Submitted: Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 04:14
been reading all the posts on bypass oil filters on this
forum , actually used them on a couple of vehicles , reckon they are great , there is a bit of sceptism from some members but thats always the case , everyone is entitled to an opinion , just think our thinking is conditioned over many years that we must change our oil at such n such ks etc.
i read a few opinions on where the return line should go , on my brothers car he has taken out the oil dipstick and put it away with his car tool kit and the return line fits snugly over the dip stick casing or holder . Saves plugging up a hole in the sump , rocker cover etc if you decide to sell your vehicle
Naturally i invite comments but only from those who agree with the concept of these filters!!!!
Reply By: mr fixit - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 08:47
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 08:47
So let me think about this, you are going to rob oil pressure from some fitting or part of the motor and let it flow through a by-pass filter then dump the pressure to the sump. ??
Follow Up By: Brian - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 11:08
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 11:08
Thanks for your reply Mr Fixit , i do believe that the oil pressure is maintained
by an orifice just before the oil enters the bypass filter , on the discharge side of the filter its more like gravity flow back to the sump ,i remember the first bypass filter i bought had a very bad fault , it had just an ordinary line from the take off point to the filter , i replaced this with a suitable hydaulic line .
The oil in my brother's old Vovo 122
sedan was aprox half a million
miles old !!
the only refinement he made to his later Volvo was to replace the mineral oil with synthetic oil , with the original bypass filter on
Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 12:40
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 12:40
So you are saying your brother did 800,000k’s on the same load of oil.?
Yeah… I find that hard to Swallow.
Follow Up By: Brian - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:19
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:19
Exploder !! i will contact my brother to get the real figures , not the " politicians" figures , but whatever the true mileage if your oil is kept clean why cant the same oil last for 500,000 ks ?? One know one arguement here would be that the oil breaks down but the 1 micron filter stops the contamination of the oil which breaks it down , including
water which is one of the worst contaminates for a motor , the normal fuel flow filter just lets it through !!
Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:40
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 09:40
Brian.
Isuzu have been using bypass oil filters on their 4bdt engines for years( used in trucks earthmoving gear etc.) but on their latest motors they have gone to just one large filter. so its got me wondering now?.
Axle
Follow Up By: Brian - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:32
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 13:32
Thanks " Axle " , you the son of " Bent Axle Bob " that character in the SSlim Dusty song on Lights on The
Hill albumn ??!!
Reply By: Medium Kev. - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:10
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 10:10
Hello Brian, I've been using a Franz by-pass filter on my '96 Pajero and on my 2000 Hi lux for several years now with no detrimental effects that I can see. Prior to that , I used both filters on an old XA automatic Ford ute, now resting in peace!! One was used on the engine and used the other on the auto, both were no problem there either.
Before anyone jumps on me...I don't sell, or have any connection with these filters.
The Hilux has a bit of a bad name where frquency of oil changes is concerned, eg. where dusty conditions or slow idle work is performed, the recommendation is to change oil at 1500 klms.. Can't believe that !!
That's the reason for the by-pass filter (
toilet paper), and I change it approx. 3000 klms, and change the oil at 10000 with a new regular filter.
Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 16:19
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 16:19
Swear by them.
Have been using them since the mid seventies.
I would bet my life that they substantially reduce engine wear while dramatically extending oil change intervals.
On my diesels (I have still have two!) I use a Frantz on both oil AND fuel.
You'd have to see to believe how clean the inside of the engine is on my old diesel Gemini,... however sadly the engine died when a rubber timing belt broke prematurely. Bugger. The motor WAS perfect!
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 18:17
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 18:17
Not sure about the idea of the dipstick return.
I run the AMSOIL system with a remote-mounted head unit which contain 2 filters; the normal (15 micron) filter and the larger by-pass (1 micron) filter. I use an adaptor plate that goes where one of the Patrol's normal filter used to be......2 heavy (steel reinforced) hoses to/from the head unit with "T" clamps instead of just normal hose clamps. The whole system is under the same pressure that would have applied to the original oil system. Just in case I suffer a blow-out (hose blows off etc), I've fitted a buzzer to the normal oil pressure light circuit......if the light comes on I might not bsee it straight away; but I sure will hear the buzzer right beside my right ear.
Follow Up By: JR - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:30
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:30
Roachie,
Where do you source your Amsoil bits from?
Do you have any info on your bypass install ie where it fits etc
Chers
JR
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:31
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:31
Roachie!!
How many" Blue Tooths" You got hanging off that right ear?
1 micron filter?? MMMMMM!!!
Axle
Follow Up By: Brian - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:51
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 01:51
G'day Roachie , thanks for your input , just been viewing your profile , there would be no room for a missus in that rig of yours ??!!
I reckon the dip stick holder return is a great idea , only thing is if you want to check the oil level its a bit of a pain fishing it ( dip stick ) out from your tool kit if its not readily accessable.
thing i am getting a Mil -Mac bypass filter , were manufactured here in WA but now in Malaysia am led to believe , have seen a bit about Amsoil on the net , fairly big in USA
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:57
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 09:57
G'day JR
I've bought all my gear so far from Ian Bishop. Ian is a farmer and oyster grower at the bottom end of
Yorke Peninsula here in SA. He is difficult to get hold of a lot of the time and I have since got the name of another bloke in
Adelaide who may be a better option. His name is Bruce (don't know his surname) and phone number is 08 8388 5294.
The dual head unit takes up a bit of space.....about as much as a 2nd battery. In my case, I decided to buy an AGM 120 a/h aux battery and mount it in the cargo bay along with it's 3 stage charger (after all, 90% of the gear used by the aux battery is in the cargo area anyway.....fridge, inverter, dual compressors,
HF radio etc). I kept the battery tray under the bonnet in it's original spot over the passenger's side wheel arch and rigged up a couple of bits of steel into a bracket to hold the dual head unit. The hoses exit the driver's side of the motor towards the firewall, then curve around behind the motor (between it and the firewall), then up to the dual head unit. Too easy!
Axle, yep....1 micron...the size of the particles in cigarette smoke!!!
Brian......"no room for a missus in that rig of yours ??!! "........that's why I bought a roof rack!!! hahahahaha (oh chit; I'm gunna pay for THAT one!!!! hahaha)