Holden RA Rodeo LT Dual Cab are they any good?
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 11:51
TerryGLS
G`day all
My parents are looking at getting a Rodeo LT dual cab with either the diesel or the 3.5 V6 on dual fuel to replace their XJ Jeep turbo diesel.The Jeep struggles to tow their 16 foot caravan and the Rodeo has been recommended as better vehicle for the job.Seems to be plenty of these Rodeo`s getting around ....do they have many problems?
Terry
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 12:17
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 12:17
Terry
Having a good run out of my 04 3l diesel, now at 38k
Injector pump died 5 k ago replaced under warranty, not a common problem from what I can gather. Engine imobiliser had intermittent fault, now fixed under warranty. This was a more common problem with the earlier cars.
With both issues Dealer service was really outstanding.
Surprisingly good off road given the
suspension set up etc. A neighbour tows a fair size coolroom (full) on a tandem trailer with his and says it copes with that sort of weight OK.
Reply By: Stiphodon - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 13:01
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 13:01
We ran a 3LTD at work for a government department in 2004. It was used to tow boats and make long runs out into the Gulf and up the Cape. Plenty of power, high level of comfort compared to the hilux at the time. However, after 10,000kms, the front
suspension collapsed, it was using oil and needed topping up between
services, the tray lights died, it was using excessive fuel and a damn annoying engine light kept coming on. When I looked in the log book it stated that if you see the light come on the dash "proceed to the nearest holden dealer immediately" Which was just great when we were in the middle of the bush. Invariably, everytime we took it back the light would not come on for the Holden mechanic, and they could not tell us why it kept happening, which was even more frustrating
I have an older style 2.8TD as my personal 4WD which is reliable and bulletproof. Personally, I wouldnt touch one of the new 3LTD with a 20foot pole
Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:50
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:50
Have a 2002 3.0l diesel dual cab for work. Bought it 5 monthe ago. Since then have done 30000km - no problems - fully loaded for work every day, and just had it on a 5035km trip to the Simpson over 14 days. Had a long range tank fitted to it when I got it.
Never towed with it.
Previously had a 1998 3.2l petrol - loved that vehicle, but a bit thirsty.
Reply By: shepo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:38
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 19:38
hi terry i have a lt 3.5lt 2003 model, just backfromthe cape, been to
birdsville, nth flinders & innaminka a lot of 4x4 weekend trips and had no troubles , its a bit heavy on fuel , also got a 2000 3.2 for work 115000 no problems, previously had a 2000 3.2 dle cab and 97 2.6 lt and only replaced tyres, batterys , and sheduled
services
good luck
shep
Reply By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:51
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:51
Terry
we have an 05 TDLT and it is great, just had its 30K service today after we did 10000 kilometres in the last three weeks towing a 1.5 tonne caravan around NT. averaged 12.1 litres / 100K for the trip. No dramas with power only thing we would do would be to put a bigger fuel tank in it to give more peace of mind whilst travelling longer / lonely kilometers distances.
Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:02
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:02
Have a look at this site. Many reviews on most vehicles here. Not all good, but.
Site Link
Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:11
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:11
G'Day Terry, I own a 2002 R9 Rodeo 3Lt Diesel. It is the LT Sport Model. It is a great car and tows no worries. I carted about 1500 kg of bricks in a trailer and about 500 kg in the back of the ute and travelled at between 95 and 100 km/h no problems. However I have driven a couple of the later RA models at work and they dont seem to have the power of
mine. They are supposed to be the same engine!!! So far i have had no dramas in the 30,000km I have owned the car and my boss had no problems in the previous 50,000km. Hope some of this helps.
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: TerryGLS - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:10
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:10
That`s great ...thankyou for the responses guys
Terry