Why wagons in preference to dual cabs?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:27
ThreadID: 36624 Views:7044 Replies:25 FollowUps:34
Why is it that most people choose a wagon over a dual cab ute with canopy? After all most of us then remove the rear seats, install cargo barriers, cupboards/shelves, fridges etc thus losing the extra seats and effectively converting to a 5 seater. I too never previously considered a dual cab ute and automatically only looked at wagons - even though I didn't need 7 seats.

It appears to me that a dual cab ute with a canopy should fit most peoples needs. They are heaps cheaper. They use less fuel. I can't think of too many disadvantages.

So what reasons do readers have for selecting a wagon over a dual cab of vice versa?

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:35

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:35
Wagons generally have much more rear leg room than dual cabs.

Wagons keep the dust out much better than aftermarket canopies.

Wagons keep the water out much better than aftermarket canopies.

Wagons are far more secure than canopies.

Most dual cabs are "tradies spec", they don't have all the bells and whistles of the wagons, both in mechanical spec and creature comforts.

I'm sure there's more ;-)
AnswerID: 188127

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:16

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:16
they do come with all the bells and whistles if you want them, infact you probably have more choice with a dual cab than a wagon. mines a fully optioned triton, has the same gear as the pajero of that year. If your after a serious 4wd do you really want something that has heaps of electrics in it that can go wrong or something that you can hose out if it gets dirty, dual cabs can be both.

A good thing with the duallies is that you can remove the canopy when not needed and stick what ever you like in the back. I'm always using mine for moving furniture, dirt and mulch for the garden anything really.
I don't see why a canopy is that much less secure than a wagon, i've never had anything taken out of it.

As for the dust just put whatever can't get dust on it in the cab or put a tarp over top of it all.
FollowupID: 445393

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:48

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:48
Fully Optioned it may be, but it still doesn't get the same gearbox as the Pajero, that oh so sweet superselect system with the awsome semi-auto transmission.

The dual cab does have the advantage of being able to carry a load of dirt in the back, granted.

"As for the dust just put whatever can't get dust on it in the cab or put a tarp over top of it all"..... Bit difficult if all the seats are taken.

As for putting a tarp over it to stop the dust... LOLOL
FollowupID: 445530

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:46

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:46
mate if all the seats were needed you either wouldn't go the dual cab or you could put some rubber around the tailgate and stop the dust getting in.
FollowupID: 445633

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:52

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:52
My mate went through this proccess a little while ago. He wanted a Triton, I convinced him to get a Jackaroo.

Reasons:

Triton - Automatics were hard to find (second hand).
Jackaroo - Almost all automatic (they needed auto for his missus).
Triton - Most second hand ones were "poverty packs"
Jackaroo - Even the base model was extremely well apointed, electric everything, velour seats etc etc.
Triton - Has rear leaf springs, harsh ride, harder to lift than coils.
Jack - Has rear coils, less than $150 for a 2" lift and a better ride.
Triton - For a poverty pack dual cab(vinal everythng) and manual smallish V6 was $16-20k
Jackaroo - With same age and k's he picked up for $13k. Admitaly it was a good price.

You just can't beat the value of wagons at this point in time, especially with fuel prices the way they are. A bloke will always need his ute for work, but the family can do with out the shopping cart. Hence wagons will devalue faster than utes. That's my theory anyway.
FollowupID: 445726

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:48

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:48
Most dual cabs are IFS with leaf springs so you have virtually no suspension travel....
If you are negotiating heavy undulating rutted tracks,,,, steep rutted creek exits etc etc,,, you will struggle quite a bit more than a coil sprung wagon....
Dual cabs are almost uncomfortable over long distances compared to wagons...
Their ride is rougher.....
Go test drive a Navara and then a Patrol.... or the same sorta thing in whatever brand and see...
AnswerID: 188130

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:06

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:06
if your worried about the lack of suspension travel, get a lokka, worked for me. our dual cab was very comfortable over the trip we just did (even with the water around the passengers feet.

