooodnadatta Track, Painted Desert, Yulara, Kings Canyon, Ormiston Gorge, Alice Springs, Coober Pedy, Melbourne.

Will have our 9yo girl & 11yo boy on board & it would be wonderful to hook up with others with similar age kids for all or parts of the trip.

GU Patrol TD4.2 Wagon 4" lift, 5 * 285/75/16 AT's on 8-inch rims, snorkel, winch, bullbar, 2nd battery, standard fuel tanks.

In the front: 40 channel UHF, Max-Air compressor, inverter for charging laptop & PSPs

In the back: Side-by-side drawers carrying first aid kit, jumper-leads, snatch strap, drag chain, 2 * rated shackles, 12v shower, versalite, cooking & eating gear & some of the food. On top of the drawers, 60 ltr Waeco, table, 3 * 20 ltr water jerrys, 2-burner stove & gas bottle (perhaps this should be on the roof?) the rest of the food, odds & sods. Jack & jacking plate.

On the roof: full-length roof-rack bag carrying Freedom Tent, sleeping bags & mats, camp chairs & clothes, shovel (yet to be purchased & fitted!)

An obvious hole in the above is tools & spares - I've seen the page on this site but any particular suggestions welcomed.

Thanks all, I look forward to the barrage!

PGK

Reply By: phillowe - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53
Hi PGK,

We will be doing similar trip at the same time except ex Adelaide. Just my opinion but we were only planning to do the Alice, The Ranges, Kings Canyon and Ayres Rock and were thinking we will not have enough time to see all that. I guess it all depends on how much you want to see or if you are happy to be on the road all the time.

AnswerID: 185603

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:25

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:25
Yeh?
Its possible but you want have time to scratch yourself.
Sounds like a lot to do in two weeks!
Have fun though!
FollowupID: 442451

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:10

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:10
Thankyou both,

Based on your feedback, I'm now considering reversing the loop to Coober Pedy, Yulara, Kings Canyon, Mereenie Loop, Gorges, Alice & then down the Oodnadatta Track & into Wilpena if we have time.

That rock is the main drawcard, so we can change plans along the way as the mood takes us!

PGK
FollowupID: 442732

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:53

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:53
Mate, your itinerary doesn't sound like your going anywhere remote so basic spares like hoses, belts and maybe wheel bearings should see you through. I always carry an assortment of fuses and globes and some electrical wire, odd bolts, nuts etc. Don't get too carried away as you need to watch the weight when travelling 4up without a trailer.

You mention 3 x 20LT water jerry's. Drinking water is readily available where your going so no need to carry that much weight IMO. I'd go with 1x20 and 1x10. When we travel, 3 of us, 20 LT lasts a good 2-3 days. Carrying 2 jerry's is just insurance against spillage. We also carry a couple of bottles in the fridge. Limit your showers to when you're at a good water supply. If you all don't shower you'll all smell the same and no-one will notice ;-)

Try not to put too much weight on the roof rack. Can make the car unstable.
Sounds like you've got it pretty well sorted.....
Enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 185619

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:13

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:13
Thanks John

have tried to keep the load up to to 'light & bulky' items - tent doesn't really fit this category (or in car!)

PGK
FollowupID: 442733

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:59

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:59
PGK,
If its your first trip, have a good look at the exploroz website has as its got everything you need to know as well as the forum with all the "experts", common sense will tell you what you need, the main thing is having a good time and not rushing your trip, we have a policy to stop driving by 4.00 pm which gives you plenty of time to set up camp, cook tea and enjoy a few coldies or ten. No one likes setting up in the dark.

Enjoy mate

cheers Peter
AnswerID: 185637

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:14

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:14
Thanks Peter,

prgrammed happy-hour sounds like the go!

PGK
FollowupID: 442734

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 18:30

Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 18:30
G'day PGK, You've got most(read all) things covered, what are you really asking?
Just go and enjoy yourselves
andy
ps do not forget to visit the 'cat tree' on the Oodnadatta, Ulluru and Kata Tjuta
AnswerID: 185656

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:15

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:15
Thanks Andy

The short version of the question is 'what have I missed?'

Thankfully not too much it seems!

PGK
FollowupID: 442735

Reply By: Pajeroman - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 05:56

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 05:56
The best advice i can give you is pack light. The track you propose is really easy, doubt you will need recovery gear unless you propose going off the made tracks. The Ood is a two wheel drive days road these days.

However it is still tough on tyres. LET SOME AIR out. I have a Paj and mate has a GQ we both run on about 24 lbs anything more and you WILL di in types. 90klms and 24lbs is the way to go.

Take two spares. Make sure you stop at Coward Springs and the museum at Oodnattta.
AnswerID: 185746

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:20

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:20
Tyre pressure advice noted - thanks

Expect it wouldn't have occurred to me if it looks like a 2wd road

PGK
FollowupID: 442736

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:42

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 09:42
Don't forget things for the kids to do as they travel. If they enjoy it, chances are that you will also enjoy it. Electronic entertainment, colouring books etc are good, but set them easy tasks to do when camping etc. Also get them involved in spotting turnoffs, features etc when travelling. Basically, make them part of the team, and you will reap the rewards.
AnswerID: 185778

Follow Up By: PGK - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:24

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:24
Thanks Footy

You've caused me to think of anothe query re camping...

Have I read somewhere that firewood is scarce? If so, what do most people do?

Thanks & Regards

PGK
FollowupID: 442738

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:40

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:40
Most collect a bit before they camp or carry a bit just in case. It helps to know in advance whether an area has a supply.
FollowupID: 442742

Reply By: Member - Tony T (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:50
Credit card, tyre repair kit, shovel, sense of humour, light right foot- have a wonderful time.
AnswerID: 186141