100 Series economy ?

Submitted: Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 07:52
ThreadID: 36433 Views:3126 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
Can somebody help me ?

Took a 2001, 100 series Cruiser, for a run the other night, and the owner told me that it does 8-9 lt / 100 km ????

Are those figures right, ???

What happens to this economy, when you tow ??

Makes 10 lt / 100 km, in my late 2003 Navara TD look ordinary !
Navara seems to have more go.

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:09

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:09
Hi Bucky

Need to at least say what model it is

is it petrol , diesel , aftermarket turbo ?

only the base diesel could be that slow , and such figures are low but not
unreasonable driven quietly.

AnswerID: 187024

Follow Up By: bucky - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 05:29

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 05:29
Robin and others,,,
Sorry ,,,Model was a 4.2 TD Intercooled,,
Cost the farmer $70,000,,so does that means that he had a few extra's ???
FollowupID: 444432

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 18:00

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 18:00
I reckon those figures are salesman BS. I have a 1HZ aftermarket turbo and never get better than about 11 l/100 kms and up to about 15 l/100 kms if loaded and around 110 kph.
FollowupID: 444548

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 22:47

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 22:47
Factory turbo, not aftermarket on 1HZ.
FollowupID: 445699

Reply By: res.q.guy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:14

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:14
Hi Bucky
I have a '99 Cruiser (1hz diesel) on my last trip towing a camper trailer, my ave. consumption was 14.92 l/100 klm (or 6.77 klm/l or 19.14 mpg)
Regards Neil
AnswerID: 187025

Reply By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:56

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 08:56
Bucky,

He probably meant 8-9km/L... Thats about on the money for a regular diesel.

I have gotten down to about 10L/100km in my 98 105 Series 1HZ, but it is usually around 11-12L/100km.

Except if your name is BILLS. I think his is down to 4L/100km now with 53 Feltches or something. Thats if he hasn't reached the stage of actually making fuel as he drives, and selling it back to petrol stations.....lol.....

Chump
AnswerID: 187037

Follow Up By: crewser - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:54

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:54
(53 feltches) ROFLMAO
Is his name BILLS? I thought it was BULL S.
FollowupID: 444254

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:50

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:50
;-))))))))
FollowupID: 444272

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:49

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:49
Hi there Chump,

How you doing?

Remember that Bill doesn't have a 1HZ - he has a TD so his mileage is not comparable to a 1HZ anyway.

Ciao for now
Andrew who wishes he could get 10L/100km from his 1HZ
FollowupID: 444449

Reply By: Diesel Power - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:15

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:15
Funny how Toyota owners seem to always get L/100 and km/L mixed up :)
DiD Pajero on the other hand will achive 8-9 lt/100 quite easily ;)

AnswerID: 187040

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:24

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:24
lol - i'll pay that....
FollowupID: 444197

Reply By: BILL from Fitch Fuel Catalyst Australia Pty Ltd - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:51

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:51
Wise guy, Bills latest figures on trip to Toowoomba 1199.4klm for 120.45ltrs two people and fair load=10.04587 lph==9.95765kpl if you want didgital readings.Thats 2005 auto diesel GXL cruiser turbo,and that is OK.

Regards BILLS
AnswerID: 187096

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:10

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:10
Bills,

Why do you talk about yourself in the third person?

Anyways, thats some mighty accurate fuel figures - down to hundredths of mililitres - how the hell did you measure that accurately? You'd have trouble measuring that using an eydropper, or a full titration setup!!!!

And down to milimetres accuracy on the distance travelled? Did you take into account tyre wear? What about heat buildup in the tyres?

When are you going to do the Dyno tests you keep promising? When are the NRMA and RTA going to complete their testing - you know, the tests you keep saying are forthcoming?

And remember, just because the tests come back saying the feltch made no difference doesn't mean the test was wrong......lol

Chump
FollowupID: 444261

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:33

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:33
>> Why do you talk about yourself in the third person?

he wants nothin' to do with himself either.

FollowupID: 445705

Reply By: Spike me - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 15:33

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 15:33
Those figures sound quite exaggerated. He may be trying to sell you a car based on very inaccurate figures. I reckon he is pulling your leg with false numbers.

The unloaded conservatively driven 1HZ with no extra weight or roof racks should be able to get down to about 12 litres of fuel per 100 kms. 11.5 if you have a really light foot.

Would you trust a used car salesman.

I wouldnt
AnswerID: 187118

Follow Up By: dieselup - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:46

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:46
Your on the money Spike!
That's as good as Ican get out of our 105 1HZ with snorkel and extractors fitted
The extractors did make a difference to fuel economy and performance
FollowupID: 444333

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:19

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:19
Bucky,
We have a 2004 4.2TD auto, round town about 12.5 l/100km, trip and no rack, 10.5l/100km at 100kmph, with rack, 100-110kmph 14.5l/100 also head wind, so this was the worst case senario.

Of course this may vary depending on how you drive.

I'm pretty happy with this.

Regard
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 187130

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:35

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 16:35
Bill, why do you quote your fuel consumption in kpl and not the Aust Standard which is l/100km? Is it to deliberately confuse?
AnswerID: 187132

Follow Up By: BILL from Fitch Fuel Catalyst Australia Pty Ltd - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:24

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 20:24
Mikee5(QLD) Do you not understand 10.04587( lph) litres per hundred ie ( l/100km,) and as this was described in earlier answer I do understand your querie as it appears the Australian standards gurus dont have any idea either,we allways said how far we got on a gallon of fuel or if you like miles per gallon. Stands to reason one would say how far we go on each litre of fuel in comparison.Because the Australian standard says we use litres per 100, well I do not agree, and will continue to read kilometers travelled per litre.Have allready had dealings with the Australian standards people and am not real impressed with their approach to changes that they do not understand or should say they do not Want to understand,so I will leave it at that.

