The best medium sized Dual-Cab 4WD

Submitted: Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 21:36
ThreadID: 36456 Views:16178 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Hi guys, what’s the best medium sized Diesel 4wd?

I am on the market for the best medium sized Dual-Cab 4WD with a Diesel Motor, ideally models not older than say 5 years. I’ve noticed that both the Nissan Navara and the Mazda Bravo have turbo diesels on the later models! I am a bit suspicious of turbos in terms of reliability and service. What I want is, a strong, hassle-free motor that’s made a reputation for longevity and ease of maintenance.

I’ve read on the net that Nissan’s 3lt turbo diesel is not the best when it comes to longevity.

Q: Has anyone had experience with either the Nissan or the Mazda? Which is better?
If yes, of the past 5 years, which is the best model?

Q: The 2000 model Navara came with a 3.2lt Diesel, is it a more reliable unit than the 3lt turbo?

Your Help is much appreciated…

Reply By: Plantman - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:12

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:12
The hilux up until the last model (i.e. up until 04 model and not too sure how much earlier on - at least year 2000 I think) has the 1KZ-TE 3.0Lt turbo deisel. This engine has been tried and proven across the whole world and has been used in the hilux surf since something like 1992 or there abouts. Also used in the Prado. Very good reliable car.

Could somebody add reply clarifying my dates a little?

Plantman
AnswerID: 187188

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:20

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 22:20
I would go the Navara mate, look for resale figure service cost etc, Navara has a good name in Australia, personally i think if you can get a car that is easy to sell, that is eveyone else wants one, you have picked a winner. Personally i would buy the Hilux over any of the old rodeo, mazda or navara, there are heaps of spare parts well priced and available anywhere, good accerories, etc. I personally feel resale should be strong on the product you buy, so buy low and sell as high as you can.
AnswerID: 187189

Reply By: Billowaggi - Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 23:22

Friday, Aug 04, 2006 at 23:22
Hi all Rodeo just does not go wrong, 2.8 or 3.0 they are pretty much bomb proof, direct injection with cast iron head and mechanical injection. Also the rest of the drive train is strong with very little gearbox probs.Honest and reliable without too much excitement . My 96 2.8td has now done 300.000 and is still on all original running gear and is returning 9.5/100km with a regular loaded weight of 2.25t.
Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 187200

Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 01:26

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 01:26
Hi Rick P
I can offer you some first hand knowledge. My boss owned a 2002 3Lt R9 Rodeo and swore by it. It drove good, went good, and towed good. Now i own it and I agree. He then owned a 2005 3 Lt Navara (series 2) and hated it from the day he got it. Wouldnt tow his tandem trailer up a hill, was noisey on the road and steered like a boat.
However my neighbour owned a 2003 3Lt Navara (series 1) and used it for work (towing those mobile light up signs they use at roadworks etc) and said it was better than the 4.2 Lt Patrol he had before. I have also heard that the 3Lt Nissan motors (same motor in the Patrol and Navara) have been giving some problems with the injector pump (expensive repair).
In a recent edition of Overlander 4WD they did a comparison of Navara Vs Rodeo Vs Bravo. They all ahd there good and bad points depending on what you use it for. Well worth trying to get yourself a copy.
Hope some of this helps.
Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 187213

Reply By: bigcol - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:48

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 09:48
Mate i've got a 2004 series 2 STR Navara.
It tows a tralier every day of the week that weighs around 1.3t..
It's uses around 12.5litres per 100km with the trailer on and around 7.5 liters per 100 km without on the highway.
It's been to the beach several times towing camper trailers and to the Cape towing a camper trailer.
It's never got me stuck (it's limited slip diffs work a treat) and i've never had a problem with it.
I've driven all the dual cabs and the Navara and the Hilux are the pick of them and it then comes down to personal choice
AnswerID: 187235

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:10

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 11:10
"...Hi guys, what’s the best medium sized Diesel 4wd?..."

There is no "best" of anything, only that product that fits your needs and requirements. Your needs and requrements are quite different to everyone elses and so the product you choose will also be different.

By all means, listen to others experiences (if that is the real point of your question), go for test drives, read magazine write-ups, and generally do your research.

