Stupid fuel price question

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:31
ThreadID: 36264 Views:2423 Replies:12 FollowUps:32
can anyone tell me why if Biodiesel is made from Canola, it costs near enough the same as ordinary diesel ? i thought the idea was to make a replacement fuel that was signifigantly cheaper !!! or is it Mr Tax man dictating the price again ?
regards,

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:37

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:37
And it's only going to get worse thanks to Johnny's latest legislation... Oh hang, he can't do anything about the price of fuel... It's not his fault.
AnswerID: 185980

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:48

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:48
If Johnney Howard cannot do anything about the price of fuel then he shouldn't hold the job he has
FollowupID: 442923

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:49

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:49
Hasn't Johnney heard of retail price maintenance
FollowupID: 442924

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:47

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:47
I dont care if fuel goes to $5 a litre we need to loose dino juice asap. What hacks me off is limitations on new renewable fuels, why they are in any way limited from fast development is very stupid. John howard exhibits the good traits from traditional views but unfortunatly he cant see past traditional ideas like this topic. In the 60's oil was an unlimited source that would last forever and there were zero consequences.
FollowupID: 442941

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:16

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:16
Howard knows it's all crap and there's plently of oil for hundreds of years, this running out of oil business has sucked too many in.
FollowupID: 442952

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:24

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:24
Mate I dont care what is true but I do want to know what it true!! Do we have freakin oil or dont we. Given the evidence from many leading authorities including oil companies, if there was some sort of group trying to make it look like there was not much left, and there was, it would be almost impossible to pull the wool over the eyes of the whole world. I think there is not much left.
FollowupID: 442953

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:25

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:25
Mate I dont care what is true but I do want to know what is true!! Do we have freakin oil or dont we. Given the evidence from many leading authorities including oil companies, if there was some sort of group trying to make it look like there was not much left, and there was, it would be almost impossible to pull the wool over the eyes of the whole world. I think there is not much left.
FollowupID: 442954

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:44

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:44
Well the question I would like to be asking our government would be this:

If John Howard does know that there is so much oil left that Biofuels are not required (besides the pollution benifits) and that we are all being conned by some unkown people with absolutally no agenda into thinking that we are running out of oil then WHY are we PAYING SO MUCH FOR IT!?

Either way, him and his hetchmen are bloody idiots.
FollowupID: 442957

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:58

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:58
Well that's one way to keep the populaton under control, keep them scared by feeding them crap, politicians have been playing that game for years.

I wouldn't have to much faith in what the oil companies say, they are only care about their profits. This is not the first manufactured oil crisis. The oil will be flowing for a long time yet.
FollowupID: 442970

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:01

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:01
Think you guys only know life in the terms of buying beer so here goes.

You go out to buy a slab of VB or Emu Export for you West Aussies. Of so it is on special at about $28 bucks today so you reach into your pocket and pull out what you have been allowed to spend by your wife, the $50 that was there this morning. Oh she took $39.90 out for the veggies to go on the table for a couple of days and some fruit too. So you have $10.10 so that is what you are allowed to spend. What do you do?

The oil market is a world wide one so you can't go out and buy what you need as a few of you guys are suggesting that Howard is responsible for. So you have allowed the oil companies to buy at say 1/3rd of the price, just as your wife allowed you. What are you going to do? Not be able to buy it of course.

I think most of the sense has gone to Jimmy's Thunder box with the arguments above.

Have you bought any canola oil at the supermarket or anywhere lately. The market for that will go up with the demand you want to create. I guess you would hardly know about the size of the seeds of canola. Look at the page here and see the size at just around the size of a full stop, perhaps a little more depending on the resolution of the page. It takes an awful lot to make a thousand litres of oil, not only that but in order to make the oil you are after there won't be enough land in Australia that can produce the quantity at the rainfall required. Mad Dog, didn't I see you say elsewhere there was low rainfall? That means it won't grow anyway to produce the oil. It all takes resources and rainfall
FollowupID: 442971

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:15

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:15
I like the beer example.

