Discovery 3 - 18 inch wheels - what tyres??

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:11
ThreadID: 36505 Views:22436 Replies:7 FollowUps:13

We have some friends who have a Discovery 3 and it has 18 inch wheels and currently it has 255/60 R18 tyres on it.

They were wanting to do a trip to central Australia and Oodnadatta track and Mereenie Loop road and were wondering what tyres are available in a size that will fit the Discovery 3. They have standard tyres at present and are not sure if they are up to the task for a trip like that. Also are wanting to do more four wheel driving and trips in the future and would like to upgrade their tyres.

Have told them to look out for EO stickers and annoy anyone who has one.

Andrew.

P.S. - I know you all love tyre questions but I did a search and could not find anything relevant

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:43

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 17:43
35*12.5R18 Cooper Armortec STT’s it would look Una, Some light fender trimming may be required. Thay would be silly not to do it LOL

275/65R18 are also available in the STT Armortec pattern, Might squeeze em on .
AnswerID: 187453

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 18:08

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 18:08
Hi Big Kidz, I have both a D3 and a Mk3 Range Rover.

Unlike most Mk3 Range Rovers which have low profile wheels and tyres, I specifically went for high profile wheels and tyres so I could go off road, this makes my D3 and RR tyres the same.

The D3 has only done 15k so far so the original tyres are still on it. These are not bad off road.

I have had Wranglers and Pirelli Scorpions on the Range Rover. The Wranglers were so so but the Scorpions were absolutely crap, on and off road.

I have have just fitted a set of Copper H/T Plus 265/60/18 to the Rangy and although I have only done 2,000km, I have had it off road a few times and these tyres have made a huge difference. They are good road tyres and great off road traction so your mate will be able to put the D# electronic traction controls through it’s paces

Tell your friend to have a look at the Copper’s web sit, it’s very well set up for checking for the correct tyres and he won’t have to do any body modifying.
AnswerID: 187456

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:02

Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 19:02
It would be a very wise move. There was a bloke earlier in the year stranded up near Karijini (Pilbara WA) in a D3 due to tyre issues. I seem to remember a week and $600 each being mentioned.

If you are going 'odd ball', set yourself up as best as possible and tyres would be the first priority on my list.
AnswerID: 187460

Reply By: SKP - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:42

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:42
Hi Andrew and Jen,
I am going through the same exercise at the moment re tyres for the D3.
A few of my fellow D3 owners have replaced their 18" wheels with aftermarket 17" alloys. These cost about $350 each plus approx $250 to $300 per tyre v. about $500 per tyre for the 18". At least this way you can have a quieter tyre for city driving and some nice agressive tyres for the bush.
Check out www.disco3.co.uk?forum/australia and scroll through, heaps of useful info. The problem is ,if you go for too large a tyre, the spare wont fit underneath, so then you need the Kaymar twin rear carrier($2600), but then you can fit the longrange automotive 110 L tank! ($1400). Big dollars, and weight!
I shall watch this thread with interest. (are you the guys with the Tvan)?
Cheers, Steven P
AnswerID: 187600

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 12:58

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 12:58
Hi Steven

We are the guys with the Tvan.

You are the guy with the D3. Do we know you?

FollowupID: 444897

Follow Up By: SKP - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 10:09

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 10:09
No, you don't know me, but I also have a Tvan (May 06).
I got the D3TD to tow it in June as I thought it would use less fuel (12.5L/100kms v. 17.5 for my petrol Jackaroo).
Steven
FollowupID: 445073

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:15

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:15
Tvan's are awesome - have you been away yet?? I was chatting to someone today who has a new Trakshak with all the bells and whistles and it made me just want to go away again....

I reckon that I would buy a D3 if I was in the market for a new vehicle - that are just so refined feeling.

FollowupID: 445214

Follow Up By: SKP - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:04

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:04
Oops, sorry typho. Meant May 05 ( not 06) for the Tvan.
Went up the Cape (York) with the D3 and Tvan in July 05 (averaged 12.5L/100 towing, so no complaints, was expecting the D3 to exhibit some form of "Disco behaviour", but went beautifully, with no probs. Last trip I made to Qld in March, averaged 9.7L/100, not towing.
Just had the software enhancement done at the 24000 service and it has even more "go" yet fuel economy even better!
Steven
FollowupID: 445614

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:41

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:41
Fuel economy is fantastic - and diesel is cheaper than unleaded at the moment which helps even more - resale should be much better too in the long run.

Tvan would have been great on a cape trip - we were in a tent then!

FollowupID: 445619

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:15

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:15
Hi Andrew a friend of mine has just gone down this path with his Range Rover Sport,(same as the D3) have a look at this thread and how he went about it 17" rims and Coopers on his RR Sport.

AnswerID: 187624

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:49

Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:49
Thanks Baz. See that the pic shows Coopers on his car but the link from his site that is titled "Tyre to Fit" links to a BF Goodrich site! Good advice thanks.

FollowupID: 444975

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 10:38

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 10:38
Gives a choice, either way is good Andrew.

Ben went with the Coopers, but they may not suit you friends driving needs.

I forgot to add that there are a number of guys on AULRO that have done this as well so might be worth your while to look in there, PCH, Jamo, Stevo are some that have.
This is Jamo's D3

FollowupID: 445079

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:17

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:17
Thanks Baz - I am sure my mate is just buzzing with excitement about the tyre options etc - that disco looks great with the twin wheel carrier.

I reckon my mate will try and post and say thanks soon - if he figures out how to use a computer..

FollowupID: 445215

Reply By: specialist - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:58

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:58
Right-0 - we can stop this thread now. I am the fabled person who owns this Discovery 3.
I ask Andrew 1 innocent question and he has to ask the entire 4WD world....!

I have been ringing around, and there seems to be wheels and tyres to suit from 17" upwards. I can go and get 17" Alloys now ($245)... or wait a coupla weeks and get 17" Steel wheels ($125) ...
I will then get AT tyres - and will see which ones I like the best at the time - probably Cooper.

Have not figured out what to do about the wheel choice.. Alloys are a bit of a waste as I will be taking them off as soon as I get back to the burbs. (My 18" Alloys are very noice or taking the kids to school).

I have only been serious 4wDing (with BigKids) - have a look at photos (my car got dirty!) at www.spiflicate.com.au/mansfield

AnswerID: 188077

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:23

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:23
These are the rims Ben went with on his Rangie Sport

Just to confuse things, good to see you getting out in the D3 too mate.

FollowupID: 445303

Follow Up By: specialist - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:36

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:36
Thanks - looks like nice and chunky tyres.....and shiny wheels

SR
FollowupID: 445306

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:59

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:59
Nice pink jacket Andrew.

Did Jen pick that one out for you?

So you're thinking of coming over to the dark (D3) side, eh?
AnswerID: 188109

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:39

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:39
Wombie

Pink is my color don't you think....??

Are you ready for another game of tennis??

Andrew (Big Kidz) - with a Z not an S Mr Specialist
FollowupID: 445428

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:55

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:55
I don't think Dr Kowal would be happy if I was to play tennis for the next couple of weeks, but after that, now that I won't be seeing two tennis balls you're mine.

When do you order the Disco? I don't think they come in pink, but you might be able to get some aftermarket pink bits.
FollowupID: 445431

Follow Up By: specialist - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:39
Andrew likes pink bits - especially at the Disco

I'm in for tennis too!

SR
FollowupID: 445469