Submitted: Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:14
troyza
Gday all,
just tossing up what size is best on the roof for a dual cab hilux, got a hold on a 3.7 seaspirit, but thinking it may be a little big, so maby the 3.5, not a great deal in the boats, though always handy to have a little bigger? It will be held up by a custom built cannopy and rack and the weight dif is only 5kg between the two boats. and $80 last ones in stock!!!! just thinking the extra space would be great up with crocks??????
Any help would be great
Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:33
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:33
We carried a 12 ft 3.7mClark on top of our Hilux for a number of years since 1990.
Would always go for the biggest your car can carry and you can lift when in Crock territory. In N.T. we saw crocks when fishing that were longer than the boat. In those days we had 4 fishing from the boat most of the time which is another factor to have the bigger size.
Follow Up By: troyza - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:43
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:43
a 3.7, and you had no probs?, how was it on fuelwith it up there? I am leaning on the 3.7 just thought it bloody high and how was it all off road, stall stable?
Was going to rip the back
seat out,make storage and a stand for the motor, locked up and out of the way then
Cheers troyza
Follow Up By: mattie - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:56
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:56
Hi Robyn
Was wondering how much extra fuel u use with the boat on the camper trailer versus not on.
Mattie
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:29
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:29
Hi Troyza
We had no problems getting the boat on the car but that was back in 1990 and we were a bit younger than we are now. Our roof rack was a low mount one so the boat was as close to the vehicle as possbile. We had no problems offroad with it we did the plenty, the tanami the
Gibb River Road, the
roper Bar track. We carried our motor in the back of the Hilux but we had a canopy that your could lock.
Cheers Jenkie
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:33
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:33
Hi Mattie
Havent really looked at the fuel consumption bit between on top of the car which we did with the Hilux and on top of the camper trailer with the Nissan. My husbands thoughts are would be cheaper to run when not on top of the car but I sometimes think going one way against the other convenience comes out on top even if it costs a bit more.
Cheers Jenkie
Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:33
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:33
I think you are looking at a Stacer Seasprite? I had a 3.5 on the top of the ol' Rodeo and could of put the 3.7 up there. I also saw a Rodeo with a 3.7 and
parking next to it it did look at lot larger than the 3.5 on
mine. A bigger boat is always better and I was very happy with the way the hull performed.
Leroy
Follow Up By: troyza - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:44
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 22:44
so why did you go for the smaller, how was it off road up there, any problems? and fuel?
Cheers troyza
Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 23:03
Monday, Jul 31, 2006 at 23:03
Thought the 3.7 was a bit too big at the time but when I saw it on the other Rodeo I thought it was ok.
I had a couple of issues. The cab and the tray both move independently. As a result you can't put the boat on bars on
the tub and roof bars as
well. I had
mine only on the bars in
the tub. But the cab and tub still move/flexed to such an extent that
the tip of the boat touched the roof at some stage during the trip as there was a small dent! When making the racks I thought I'd left enough of a gap (100-120mm). I fixed the boat to racks with bolts. The went though tags that were welded to the cross bars and bolted through the rim of the boat. This works great as you don't have to worry about straps over the hull wearing through. I also thought as insurance i'd tie the the front of the boat to the bull bar with a tie down and a tie down from each handle on the rear quarters to the rear step just incase. I didn't think I had them tied too tight but I noticed a small crack in the rear quarters on the top where in the rim was welded to the gussets in the rear quarters of the tinnie. Also the same cracks were where the small deck at the front of the boat was welded at the rim. I've put this down to the tie downs being too tight and flexing the tinnie when going on the rough roads. I would do the same again but not worry about the tie downs.
Fuel, used heaps but didn't worry too much as I wa going to do the trip up the Cape regardless.
Leroy
Reply By: russ36 - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:45
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:45
3.7 for me on my hilux...a bit more peace of mind amongst crocodiles.....a pain to lift on and of, will change to a 10 footer when i am older and weaker
Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 07:35
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 07:35
Make sure that you do not get Rhino roof bars. Just fitted a set to my 2005 Hilux and looks horrid. They sit at least 6inchs above roof. But I have an Extra cab so had no options than to fit into roof tracks. No easy removable option. I now have the ugliest Hilux in Australia. I will post a photo this arvo. :(