Bigger tires - Not anymore - READ THIS AND WEEP!

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:01
ThreadID: 36608 Views:5129 Replies:14 FollowUps:38
From patrol4wd forum.

-------------------------------------------
33" inch is the max in Vic currently, and no larger size can be engineered. This is from the new national regs.

A maximum of 100mm in lift over body and suspension is also the maximum allowed, or no more than 1/3 of the original travel.

Vic Roads are using chassis to ground, and sill to chassis measurements to determine the heights currently, and are already engineering to the new D.O.T.O.R regs.

Anything engineered with bigger tyres, and/or higher suspension according to Vicroads, will be recalled, and deregistered until it complies, as they move on pushing these regs, by deregistering 18 engineers who approved such vehicles, and deregistering 54 vehicles in the past 6 weeks according to them.

They wont always pull you over, but will note your rego, and send you a letter for you to provide your vehicle for inspection, if your vehicle isnt on the record for being engineered with modifications. Expect them to attend events recording rego's as well, for sending out letters, as they have stated this is what they intend to do also.

This is from the right dept @ Vic Roads, over the last week,with a vehicle being engineered for registration as we speak, that I have had some involvement with.

The big message was, drive normally, dont be seen doing anything silly, and be responsible, and your chance of being "noticed" diminishes greatly.

----------------------------------------------

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:06

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:06
Only a matter of time for the other States to fall in line.
AnswerID: 187990

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34
NSW have already started recalling cars too... this is national.

Roachie is going to bleep hot coals!
FollowupID: 445221

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:01

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:01
Chassis to ground? No problem, I'll just drop my tyres down to 12psi. I still only have 265/75s, so I don't draw attention to myself at all. Have given-away the idea of the 315/75s anyway, as they'd stick outside the line of the wheel arches (I have ROH white sunraysias that have an extra 20mm off-set from standard Missan rims).
FollowupID: 445248

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:28
roachie...i am now aware of what youve been trying to achieve

heard on the radio that you can get a diesel fuel rebate if your truck weighs in at 4.45 ton?...
FollowupID: 445276

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:08

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:08
Seems like an exorbinate amount of effort in chasing down would-be offenders. Bit of a scare campaign maybe?
AnswerID: 187991

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:22
Geez that just gives you "mexicans" more reason to infiltrate the nothern states (not that some of you need another reason this time of year). UNTIL we fall into line also that is.
Is there no criminals doing real crimes down there anymore? someone needing to justify their position in a cushy job somewhere?

Trevor.
AnswerID: 187995

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 22:34
This is australia wide.
FollowupID: 445220

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:34

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:34
Ha Trev hope Bobs truck is ok lol
FollowupID: 445261

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:51

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:51
Why would a vehicle in sibera need a lift anyway, no real 4 wheel driving there...lol
FollowupID: 445336

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:13

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:13
Truckster, I have watched with amazement over the last few years some very modified forby's cruising around and wondered how long it would be before plod got the prod from big brother to do something about it.

There is a lifted gaylux on roids not far from here that looks like it would fall over in a cross wind it is so high. By drining on the roads, the guy is simply asking for a defect notice, if it hasn't happened already.
AnswerID: 188005

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:29

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:29
but what about those that have paid for engineering certifications? and the cars were deemed legal few weeks ago?
FollowupID: 445237

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:46

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:46
Hey settle up there Muzzgit, "There is a lifted gaylux" I'm far from gay and my vehicle. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 445264

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:25

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:25
Yeah, Steve, sorry about that. It's a term of endearment my mate has always had with hilux's and over the years it's rubbed off. We all say it now, and this is not the first time I've been qizzed about, although when it's face to face things can get tricky. te he
FollowupID: 445520

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 10:37

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 10:37
Thats cool only stirring ya, similiar to my mate, says there a roll lux all the time. Have a good one Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 445569

Reply By: Member - Michael S (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:18

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:18
Gents,

While on the subject of 33" tyres, has anyone got experience with COOPER (or any other brand) 255/85 R 16 tyres? I am keen to increase dianeter but not width the COOPER ST is a very popular yre although not in this size.

MS

AnswerID: 188007

Follow Up By: Slunnie - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:34

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:34
I've run those tyres and were not all that impressed. Cooper took them back after the side lugs started cracking off. The ST in that size lack a lot of sidewall rigidity also and require pressures at least of 36psi to prevent lateral movement from the tyre while on the road. I haven't had any other tyre that has required that.
FollowupID: 445241

Follow Up By: Robin - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:00

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:00
Yes I use those tyres on 7X16 Trak11 wheels on gu4800.