Regards BILLS
FollowupID: 444380

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:36

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:36
So now standards australia are involved....

Tell me Bill, when you don't get the result you want from them, whos next?

lol
FollowupID: 444411

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 08:33

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 08:33
Give it a break chump-boy, fair enough have a go at him when he deserves it but not just for the sake of it.
Strangely enough in this case I (and I know many others, because this discussion has come up before) actually agree with Bill, just because he uses km/lt doesn't mean he is trying to confuse us or trying to hide his figures, many of us use and understand this formula far better than the motoring media introduced lt/100.
Horses for courses.
Besides, you'll find he usually states the figures both ways, as I do, so it saves people doing the arithmatic themselves.
As for getting Aus standards involved, have you ever contacted a government body that sets some of our silly regulations and voiced your opinion, I know I haven't, so maybe that puts Bill one up on us, maybe if more of us did it then maybe, just maybe some of the regs might be changed. I doubt if it would but that just goes to show what Bill said about their hardheaded, stuff-you-attitude.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 444438

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:46

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:46
The australian standards are linked to International standards and were not introduced by the "motoring media"
You may have noticed they are measured this way in all countries that are metic.

The australian standards protect us in so many ways,in almost every aspect of our lives.

Bill probably doesnt like the AS because it exposes his product to professional scrutiny, and we know what that means;)
FollowupID: 444448

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:08

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:08
Pezza - Bill can state it how he wants, it just gives me the poos that someone can sell a product without doing any testing what-so-ever, and claim all sorts of things.

I am pretty sure his fuel figures could be accurate, but stating them to millimeter and sub millilitre accuracies is not on. I guess it's the engineer coming out in me..... And to turn around and clain it is his feltch that is making the fuel savings is not on either - until he can prove it.... Which he keeps claiming to be just about doing.

And all this talking in third person stuff is just a bit strange....

Lol - I guess it's time for a chill pill, and go clean the car....

FollowupID: 444464

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:34

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:34
sorry Pez, its open season LMAO
FollowupID: 445706

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:39

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 23:39
hey Pez see the recall on the KTM Motorcycle - 990 Adventure with ABS - 2006

Site Link
FollowupID: 445707

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:15

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:15
LOL, Oh well, can't win 'em all, must've been having a 'be nice' period in my life :-)

As for the recall, figure at least they admit they have a problem when they have one, unlike certain large 4wd manufactures.
They had a recall on the 950 as well when it first arrived, couple of small problems,one being something to do with the valve adjustment mechanism I think, either way, was all fixed and are one of the most reliable jiggers around now.

Can't for the life of me figure why they put ABS on the KTM anyway, other than playing 'keeping up with the jones' with the 1200 GS Beemer, which is more road orientated.
Won't find too many learners on the 990, and most experienced guys hate ABS, hence the 'ABS off' switch, fitted as standard.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 445721

Reply By: Billowaggi - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 23:42

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 23:42
I am afraid that the constant rude comment made about Blls posts by certain people is really starting to give me the bleep s . Regardles of what you think about Fitch ,Bill is entitled to make posts just like anyone else without sarcastic comments, especially when making a helpfull contribution to the forum. I wish certain people would just go and get a life!

Regards Ken.

AnswerID: 187206

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:54
I think a lot of people here are fed up with Bull S jumping into to flog his gadgets at every oppotunity.
He is the only one that I know of who is constantly selling something in every post.
Imagine if a car saleman or insurance rep started pushing their products every time someone asked for advice.
This forum is for people to swap experiences without the profit motive constantly in the back ground.
If I want advice on a car fridge from another owner,I dont want a frige seller coming on here telling me how good ABC fridges are!

FollowupID: 444450

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:19

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:19
Billowaggi,

I do tend to jump in whenever BILLS is concerned - hell, I think I even started this one, and BILLS came along afterwards.

I just think it is wrong the way he makes all sorts of unproven claims, and just gets away with it. No other manufacturer or importer can get away with it.

I'll stop when BILLS starts proving what he is claiming, simple as that. And he keeps saying he will do it!

Chump
FollowupID: 444465

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 15:51

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 15:51
Bill S figures seem very rubbery, here he is on an abortion forum declaring a whopping 50% improvement in fuel economy.

Site Link
FollowupID: 444522

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:08

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:08
That is very wierd! what has fuel economy got to do with abortion!

Ken.
FollowupID: 444645

Reply By: LeeBee - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:43

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:43
I have 100 series T/D Cruiser (2003 model)
Have just done trip Brisbane - Warakurna (WA) - Brisbane and averaged
10lt/100k over 8000k's.
(includes driving Plenty Hwy and Great Central Road )

Leigh
AnswerID: 188420

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:04

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:04
Hell Bucky is this open season on nissan's???
What the hell did Roachie say when you asked him for permission to even go near a Toyota?
Mate if you buy a Toyota you will be making a step in the right direction and having Roachie never talk to you again, may not be all that bad!!! hahahahahaha
All the best mate hope you find what your looking for.

On the fuel consumption figures, I have always used Litres per kilometre, I still recon this is the best measure, and is closely related to the previous Miles per Gallon.

As far as figures go it depends on the driver a lot and the speeds you travel at, out of my 2H I have had figures of 5 kpl when towing a heavy load, and average about 7 kpl and have had over 10 kpl on a leasurely trip to Broken hill where we never went over 80 ks an hr, so most of this is in the right foot !

Cheers Pesty

AnswerID: 188485