They don't drive like a boat on the open road cos the handling is alot better.
FollowupID: 445389

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:13

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:13
Right with you Voxson. The suspension travel is what makes some comfort of tripping and the undulation of the axles to have control. I think dual cabs are uncomfortable over short distances too in any seat behind the front, let alone long distances.
FollowupID: 445436

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:35

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:35
which dual cabs have you driven?
FollowupID: 445447

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:42
several have I been in, that was enough
FollowupID: 445470

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:10
As the first question asked,,,

"Why is it that most people choose a wagon over a dual cab ute with canopy? After all most of us then remove the rear seats, install cargo barriers, cupboards/shelves, fridges etc thus losing the extra seats and effectively converting to a 5 seater. I too never previously considered a dual cab ute and automatically only looked at wagons - even though I didn't need 7 seats."

Moose was comparing the above things,,,, which are definately all good points to consider when buying a 4x4 but he seemed to overlook some other crutial differences...

fnq triton,,,, it's fine for you to say fit a lokka to make up for lack of suspension travel and also to say that you thought it was comfortable whilst we were all on our trip,,,,, but if we are comparing a d/cab with a lokka and a wagon with a lokka there was a good test on the trip if you remember where the vehicles at a certain muddy rise were like chalk and cheese...and comfort for a young man like yourself and an old man like me is like chalk and cheese also...

So really i was just pointing out a missed point when Moose asked his question...

Had a great day out at the border track on Sunday,,, mudholes were pretty deep and slippery....
FollowupID: 445497

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:42

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:42
your right the only reason that you made that rise was because of the extra height of your car over mine. but then again it didn't need to be driven over in the first place, i could've just driven round.

It does all just boil down to personal requirements at the time
FollowupID: 445631

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:49

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:49
Nearly bought a dual cab ( missin navara 2.5 t/d ) but found I would need to lose some serious weight to squeeze thru the front of it and my garage wall!! Too long for most "normal" garages. And too dear for a "truck". Stick discs on the back and some coils and drop the price a bit and I would probably buy one ( minus a foot in extra length )
AnswerID: 188131

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:10

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:10
My Triton is only 50mm longer than my Falcon wagon so it should fit in a standard garage...
FollowupID: 445435

Reply By: Landie - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:50

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 13:50
I had a Defender 110 wagon, now gone the Dual cab 130 and building a special purpose cargo pod on the back to our specs.

The 110 & 130 Cab is the same squashed ergonomic space - but you gotta love it!
AnswerID: 188132

Follow Up By: Alex H - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:22

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:22
gotta agree. I currently have a 110 wagon - love it to bits, but if the opportunity came up to trade in on a TD5 130 dual cab I'd jump at the chance.
Alex
FollowupID: 445425

Follow Up By: Landie - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:29

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:29
Actually I had a TD5 110, gone to a TDI. Currently putting in a reconditioned motor / gearbox / transfer case........as well as configuring the back to our requirements.

FollowupID: 445427

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:52

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 14:52
I went the dual cab rodeo for the following reasons:
-I like rodoes- it is my second Ive owned (previously had single cab), third Iv driven off road
-I didnt want to have a trailer
-need somewhere to carry the dogs, along with the fridge, tent, camping gear, jerry cans etc etc, I hat e wet dogs in cars, and one of ours has that real clingy white fur urrgh!
-economical (approx 10km per litre +/-)
-Price. A 02 rodeo cost me far less than it would to buy similair year in wagon
-size. Not as tall as a wagon, a bit narrower, but a bit longer
-No frills i.e. no electrics to clog up and go wrong etc
Performs well off road. I have had my rodeo many places that a moded toynisswoo has gone. Only need to keep in mind limitations and approach obstacles a little differently
-doent have the 'stigma' that is associated with toynisswoo's and their owners
-and my man hood is sufficient, hence I dont need to justify anything to myself or others by spending 10's of thousands on upgrades and wank factor LOLOLOLOL

At the end of the day, I like it, it suits our needs. We dont have a canopy as yet. I am looking at building a canvas one at the moment, however I survived this long without, a few more months (or years LOL) wont make too much difference.

Each to their own I say, if you like wagons and the vehicles attributes, get one. However if a dual cab suits your needs, go for it. What does surprise me is the amount of cut down toynisswoos roaming around. Obviously there are people out their looking for the comfort etc of a wagon, but the practicality of a uterus. I wonder if toyota or nissan will ever support this market (large 4wd that is)

my 2 bob

AnswerID: 188147

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:14

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:14
I agree with most of what you say here... I have wiped many a smirk of the face of a "real" 4wdriver by negotiating an obstacle they were certain I wouldn't.
FollowupID: 445437

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:02

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:02
I agree....dual cab would be great!

