Bundjalung/Yuraygir National Park

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:24
ThreadID: 36384 Views:5245 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
We are heading to Northern New South Wales in the Qld School Holidays. We were looking at camping at Bundjalung NP or Yuraygir NP. There will be 3 vehicles, two 4WD's towing camper trailers and a 2WD that is tenting. Can anyone give us any info/piccies on the campgrounds in this area. I have read the info on the NSW national parks site but was looking for info from people who have been there. Thanks.

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:52

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:52
We went to pebble beach about six months ago. It's a great spot and good facilities, but it gets very crowded during the school holidays.

R.
AnswerID: 186716

Follow Up By: blown_zd30 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 10:21

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 10:21
I'll second that, pebbly beach (4WD access only through tidal creek) is a top spot. True beach side camping and one of the best set of long drop dunnies around.
Ranger lives on site during holiday periods and it does get busy.
Going mid week helps but alot of locals leave there camp site set up during the week whilst they go to work and come back on the weekends so real-estate can still be a premium during these busy times.

Brad
FollowupID: 443953

Reply By: bushnana - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:58

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 12:58
Station Creek in Yuragir is excellent for family camping. Great bush camping with some large camp areas if that's what you require.Firewood is supplied but you'll have to take your own drinking water. We go there regularly (3 generations) with 11 y.o. grandson and his mate who enjoy surfing with the dolphins, crabbing, fishing, kayaking, riding boogie boards down the sandhills into the creek and wearing themselves out (great!). Very popular with locals during school hols. Ranger Rob can supply bread milk and ice on his rounds. Pebbly Beach is accessed by 4wd along the beach and over the creek which is recommended at low tide. One of the last bush camps right on the beach and very popular. A lot of Q'landers frequent this spot as well as locals. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 186718

Reply By: Plantman - Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:22

Wednesday, Aug 02, 2006 at 13:22
Woody head is one of our favourite spots. It's great. However come school holidays it will likely be quite busy. You will probably need to book. It is right on the water with beach access and good water calm water for kids to swim. Try google-ing "woody head" for pictures.
AnswerID: 186725

Reply By: rossbarb - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:15

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:15
Try Brooms Head which is a "normal" caravan park it is right on the beach front but if you after national parks try Redcliff which is about 4 minutes before Broom you are on the beachfront but are protected from the winds a bit, you can go for a run out to Sandon which is the pick of all the spots here great on the beach fron twith a land tied island and river as well also a great place to camp but usually very busy especially filled with Queenslanders so a local we go out in the second week when the Queenslanders go home. Best place out Flushing toilets but no showers, plenty of water, also you can go for a day run up Gibralter and Washpool National parks they are about @ and 1/4 hours away worth the run, also a run up to the other national parks around the camp ground at Illaroo at MInnie Waters is good we camp at all of them Red Cliffand Sandon often as they 10 muniutes away kids reckon we are mad as they tell us we live there but as they gain maturity and are now got their own places they will soon understand. Barb Hope this helps
AnswerID: 186903

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:56

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:56
Minnie Waters (near Wooli) in the Yuragir National Park would be another excellent place to stay.

Its 2wd and only a few minutes from Minnie itself.

It then has 4wd access along the beach for a drive to Sandon River for a looksee.
AnswerID: 186924

Reply By: megs1211 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:00

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:00
Woody Head is an awesome place to stay, good facitilities and so close to the beach, we went driving every day and the fish were good too!
I'd definently recommend it to anyone, they had hot showers, and was probably more of a caravan park, but with the atmosphere of a national park. Have heard lots about Minnie Waters, but got the impression that there were heaps of caravans there. The beach just up from woody is great for driving and theres plenty of fish to be caught! awesome place, just make sure youve got the aerogaurd
cheers,
meg
AnswerID: 186940

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:27

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:27
megs1211 is spot on, it is a top spot, with great fishing and spots for the kids to expolre at low tide. We were thier last weekend for the first trip in our new customline camper trailer. Had a great time. Some sites are a bit small but after your first visit just make a list of the larger sites and keep that handy when you book next time. The kids love to take there bikes to ride around as it is flat. Hope you have a great trip where ever you end up going.
Camwill69
FollowupID: 444064