Personally I brew my own beer, I don't pay excise. Just like making BD, the only difference is that it is illegal to not pay excise on BD. They have now with new legislation made it so that the products used to MAKE BD are now taxed and people using them for other purposed (printer etc) need to claim that tax back.

But with everything said, I think it's simple. Lower the excise on fuel. Inflation drops, no need to hike up interest rates and sting the little guy another one.

Why does a primary producer of oil need to follow world oil prices, we don't, plain and simple.
FollowupID: 442977

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:46

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:46
Jeff M asks "Why does a primary producer of oil need to follow world oil prices, we don't, plain and simple." We don't produce enough to satisfy the demand of our own country so we have to inport quite a bit - transport fuels we are talking. With the crude we have, why would any company want to sell to you if you didn't pay as much as anyone else in the world - plus transport of course? Same question I used the beer example above.

There is a lot more natural gas about than other fuels and some have converted. Actually the Feds have pegged the duty that was set up to rise by an earlier Government on top of the inflation rate. Keating I think it was that set that up. The states are the benficiaries of GST revenue and the good state governments will tell you they benefit you by their programs. Personally on that, they are spendthrift, and money runs through their fingers.

I know some EO contributers make their own spirit too to avoid duty. Not my worry to think about that.
FollowupID: 443007

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:45

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 14:45
Actually any vegetable oil can be used. The word Canola in fact is a play around with the words Canadian Oil Association....While ever Biodiesel manufacture & sale is in the hands of the Oil Companies do you honestly expect they would ever undercut themselves????? But it wasn't a stupid question Dave, just a question a lot of people want answered but can only get political rhetoric in response....
AnswerID: 185981

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:01

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:01
Sorry formy "rehtoric", however it is the truth.

Vegitable oil plus the labour and chemicals required to produce Biodiesel is potentially more expensive than straight Oil based diesel, even with the tax asside. However, using recycled vegitible oil (as most BD is made from currently) is extremely cost efficiant, however the tax on this is outragious causing it to be more expensive than straight petrolium diesel unless quantaties of less than a 5% blend are used. (oil companies in bed with government).

Hence forward thinking operators such as Gull Petrolium who were offering 20% BD at the pump will now have to rethinkk this practive and go back down to a 5% blend in order to compete with companies such as BP (one of the main players putting pressure on the government for this new legislation). BP are also lobbying the government to change the Australian standards for BD to allow tallow to be used saving BP 100's of millions of dollars per year, unfortunatally this will make Australian BD not meet the international standards, potentially causing issues with vehicle manufactuers warranty if BP BD is used in new engines.

It is a FACT that John Howard's government is to blame for un economical prices of BD in Australia, you can call it rehtoric if you like (maybe that makes you feel smarter or somthing?) but it's FACT not political bias.
FollowupID: 442927

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:47

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:47
It’s crap isn’t it, The Oil companies pay to Mine the stuff then we pay agene when we use it

Same with bio-fuel, it’s taxed when the Vegetable oil is brought then its taxed agene when it’s fuel, WTF

Even with the cooking oil that is reused to make Bio-Fuel> you are recycling a wast product, and yet they tax that as well, how the F**k can they do it.

I thought Governments work for the people> well the people need to tell the Government we don’t want a TAX on Bio-Fuel.

What was it I herd on the radio by Kim Beasley or somebody saying> Not Exporting the Natural Gas Reserves would be a bad economics for Australia> Who gives F**K stop listing to you wallet and do what is right for the country and it’s people in the long run, We have the Minerals, oil, gas and chit so why give it away to other country’s and then by it back for more.

It’s all F**king Bull bleep , how can a bunch of people we elect into a Job tell us how it’s going to be, we should be bleep ing telling them how it’s going to be and if they don’t like it too bad.

