LPG AND DIESEL WORK TOGETHER

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:02
ThreadID: 36606 Views:2926 Replies:11 FollowUps:26
THERE IS PLENTY TO GAIN FROM LPG ADDED TO YOUR DIESEL, CANT WAIT TO DO IT.NEXT 4X4 WILL BE A DIESEL AGAIN.

THERE HEAPS OF INFO ON THE NET THIS IS JUST THE FIRST AUSSIE LINK I COULD FIND.

www.dieselgasaustralia.com.au/Faq.aspx

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:06

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:06
the caps lock key is usually on the left of your keyboard.
AnswerID: 187964

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:14
Who cares about caps . Its a forum not a typing exam. The pot is calling the kettle black. Were is your capital at the begining of your sentence? Is yours missing?
FollowupID: 445189

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:36

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:36
My lack of caps was tongue in cheek ... but capitals is a way of shouting on the Internet ... you don't win any friends that way.

I suggest it is worth something - save caps for when you are REAL ANGRY. Then it means something.
FollowupID: 445200

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:46

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:46
sorry i was interpreted as angry or shouting on the net. i dont care about caps and lower case in the chats , it never ofends me. maybe people are a little too sensitive. if a person gets ofended by the use of capitals they are way too sensitive to be my friend.
FollowupID: 445207

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:07

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:07
THATS OK SANDMANVANMAN I AM A BIT DEAF AND A BIT BLIND SO CAPITALS HELPS AL LOT AS WELL AS POUR PUNTU PUNTUA YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN AND DONT WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING ELESE ETHER AS WE ARE ALL IN THIS TOGTHR SO SPELNG DOENT MATTR AS WELL HAVG A GO AT YOU NEVER
Sorry, got carried away :o))))
Spelling and punctuation does help with communication. No I am not a teacher, but I do like to scan posts quickly, and clear communication saves time.

Thanks for your post on diesel and LPG, I am looking at it as well.
What else have you discovered about this?
Have a friend who tried it on his truck and gave up. Too many maintenance and tuning problems. Maybe systems have progressed since then?
FollowupID: 445268

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:18

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:18
Sorry, thought I better add more information.
It was on a truck with a standard fuel injection pump, not common rail.
Truck started and ran on diesel when idling.
As more throttle was applied, LPG was injected into the system to supply more power, and the diesel injection was turned back from the usual setting.
Concept was that LPG assisted in the combustion of the diesel, and suplemented the diesel with a cheaper fuel.
All well and good, great idea, but in execution, he had starting problems, and running problems, getting the diesel to LPG ratio correct.
After 12 months, and the number of times he had been back to the installer for fine tuning, and the income lost with returns, it worked out to be cheaper to run on straight diesel.

Now, with a computer controlled common rail system, maybe it is easier to get the deisel control more accurate, and match it to the LPG? Leave that oen for the diesel experts to confirm.
FollowupID: 445274

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:08

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:08
GOOD ONE ANDREW
HE MIGHT HAVE A PIECE OF A PASTY STUCK UNDER THE BUTTON

FollowupID: 445349

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:08
And your disclaimer?????
AnswerID: 187966

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:20

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:20
i dont know what this forum is meant to be for . i post a link to articles i found to share with others and i get wingers about cap button and disclamers. disclaim what . do you have info to share about lpg on diesel engines . if so do tell us.
FollowupID: 445190

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:37

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:37
Ahhh come on sandmanvan, dont be such a big Girls Blouse, the forum is for what your post is all about, but a bit of courtesy goes a long way, dont YOU whinge when someone tells you about Caps!

Do you see anyone else using Caps?

Pppffftttttt..
FollowupID: 445307

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:41

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:41
Now he can't find the bloody Shift key!!! His response looked like this:

"i dont know what this forum is meant to be for . i post a link to articles i found to share with others and i get wingers about cap button and disclamers. disclaim what . do you have info to share about lpg on diesel engines . if so do tell us."

It should have looked like this:

"I (one error) don't (2nd error) know what this forum is meant to be for. I (3rd error) post a link to articles I (4th error) found to share with others and I (5th error) get whingers (6th error) about cap button and disclamers. Disclaim (7th error) what? (8th error) Do (9th error) you have info to share about lpg on diesel engines? (10th error) If (11th error) so, (12th error) do tell us.

