Under tray draws

Submitted: Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:00
ThreadID: 36436 Views:7953 Replies:5 FollowUps:10

I managed to find someone to fold sheet metal so I'm about to start hopfully one of my projects ....... build two draws for under my ute tray.

The size space I have is approx 1800 long by 900 wide and 140 deep.

I was going to make one size draw but felt this may cause issues when gear was placed in. So am after some views on that if possible.

If i was to do it in one size 900 wide what thinkness material (metal) would i use ? 2mm? As for the other idea two draws they would be about 420 wide each, I was considering 1mm base and side all folded. Do you think this will be think enough

I am planning on putting shovel, tools, recovery gear and stuff not used all that often but needs to be taken. etc etc I need to be mindfull I will be going outback so corrogations need to be considered.

I do have to be mindful of the overall weight of the unit.

I would also like to install a 2nd fuel tank but need to find someone to make it. The space I have will allow an extra 95 litres, which will give me 170 litres for my Rodeo ute. Where do i find out how to make a fuel tank and what is required ie senders, expansion chambers, baffles, drains?? I know a bloke who can weld stainless so was looking that way.

Any help would be welcomed.

Any photo's of roller set up would be great as well.

Reply By: SteveL - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:41

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:41
I have recently made drawers for the back of my GQ patrol out of 1.6mm gal. steel.
2.0mm is getting seriously heavy,you would need two people to lift them,if they were ~ 1800mm long. I can't recommend anyone in Brisbane to fold the metal for you,but anyone in Melbourne who is thinking of making up some serious drawers, I'd recommend going to Menzies Metals in Seaford. They have a sheetmetal workshop there,and as long as you do most of the work yourself (welding etc.) you will get out of it very cheaply.Anyone who want some photos,measurements etc. can email me at: chook1964@REMOVE yahoo.com.au.
AnswerID: 187046

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:47

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 09:47
I should add that if you are making drawers similar to the commercially made ones with the RHS welded on the sides, you need to watch your clearances.In the GQ although there is approx.1100mm of room,there is only enough clearance for 460mm wide drawers.-Steve
FollowupID: 444201

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:25

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:25
I will say 1.6 is rather heavy as well ..... can i ask why you went this size?? I agree 2mm is to heavy and to be honest I will be doing two draws not one I feel it will last longer that way and less hassles.

FollowupID: 444239

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:39

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 17:39
The commercially made ones use 1.6mm or close to it. The next size down just seemed too thin.Most sheet metal places I have been to only keep a few different thicknesses. -Steve
FollowupID: 444329

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:31

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 10:31
I cant comment on the draws, but sound like a great idea. I would be interested to see some pics of the build process and final product.

As for the tank, no help on getting them made up, however goannawhere (spelling?) in adeleaide sell pre fabbed ones quite cheaply. About 695 from memory. (no affiliation)

If getting one custom made, pay close attention to the distances between tank and cab/chassis etc. A member in my club, who is also my regular travelling buddy, found a leak in his tank, so he made some soup!!, but seriously, it was caused by a stone getting lodged between the tank and the rear of the cab and wore a hole. the gap was so small, that you would almost struggle to fit the width of 2 credit cards in it, hence the tamk could not be patched and had to rely on half filling the tank.

good luck
AnswerID: 187059

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:08

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:08
Ahh, re-read the post- re second fuel tank, apparently, and I have not tried, but been told, that the tank off a jackeroo (85L approx) will fit in the spare wheel position on the rodeo due to both vehicles using the same base chassis.

It would be worth investigating, as you can pick up the tanks for next to nix from someone that has replaced it with a long range tank.
FollowupID: 444220

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:12

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:12
Will check that out thanks, I was however hoping to not to put it behind the rear diff. I am trying to install just behind the cab ...... allowing about 100 mm between. Of course cost will be a big part and I guess I would only use it on a few occassions so cannot see the value in megga $$$$ yours maybe the best option.

There is a lot to consider in my idea and to be honest have to check the legal bit out and design of the tank I am considering. I'm looking at going side to side and over the exiting tank. I have seen something similar in a hilux so figured i could do it in mine.

FollowupID: 444237

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:57

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:57
Sounds good. I too dont like the idea of having a tank sitting behind the diff, and a replacement LR tank only gives a benefit, in the dual cab, of about 45-50 l depending on brand.

Due to cost, I have stuck with my 5 jerry cans that were given to me. Perhaps your idea might be the go.

Could be a market for you??

FollowupID: 444255

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:07

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:07
I've considered a rear drawer but trying to weatherproof and dustproof and use weatherproof rollers has all defeated me.

Instead my plan is to simply build a sealed 900x1100x150 compartment with a door that flips down at the back. That way I can have it sealed from the elements. The space forward of this has a 75 litre water tank.

Probably won't get around to it for a few months though.
AnswerID: 187074

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:35

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:35
I notice you can get flatish spacecases - you might be able to build a simple lockable holder for a space case that you take out when you want to access it.
FollowupID: 444227

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:41

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 13:41
Yeah, I'd love it if they made a plastic one that just slid in. I've only got 150mm to play with, so I pretty sure I'll have to make one up out of aluminium. Smallest space case in the ARB brochure is 225mm deep. Must have a look at Adelaide Merchandising again!

phil

FollowupID: 444247

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:03

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 14:03
Gday Phil

If you build your compartment with the flip down door, the drawer can go inside, runners and all - sealed and accessable , but you add a bit of weight and loose a bit of space

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 444258

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:33

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 19:33
Hi Andrew B,
Hadn't thought of that.
But I have long arms!! I figure if its only 1100 deep I could manage. I'll probably use it for tarps and tents etc.

phil
FollowupID: 444371

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:58

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 12:58
i went for the two draw system, its a lot more work in building it but a draw 900mm wide needed thicker material & the rollers were too dear & besides its a lot easier pulling out a 420mm draw than the bigger one, theres still heaps of room for gear in both draws. good luck. cheers
AnswerID: 187086

Reply By: extfilm - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:46

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 18:46
Have you thought about an external fuel tank if you have a ute then you have the space. I carry a 200l fuel tank with me. I used to carry 8 jerry cans but I found it tedious. Now all I do is pull over on the side of the road, take out the nozzle and fill the ute up. It has an auto cut off pump. By memory it cost $689. You can also get 100l tanks. And would be cheaper than the 200l. I think it is a cheap alternative considering you will be able to take the tank to the next ute.
Here is the link
Site Link
AnswerID: 187152