I think Bill Hicks summed it up well.
(Once the president is elected he is taken into a room filed with the 5 richest businessmen in the world, A video scree drops down from the roof and a film starts playing that looks surprisingly like the Kennedy assassination only from a camera angle you have never seen it from before. Screen goes up and the question is asked, “Ok Mr president what are you polices”
President reply’s “What ever you what them to be” )

FollowupID: 442948

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:52

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:52
Just love it exploder! People always talking about 'this is how it is' like ideals don't matter. So called democracy is complete crapola in this country and the more people are angry about it the better! Not this mamby-pamby 'this is the way the economy works' bull-manure. I freakin' hate economic rationalism.
Spell- check complete.
FollowupID: 442967

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:59

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:59
I agree with everything you said there Bware. And what happens when you have a point of view like this? Some try to tell you that you don't understand anything or even worse, get called a stupid greenie!

Anybody can hide behind statistics and figures that are moulded to suit their own needs. And stand aloft and pronounce they know everything. Ideals do matter.
FollowupID: 443008

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 23:18

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 23:18
I'll use an analogy that might be of use (or not); how many movies are about David beating Goliath? I'll tell you; just about every movie ever made. It's always the minority that upsets the status quo, always the freaks that are the stars of the circus, or even the greenies stopping the logging of old growth forests!
FollowupID: 443018

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:57

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 15:57
David has now added a "Spelling" button to make it easier for people to write posts that can be easily understood.

formy - for my

rehtoric - rhetoric

Vegitable - vegetable

asside - aside

efficiant - efficient

outragious - outrageous

petrolium - petroleum

quantaties - quantities

rethinkk - rethink

practive - practice

unfortunatally - unfortunately

AnswerID: 185989

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:46

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:46
Well it's obvious you understood it all, so whats the point?
FollowupID: 442958

Reply By: garrycol - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:58

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 16:58
Any student of economics will know that the price of a product has nothing to with what it costs to produce - it is what customers are prepared to pay - so if we are prepared to pay (but might not like it) about $1.45 for diesel and would be really happy to pay say 20c less for an alternative why would a supplier sell Bio for say 70c a litre when he knows he can sell the same amounts for say $1.20 - why throw away an additional 50c profit.

Sorry; the price is what we are prepared to pay not what it costs to produce.

An example - do you think it costs more to build a Porshe 911 than a Dunny Door - not likely - however a buyer would never pay $150,000 for a new Commodore but happliy will do he same for the Porshe. Same for you Toyo lovers - Does it really cost much more to build a Lexus 470 (Cruiser) vs a Cruiser GXL a couple of grand difference that is all but some people are prepared to pay $100,000 for the Lexus when the GXL can be got for about $65,ooo at the moment.

If these two cruisers sold on the basis of what they cost to build they would be selling for about $30,000 but we are prepared to pay what we do for the Lexus and the GXL.

Garry
AnswerID: 185995

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:58

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:58
. . and what the Government WANTS us to pay.

They have decided we should pay world parity pricing (to justify the tax level) but they aren't spending that tax to develop non-petroleum based alternatives - ethanol, biodiesel, solar.
FollowupID: 442962

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:41

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 19:41
Garry,

$30,000 cost price is being quite generous.....

I work in the shipping industry, and I know roughly what the production costs are for most of the vehicles being exported from Australia.

It would make you sick, knowing how little it costs to buy an Aussie built car in China.....

Chump
FollowupID: 443141

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:27

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:27
Well - It's clear - the price of something is what the market will bear, or what someone is prepared to sell it to you for - not what it costs you to make it.

Biodiesel may be made from Canola, but is can also be made from all sorts of fats.

This includes pork fat and all sorts of animal fats as well as pretty much any vegetable fats.

The price of biodiesel in Australia is probably influenced by:

1. the small volumes produced
2. the even smaller volumes consumed - including because of higher distribution costs
3. cannibalisation of profits when required to replace mainstream fuel in tanks and through bowsers
4. the high demand for oil stocks - even waste oils, that could be used to produce it
5. the price of diesel
6. the price of diesel
7. the price of diesel

John Howard's tax really doesn't directly affect the price at the bowser unless you qualified for the Diesel Rebate anyway ... and most 4WD don't.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 186000

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:49

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:49
Andrew, I know you are well versed in BD, but are you aware of the new legislation that is comming into affect? The price of any BD of over a 5% blend will now be made more expensive than diesel via his new tax system on Biofuels.
FollowupID: 442960

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:55

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:55
it's not that simple Jeff.