Sorry, BUT I JUST HAD TO GET THAT OFF MY CHEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)))))
FollowupID: 445403

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:06

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:06
Hahahahaha......feel better?
FollowupID: 445412

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:20

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:20
This is a bit like Hi Clone or Fitch.

Linfox tried it a few years ago on their trucks. It produced extra power but blew engines. Linfox discounted it as a value negative trial. I know this from actual discussion with a Linfox Executive.

Need I say more?
AnswerID: 187971

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:32
Actually if you know any more specifics I am betting I am not the only one wanting to know.
FollowupID: 445196

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:36

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:36
hiclone is a fan in the intake, fitch is a fuel catlyst treatment . how is this the slightest bit similar to adding a metred dose of lpg to the intake. technolgy advances. it wasnt long ago lpg injectors were invented , now some cars are fitted with them in the factory.i think lpg on diesels is worth looking in to . i serviced a diesel lpg rodeo driven from melbourne to darwin . the oil was clean as a petrol engine. its defenantly burning beter. and drove like a dream
FollowupID: 445199

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:43

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:43
You've got my vote there Jimbo. As the old saying goes ... "there's no such thing as a free lunch"

Vehicle manufacturers spend an absolute motsa on R & D then end up with what they perceive to be a reasonable power output from any given engine. This is not only about performance but also longetivity.

I tend towards caution regarding all these gizmos, incl re-chipping. They may be fine but I'd rather put up with less power and gain much longer engine life, if it was down to choice.

I know there are the pundits who propose engines are de-tuned down to the lowest common denominator in relation to worldwide fuels. That's fine for them, but I'll wait until the boosted engines have proven themselves to last the distance, should that be the case.

FollowupID: 445204

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:01

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:01
Sandmanvan,

I've got a great investment deal for you, only for you of course. It's foolproof.

Rather than scoop it all myself I'm happy to share it with someone I've never met. I'm that sort of bloke.

I've happened to snare some brilliant waterfront properties in Collinsville, QLD. Don't let any of the doubters tell you Collinsville is 300 km inland and the sea is nowhere to be seen.

Would I lie to you??????

FollowupID: 445211

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:11

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:11
are you on pot
FollowupID: 445213

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:44
Hey Jimbo, My cheque's in the mail mate. hahahaha
FollowupID: 445404

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:42

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:42
I think this is in a different league to Glitch and HiCost, and rather more sensible with conceivable benefits.

I'm not sure it is entirely justifiable on fuel savings - 100k's is a long time to recoup a cost, but then it is a significant increase in power.

From memory it was $3K for my 1HZ plus if I wanted some sophistication in the LPG tanks (running the length of each side step) there might be some additional tank and plumbing costs.

There's a guy in Pinaroo who is involved with this company and I've chatted to him in the past.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 187983

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:55

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:55
With you Andrew on the ultimate benefit as it is quite a different league. The burning efficieancy in the diesel is lifted into the 90% mark some where although near to what was said by Jimbo there have been engine problems with trucks on it. I am aware of a truck fleet with a Victorian dairy ccompany where they had costly repairs.

Member PK Eildon has a gas/diesel system in his 4.2 Patrol and has a huge boost in output. I am not sure it is needed to boost the output on the flat or best to do it for hills where the torque could be very useful.

Have heard about long range trucks that just have a bbq bottle and regulator for hills when they need to torque - just a squirt into the inlet ;-)
FollowupID: 445293

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:48

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:48
Any one for a friendly wager that the writer of this thread is affiliated with the link he posted?
AnswerID: 187985

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:04
Not me! I think you be on pretty good odds there......
FollowupID: 445212

Follow Up By: sandmanvanman - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:20

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:20
sorry fellas you loose . no afiiation to this link , just impressed with the vehicle i serviced in darwin were i live. i dont know were he got his convertion done , some were in melbourne i supose . i think there are too many tyre kickers on this sight so i wont use my caps i will just deleate this site from my fafourites .
FollowupID: 445216

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:50

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:50
What a Big Farcking Sook!
FollowupID: 445317

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:46

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:46
RAOFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 445406

Reply By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:11

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:11
This technology has been around in eurpoe for 20 years or more and does work. The question of fuel economy and power is not the point of interest here, this system is not based on testimonials there is proven proper double blind science behind it, the thing to ask is how long will the engine last. As somone said linfox dumped it cause it did something to the engines that made them last less time so would a normal small car engine have the same problem?? I dont know but if it turns out there is no side effects then its a matter of cost vs benefit for the owner. I like it but cant afford it.
AnswerID: 187992

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:09

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:09
There's every possibility that this is a worthwhile conversion for consumer diesel engines - but from a manufacturing point of view, can you think of a car manufacturer that would bring a vehicle to market that required TWO types of fuel to be filled for it to run as designed? This sort of technology is for people willing to put up with the inconvenience of filling both diesel and LPG tanks on a regular basis in order to get the desired results.

