Diesel engines - which is the best

Submitted: Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:28
ThreadID: 36238 Views:3210 Replies:15 FollowUps:32
Just coming up to 190,000kms on my Defender. Had absolutely no problems but would like to source a new diesel vehicle. Probably can't afford another new Defender so I'm looking at 4x4 Diesel twin cab utes. Which marque has the most modern/economical engine. The LandRover TD5 is a beaut, so I don't want to go backwards in performance.
Just as a side comment, I'm still on the original General Grabber tyres. Totally even wear and not even illegal yet - I'm holding off replacing them as I'm selling the vehicle soon.

Reply By: hl - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:32

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:32
Sounds like your truck covered all these k's on the back of another truck.
AnswerID: 185835

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:41

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:41
What an absolutely stupid response, am I right in saying your a bleep !
FollowupID: 442743

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:12

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:12
oh, lighten up.....it's a friday funny :-)

FollowupID: 442764

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:14

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:14
Yeah, and now your here, im laughing my head off!
FollowupID: 442766

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:55

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:55
mate, i think it's time to change your name :-)

FollowupID: 442776

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 16:09

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 16:09
Reason?
FollowupID: 442780

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 16:31

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 16:31
It's grammatically incorrect.

FollowupID: 442785

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:12

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:12
Your the only one who gives a bleep so far, deal with it!
FollowupID: 442792

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:23

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:23

FollowupID: 442795

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:21

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:21
FollowupID: 442807

Reply By: Discorob - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:53

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 13:53
Hello Julian

This is not directly to answer your question, but take a look at my Defender in the Trader area on this site for sale... It sounds like you would be happy with it.

Rob
AnswerID: 185837

Reply By: Cannon - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:14

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:14
DiscoRob, it sounds like to me he already has a TD5 Defender and doesn't necessarily want to buy another one!

hl, you're a drop-kick.
AnswerID: 185839

Follow Up By: Julian - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:22

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:22
Wrong! I'd love to buy another but they're just a bit too pricey and in too short supply for big discounts.
FollowupID: 442754

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:30

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:30
190,000k's on a set of tyres? this is where hl was prob coming from.

Leroy
AnswerID: 185841

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32
Im with HL on this one!
FollowupID: 442757

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:45

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:45
hi..... yes, 190,000 on a set of tyres, evenly worn.......I'd like to see that.
FollowupID: 442759

Follow Up By: Julian - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:55

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:55
It may seem strange but it's true. I started to source new tyres at 150,000 kms but they weren't available then (General Grabber). They're now very much in need of replacement but still have some tread - about 2mm more on the front than the back. I do a lot of freeway driving.
FollowupID: 442762

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:06

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:06
What pair you 2 are( hl & truckster) what it necessary to respond like you have, are you that insecure, if you can't supply a helpfull responce, then why respond.

Maybe you just don't know how to ask a civil question?

I'd like to know why, can you explain it to me?

FollowupID: 442763

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:13

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:13
Maybe they were dropped on their heads when they were a baby.
FollowupID: 442765

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:33

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:33
Hi Redback,

Here is my "helpful response".... note the spelling
I just thought someone might find it funny...........................................
So sorry.
Will promise never to do that again, ever.

FollowupID: 442770

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:42

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:42
Thanks teach, want an apple!!
FollowupID: 442773

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:44

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:44
maybe take a dose of your own medicine baz.

Who is asking any questions, im making a statement.

dont ahve to explain bleep to u..
FollowupID: 442997

Follow Up By: conman - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:24

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:24
how dare you make a point of someone getting 190000kms on a set of tyres, happens all the time
FollowupID: 443195

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:32
Which diesel engine is the best..

best for what?
AnswerID: 185842

Reply By: HJ60_Jon - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:38

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:38
Sounds like your truck has low KMS and is probably in good nick, why don't you run your vehicle until the motor needs a rebuild and in the mean time save the money for a re-co motor..... has to be cheaper than changing your vehicle?
AnswerID: 185846

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:49

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 14:49
Agree with you on that one.
Assume with a name like HJ60_Jon, you don't mind the old toyotas?
Taken me 10 years to get the paj how I like it.
And none of the new 4wds are tempting.
Should be a few good miles , or even Kms left after 190,000.

But then the price difference to a new car is a lot more with an older one.
But then I am resigned to just buying 2nd hand in future and saving that big loss in depreciation in the first and 2nd year.
The 2nd hand car market has changed a lot in the last 5 or 7 years.
FollowupID: 442760

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:30

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:30
Agree with HJ60_Jon and Oldplodder. What is this need to upgrade vehicles every few years? On the onehand you can buy new vehicles and trade them in on another new vehicle every few years costing you thousands of dollars each time plus the cost of needing to have your vehicle serviced while under warranty, or on the other hand you can buy a 2nd hand car with low km's and take care of it and drive it 'til it's worn out then buy another. On top of that the newer vehicles seem to be less and less robust. If I had loads of money I would buy my next 5 cars now; a couple of troopies, a couple of 80 series, all diesels, because I like 'simple' and drive them one at a time into the ground. That way, in 40 years time when everyone is driving the latest plastic toyota, I will be driving a near new 80 series.
If your vehicle is so good, keep it. If you think it's gone past its used- by date, instead of buying a new ute because they're cheaper, be patient and buy what you really want 2nd hand.
FollowupID: 442810

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:11

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:11
Julian, if your not getting another Land Rover then the Pajero DiD is a great engine, heaps of power and torque and drive like a car.

