WHERE TO PUT AIR TANK ON TOYO 100TD ?

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:03
ThreadID: 36414 Views:3700 Replies:9 FollowUps:21
Hello to all ,

I want to put in an air cylinder big enough to let me blow air through the radiator and the air cleaner and successfully set the bead in place on my tubeless tyres .

But where do I put it ? ( don't be rude ) I have been told that my ARB compressor ( for diff locks and tyres ) will not be quick enough , nor will it run the tank to a high enough pressure .

Can anybody suggest a spot where they have installed one , and how big is it and what model compressor was used .

I have a long range fuel tank at the back , so that rules out that spot . I don't want to put it inside tha car - is there anywhere else .

Also I have heard that you need someway of cleaning the water out of the tanks . Is this a neccessity ?

When I was in WA I met a guy who had one built into his bumper on the bull bar .
That seemed like a good idea if I cannot find a spot for a tank .

Thanks for any input ,

Willie .

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:22

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:22
Willie, I've made them out of old gas cylinders and also used truck air tanks from the wreckers. If they have a slight ding they don't want them as no one will buy them. Wander around a truck wrecking yard and you'll find plenty, try and get one with a drain tap (to let the water out) and also a one way valve to stop the air coming back to the compressor. You will also need a relief valve so you don't blow it up.
AnswerID: 186932

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:27

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:27
Traveller2,
How big are these truck cylinders usually and what sort of PSI will they take . Have they been used for the air brakes ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 444045

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:21
Willie
The truck cylinders vary in size from small ones around 6" in dia by 12" long to big things 12" dia and 3 feet long, depends on the truck I guess.
An old (or new, they are relatively cheap) gas cylinder of your prefered shape is probably easier to obtain.
You can buy short sections of pipe with the gas thread in them to weld on the outside of the cylinder for air fittings from engineering supply places.
I mounted an old 2kg BCF fire extinguisher to my rear chassis crossmember with two hose clamps for my tank in the last two vehicles.
I can weld the fittings onto your preferred tank if you need someone to do it, I'm only a few suburbs from you. (I bought the cibies from you)
You can also have a look at the tank setup if you want.
FollowupID: 444122

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:25

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:25
Hi Peter ,

Are those gas cylinders aluminium or steel ? Can you weld either ? That is a very kind offer and I might take you up on it .

I am going to have a good look around for a cylinder that can best utilize the available space between the chassis and the side step ( 160 mm ).

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 444325

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:37

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:37
Willie
they are steel, I can weld alloy but not at home.
Sounds like you want an old primus bottle, they were about that diameter and came in a short and double length size.
Alternatively look for and old BCF fire extinguisher.
There is a truck wrecker in King rd down the hornsby industrial area.
FollowupID: 444354

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:30

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 15:30
Willie,
Back in my early years when I had little money but was doing almost permanent travelling & working in my S3 LWB Landrover, I had an air reservoir made from an old 4Kg LPG cylinder. Mounted it under the wheel arch with a simple mud & stone deflector. The old landys had spots everywhere to mount things. Took the valve out and rigged up some plumbing which gave me a standard outlet on the outside of the guard. I drilled a hole in the bottom and then brazed a nut to give me a drain hole, sealed with a bolt and fibre washer. Yes you do need it as I often got a lot out when I had used it a lot in humid areas.

The electric compressor, mounted under the bonnet right near the reservoir, was nothing flash and was slow (30 years ago) but got it to 80psi which did what I needed. I would think the same deal with the red pump I have now would be great - perhaps I might do it again in the Pajero.

hope this gives you an idea.
alastair
AnswerID: 186935

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:07

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:07
Hi Alastair ,

What would the capacity of your 4KG cylinder have been - 4 litres ?

That is a great spot and I would probably have room for a small cylinder , but this would be inadequate for my needs I think .

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 444057

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:26

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:26
G'day Willie,

I have 2 tanks (3L and 4L) mounted high up on the cargo barrier (back side). They are out of the way and I have 2 Max-Air compressors joined up which feed the tanks. They provide enough air for the sort of job/s you mentioned. From the tanks I run hoses front and rear. The rear one terminates in a quick release Ryco fitting. The one that goes to the front has several "T"s off it......going to a "A" pillar-mounted gauge, then through the firewall to 2 more "T"s (1 for the roof-rack mounted air horns....the other goes to the front ARB air locker), then the hose continues to the bullbar to another Ryco quick release fitting.

Of course I then carry a hose with Ryco fittings and appropriate tyre inflation gear as well as a trigger gun (for blowing dust and bugs from air cleaner/radiator etc).

FollowupID: 444063

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:17

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:17
Hi Roachie ,
That sounds pretty slick . Where did you get your cylinders ? Why were two compressors necessary ?
Thanks ,
Willie
FollowupID: 444085

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 19:53

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 19:53
G'day Willie,

2nd one just makes the whole set-up THAT much quicker. I reckon it'd nearly be as good as a Endless Air now.

