New Car
Submitted: Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:17
Grizzle
Picked up new Patrol 4.2 ST-S on Friday. Very happy camper, just like to say thanks to the guys who responded to my post when I was about to buy it.
Grizzle!MPG:4!
Reply By: Robin - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:25
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:25
Looks Great
The evening I got my 4800 I took it to base of rocky track, and said "This is your life get used to it", it was a good future investment, as was taking the wife
camping on our honeymoon.
Bring it up to
Yarck this weekend, I promise we will treat it gently
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:52
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:52
Rocky? that's quite an initiation lol
Leroy
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:44
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:44
yea but didnt it blow up with 1000klms on it?
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:35
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:35
Grizzle,
Lucky bugger, you don't want to swap it for a 10 year old Troopy do you?
Have fun with it.
Regards Bob
Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:50
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:50
G'day Boo Boo
How much extra cash would Grizzle have to throw in to make the swap worthwhile?
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:45
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 11:45
Troop-a-dour,
You are being a bit hard on poor grizzle, he probably has not got any money left, but his caravan might do!:)))))))))
Regards Bob
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:53
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 10:53
Grizzle,
You're one helluvlucky pup ol' mate!!! You've probably just gone and invested in one of motoring's finest bits of kit and you can rest easy in the knowledge that the donk will probably see you out!!! hahahaha Also, if you'd waited til the new model comes out with it's 2 cylinder, 1200cc, 275kw/500nm motor, you'd have been spending most of the following 4 years waiting on the side of the road for the flat-bed truck to turn up!!!! (with sincere apologies to all you 3L Patrol owners.....tongue in cheek etc)
Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:00
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:00
Hey Roachie
That's unfair -
I got to wait on side of road for Flat bed truck when my 4800 was brand new
and I demand to be included with my 3lt mates.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:14
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:14
I'll apologise now.....in advance of the comments from the 3L owners who I know I've just upset. As I said a minute ago in a response to Leroy on another thread, I'm in one of "those" moods and will try to get out of it asap.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:26
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:26
I don't get upset but you get sick of hearing it rammed down peoples throats all the time and others that come here looking for advice after their 3.0l purchase see all this and then get bagged for their purchase won't worry about hanging around here asking for advice or contributing.
There's 5 of us (mates with 3.0l) and apart from my unusual gearbox prob, none of us have had any drama's. A couple of the vehicles have been to the Cape and back and the others everywhere else including the High country. Geez....the way people go on here scaring forumites into thinking they can't go anywhere without the fear of being stranded and their life threatened is....look you all get the point.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 12:51
I very nearly bought a 3.0 Patrol ST-S 6 months ago (was on the verge of signing). I pulled out of the deal because I could not get a decent changeover for my 4.8.
When I finally bit the bullet I was talking to the Sales guy (I bought the 4.8 from him and have a reasonable relationship). My words were:-
"The 3.0 Litre, what do you think"
His words:-
With a grimace on his face "they're not going to last"
He was not bagging them and was not trying to sell me a 4.2.
If it wasn't for that question mark hanging over it I would have bought a 3.0 litre at the drop of a hat and put a Dtronic it.
By the way I have had 2 Pajero's 2 Landcruisers and like the Patrols best of all.
Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:46
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 14:46
"By the way I have had 2 Pajero's 2 Landcruisers and like the Patrols best of all." So whats that supposed to imply Mr Grizzle?? You a bit of an old tart or what?? LOL of course!!
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:58
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:58
Say that again and I'll scratch your eyes out!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:02
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 17:02
Roachie,
You havn't upset this 3ltre owner, it's the bl**dy truth
Barb
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:45
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:45
I'd love to see a price on those 4ft high brake/tail lights.. would almost be a write off lol
Reply By: datto311 - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:55
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:55
Hello Grizzle
Which Rhino Rack have you put on your truck?
Have you had Rhino's before and have you had any issues?
I'm looking to get one for our Patrol
Noel
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:57
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 16:57
I put on the 2000 x 1200, only had it a month or so but it seems robust enough and light. I don't get any wind noise from it. so far so good. The mounting points are strong enough and it is bolted together
well.
I got form TJM in Dandenong.
Follow Up By: datto311 - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:12
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:12
Hello Grizzle
Another question about the RhinoRack. How high is it above your roof. I need to make sure it will fit in the garage!
Noel
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:17
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 13:17
I will measure tonite and send message tomorrow
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:40
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 09:40
230 from the centre of the roof to the top of the roof rack. You can get different height mounting brackets and I'm not sure if
mine are the lowest or not.
Grizzle
Follow Up By: datto311 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:34
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:34
Great thanks
When I had the garage doors put on I had a big battle with the suppliers to mount them as high as possible. They all wanted to put standard 2100 high doors, and couldn't understand why I wanted thme higher! Finally Steelline did what I wanted and put the panel lift door as high as possible. I measured last night and allowing for the kick up as we go up the drive this will be OK
Noel
Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:06
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:06
Did they put a low profile kit on??
Mine is a Steeline Door with a low profile kit. They mount really weak pulleys for the cable to wrap around 90 degrees. The bearings chew out in no time and the cable snaps. I ended up going to Bunnings and buying some wheels, taking the rubber off and using them. works fine now.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:08
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 15:08
I put a 2700mm door on.....no probs at all ;-))
Leroy
Follow Up By: datto311 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:01
Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 16:01
Yep they are panel lift doors with a lowline kit.
The whole garage is a long story because it is a carport that we closed in. Basically to get what we wanted, they are custom built as std sizes meant we lost too much. He told me to keep all of the wheels etc sprayed with silicone spray. They have been up probably 3 years now without a problem. Let's hope it continues
Noel