Certainly lost a couple of lugs off mine to rocks.

They are 33 1/3 inches and really help with ground clearance and keep weight
downthe and steering leffort ighter.

Bag out very well for sand, with long contact patch.

These are the only non-mud tyre in that size to my knowledge and tread is
good compromize for trip work.

Round town use 235/85/16 and the 255/85/16 on trips.

They have only slightly more width (5mm) than my 235 and I run them at 40-45psi on road which with there dia probably saves a lt /100k of fuel.

FollowupID: 445266

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:13

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:13
I've been using 255/85/16 BFG MT's for many years as I wanted Height not width.
Excellent size!
Not a very common size though in many brands.

Without starting a war here I still believe that tall and skinny will beat low profile and fat every time, all other conditions being equal
FollowupID: 445271

Follow Up By: Member - Michael S (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:43
Slunnie, GoneTroppo and Robin,

Thanks for the info. I too am a fan of 235/85/17 or the old 750-16.

Did you have to raise your vehicles, suspension or body to fit the tyres on?

MS

FollowupID: 445451

Follow Up By: Slunnie - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 23:36

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 23:36
Gday Michael,
I run a 4" lift on a Discovery2, though it'll will vary withi each truck as to what makes that tyre fit. I would have expected that LC, Patrols etc wouldn't need any lift, but then again.... I don't own one.
FollowupID: 445510

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:38

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:38
I have standard springs , and no lift, and 255/85/16 fit quite well on Patrol Gu and also on wheel carrier.

FollowupID: 445528

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:41

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 09:41
Michael

I run mine on a Defender 110 with a 3" lift. The lift however was mainly to run 9/34 Interco Super Swampers (tall and skinny again)

2" would have been OK for 255/85/16
FollowupID: 445554

Follow Up By: Member - Michael S (WA) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:04

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:04
Gonetroppo, Robin and Slunnie,

Thanks for the feedback, especially the negative vibes, its good to get a balanced view! I have a set of 6JJ 16" wheels (Navara) which I wanted for bush use, but now I might try these around town to see how she goes, handling and fuel economy wise!

Talking about fuel economy, has anyone put gas on their diesel? The Dutch pioneeered this about 15 years ago IWEMA is one mob who have a website.

MS

FollowupID: 445679

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:33

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:33
There are not many places in our country which a Patrol with a set of 33" decent muddys and a 4 inch lift with a set of diff locks cant get through....
Probably "one" of the most capable 4x4's out there....
Even a two inch lift with the same accessories would be as able...
AnswerID: 188011

Reply By: Michael Carey - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:56

Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 23:56
Welcome to Australia, the over governed police state!
Did you hear about the opening day of parliment and the name calling and insults that were thrown across the room. These are the people that decide what we can and can't do, it was just like a kindergarten!

AnswerID: 188015

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:00

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:00
eh, you get used to it- happens every day. after youve been here for 20+ years, you'll soon be doing the same LOL
FollowupID: 445247

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:24

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 00:24
Michael, Welcome to Australia, the over governed police state!

I don't agree. We can pretty much do what we want. But within reason.

Laws exist for a reason.

If you would like to see overgoverned, then go to the UK.
FollowupID: 445252

Follow Up By: Michael Carey - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:09

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:09
Laws exist for a reason, how about many reasons? Some are vital, criminal laws are a backbone of out society. Others are enacted in "our best interests", mostly without any input from the people they most affect.
My favourite on is the introduction of 50kmh speed limits in built up areas in South Australia. First many people heard of this was via advertising in the media, that from such-and-such a date, the speed limit will be 50kmh. It was all in the name of saving lives, which is absolute cr@p. When it was introduced, there were going to be roads that would be exempt, and councils would be able to apply for arterial roads to revert back to 60kmh.
In Port Lincoln SA, one particular road remained at 60kmh from the introduction of the change, and this road is the ONLY one that has had TWO fatailities in seperate accidents, both caused by speed, all in the last ten years. One death was a girl that was good friends with my boss's daughter. If the government was serious about saving lives caused by speeding, this road should have been the FIRST that was reduced to 50kmh.
I'm all in favour of saving lives, but speed limits only limit the people who obey the law, people who speed will still speed and kill themselves (and others) regardless what the number in the red circle tells them.
Enough rant for me today, time to go to work....
FollowupID: 445259

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:37

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:37
Over policed. Maybe. I certainaly get bloody sick and tired being told what I can and cannot do.

