caravan and camper trailer

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:25
ThreadID: 36409 Views:2865 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
My husband is thinking about buying a second hand Kimberely Kamper or similar but we all ready have 16ft jayco outback pop top caravan does this sound a bit decadent or has he got it right and we will use it to do the places we couldn't go with the caravan and short week ends away it sounds a bit extravagant to me what are your thoughts barb
PS If he wants it he can have it that what he sent me out to work for HA HA

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:33

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:33
Crikey, I send my missus out to pay my bills. What a chauvinist ! :)))
AnswerID: 186910

Reply By: Dazmit - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:36
I reckon it would be difficult to go back to a camper after owning a van.

Why not sell the Jayco and buy a decent 2nd hand offroad caravan rather then have 2 items.
I suggest he hire a Kimberly first to see if you both enjoy that mode of travel.

Darryl
16'6" Kedron XC
Brisbane
AnswerID: 186912

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:53

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 12:53

We have a caravan and did the trip round Aus. We saw lot's of places we would have liked to go in a bit more comfort than the tent we carried in the van, so when we returned from the trip around we went out an bought a second hand O'Briens camper. We set off and did 9 Months of interesting places in the camper and on return we sold it for $500.00 more than we bought it.

So if you have the money why not, and a lot of the campers have all the home comforts anyhow.
AnswerID: 186916

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:58

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 13:58
Hi rossbarb,

I had a Windosr Rapid Offroad that I recently sold as it was too big for some of the places I like to go to (managed to rip off the awning, indicators, lights etc off both sides as well as punturing the skin with branches).

Ideally I would have loved to have kept the Rapid (its a GREAT van) and had a camper trailer for the "tighter" trips. But with only 4 weeks annual leave per year, toss in a few long weekends and I could not justify having a van and a c/t. While I loved the creature conforts of the van, I must admit I often felt remote from true camping from my "single" days (reverse cycle a/c, microwave, TV/DVD all in the bush - is this camping?).

But if money is not a big consideration and you can get away often enough to justify to yourself the two different vans, then why not?

AnswerID: 186925

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:31

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:31
G'day Captain,

I haven't seen you on here for a while.....hope all is well at your end ol' mate. Good to "see ya".....lolol

As to the question at hand.......if money is no object, then why not have 2 separate trailers/vans etc. I have friends who still have their Spirit camper, but also now have a tandem caravan with ensuite etc.

Having said that, I believe you'd be better off trying to find a suitable camper trailer with off road capability which would meet ALL of your travelling needs. We have found that our Ultimate camper does this for us. It is equally at home on the bitumen as the roughest of gravel roads (or even "no" roads).

FollowupID: 444029

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:47

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 14:47
Hi Roachie,

Still here, log on virtually every day but only post occasionally these days when something tickles my fancy.

I have looked at the Ultimate and must admit its high on my list for my replacement c/t. Top of the list currently is the Adventure c/t, mainly due to its great kitchen setup and shade cover. But am concerned with setup time after the Rapid.

Like the look of the new KK high rise, but with a 7 & 9 year old who won't sleep in a seperate tent it kinda rules it out (but reckon the wife loves the shower/loo inside - even if only used for those emergency uses!). But am currently undergoing a home renovation and thus a new c/t is a little down the track at the moment.

FollowupID: 444033

Reply By: Chris & Jody (Golden Bay) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:49

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:49
Barb,

I can't comment on the caravan but we have had a second hand Jayco Eagle Outback camper trailer for the last 8 months and we have been going everywhere in it. Whether it be overnight close to home or a days drive up the coast, it doesn't matter as long as we can get away and, fortunately my work allows that. The only time we stayed in a caravan park was the first trip to get used to setting up the trailer. For us staying in the bush somwhere or next to a creek or dam is far greater enjoyment for us and the boys than camped on a patch of grass under a tree, next to 45 other vans. Dont get me wrong, each to their own but we are having a great life.
As other have said, try hiring before you buy.
Good luck on your choices and Happy Camping.

AnswerID: 186991