The new changes came into effect July 1 didn't they?

Have you noticed any difference in the price?

(only that perhaps it has come down as the diesel has).

So what has happened?

Well, the diesel fuel rebate no longer applies to Biodiesel.

Did you qualify? Probably not.

You have to be in primary production, transportation or mining (from memory) and to have a vehicle more than a minimum GVM - from memory 4.5 tonne.

Once again, it never applied to you.

Now - I do agree it is a bad thing, but I don't really think it will affect me, because I never qualified anyway.

Ciao for now
Andrew who paid $1.35 per litre for BD this week.
FollowupID: 442969

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:04

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:04
You are right Andrew, with the exception, I am pleased you could buy your diesel for that, I can't actually confirm that.
FollowupID: 442973

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 01:44

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 01:44
>the diesel fuel rebate no longer applies to Biodiesel.

Surely this Andrew W would have the effect of discouraging the manufacture of biodiesel? Whereas they're currently not a total solution to petroleum, could ease the impact when oil prices continue to rise (and they will). What are your thoughts?

FollowupID: 443031

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 08:32

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 08:32
absurdly Barnesy, it doesn't.

You see what the Gov giveth it taketh away ;-)

It pays a lot more money in capital grants and loans to businesses wanting to manufacture bio-fuels!!!

Unfortunately our money tends to get used (like 95%+ of it) to make plant that is used exclusively for making BD to sell to the high demand European market who understand that BD is a good thing and can't get enough of it.

So, good for the economy perhaps, but not good for you.

The plants don't go away ... new plants - huge plants are constantly being built and expanded. Willingness is not the issue.

It may discourage the distribution of BD but that is in such a pitiful state it is hardly likely to matter.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 443041

Reply By: Barnesy - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:45

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 17:45
Good on ya Exploder. I like that attitude.

I understand all of this calm economic stuff. But the control and self interest that the multinationals have over government policy making makes me feel sick. No more simply trusting your government. Every policy and decision has to be analysed to work out who put pressure on them and who benefits!

It takes universties (what this government has done to them is another matter) and scientists to make progress in long term viable fuels. Can't wait for a solar powered fourby.
AnswerID: 186002

Reply By: dags666 - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:14

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 18:14
Had a Canadian mate who worked in the oil drilling business for all his life from 16 to day he retired started as a rouse about and worked his way to the top eventually looking after all the rigs in the North Sea. Eventually going to the Middle East and other places. his point when asked was remember when they blew up wells in Kuwait and they put the price of petrol up because we where going to have a world shortage was laughable he said it was like taking a cup full of water out of an Olympic size swimming pool. He said 1 well had enough oil to last (payload he called it) the world for 2 hundred years at world current consumption that was one well. The yanks have a 3 year stock pile always on hand. It funny how the price always goes up but never goes down at the same rate. No cartels in business except the oil buisness, goverments and multinationals make too much money for doing stuff all. God help us when the Chinese decide to absorb oil as much as they are sucking up minerals Dags
AnswerID: 186004

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:43

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 19:43
it costs near enough the same as ordinary diesel

I thought a 3yr old would know that - supply and demand.. people NEED fuel, and they are happy to save 4 cents by getting ripped off blind buying their food instead.

if they saw bio at 10cents cheaper, they would be running in to by it by the trailer load.
AnswerID: 186013

Reply By: Pavo - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:47

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 20:47
These pricing debates are always interesting. Oil companies always get a serve, so does the government. But I rarely read about Toyota getting a serve. It makes a huge profit, sells its Landcruiser for a massive profit, but that's OK? If a Landcruiser was 10,000 cheaper, that could be 5 years worth of fuel...

I used Toyota, but other brands could be substituted...though Toyota does do pretty well on the profit front!