AnswerID: 185851

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:26

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:26
Hi All, just on the subject of tyres, the wifes car {daihatsu charade} had 4 new tyres on it at 58,000 k's its now done 135,000k's I've replaced the front set 3 times but the back after 75,000k's are still O.K. thier hardly even worn is that normal ?could'nt believe it, but its true,
AnswerID: 185854

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:33

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:33
Front wheel drive.
Front tyres do all of the work, pulling and braking.
Maybe the rear brakes need adjusting?
Mini used to be like that.
FollowupID: 442771

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:37

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:37
It's pretty normal for a front wheel drive car to wear the front ones much faster. Rotating them every 10,000 helps to even it out.
(this is not meant to be funny)
FollowupID: 442772

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:45

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:45
Bugger, i laughed well there ya go hl try to be and your not, don't try and you are.

Funny fellow

FollowupID: 442774

Follow Up By: Member - Kelvin Y (NSW) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:51

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:51
The New Triton Ute/dual cab is getting pretty good writeups.

3.2tdi
FollowupID: 442775

Follow Up By: Paul(ACT) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:58

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 15:58
Lovely Day!
FollowupID: 442778

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:03

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:03
Diesel engines, which is the best ?, Julian! you have answered your own question! Keep reading around here, and you will hear stories that will make you realise you have a good thing , Better the devil you know!!.

AnswerID: 185865

Reply By: greydemon - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:24

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:24
190,000kms ? Why change your vehicle when the engine is only just run in? The Tdi in my Disco has clocked up around 250,000 and is just loosening up.

Which state are you in? I was looking for a Defender when I bought my Disco (made the mistake of taking 'her indoors' along) and it sounds like yours is as good as new once the tyres are changed.
AnswerID: 185874

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:44

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:44
ZD 30........well its friday....
AnswerID: 185879

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 19:36

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 19:36
Andrew,,,,you are a nasty pastie,,,,,,,
my 2002 patrol ZD30 saw your reply, and is now out in the back yard crying into its wiper bottle.
I demand you drive all the way down here to sunny??? Perth and apologise before i have to pay for councelling.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 442822

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:01

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:01
Gday Rick, i was very toungue in cheek with that one, seems you took it the rght way. If you look at my rig profile, I drive the mighty 2.8GU - I'mnot really in a position to pass judgement on any diesils really:)

Cheers andrew
FollowupID: 442943

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:20

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:20
Good gravy Andrew,,,,you call that an apology,,? my cat makes a better meow than that.
Sheesh, the patrol is now crying into its open front diff, and you dont even mention coming down here to apologise,,,,,,shame on you,,,for making a four year old cry.....lololololololol:):)

mewo.

rick.
FollowupID: 442965

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:05

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:05
Actually, I reckon he MUST be right......the ZD30 MUST be the best engine ever produced!!!!

I admit to not having checked the importation records, but I would think that if you cared to do so, you would find that in the last 6 years, there may have been , say, 20,000 GU Patrols imported with a ZD30 engine, and ANOTHER 20,000 engines imported as well. Now the only possible reason for that is that soooooo many people are buying this masterpiece of modern engineering to replace the OE motor in their toyotas, mitsi's, holdens etc. Can't possibly be any other reason, eh??? ;-))))
FollowupID: 442988

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:26

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:26
Oh, Roachie,Roachie,Roachie,,,,,,,,,,,are you saying that the venerable ZD30 is the greatest piece of modern engineering you have ever come across ??? ( you need glasses mate..lol)
If not,,,,then your a nastie pastie as well, as the patrol has now booked in for councelling with the local shrink......from all accounts, this is gunna cost me a fortune in medical costs......oh crap,,,,its started crying again.....:):):):(

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 442991

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:31

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:31
Sorry Rick, ol' mate.........the truth hurts, eh?? Maybe your ZD30 should have a Bex and a good lie down.

FollowupID: 442993

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:49

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 17:49
Julian,
I am not a defender man, I am a toyota man, but if you got a good run with your last defender then get another one, it will be good economics which saves you money in the end, anyway whatever you get enjoy it

Cheers Peter.
AnswerID: 185880

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:51

Friday, Jul 28, 2006 at 18:51
Hi Julian,

I tend to agree with a lot of the others above me, your truck should still be good for many a mile yet, unless you know something I don't.

But if you must know of the best diesel, in my opinion there is not too many 4.2 Patrol owners that don't get a long run out of their motors and drive trains in general. So I would have to say the Patrol's 4.2 Turbo. I am however biased as I own one.
There is a few of these Patrol wagons that have been converted to dual cabs but you will have to look hard or find a wagon you like and have it converted to a dual cab. Would still work out dearer than most Defender dual cabs though, I am sure.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 185884

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:19

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:19
Julian - I'd try to update to a later model if I could. This way at least your current accessories would be able to be swapped over directly.

Go the Td5! :) I love mine...
AnswerID: 185993

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:09

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:09
Hi Julian,
Im with some of the others, at 190,000 its just run in, have the injectors serviced, and pump adjusted if need be, put a new set of tyres on and any other little jobs that need doing and it will easy do another 190,000 with good servicing, why sell it.
If you like the defender, "When your on a good thing stick to it" !

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 186010