Cheap HF (RFDS) radios

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:42
ThreadID: 36348 Views:2969 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
There's a couple of auctions on in Perth that are selling Barret and Codan HF radios. NB - these are HF, long distance RDFS style, and not UHF radios.

Beevis & Co, 216 Welshpool Rd, Perth Ph - 94587856 have Barret SB250s and Kenwood (not sure if these latter ones are HF). Auction is Saturday 12/8/06 and starts at 9.30 am.

Ross's Auctioners, 241, Railway Parade, Maylands, Ph - 92724644. have Codans at an auction on Tuesay 8/8/06.

I have no connection with either of the companies or the radios.

I did however buy 12 ex-Telstra radios some years ago. 11 of 'em are still going strong and I still own 3 of 'em. Only one was a compete dud and it was a very old Codan 6525 (?) that came with an old Codan 7727 for $20.00 the pair. The 7727 still works. I still have an 8525 in my truck and another 8525 for spares. The 8525s cost about $110.00 at the auction that I went to, but that was years ago when they were selling new for about $3000.00. They needed about $70.00 worth of work on 'em to get the frequenecies checked and sorted.

You could get a bargain.

Bilbo

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:56

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 12:56
G'day Bilbo
Some of the Barrett 250s floating around in WA are ex-police sets. From reports (read the Codan forum) they have had some critical components removed, making them impossible to re-programme. Even Barrett have advised they will have nothing to do with them. It would be a good idea to check the originality of the sets to confirm. If ex-RFDS, Telstra and the like- should be OK.
Another case of 'caveat emptor'.
AnswerID: 186491

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:48
Your spot on, A colleague had arranged to purchase several and did some investigating. His contact in WAPOL radio Tech confirmed that ( and I ve deleted the email, sorry if its not entirely correct) that the EPROMS had been removed and that they would be best utilised as a boat anchor.
FollowupID: 443562

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:50

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:50
And If I remember right, these were available from the auctioneers at welshpool.

They were the Barrets
FollowupID: 443563

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:17

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 13:17
The old GSWA units had all the usual RFDS and radphone frequencies on them as well as the cop channels. They were set up that way as some of the survey results and information transmitted to and from the field was considered sensitive and had to be transmitted on a 'discrete' frequency. Considering there could be potentially billions of dollars at stake, this option was rarely used. Loose lips sink ships and all.

Transair in Ossie Park may be worth talking to about these units first if Barret have washed their hands of them. I may have some manuals and bits and pieces laying around the shed if anyone needs them. Can't access them currently as I am constructing......dadadadahhhhhh...... SUPERSHED and have all my stuff packed up and crammed into every spare crook and granny over, under and around my house.
AnswerID: 186495

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 15:36

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 15:36
Now, a bit more info re SuperShed. I'd expect every one of us is quite attached to his 'shed' and always interested in what the other bloke has :))))))
FollowupID: 443579

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:12

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:12
Glad you asked Gramps, never shy to talk about the 'Taj Mahal'.

Caufield green clourbond 9m x 7.5m with a wall height of 3m and 15 degree pitched roof. 100m reinforced slab of high-strength driveway mix concrete. 6m x 3m opening via sliding doors to the driveway, 3m x 3.5m slider to the 'washdown' bay. Drive in or drive through - take your pick. All alarmed and keyed alike locks.

Mains water (19mm), plumbed dunny, laundry trough, 30amps cabling (no 3 phase to house darn it), steel welding bench, too many power points, skylights for natural lighting, reloading bench, tarp suspended on rails to make a spray booth..... Out side sound proofed compressor running into a 6 outlet wall mount manifold, water tank with a tap inside, two fridges, tinny am radio, no phone but wireless two way intercom with two neighbours and a gate through the neighbours fence for important shed business. A pot belly slow combustion stove with stainelss steel flue and a small wall mount aircon over the workbench are going in too. Gantry crane is on the cards as well.

It has taken a world of pain to make this happen. It is 1. oversize, 2. over height, 3. has no offset (ie; it IS the fence), is built over the 'ministers sewer' so it has to have Water Corp exemption and approval as well as special council planning and building approval. Underground it sports 11 x 230mm diameter reinforced pilings under 500mm cubed poured concrete footings to support it as per the required consulting structural engineer's drawings and the signatures of all 4 surrounding neighbours to allow it be built.

Am I looking forward to this.....yes, yes I am. I have worked like a demon to make it happen and have wanted something like this since I was a child.

Yippee!!!
FollowupID: 443584

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:25

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 16:25
LOL Bloody Hell !!!! Taj Mahal +1 would be a more apt description.

When you started talking about underground I half expected you to have included your own shooting range hahahahahaha.

You do realize you could become the target for a 'class action' taken out by the better halves of your neighbours :))) We know where the boys will be when this cubbyhouse is completed. Well done.
FollowupID: 443589

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 15:02

Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 15:02
Unless you know what you're doing, buying a radio at an auction may not turn out to be all you hoped. I see lots of situations where people have done exactly this, and then find that they haven't got what they thought that they had.
One guy spent over 10 grand buying old Codans that he subsequently had to fix, modify etc and Ebay them. He was lucky enough to be able to phone someone who knew what to do. ( and I wonder who that was:((.
For example as mentioned in another reply, the current batch of Barrett ex WA police are unsuitable for purchase. Some earlier Codans use crystals for channeling, and getting them onto say 737 frequencies can cost heaps, basically its uneconomic. Earlier autotunes are another fingers crossed purchase.
I'm afraid that the old "buyer beware" is very much in evidence at such auctions.
AnswerID: 186510

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 11:29

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 11:29
Bilbo

check out site link www.vks737.on.net/buyersbeware.html

AnswerID: 186700

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:42

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:42
I've already got my radio(s) from auctions and they've been OK. I did a lot of asking around before I bought 'em. As you say, there are traps. I put this message on here in case people wanted one. But, as with any auction goods, you need to know what you're buying.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 186727