If I had the cash, I'd love to get the back of my Patrol hacked off, and either lengthen the chassis or add a 3rd DRIVEN axle, and a lockable box (a la Telstra) added on.......t'would be great!!!!!
AnswerID: 188152

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:21

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:21
And myself, I agree. Unfortunately its a trade off, if you want comfort, its a wagon, or if youve got the dollars you can get it cut done, or you buy a dual cab, but you miss out on all the other pros of a wagon.

But when the cost of the cut and the addition of a box exceeds that of a second hand dual cab, it makes you think long and hard.
FollowupID: 445380

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:04

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:04
Cost of rego is cheaper for a wagon too.
AnswerID: 188153

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:08

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:08
Rego based on number of cylinders up here in Qld so that point not valid for those of us living in paradise!
FollowupID: 445378

Follow Up By: Spike me - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:22

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:22
I pay 350 per year in Vic for a 4 cyl Hilux duel cab. Was paying 500 for an 80 series diesel wagon 6 cyl.
FollowupID: 445381

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:09

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:09
As a "goods carrying vehicle" here in Vic utes are nearly $100 a year less to reg than a car or 4wd wagon.
FollowupID: 445433

Reply By: Spike me - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:30

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 15:30
I did all of the measurements between a Hilux DC and a 100 series. I looked at rego costs, economy, cabin space, cargo space, clearance, suspension etc...

I went th eDuel cab TD as iw was th ewinner in most categories. The only thing that the LC had that I would have liked was a rigid front end and a slightly more comfortable rear seat. The rear seat did not count as I sit in th efront and the suspension was no problem as the lux has a good LSD and whinch in case I get stuck with a front wheel in the air. So far suspension is not a problem and I have only been hung up once.

The ute had a far bigger (read 50%) larger carrying capacity with an ARB canopy. It leaks no dust or water and has never been broken into. The back is a hose out job which is far better than the wagon. You can throw in wet muddy recovery gear and it does not fog up all of the windows or make the car dirty. If anything rattles in the back you dont hear it.

Economy is about 25% better

depreciation is the same

Servicing is 20% cheaper as cheaper parts and a lot less oil

rego and insurance are 30% cheaper

They both do the speed limit

Interior size is only an inch narrower and rear leg space is only about 2 cm shorter

etc...

I paid 20 grand less for the vehicle and bought a boat and have change in the bank.

I am happy with the DC
AnswerID: 188157

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:23

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:23
Also if your a tradsman you can claim the dual cab on your tax cos it's classed as a comercial vehicle, not sure about the wagon.
FollowupID: 445394

Reply By: slave - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:29

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:29
I sat in the back seat of a duel cab and found it was really uncomfortable with the lack of angle. Decided that if I couldn't put up with that then I couldn't expect the kids to put up with it either after all they won't be travelling with mum and dad for much longer as it won't be 'kewl'.

Seating was never an issue as our GQ has always been a 5 seater.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 188162

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:10

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:10
I can't make em out either Mrs S. I rekon the legs must be sawnoffs to fit.
FollowupID: 445434

Reply By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:41

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:41
Depends on the dual cab.
AnswerID: 188163

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:45

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:45
Now thats a "DUAL CAB COME PARTY BUS COME STRETCH LIMMO COME BIG"
FollowupID: 445405

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:50

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:50
Yeah, but it overcomes the problems the others have been discussing.

FollowupID: 445408

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:51

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:51
And then some..!
FollowupID: 445409

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:52

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 07:52
Apart from maybe Fuel economy, off road ability, can't fit it in the garage...... ;-)
FollowupID: 445531

Reply By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:44
Tried a tray back for 5 years - and of course everything in the canvas canopied tray got fairly trashed on long trips not to mention the dust ingress etc but was all I could afford at the time.

Then I went to a troopy for 7 years and a fantastic vehicle but now the grubby bits that did not fit on the roof rack ended up inside with us, including the wet dog, not to mention having to clamber over everything to find the bits and pieces.

Now I've the best of both worlds with this current rig. Bucket loads of space, accessible all sides and everything stays relatively clean with canopy dust and waterproofed into the bargain.

