Some Kidson pix
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:45
Footloose
For those who requested pix, a selection from the trip can be found at.
home.iprimus.com.au/jimshire/pix.html
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:53
Nice pic's Footy thanks.
I bet your mascot was a bugger to use for the real thing when it rained.
But I guess its a convenient place to keep the dunny roll when you need it in a hurry.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:43
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:43
The mascot was untouchable. The real stuff was kept behind me inside.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:55
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:55
Great pix Footy,
Magic memories.
Not quite as good as being there tho'...when are you off again??????
Michael
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:44
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:44
Michael, as soon as I can get enough money to pay another fuel bill :) Getting a bit old to sleep on the ground, might have to win Lotto and tow one of those c/t things around.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:57
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 13:57
Nice Photo's Footy Might have to make up a plan to head that way.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:45
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:45
Dezzie, I can highly recommend it.
Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:27
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:27
G'day Jim
Good to see you back safe (& sound??)..
What is your consensus now on Sat. phone???
Still a place for HF??
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:47
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 14:47
Definately still a huge place for HF. My satphone service was up the pole in a few spots, HF was there for me every day.
Reply By: pilbaradisco - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:42
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 15:42
I just got back from the Kidson track last week myself. I had no problems with my Telstra Iridium Sat phone. The Kidson track was like a main highway compaired the the CSR but a nice drive with the flat spinifex covered undulating hills. Plenty of rock art at
the caves at the Rocky Knoll.
Site Link
Glen.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:12
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 16:12
Flat spinifex came up to the window, and I didnt mention
the rock art for political reasons. (Don't want to see another Calvert Ranges "situation").
Any track is a nice drive if you have the time and resources. I drove half the Kidson in the dark.
Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:57
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 17:57
Footy,
Good pics. Now all we got to do is get everyone to do the same. (me included).
Bros.
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:46
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 19:46
Where abouts is the Tower Hotel pic,looks like
the spot we camped out at.makes me wanna get back out there even more now.
Interesting someone said the Kidson was like a highway compared to the CSR.Last year we met some people at RBB(where we also camped) and they said the Kidson was twice as bad as the CSR when we talked again at Sandfire RH.
Was the
windmill new at RBB(looked like it was in pics),no
water was able to be drawn when we were there,it was wrecked.
AHHH those desert sunsets,pure magic.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:04
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:04
Nick the Tower Hotel is the
Telstra tower about 5k after the
Kintore turnoff.
I suspect that whoever posted that was following in my wheeltracks. We managed to blaze a space through the growth by moving some of the larger bushes out of the way. The Simpson is a doddle compared to the Kidson, and apart from the length of the CSR I doubt if it's any tougher. My passenger was so "impressed" by the corros that he took photos of em :)
Yes the
windmill at RBB was brand new, only put in a few weeks back by some guys from Qld who appear to have done an excellent job. The only thing I would mention is that the system works so
well that excess
water is attracting all sorts of wildlife into the area.
Speaking of which, a visitors book somewhere would be a great idea as then you'd know who was around etc. There were at least 2 parties who came through to 80 Mile Beach a few days after me. One mob of very experienced travellers were considering giving travel away after that track...mind you they were retired.
Horses for courses I suspect.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:23
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:23
Great shots, now all i gotta do is get out in the outback myself :)
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:36
Thursday, Jul 27, 2006 at 20:36
Brian, as my passenger said when he could see nothing but dirt between the sky and his boots for 360degrees..."This is desert". But you can't believe him cause when he was chopping bushes away to find the Kidson he was heard to say "This is jungle !".
So where does the outback start ?
For some its Nerang :)
For some it starts at
Toowoomba.
Others rekkon it starts when you run out of tar.
The best suggestion I can make is for you to go and find out for yourself :)
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:55
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 00:55
Footloose
How things change
wrere the f is Camped at Razorblade
Bore on the Kidson?
Only two road making
bore on the track, must be a new name from last year.
you just cannot stop the
young people from taging these
places
Reply By: RussellV - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:31
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 10:31
Hey Footloose!
Just a quick question - how long did you allow for your trip?? Seems like a helluva drive which I wouldn't mind doing given the right amount of time!
Russ
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:03
Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 11:03
Well, I started on the 1st July and got back last Tuesday. It was a long drive, especially the
Perth Gold Coast stint. If going again I'd allow at least an extra week.