The 2 tanks........

one was part of the air horn kit I bought about 10 years ago. These set-ups weren't available for a long time after I bought mine, but I have more recently seen them in places like Opposite Lock etc. Tank is about 5" diameter and around 12" long. It has 3 threaded outlets in one end. It originally had a air gauge, outlet barb and a tyre-valve type inlet in the 3 holes. The instructions pointed out that it didn't have to have a compressor.....you could just plumb it up and pump it up at the servo or with your own home compressor etc.

The other tank is an old gas bottle (about 4L capacity). The 2 are mounted side by side. This one only has one hole.

The system has the 2 pumps mounted on a board, pumping via a brass threaded "T" piece......into a check valve (so air pressure isn't trying to get back via the pumps' piston rings), then another "T" piece. This one has the ARB cut-off pressure switch screwed into it. Then the air goes to the smaller (3L) tank. The 2nd hole in that tank has a hose coming out with 3-way barb.....one side goes to the 2nd tank, the other goes to the rear Ryco outlet. The 3rd outlet on the 3L tank has the hose leading up to the front (as described already).

On our Easter trip down Goog's Track, I was the tail end charlie. I only had one MaxAir at that time ...the 2nd one only fitted a couple of months ago. I was the last bloke to pull up when we'd finished the Track, so I was the last one to start airing-up. Plus I had 6 tyres to pump up AND I chose to pump them all back up to my normal road pressure of 40psi. Others in the group had ARB and similar capacity compressors (and some didn't have a trailer). Most of the others only run around 33psi anyway.

I know it's not a race as such, but I'm pleased to be able to say that I was the 1st bloke to be ready to continue on the track after airing up. Now, with the 2nd pump, it's even quicker to get the job done.

FollowupID: 444118

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:29

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:29
Thanks for the info Roachie ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 444326

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:23

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:23
Willie, take a peek here www.rzeppa.org/tech/auxair.htm
AnswerID: 186943

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:13

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:13
Footie ,
That was all a bit industrial , but thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 444083

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:47

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 16:47
Willie,
I use a spare tyre as an air tank - just hook it up with a 3 way connector that I made up so its continuously topped up by the compressor. To get really fast flow you need to remove the valve though. I leave 80psi in my spare all the time. Its the cheapest tank you'll come across and holds a lot more air than a old gas cylinder.

I carry a spare Toyota air cleaner and wash it out in water as per the instructions written on it. Then it can dry while using the other one.

AnswerID: 186950

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:12

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 17:12
Hi Phil ,
Do you actually use it as a spare tyre as well ?
When you remove the valve , what do you replace it with ?
Will my spare Cooper ATR stand 80lb of pressure constantly without problems ?
I guess my ARB compressor would not get it up to 80 lb - what would I use ?
Thanks a lot ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 444082

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 19:27

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 19:27
Yep, its just my spare tyre (or any of the others for that matter). Don't often have to use it - as you know I usually plug the punctures and I find that most tubeless tyres will reseat unaided with just a pump. Used to use it for tyre repair demos at club training sessions and reinflating tyres that had been rolled off the rim in sand.

With the spare fully inflated, just quickly unscrew the valve and clip on the hose. And I always have the valve out on the tyre being reinflated. Just helps to keep the flow rate up.

Yes your tyres will stand 80psi. Any 10 ply tyre is usually rated at 80psi for its maximum load anyway. 8ply are usually 65 psi.

Yep, your ARB compressor will get to 80psi. Many servos only go to 60 though.

Just a simple idea that works well for the few times you'll need it. Just a simple hose between two tyres works too. But I like to have the pump hooked into it via a 3-way connector.

FollowupID: 444112

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:04

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:04
Hiya Phil and Willie,

I've heard this talked about before ... but never managed to find the appropriate hardware.

Where do you get the threeway connector from?
Do you leave the valves out of your spares all the time?
What have you used for plumbing to your pump? My spares are on swingaway bars, so copper tubing won't work.
Lastly, what plumbing do you carry to go from your spares to the flat tyre or other uses?

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 444119

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:15

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 21:15
Hi Andrew,

3-way barbed connector (usually 5/16th or 3/8th depending on your hose) is sold by most car parts shops, or places that sell air hose fittings. Usually brass or plastic. Roccas used to have them - supercrap probably don't. Also could try Bunnings in the air tool section or BL Shipways on Richmond Rd.

I only hook it up when I need to use it. The 3way hose sits in a bag inside the cab. Its not a permanent fitting - just something I carry with me. My spare is otherwise untouched, apart from carrying 80psi.

My 3 way hose is only 2 metres long, so a tyre being reinflated is rolled to the back of my truck and I hook it up to the spare there there. My compressor is under the bonnet and I run the pump hose around to the back and hook it in.

The 3-way hose has two ends with tyre chucks on them and the 3rd end is a sawn off long valve from a split rim tube. The pump hose hooks up to the latter.