My son with an LC 100 series wagon has no where near the carrying capacity so we find the dual cab becomes the "mule - pack horse" for extended trips and is often set up as a base camp.

Comfort in this dual cab is taken care of with after market seating and ride is improved by the extra wheel length which eliminates any choppiness in the ride.

My two bob's worth
AnswerID: 188164

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:59

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:59
Top looking rig John......;-))
FollowupID: 445410

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:16

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 21:16
Who did the conversion of the ute John? I assume it is a conversion.
FollowupID: 445479

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:00

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:00
Norm,

In real terms I don't have a clue. I did make enquiries recently for another forumite and tracked down a crowd in Welshpool who occasionaly do conversions for the mining crowd but now only do conversions cutting the tail off a 100S and putting a short tray on them without stretching the chassis. They are all the go in the Pilbara and vehicle of choice for the miners.
They were not really that interested in cutting chassis, stretching the length and building the crew cab for a Tojo or Nissan ute. They did tho mumble $30k under there breath which was about the same time I had to go the fridge and get a beer.These vehicles are all the go in the Pilbara and vehicle of choice for the mining companies.

My vehicle is a 1992 75 series which I purchased from a yard in 1994. History was an ex-collie mining vehicle, 40K on the clock and in pretty good nick with a steel canvas canopy tray so all the work was done for me apart from the Ally canopy.
I used this forum extensively before deciding on what to do with that, best price etc and picked a firm called Barrington Marine in Bibra lake. run by a bloke called Kerry, beautiful job as youn woukld expect from a boatbuilder and will bend it into any shape you want. He also maunfactured the checkerplate tool boxes under the tray.

Bit of a long winded explanation to your question but thats just me I suppose.

Have fun
FollowupID: 445589

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:52

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 16:52
When you have a ute, everyone is your friend,
and you get invites to every house move in the neighbourhood.

Ken
AnswerID: 188166

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:10

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 17:10

so true tho, so true
FollowupID: 445413

Reply By: MP - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:26

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:26
Good discussion. I have an RA Rodeo dual cab with canopy 4x4 diesel. Love it. For me its a work vehicle. Keep in mind utes are commercial vehicles and built to take heavy loads, and there's the catch. As a standard set up you can't have your cake and eat it too. Most wagons payloads are in the vicinity of 650-750 kgs. Add fuel accessories and gear and there ain't much left to play with. When I take the work gear out and go away I load it to the hilt with gear and family without coming close to 1000kgs. If I didn't use it for work I probably still have one. New models coming out from Toyota, Nissan and Mitsubishi are all looking pretty good, and I'm a Holden man from birth. Also with a canopy it makes for a secure dry payload area. Mate has 6x4 trailer with lid total 2 feet deep = around 48 cubic feet- heaps of room. Did the sums to his surprise. Tray of ute around 5x5 and 3 feet deep with canopy less wheel arches around 72 cubic feet of space. Packed properly you can takes heaps.

AnswerID: 188186

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:51

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 18:51
I happened to have a loan of a Hi Lux on the weekend whilst my Terracan was being used.

The Hi Lux drove like a truck in comparison. Not at all pleasant.
AnswerID: 188191

Follow Up By: fnq triton - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:15

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:15
what year and spec was the lux. you can't expect it to drive the same. they are fairly different cars.
FollowupID: 445439

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:50

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 20:50
The Lux was a 94 model with 49,000 on the clock. Just about identical to my Jerry.

Of course you can't expect it to drive the same; wasn't that the purpose of this post? That was why the question was asked; why a wagon in preference to a Ute?

I'll put it simply, the wagons are designed for those of us who like car style travel. Utes are "work" vehicles, and designed accordingly. I never said there was anything wrong with utes. They are a fine, practical, vehicle. However due to their appropriate design, they don't suit everyone.
FollowupID: 445473

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:22

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:22
Versatility was my reason for grabbing a DC ute... I love wheeling, trail bikes and camping with the family... I can get two bikes on the back, the camper in tow and the family and have a good weekend... The canopy(which takes 10 mins to remove on my own) makes it more civilised for the day-to-day... Then there's the load capacity, which craps over any and all of the wagons...
AnswerID: 188198

Reply By: AJB - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:46

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:46
Roachies on the money. Bigger dual cab with a decent tray. 130 system is good and if only Nissan and Toyota did the same with theirs. But still you can't have too many models to add to confusion.
AnswerID: 188205

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 19:59
I love my old Lux, very versatile, solid, simple, never have to wash it and the more I knock it around the better it gets....no worries at all.
AnswerID: 188211

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:20

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:20
i look forward to getting dirty with you around a campfire one day matey.

go the lux indeed.
FollowupID: 445655

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:11
Why do people buy dual cabs then spend heaps of bucks trying to turn them into wagons....