I've got to agree with the statement further up in this post. Are there no real crimes? Yes there are, but they don't want to know about them.

Here's a good example.

Wife's car get's broken into in front yard. Nearly $1000 damage to the car plus missing stock for her work. Police? No, not interested, didn't bother to attend.

Mates Kingswood, get's completly totalled out the front of our house, preventing us from even getting our vehicles out the drive way. It was a hit and run, half the mongrals car was on the street and he still managed to drive off.
Police? Not interested, didn't bother to attend.
This car was moved about 10 meters down the street when it was in Park with the handbrake on! They hit it F'ING HARD.

3 weeks ago, wife's car get's brocken into AGAIN out the front, $600 worth of damage to car and $1000 worth of missing gear from her work.
Police? Not interested, didn't even bother to attend.

2 Weels ago, 1:30am Saturday night, 4 people sitting out side talking with quiet music playing (we have a 800sqm block too I might add) and two cops rock up and tell me to turn my music down!

WTF is going on in this country!?

I might add thought that we held these two arrogant asswipes up for 20 minutes badgering them about why the hell they turned up now and not for all the previous events! It's the first time I've seen coppers WANT to leave when they were getting bleep from someone. Me and the missus absolutally hammered them. They were wankers too, real up themselves. You could see them looking over their shoulders at the front door though, they really wanted out. LOL
FollowupID: 445330

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:51

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:51
Jeff.
You should have replied, Oh your here for the wifes car gettin broken into.. when he said no, say must be the other break in.. when he said no, you must be here for the hit and run on my mates car.. when he again said no, you ignore the prick.
FollowupID: 445348

Follow Up By: dinodog- Central Coast NSW - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:07

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:07
what a stupid arrogant ignorant attitude you have, so the system lets you down you get stuck into two blokes just doing their job made all the more difficult by your obvious p###ed demenour if you bothered to check you would have found out that in most states the police will not attend to minor accidents and thefts why because they are run of their feet dealing with domestics and gaterings of p###ed persons particularly on weekends. did you complain to the local police commander about the non attendance of the police to the two accidents and thefts maybe if you had he may have been able to give you a reasonable explanation. but as usual like most people you prefer to bleat about it and generalise about a group of people who for the vast majority of their working time bust a gut to help people in need. and did you consider that your noise complaint may have been one of many they had to attend to that evening usually getting the p###ed attitude. maybe to music was a bit loud one of your neighbours was able to hear it.
FollowupID: 445476

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:14

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:14
Oh get you're hand off it. Minor hey, try telling that to the bloke who owned the car.

These two jokers were absolutally up them selves and deserved everything they got, which was not abuse as you seem to imply just questions that they couldn't answer.

We did complains several times regarding the kingswood incident and nothing happened.
FollowupID: 445477

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:17

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:17
>>what a stupid arrogant ignorant attitude you have,
And what would you call yours??\

>>> did you complain to the local police commander about the non attendance of the police to the two accidents and thefts maybe if you had he may have been able to give you a reasonable explanation
and you believe in the toothfairy?
FollowupID: 445482

Follow Up By: dinodog- Central Coast NSW - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:49

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:49
yeah. thats real clever and what did you expect that these two blokes were going to be able to answer all your questions about these incidents of which they obviously had no knowledge. if you had complained and go no satisfactory answer the take if further. no good in shooting the messenger. and just for your info all accidents are considered minor if no person is injured. what do you mean by 'up themselves' what do you mean by that? probaby trying to explain the noise control provisions so you understood them. you say that you and your missus hammered them, what do you mean by that? all well and good to say it but explain what you actually said to them. maybe their responce to you was appropriate in the in the circumstances.
FollowupID: 445493

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:13

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:13
They would not tell us why the music was "too loud". It was quieter than our voices. We had our 18 month old girl asleep and it wasn't bothering her. I politly explained to them that I really couldn't understand why we needed to turn it down as it was well with in the limits for that time of night. They then told me to turn it down or they would take my stereo receiver off the property! I laughed because I thought they were joking, then they started pulling out paperwork to remove it. I was astonished! Then I walked them through my house to show them this "noise". They actually looked embarassed. They still insisted that we turn it down. My wife started crying and emotionally telling them that she thought it was rediculous that her family and home are constantly under threat by yahoo's and they come here for this!? They explained to us that it was in order of priority. So we started asking them what sort of priority calls they have on a Saturday night vs a Tuesday night (because her car was broken into BOTH times on a tuesday night). We explained that we could not understand how a Tuesday night would have so many priority calls that they could not attend to our break in's but that on a Saturday night they can come around here and threaten to take our hard earned possesions away because my stereo was on about 1/10 it's volume!
And so on and so on!