It really is a pretty simple system, purely there for when you want a big whoosh of air for reseating beads on tubeless tyres.

phil
FollowupID: 444134

Reply By: 100TD - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:34

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:34
Hi Wiliie,i have a 10ltr tank under the 100 mounted ontop of the trans mount on the left hand side of the auto that fits perfectly which came out of an isuzu truck.length wise it could be double in length but its a matter of finding one the right diametre to fit in this spot.ARB comp on it but it is slow to fill the tank.initial burst is OK to inflate/reseat a bead.will fit larger comp later to pump up tyres etc but for now its OK.cheers Paul
AnswerID: 186964

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:46

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:46
100TD ,
Thanks for the info . Is that position between the chassis rail and the sidestep ? ( - I am not strong on mechanics !)
Willie .
FollowupID: 444332

Follow Up By: 100TD - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:57

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:57
hi Willie it is mounted next to the auto(between chassis rail and auto)cheers Paul
FollowupID: 444337

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:53

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 18:53
Willie a 9 litre water fire extinguisher should fit on the passenger side between the side step & the chassis rail. (does on a 1HZ) They are very light & can be mounted with a couple of strap bolts to the chassis. They have a threaded air fitting already to screw into, just remove the tap & gauge. Ideally they should have a drain hole but following 5 years of regular use mine has no moisture in it at all. Next time I wont bother with the tank but just weld a thread into the side step or bull bar to save on a bit of unnecesary weight.
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 186969

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:44

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:44
Crackles ,
I will Google the extinguisher cylinders and see what's available . 9 litre sounds OK , but would be the minimum I would want . Maybe I could put one on each side like Ray ( Raunchy ).
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 444331

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:47

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:47
9 litre water fire extinguishers are the most common used around factories / offices & any with dints are often chucked out by the CFA when they do the yearly inspections. You would never need to buy one. Not sure what uses you have planned for the air tank but 9 litres is plenty on a car to reset a tyre bead. There is room on the other side to fit a second but the only time you would need two that I could see was to run air tools, but then one would need a 10cfm compressor to keep up. A Thomas blue tongue compressor takes around 6 minutes to fill the tank to 90 psi & would run an average air tool for 30 seconds. (wouldn't even loosen the wheel nuts)
Cheers Craig.....
FollowupID: 444954

Reply By: raunchy - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:10

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:10
Hi Willie,
Just did the same to my TD100IFS. I have a Twin Tongue, and have instgalled a tank off an old compressor I bought from a garage sale. It had two small tanks and cost me $20. The compressor was buggered, but the tanks OK and they have drain plugs. I mounted one under the passengers footwell against the chassis between the chassis and the sill. I am going to mount the second one on the drivers side in the same spot when I get the chance. The compressor is mounted on a bracket I welded up where the 3rd battery usually goes, I have separated the second battery off to a dual battery, and have an aluminium manifold I bought from Pirtek to connect the Nitto connector for air hose and the truck air horn and iun the future pressurinse water tanks, as well as connect to the tank. If oyu loof at the chassis you will see there is two threaded holes under the front passenger foot well. They are 8mm I made up a plate to use these holes as well as welded a pin to the plate further back to engage a hole in the chassis so the whole lot didnt move around too much. I then welded brackets to the tank and connected all up. Once I fixed all the leaks in the barbs and hole clamps all was trumps. This setup has been over some pretty good corrugations and is still going strong. make sure you use spring washers or nylock nuts though.Tanks are approx 100mm diameter and 500mm long.
Ray
AnswerID: 186979

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:18

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:18
Hi Ray ,

Thanks a lot for that info . One thing I would ask , and it is probably obvious to a person with mechanical skill ( not me ! ), are the two tanks interconnected or does the LH tank supply that side of the car and the other tank supply the RH side ?

Today I went out to Big Balls 4WD at Blacktown and they had a number of nice alloy tanks with drain plugs etc . The two larger ones were too large a diam. to fit where you have put yours . We measured that area and it looks like it will take a cylinder up to 160 mm in diam. and 450 mm long .

I think I will be hard presssed to find a long thin shape ( to maximize that area ) at a truck wrecker. From what I have seen , they usually have much bigger diameter cylinders .

So I have still to check out fire extinguishers , compressors tanks , scuba tanks and anything else I can think of . I want to get as large a tank as possible , or put one on each side like you have .

Also I guess I could get an aluminium welder to weld up a pipe that fits and put those screw in fittigs at each end . It would not be pressure tested , but I think we could over engineer it so that it would be strong enough .

What do you think ?

Thanks again ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 444324

Reply By: Dave198 - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:22

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 20:22
All the different uses for a compressor, do any of you use an air nozzle to blow the dust off the floor of the car. We use it all the time in the trucks at work to get the mine dust out. Impossible to stop the siht coming in on your boots.
Just on of those coiled air hoses with a small nozzle does the trick. Ours is permanently hooked up and hides behind the seat.
AnswerID: 186980

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:46

Thursday, Aug 03, 2006 at 22:46
Yep Dave,
I've got an extra Ryco outlet at the top of the driver's position (using one of the blank captive nuts that is designed to hold the grab handle (Nissan don't provide the handle on the driver's side).
Use it just for that purpose.
FollowupID: 444158

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:50

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:50
The blower vac (for leaves etc) also works very well for this, open all the doors, and let rip!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 444250

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 18:02

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 18:02
Ebay ,under commpressors ,fellow selling various size tanks .
AnswerID: 187678