Submitted: Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 12:58
Gazmo
I have just purchased a 1997 Nissan Pathfinder and am heading of to the cape in September. There are a few things I still need. Do I really need a
snorkel and what is available? I already have 2 Nissan roof racks that clamp on around the roof at the doors. I will be mounting a cage and carrying a substantial amount on the roof as there will be 5 in the car. Can I get away with just those 2 or should I get a factory one that goes in the tracks on the roof for the rear of the car? I will also need a snatch strap. Any suggestions?
Gazmo.
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 13:43
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 13:43
You havent said which way you are going...
If by the bypass no
snorkel is needed in September...
If by the OTL... Read on...
You may need a
snorkel at Nolans Brook which is the last crossing before you get to The
Jardine River....
You will DEFINATELY need a
water crossing blind.....
You may not be able to exit a couple of creeks without assistance from others or a winch because the banks are steepish and slippery...
A snatch strap is a must,,,, and 5 people in a Pathy as unprepared as what you sound will be an interesting trip...
That is not meant in a nasty way at all....
Download some trip checklists for 4x4 trips of the net and you will be better prepared..
Reply By: Gazmo - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:41
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:41
Thankyou for your reply, we will have 6 cars and 30 people, 17 teenagers and 13 adults. Last year we did the Simpson, although I was a passenger. This time I have my own vehical!!
Fri 22 Sep
Brisbane Mackay Coastal towns between Bne and Mackay, including
Rocky and
Sarina
Sat 23 Sep Mackay
Cardwell All the coastal towns between Mackay and
Cardwell,
including a stop at the Whitsundays (
Airlie Beach &
Shute harbour),
Bowen,
Ayr,
Home Hill, the mighty
Burdekin River,
Townsville,
Ingham & Hinchinbrook
Sun 24 Sep
Cardwell Cooktown Tully,
Innisfail,
Babinda,
Cairns,
Port Douglas,
Daintree,
Cape Tribulation, Lion's head pub,
Lighthouse at
Cooktown, Other tourist sights in
Cooktown
Mon 25 Sep
Cooktown Lakefield Nat pk.
Via
Laura, Lakefield is Qld's largest national
park &
full of crocodiles. Tue 26 Sep Lakefield Nat pk.
Musgrave,
Coen.
Wed 27 Sep Archer River
Weipa Weipa
Thu 28 Sep
Weipa Bamaga/ Tip Via the famous Wenlock and
Jardine Rivers
Fri 29 Sep - - Optional trip to Thursday Is
Sat 30 Sep - -
Somerset and
the Tip.
Sun 1 Oct Bamaga/ Tip Iron range/
Chilli beach
Mon 2 Oct - - Day relaxing at beautiful Chilli beach
Tue 3 Oct Iron range/Chilli beach
Laura
Wed 4 Oct
Laura Atherton
Thu 5 Oct
Fri 6 Oct
Sat 7 Oct
Atherton Rockhampton
Sun 8 Oct
Rockhampton Brisbane
Gazmo
Reply By: old mate - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:55
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 14:55
Have a look at the Pathfinder
forum at the Pathfinders Owners club at www.pcoa.org.au Heaps of info from Pathfinder owners, you don't have to be a member of the club to join the
forum. Go say g'day and ask away!
Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:22
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 17:22
Hi Gazmo
You should not have too much drama I've done it in a 95 Pathy have a snatch strapas some of the sand tracks are a little soft on the OTL
If its any help a mate is wrecking a 2000 Navara it has a snorkle if you like i'll quiz him on price
Regands Kev
Reply By: hoyks - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:10
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 19:10
Here is the link straight to the
forum:
Pathfinder
Forum
There isn't a
snorkel for the R50 Pathfinder although a few have made snorkels for other vehicles fit.