They might be the messenger but obviously going to the top does not make any difference to this kind of behaviour from the police, Bec and I both agreed that these people are going to have to send the message up from the bottom.

I actually know the Department of Environment's noise legislation backwards as it was required in my previous job. I also know that it does not matter what amount of noise you are making a police officer has "discretion" and can do what ever the hell they like and if you disagree you either have to do what they say or let them take your gear and fight it in court. The problem with this is that when you get two punks like them on a power trip you have to take it up the ass. It's pathetic, but it's the way this country is going.

It's just like the time the neighbours and us (we actually get along very well with our neighbours and they had all been around our house earlier on that night celebrating my wife's birthday) had got together and complained about the constant drunken driving and bottles being hearled out of cars into our front yards while they were going WAY WAY WAY over 100km/hr in our 50km/hr zone street on Friday and Saturday nights.
What happens?
I get pulled over several weeks later in my work car (a security company car!) for doing 55km/hr in the 50km/hr zone comming down the hill from my house at 8:00am on a Wednesday morning! You know what this bleep stick said to me!?
"The local residents around here have complained about people like you and are sick of people speeding in these streets!" I said "I'm AM THE LOCAL RESIDENT THAT COMPLAINED!" I said "I was washing my windscreen trying to get the dust/sand off it that was limiting my view as the sun shone threw it and just happened to sneek over the speed limit marginally while I was not staring at my speedo!".

I can go on, as there is more to it, but I honestly can't be bothered.
FollowupID: 445498

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:00

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:00
While I may not agree with this approach by the government or the limits they have put. If people decide to not comply thats there decission, I'd be more concerned if they are involved in an accident and went to claim insurance and as the vehicle is not classed as roadworthy I'd say they would be way out of pocket.

I risk people need to consider.

AnswerID: 188038

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:03

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:03
The problem is, cars that are currently engineered, registrered and safe happy and had a LOT invested in them - and have passed the rules by engineers, are now going to be RECALLED - DEREGISTERED! until they pass the new laws..

Im all for getting bleep heaps off the road, but this is just plain pen pushing.
FollowupID: 445267

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:12

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 08:12
Guys

Could someone please explain clearly what the New rules will allow us to do, and when or if they will be implemented in queensland, need to do some mods to my lux, just want to know if i should wait a little longer.

turbo
FollowupID: 445270

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:15

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:15
Bruce,

Maybe there's an opening here for some recompence like what the gun owners got in the buy-back scheme. I didn't own a weapon, yet the bloody money I'd paid in tax went towards buying perfectly good guns off people who'd bought them quite legally (in most cases). That REALLY bleep me off at the time.

So, now, if they're gunna say that vehicles which have had chit-loads of $$$ spent on them to engineer's specs, are now gunna be illegal, maybe the government might do a 'buy-back' of the big springs, shockers, 37" tyres etc that some blokes are legally using.?????

FAT chance!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 445342

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:17

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 12:17
disregard my comments above......just realised when I kept reading further down the post, that this idea has already been mentioned. DOH!!!!
FollowupID: 445343

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:24

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:24
Well IMHO that's exactly what is going to happen. The people that have spent bigs bucks and done things the right way, lane change test's, engineers cert's etc etc will now just not bother. Cars that could have potentially failed these tests and have been modified to be safe and comply will now just be out on the roads. People who have NFI what they are doing will do things themselves as no shops or mechanics will want to know about it, I cannot see this making the situation better in any way.
FollowupID: 445352

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:30

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:30
If this is the case and the new rules are being implemented retrospectively, I'd be getting a class action together for compensation right now.

These vehicles have been engineered and passed as per the regulations, often at huge expense and effort (eg: SAS conversions, major lifts etc) with the additional expense of a consulting engineer to approve and deem the vehicle roadworthy.