Sorry, it doesn't answer your question though.
AnswerID: 186016

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:46

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 21:46
Let's pretend our gracious leader removed the fuel excise overnight.
The price of fuel 'may' then drop by 38 c/l which is the excise. It may drop a little more as there would be less GST due too.

Since what, less than a year, we have seen the price rise from $1 litre to $1.40 litre, so we could all settle down and get fuel under that magical $1 litre barrier.

But how long do you think it will take for the world oil price to rise by whatever it has done over the last 6 months and suddenly we are all paying $1.40l again??

It's a controversial opinion, but I'm on the side of the peak oil proponents.

I took time to attend a forum yesterday morning, put on by BP where the president of the Sustainable Transport Coalition of WA " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.stcwa.org.au/ made many points in favour of Peak oil - in fact he called it Twin Peaks for reasons he explained well and I don't feel like going into here. However the CEO of the Kwinana refinery reckoned he could put ten knowledgeable people in a room and get ten different views on peak oil.

For those who say we have hundreds of years of supply left. Maybe we do - but who is checking on the claims of the Saudi's that they are floating on the stuff? No one. We just believe them.
How come they are pulling drilling rigs from all over the world to the middle east? Are they trying to increase capacity and stick more holes in the known reserves, or are they struggling to supply more than they are now and seeking new reserves? Who knows, there isn't any independent auditing.

Yes we do find more oil - one of the big recent finds had the capacity to supply world demand for ..... two weeks. Yippeee.

Bush, Howard and most of us get sucked in to the traditional economics argument - that price will control demand, and the market will sort things out. Economics also admit that if the price of eggs go high enough, roosters will start laying.

The market will not fix this folks.

One of the things we are all missing whilst we bicker about whether fuel is wonderful at $1 litre or disastrous at $1.40 litre is that we must look at ways of reducing, lets say that again REDUCING, our energy demands. Renewables cannot supplant fossil fuels at the current demand, not come close. I love the stuff, but without reduction in demand it ain't gunna cut it.

Back to the thread - why is rapeseed, AKA Canola an expensive feedstock for BioD? Have you seen the stuff? Tiny little seeds. Lots of hectares of farming, lots of harvesting, lots of crushing, filtering, degumming and that's before you can put it into a BioD plant. You can buy good de gummed Canola for $1 litre on farm for 200 litre drums. Cheaper if I buy a 67,000 litre tanker full, but not too much cheaper. Or you can, if you're lucky pop down to a supermarket and buy dumped Belgium canola for $1 litre. Add on the 38c/l excise plus a bit for methanol, NaOH, and the investment in plant, and it's no wonder it's the same price as fossil fuel.

Flame away, but until the price of fuel rises more, perhaps double what it is now, we are not going to see the substantial changes in behaviours necessary to control demand enough to make a difference, AND make alternatives more financially viable.

Tim
AnswerID: 186025

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 23:54

Saturday, Jul 29, 2006 at 23:54
Very well said Tim. The only long term solution i see for Oz (apart from reducing our usage) is getting solar up and going as quickly as we can. Not only would this reduce our reliance on fossils but would also make what fossil fuel we can get last longer.

We need politicians with vision and long term plans for Oz. What do you think about the current status where the Libs refuse to raise the MRET (mandatory renewable energy target)?
FollowupID: 443025

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 00:17

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 00:17
Thanks Barnesy,

I don't know too much about this, but I have some memory of hearing we were doing well in regard to the previous target. I guess it's always easy to jump over a twig.

I get so disappointed at lost opportunity with a lot of this stuff. We've not taken the lead in many things we could have, there doesn't appear to be any appreciation from the Government of the importance of these issues. So many things are being overlooked. Not signing Kyoto, falling way behind our greenhouse 'targets' which should be called responsibilities - just being one.

And didn't the PM say we shouldn't be having any water restrictions - oh pleeeez - where is this man living??

This topic is not really complying with the 4WD and camping guidelines, but these are issues that impact on our ability to DO the 4WD and camping things we love. Environmental degradation affects us all.