So this is one particular technology, that although you don't see as a standard from a manufacturer, probably isn't snakeoil. On the other hand, if improving consumption and increasing power was a simple matter of sticking some magnets on the fuel line and a kid's windmill in the air intake, every manufacturer would be doing it, because the first one to do so would have a competitive advantage, and everyone else would have to catch up. Much like 4WDs having traction control, stability control etc - starts in one brand's luxury model, gets picked up by a competitor, filters down to lower models, eventually becomes standard. Power windows is another perfect example. If certain snakeoil technologies actually WORKED, car companies would be all over them for commercial advantage.

"You could buy a Brand X 4WD that uses 15L/100km, or this Futch/Cyclone enhanced Brand Y 4WD that seats the same number of passengers, has the same towing capacity, but only uses 10L/100km and goes like the clapper!"

If those products DID work in modern vehicles, they would be there from the factory.
FollowupID: 445235

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:45

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:45
Its already happening with Ford and Toyota (and others) selling vehicles that run on LPG and petrol off the showroom floor.

The LPG fumigation with diesel works best with turbos and like turbos it works best on engines that can handle the boost and increased temp.
Some engines have better lubrication and cooling with thicker pistons.

If LPG fumigation is aded it probably needs to have a pyro guage fitted to monitor exhaust gas temperature.
When or if it gets too hot its time to back off.

Its definately not in the same league as Filch and Hi-clown
FollowupID: 445289

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:53

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:53
Ross, I guess that rules out my TD Jackaroo then, can't even start with thick oil let alone keep everything cool with thinner oil!
FollowupID: 445429

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:26

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:26
G'day Sandmanvanman (now that's a mouthful),

Strictly speaking the LPG is not added to the diesel, it is metered to the air at a very small % to improve combustion initiation/progression. I don't know too much about this system, except to say that the application engineering will need to be done thoroughly else there will indeed be problems. Assuming this is done correctly then I have no doubt it will have benefits. The supplier is offering warranty protection so they at least have confidence in their abilities.

4WDers are always looking to boost power and this will do it but I'd be cautious re engine durability. On the other hand, if equivalent power is the goal then improved fuel economy is likely. Given that pay back time is claimed at 100,000 km I am not sure this is aimed at the average 4WDer but more so fleet users who clock several hundreds of thousand km per year. That would make sense to me.

Rising diesel costs are making the fleet operators consider various gas solutions. I'm currently working on LNG substitution for Caterpillar C-15 engines in rigs pulling in excess 100T. This system is achieving fuel savings of ~ $250k per vehicle pa and will be common place in the near future.

Hugh
AnswerID: 188010

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:31

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:31
I think you'll find the supplier is offering warranty protection provided by someone else.

Best we can say is that they were able to convince them.
FollowupID: 445238

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:29

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:29
why go through all that , make your own bio-diesel.cheers
AnswerID: 188061

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:23

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:23
I think you may be right.
Biodiesel widely available at a good price (no excise, listening little Johhny) would beat all these systems hands down, and be good for the farmers.
FollowupID: 445395

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:17

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:17
sandmanvanman

Just had a look at the website , looks like a good idea to me, but i bet it is a costly installment .

AnswerID: 188125

Reply By: mj1 - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:20

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:20
I have lpg on the old 4runner which I intend to remove in a few weeks when I upgrade to a newish hilux.......

hmmm wonder how much the install would be if I bought the entire kit with me :)
AnswerID: 188261

Reply By: junior - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 02:12

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 02:12
Diesel Gas Aust need to get real with their pricing, then they would have more punters ready to part with their hard earned. Yes, you would expect a slight price premium to a petrol/gas system due to extra components- but not double!
AnswerID: 188283