Now, with the flick of a bum-shiner's pen, this expenditure of both time and money has not only become a worthless waste of effort, the vehicles will have to modified back which has further cost implications. These 4x4's will become practically impossible to sell 'as is' if the owner wants to walk away from it all too.

The obvious solution is those who have them can keep them, all new mods will have to comply with the new regs. Simple and fair.

As it stands, it's a bit like the so called firearms "buyback" without the 'buying back' part.

AnswerID: 188062

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:34

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:34
>>> As it stands, it's a bit like the so called firearms "buyback" without the 'buying back' part

thats how I see it too. the "De-rego" bit is scarey, some people rely on cars for a living, if its going to cost them anotehr $3-4000 to get it back on the road...

FollowupID: 445287

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:50

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 09:50
That would be interesting V8Deisel as I feel people would have cause for compensation.

It be like building a house and the rules change a few years later ooohhhhhhh sorry we changed the rules you have to fix your house up to comply.

It all gone mad ............. I got am email saying a Level 1 cousre I did 6 years ago is not valid anymore and I have to RPL to the new course or redo the new course. The fact I have higher qualification does not matter I must do this new course.

So I put it to them .... so I'm not qualified now .... however you STILL want me to do the work sign documents (which can be produced in court) because you have changed the rules. I don't thing so ............ yet to get an outcome on this one. Suffice to say I'm not signing NOTHING as its my AS# in the sling in court if it goes pearshaped.

Thes pencil pushers need to be reshaped into real people. I agree dangerous vehicles need to be off the raod.

FollowupID: 445292

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:52

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 10:52
OK, here's another scenario for the folks here who feel this only will affect 'Monster Trucks' - not their 4x4. (and just for the record, I'm not a conspiracy theorist, right wing extremist or redneck monster truck owner if my post sounds a little paranoid)

What if driving with bull bars in the city was banned retrospectively in a similar manner ie: NO compensation payable full stop.

No bar work = no winch, no spotties, no aerials etc.......all BIG BUCKS and worth bugger all. Heaps of hassle and money to make all the non bull-bar bits and pieces work again too - if at all.

Would that ever happen........maybe, maybe not - but I wouldn't dismiss it out of hand. Even as a hypothetical, it should make you think.

Would our mincing mate Harold and his legion of lemmingesque smarmy prat followers get media coverage on this subject? You betcha!

Would a pooncey pollie ever grab the 'bull-bar ball' and run with it to take the heat off a more 'uncomfortable' matter or to get some unpaid high exposure media coverage?

Having personally fallen victim to government confiscation twice so far (and finding out it well and truly sucks the big one) I don't want it happening again. This simply reeks of exactly the same thing but without fair and reasonable compensation. We are not talking a few hundred bucks, this is thousands.

As 4x4 owners you should all think about it.

AnswerID: 188094

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:17

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 11:17
This might answer some of the asked questions. Regards Steve M
http://www.dotars.gov.au/transport/safety/road/bulletin/pdf/NCOP11_Section_LS_Suspension_and_steering_3Feb2006.pdf
AnswerID: 188099

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:04

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:04
Hmmmmmmmmm, very interesting..........

I just looked at that site.....page 18 of the 71 page document talks about tyre sizes. Looking at the chart, a vehicle which was manufactured with 265 size tyres, can go up to 385mm size tyres!!!! I think I must have misinterpreted it?? That would make 315/75s quite okay on a Patrol or Cruiser
FollowupID: 445364

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:39

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:39
Also note the rim sizes they mention, up to 13.5inch.. am I reading that right? you can run 13inch wide rims now?
FollowupID: 445402

Follow Up By: davlin - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 18:03

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 18:03
Only if the overall diameter is not more tham 50 mm bigger. Would mean really low profile tyres with no bagging ability and might not even carry the GVM of the vehicle.
FollowupID: 445819

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:26
Wasn't the draft national reg 150mm max??
AnswerID: 188176

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:52

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:52
Truckster.
those dotars regs, have they been officially accepted in victoria or where we are in Qld? Particularly interested in the 50 mm tyre diameter increase becoming official.

AnswerID: 188207

Reply By: davlin - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:59

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:59
DPI in WA use the Tyre and rim association manual or the NJOY for their overall diameters. So over here they wont let you off if you have oversize tyres.
AnswerID: 188568