Fuel saving devices

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 21:10
ThreadID: 36488 Views:2656 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Interested readers may like to have a look over this site.

www.fuelsaving.info/catalysts.htm

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 21:57

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 21:57
Lets guess which bull bleep artists

1) either set this up
2) or will try and flog is bull bleep
AnswerID: 187350

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 22:59

Saturday, Aug 05, 2006 at 22:59
From what I read, it actually gives no direct support to any, rather provides some 'facts' about the reluctance, and lack of evidence to provide the enhancements claimed. It delves into the science of how these claims can be achieved, and offers opinion on why and how the devices possibly may not have any scientific value.

seems independant, and having read some of this guys articles in the past, have found them quite informative.

Have a read first, before you let out the bull bleep .
FollowupID: 444634

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:22

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:22
WOOOOOOOOssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
FollowupID: 444801

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 23:01

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 23:01
was that the half or full flush???????

FollowupID: 444807

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:14

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:14
Mr Fixit ,
Thank you . A good read and I hope that it was all factual and fair dinkum - it seemed like it , but who knows .
Very interesting reading when you click on "turbulence" re Hyclone claims .
Willie .
AnswerID: 187395

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:54

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:54
A lighter foot is the only real one that is easiest to know about. Better exhausts do come into it though too. Forget easy gadgets.
AnswerID: 187401

Follow Up By: BILL from Fitch Fuel Catalyst Australia Pty Ltd - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:03

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:03
All I can say about that information is it is very STALE ie 1994 just in case some have not noticed this is 2006 and many advances have been made in the automotive field.
Some advances just too hard for some to come to terms with, or understand the actual configuration and or effect of such advances OHWELL so be it.

Kindest regards BILLS
FollowupID: 444761

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 20:48
please enlighten us. With comments like ' Some advances just too hard for some to come to terms with, or understand the actual configuration and or effect of such advances ' I'm amazed that you are still in business treating people/customers/potentioal customers with such contempt.

Leroy
FollowupID: 444774

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:55

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:55
I don't think Bill knows what science is to know the difference between fact and fiction.

I know science has advanced in the automotive field. Your anecdotal reports aren't proof of anything Bill. They are contemptible.
FollowupID: 444793

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:28

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:28
anyone else think of this when he posts?
FollowupID: 444804

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:54

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 22:54
More like this I think Bruce
Site Link
FollowupID: 444806

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:25

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:25
Bill, are you aware of the 'Terms of use' for the forum? Read them and please abide by them.
FollowupID: 444823

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:43

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:43
By the Way, check out post 36471, and perhaps clarify any of the issues. If you choose not to clarify, you could just keep posting advertisements......
FollowupID: 444825

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:47

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:47
That was for you, Bill.

FollowupID: 444826

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 22:50

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 22:50
FollowupID: 445023

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:46

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:46
I think this says it all.....

"I have worked in the car industry for over fifteen years, everything from development of novel fuel-efficient engines to mapping of production vehicles. In that time I've seen dozens if not hundreds of supposed "fuel saving devices" advertised. Without exception, I advise you not to buy them! Over and over again, a company starts selling a "miracle" fuel-saving product, which of course is supposedly revolutionary and different to every other product that's been offered in the past; over and over again, the product turns out to be bogus and buyers lose thousands (or even millions) of pounds / dollars. To the best of my knowledge, no "add-on" fuel economy device or product has ever demonstrated worthwhile savings, yet new ones are always being introduced to the market, and uninformed customers are easily taken in by the claims and marketing "hype".

I have no involvement with any of the companies selling these fuel "saving" devices, nor do I get any benefit if people don't buy them. But I'm an honest sort of guy who doesn't like to see people get ripped off, and felt it was time to explain the engineering truth behind the claims. I also object to the fact that some of these devices make emissions worse, which obviously is bad for people's health. Finally, as a car industry engineer, I resent the implication that my colleagues and I are "too stupid" to see the benefits of these fantastic planet-saving gizmos! "
AnswerID: 187507

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:58

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:58
Yep!
FollowupID: 444828

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:03

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:03
buyer beware
FollowupID: 445026

Reply By: Brian - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 02:50

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 02:50
Just a slight change of tack here , i guess you all know about taking the radiator fan blade off and getting better mpg or kpl.
I tried this in 1982 , bought this Valiant VG wagon in Brissy took it back to Gladstone and prepared for our trip here to Wooroloo WA ,did a fuel test over a couple of trips and from memory scored about 20mpg , yes thirsty 245 auto with the Carter carby ( some Valiants were fitted with Strombergs and by reports were a bit more efficient than Carters ) took fan blade off and headed off to Brisbane this around September , pleasant weather but not stinking hot , should have taken fan blade off AFTER Brisbane as old Val got a bit hot at a few red lights , but didn't cook it , those cast iron heads could take a bit more heat than alloys.
Well came all the way to Wooroloo WA without the fan blade on , averaged about 2 mpg better than previous oh and forgot to mention dragged a 6x4 trailer behind us something i didnt have on when i did my fuel tests in Qld
I guess you couldnt do that in a Tojo towing a caravan ??
Another thing i experimented with was steam injection , there were a few different setups , dont think there really was an inprovement in economy but my vehicles sure ran a lot smoother , i can really vouch for that

AnswerID: 187535

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:01

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:01
Yes, the Falcon ute I had ran all the way to valve bounce at about 93mph with the fan off too. Made all the difference. In peak hour it wasn't any good when I had to drive once.

The declutching fans and viscous drives overcome most of the power advantage and overcome the overheating too.
FollowupID: 445025

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 00:32

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 00:32
It seems the boys from Filch have been over the Biodiesel forum and copped an ear full from some very knowledgeable guys who make their own fuel.
Bill is known as Bowser Buster over there and he has a Singaporean protege who has a personality just like Bills: )
Bill also did a runner from the thread when some of the forum members wanted to test the Filch at the University of NSW;)
Check out the dyno graph that shows no improvemnt with the Filch on pg 7
http://www.biofuelsforum.com/general_biodiesel_discussion/11-the_fitch_catalyst_-_genuine_improvement_or_fake_hype.html
AnswerID: 187769

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 00:34

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 00:34
It seems the boys from Filch have been over the Biodiesel forum and copped an ear full from some very knowledgeable guys who make their own fuel.
Bill is known as Bowser Buster over there and he has a Singaporean protege who has a personality just like Bills: )
Bill also did a runner from the thread when some of the forum members wanted to test the Filch at the University of NSW;)
Check out the dyno graph that shows no improvemnt with the Filch on pg 7
http://www.biofuelsforum.com/general_biodiesel_discussion/11-the_fitch_catalyst_-_genuine_improvement_or_fake_hype.html
AnswerID: 187770

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 08:40

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 08:40
I guess it's like an external antenna for a mobile phone incar kit CDMA/GSM hey, bloody useless BUT ALOT OF PEOPLE HERE USE THEM.

Use what you believe works, i say.

Personally i don't use either, but thats my choice, but why do people here continually harass people because of what they drive/use as a fridge/tent/camper/fuel saving device or whatever, whats to say that you blokes are right and evryone else is wrong because it's something that YOU think is not as good or YOU think doesn't work.

Whether it works or not doesn't give you the right to belittle someone like that, personal attacks are wrong.

Leave the bloke alone

AnswerID: 187793