"What is the best..." is one of the commonest questions from noobs who haven't yet learned that it usually leads to a bunfight in the forum, with no really productive answers as ppl try to justify their loyalties.

Try "What are your experiences with..." as a question, you will generally get more meaningful responses
AnswerID: 187250

Follow Up By: Rick P - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 14:00

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 14:00
Not really, different products are designed by different people with different degrees of vision and expertise and testing procedures. It is a known fact, that different engines designed by the same company, different engineering teams, have different
reliability characteristics and inherit short-comings. This is evident from any manufacture from the Honda V 4 motorcycles, to the Porsche Carrera Turbo and Toyota Hiluxes, and so on.... Some engines are just better than others and that's a fact, and as a whole unit, some cars are put together so much better than others... that's also a fact.

FollowupID: 444497

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 15:24

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 15:24
........and some vehicles are good at handling a load in the back versus a "load" in the front. As I said, it depends on what YOUR needs are.
FollowupID: 444518

Follow Up By: Rick P - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 16:47

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 16:47
That aside, and where the night-light switch maybe positioned, example, some people like the switch on the dashboard, others prefer it positioned above their heads... One truck is better then another.

Look mate, I am not trying to put brand-names down here, my loyalty lies with the engineers who put their effort, time, test, and dedication into the assigned design, before releasing it to the market.

The question is a simple one: is the Nissan Navara 3lt Turbo Diesel less finicky, more reliable than it's predecessor the 3.2 naturally aspired?

Q2: or are the Rodeo's and Mazda diesels better choice, i.e. less finicky, longer life, How Much More Simpler Can I put This Simple Question?

FollowupID: 444532

Follow Up By: Nick D40 - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 19:30

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 19:30
A turbo may last as long, but will never be MORE reliable than a n/a more moving parts that could fail.

Rodeos and mazdas are both reliable however, they are also too gutless to pull the skin off a pudding, my choice in the year ranges you are looking at is the Navara D22, if looking at new, a Navara D40 2.5 td, i had a 03" Rodeo 3.5 V6, the Navara tows more and does it easier as well as uses less fuel, it's a larger and more robust tow vehicle.
The only choice right now is the common rail tech vehicles, everything else belongs in a museum, that leaves Hilux and Navara, the Hilux is a nice ute, i had a deposit on one until i drove the Navara.
FollowupID: 444577

Reply By: John R (SA) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 21:20

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 21:20
Not sure about best, but can offer my opinion/observation:

I've had a new model Hilux for 12 months. Love it. Very comfortable, goes like a shower of s***. Tows very well (better than my 2000 Diesel Prado). Great on or off road. Ave 8km/lt diesel. Brother-in-law has in the past 6 mths turned over all 4 work utes to hiluxes. I'm confident I'll make up for the cost on resale.

The farm Rodeo (2yo) has the towing capacity of a wet sock, though I feel the Rodeos are a bit variable - a mate who makes a living as an agronomist covering many km & towing frequently is quite happy with his. Having said that, another mate recently traded his Rodeo on a Hilux and lost around $20k in two years on the Holden. I could list more people unimpressed with their Rodeo, than pleased.

And for christ's sake, stay away from the Ssangyong!
AnswerID: 187344

Reply By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:02

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 00:02
Hi all, it may be worth waiting a few weeks and having a look ot the new Triton 3.2 common rail diesel. I think that the vehicle looks better than the new shape Hilux [ihave seen one in the [flesh'] the body is in much better proportion to the size of the wheels.

Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 187365

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 01:01

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 01:01
i reckon in 5 years there wont be a diesel without a turbo. cheers
AnswerID: 187371

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 12:26

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 12:26
Sooner than that I think, the only one left now is the venerable 1HZ in the 79series and standard 100 series and its days are already numbered.

Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 444696

Reply By: toonfishunpaid - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:47
i have a reliable d22 navara for sale pretty cheap 165,000 kms and plenty of acesories and extra's 3.2 litre diesel and i have a turbo option still in the shed.
been very good to us .
feel free to holla
AnswerID: 187489