Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:47
Brian B (Mackay Qld)
Looking at buying a tradesman trailer, it comes with secondhand 14inch ford rims with standard sized tyres.
Just want to know how much difference there is in diameter to my 31x10.5inch tyres on 15inch L/C rims?
I have 2x 15inch rims at home with tyres, i would like to put them on this trailer but hope that the
wheels fit under the mudguards after i spend $30 on LC hubs.
Then i dont need to carry a spare on the trailer.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:54
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 17:54
At a guess, say with 185/70 or 185R14 tyres, about 24" or 25"?
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:06
Tuesday, Aug 01, 2006 at 18:06
Try this from an older post;
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.miata.net/garage/tirecalcold.html
Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 01:28
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 01:28
G'day Brian .................
Recently did the same exercise, took old 13" hubs/rims/
wheels off an ON-ROAD camper trailer and replaced with 31x10.5inch tyres on 15inch L/C rims, to suit the Troopy footprint.
To fit under the guards I simply re-located
the springs to sit on the TOP-side of the axle ............ and replaced the U-bolts and fish-plates as
well. Worked like a charm and gave heaps of clearance ........... can't measure now 'cause it's outside and very dark and the BoogieMan might get me .............
Howsome-ever ............. the downside was that the wheels/tyres protruded around 50mm past the side of the mud-guards !!!!!!! Dammmnnn !
Ended up having to get two and a half metres of rubber Flare Guard from the Jenking Rubber
Shop [
Cairns} to extend the guard sides .............. a minor fitting hiccup has surfaced now, but not insurmountable.
Hope this helps ....... but certainly worked for me.
Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:17
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:17
Hi brian,
We are in mackay too and have been doing the rounds of trailer sales, I am interested to know if you will be buying from any of these and why.
Cackles
Follow Up By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:10
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:10
I tried 3
places via phone enquiry, email and website.
1. Mackay Trailers
2. Trailers 2000
3. A Man's Toyshop (in
Rockhampton)
I am after a tradesman trailer 7x4 with a top around 1000mm high with ladder racks. Will also be supplying my own wheels/tyres regardless.
Mackay Trailers has the best option and price for my needs so i will probably be ordering from there in the next month or so. They can supply hubs and mudguards to suit fitted at no extra cost because they are keeping their own secondhand
wheels. 4 weeks lead time for them to remove the brakes and modify etc.
Trailers 2000 only replys by quoting a price for an off road trailer and doesn't answer my question about supplying my own
wheels. They cannot give me an accurate lead time.
A mans toyshop was more expensive for a trailer availible as is. E.g. comes with
wheels, have to modify it myself. They have them in stock pretty much all the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:23
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 19:23
Try Mackay Tyrepower (in Shakespeare St) of
all places for tradesman trailers......we purchased 3 from them as they had the best pricing of all those contenders (we did exactly the same check), and were good quality for the price. They also have one of the best supplies of spares for your trailer if upgrading/maintaining it IMO.
Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:19
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:19
Thanks guys,
didn't even think of tyrepower but have used them in the past and found them good to deal with. Didn't like trailers 2000 only for the fact that we could get better down south for same price or cheaper, will give mackay trailers a go too seemed alright when we tyre kicked last time.
Hey if you two are round town we will be going to mt britton in a few weeks time I'll let you know when if you'd like to come.
cackles
Follow Up By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:45
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 21:45
Tyrepower's website www.etrailer.com.au seems to only have box and boat trailers, not tradesman trailers.
I have dealed with tyrepower at the start of the year when i bought 4/ 31x10.5x15inch Goodyear Wrangler ATRs. They gave good service and the best price. They did a wheel alignnment to my landcruiser ute but didnt make a difference.
Tyre wear after 6000kms - tyres look perfect, although not many kms.
Getting back to my topic, Mackay Trailers seem to be the go for me.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 22:13
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 22:13
Their website may not have them listed, however i can assure you they did sell us 3 :-)
I'l check my diary to see if i have a spare weekend to go up to Mt Britton.......i'll get back to you.
I take it this is a private trip, not club stuff etc? Not into joining the local clubs at this stage unfortunately.....
Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 22:25
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 22:25
No club stuff, they are little too regimented for our liking just a couple of people out for a
camp and a bit of fun.
cackles
Follow Up By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:36
Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:36
Andrew,
I just went in to see them, they said they only sell the components to make box trailers etc.
Oh
well, the are obviously not interested.
How long ago did you get yours Andrew?
Were they trailers similar to what i need?
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:02
Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:02
It was probably like 2+ years ago, however i have heard of others who had purchased trailers there after us.
Maybe that as something they did away from their franchise.....
We purchased 3 trailers, either 6x4, or 7x4 (though i think the first), in a builders trailer style from them........for the Government. We had to acquire 3 quotes etc and they were a surprise business which could deliver......and less than $1000 IIRC. The other quotes were way too expensive for the quality of the product, as they generally just truck up a trailer from the manufacturers in
Brisbane etc and effectively double the price. From memory you could get exactly the same product in
Brisbane (eg. Nathan trailers,) for about $4-600 cheaper. I ended up picking up a HD 7x4 Nathan trailer at Westbrook (just outside
Toowoomba) for a saving of about $500 over local prices.......helps though if you are going down south for other purposes :-)
You may find that the leadtimes are due to them ordering and transporting them from the manufacturers, not them changing brakes etc themselves. In this case i would cut out the middleman.
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:32
Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 18:32
A
forum search would have saved you time ... this one is easy
Site Link