jon p qld
G'day all
anyone got some good suggestions/recipe's for making
camp oven dampers. Everyone I talk to seems to have their favourite method, just curious what other people do. Just done a thread search but a lot of the talk was baking with cobb cookers, where as I'm using a cast iron oven in the coals.
Thanks in advance for your input.
Regards Jon
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:16
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:16
Hi Jon,
we have moved away from damper and now bake fresh bread in the
camp oven... We use standard "bread machine" mixes in a loaf tin, elevated from the bottom of the oven on a cake rack.
Not really what you wanted but woeth a look IMO.
Blue
Reply By: Harry - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:21
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:21
G'day Jon,
I use the same recipe as I do for my Cobb. The Cobb is very convenient, but the cast iron cooks better and hotter. No big deal just start cookin mate.
You will also find that the heat beads work just as
well with your
camp oven, use about 15, as they do for the Cobb, the difference being, you don't have to keep changing the coals. ( the Cobb really shines when the weather is crap and your having trouble keeping the coals up for your cast iron)
I am really biased to the cast iron, but everything has it's place.
So get in there and copy their
recipes. :>)))
Reply By: JJ - Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:28
Sunday, Aug 06, 2006 at 21:28
Here's a couple of sites that may be of help:
Site Link
Site Link
And Google "
Camp Ovens" or "
Camp Oven Cooking"; should keep you going.
Reply By: draff - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:00
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 08:00
We've tried heaps of different variations but the easiest receipe was the best - flour & beer! Self-raising flour (2-3 cups feeds 4), bit of salt & sugar (optional), as much beer as required to make into a dough consistency. Get your
camp oven hot with a bit of oil in the bottom, put the damper in the middle in a flatish 'cake' shape, not touching the sides.
Cook slow, with coals on top whilst drinking the remaining beer! makes a nice light damper.
Reply By: Member - Clay G (WA) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:28
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:28
I agree totally with Blue. Bread is the way to go and only requires a bit more effort to get the dough right. On our recent trip the 8 kids and 10 adults all voted unanimously in favour of bread in a "bread versus damper" expert
cook off. Even our hard core damper chef became a convert although the old unused damper did make an excellent base plate for the jack!
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:31
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 11:31
Or , any
scone recipe [ deleting the pooncie bits about sifting and gentle handling ] .
To accompany a roast , remove cooked roast from oven and keep warm ,
cook damper in roast juices . Serve in place of potato , with plenty of gravy . For ' herb ' damper , add a heaped tablespoon of oregano and rosemary .
Reply By: scoof - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 12:34
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 12:34
I also
cook damper in a cast Iron
camp oven, last time we tried a
supermarket packet
scone mix it turned out perfect.So from now on that's the go.If you have more than say 6 hungry mouths it might pay to double up.
Regards Scoof