Regarding politicians: I'm the National Vice President of a party that has been working it's butt off for nearly 30 years trying to achieve environmental, social, accountability and economic goals, with heaps of long term policies extending well past an election cycle. For my part it's all voluntary and self funded, as is the cost of my flight to Sydney from Perth next weekend for two days of meetings - yippee!

It's easy to bag the politicians or the political processes, but two things are a reality:
That the majority of Australians chose to have one party control both houses of parliament, so those who did should either shut up when diabolical things happen, or get involved and change things and 2
That unless minor parties are supported by #1 votes in the next election, then this will continue for another election cycle.

Your choice Australia.

Tim
FollowupID: 443028

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 00:44

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 00:44
Nice one Tim and Barnsey,
It's amazing how many people don't understand the 'both house' thing, so we have to live with it. The next election scares me because I am concerned about how many people will do the same thing again. ie ' We're going to vote Liberal in both houses because our parents did and we don't know any different'
FollowupID: 443030

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 16:32

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 16:32
Hi Tim and all who answered your input as usual has been brilliant, Tim just to get your reply straight are you saying that if fuel dropped back to $1.00 a Lt bio would still be $1.40 ?
regards,
FollowupID: 443080

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:27

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 18:27
I can't speak for Tim, but I would suggest that if fuel dropped back to $1/l bio would be $0.97/l.

It is mostly NOT made from Canola oil ... it is made from other things include Waste Vegetable Oil and animal fats costing quite a bit less than $1 per litre.

Just what those costs are, I am not sure, and just what volumes the manufacturers want to amortise the costs of the plant over I am not sure either.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 443109

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:24

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:24
Thanks for the positive comment Dave - I'd actually expected a bunch of flames!!

Andrew is correct, although I wasn't being that accurate. BioD is subject to the same fuel excise as fossil fuel; so whichever fuel it is, petrol, diesel etc., in theory would drop by 38 - 40 c/l if the excise was removed.

My point really was that whilst people say the government must DO something, I am saying that the fuel excise and GST are the only extras the govt adds, and the excise doesn't change as the base price of fuel changes - which seems to be the urban myth.

I'm also saying that IMHO, the price of fuel will continue to rise and as an example if a year the price might be 40 c/l higher than it is now - AND if the fuel excise was to go, then we'd be back in the same boat. Again IMHO, the fuel excise is the least of our worries and people should start looking at reducing their use of fuels if they really want to reduce their costs.
Or stop complaining.

Tim
FollowupID: 443151

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:46

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 20:46
Andrew,

Australian Renewable Fuels that have built a BioD plant in SA and are building one near Bunbury WA, are using tallow - I'm guessing new tallow from the abattoirs.

They were going to price it at a premium to fossil fuel as it is a better fuel, but have been stymied somewhat by Gull selling 80/20 at a discount to fossil diesel.

Tim
FollowupID: 443156

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 00:00

Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 00:00
From what I recall from reading their material they have pre-sold a lot of their production if not all of it - 45 million litres per annum to Dermody.

Dermody are one of the big distributors (BP Agent) in SA and the NT and the price was set against some industry benchmark surprise surprise.

So, what Gull are selling it at is of no concern anymore to ARF, although it may well be to Dermody.

It will be interesting to see the effects once the Largs Plant finally gets into production ...

Similarly, SAFF's new plant whilst smaller should be in production soon. With a bit of luck there will be real competition and perhaps choice.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 443203

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:40

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:40
Just read an article in our RAC magazine today - with most makes of cars, use of bio diesel could void the manufacturer's warranty. Peugeot was the best - "acceptable for some models up to 30%". Some brands allowed 5%.

AnswerID: 186186

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:53

Sunday, Jul 30, 2006 at 23:53
Where in the world did we get the idea that the reason for making a replacememnt fuel was that it was going to be significantly cheaper? Why would the producers of the replacement vastly undercut their only competition and forego guaranteed large profits? Does anyone seriously think that the producers of biodiesel are well meaning philanthropists?

It's a business guys. A business has only one aim - to make as large a profit as possible.
AnswerID: 186188