I wanted the room, comfort, towing capacity etc. As with nroachie and others, I would like to cut the back off mine, but I do use the 3rd row seats occasionally. The main things I want a tray for would be fuel and outboards, but the crocs are starting to get on my nerve a bit so the bigger boat is the vessel of choice now.

Although I would like a dual cab & slightly longer wheelbase, I can't agree with Roachie on the 6 wheelers. The ones we use at work are shockers, terrible turning circle, stuff breaks in the rear end a lot, during times of limited traction your poor steering is worse as the 4 rear wheels just give you woeful understeer. The OKA's we used to have were better, and I had a low opinion of them as well

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 188258

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 22:22
Hi Moose, all very good points. I agree that some may decide on wagons because they never considered the alternative. If you don't have youngsters, go the single-cab with more tray space.

It comes down to needs, personal preferences etc. I love the simplicity of a big standard diesel, their engine braking and low gearing and,of course, their life-span. Shopping for second-hand there are no dual-cab 4l+.

AnswerID: 188262

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 00:00

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 00:00
I love it when you guys come up with a really good post - this was an excellent question Moose and due to the varied and detailed responses, makes excellent reading - it has inspired me to take on this angle for a future article in the Vehicle Choices Topic.

...and for my 2cents worth - the female ego is less likely (in my opinion) to want to drive a ute/dual cab etc. Too blokely for sure, BUT with one exception - an F250 ;-)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 188275

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:16

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:16
I looked at dual cabs for weeks and weeks before I ended up with a GU patrol wagon. I have had a dual cab before but found the IFS front end to be limiting off-road, although very good on road. I did enjoy the ability to carry whatever I wanted in the back, smelly, dirty or whatever, and just hose it out.

The main reason for getting a wagon was to be able to sleep in it. I am over sleeping in a tent, and a rooftop camper is not an option for Jaqcui, niether is a swag. We do lots of one or 2 night trips and having all the bedding made up in the back ready to go is handy. The only downer is having to shift absolutely everything off the bed [fridge/clothes bag/fishing stuff/recovery gear] and transfer it to the front seats before we can sleep.
AnswerID: 188278

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:40

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 01:40
just went through that for some time. we wanted to buy our retirement
package and run it through the business for a few years. We wanted some
living space a larger boat, secure storage in the vehicle with alarm, comfort
to ride long distances, power for towing, not needing to slow down uphill,
GCVW sufficient for everything ... for us there was not a single car in Australia fitting the bill .. Wagon ? no .. where do you sleep when you tow a boat ? so .. ute only .. must be a crew cab .. extended cab too small for all my valuable photo gear, fridge etc. well crew cab is a dual cab here in aussieland I guess ... ok so ute it is ..
now where do you sleep ... ? tent ? no way .. too much effort .. not if you live in it for years .. so a bit more comfort please .. ok then .. slide on truck camper !!
hmmm ... weight.. size ? plus extra weight for towing, long range tanks ...
mid size truck camper 1.200Kg .. + 150Kg Diesel in long range tank + 300Kg toung weight + ? + ? ... no way an ordinary ute would carry that .. modification ? extended chassis ? dual axle ?? .. nope ... all these option use trays .. camper sits too high .. no useful ute in Oz with a normal pickup bed for a slide in ..
Ford 250 ? no .. not enough payload ... your overloaded very easily ... F350 ?
all sold .... no more ... chassis only ... basic trim only ... no crew cab ... hmmmm
so what to do ... ok .. only way .. bring in a dual wheel which does all we want ..
and thats exactly what we did ... our truck will be born on the 28th or August this year in Detroit ... they tell you the day when she's rolling off the belt ...
Crew cab, more leg room in the back than any jap car in the front, can load 2.5 tonnes on a 2.4m long bed ... only need 2.2t .. including everything ...
downside: .. its a dual wheel .. limited choices in wheels and tires .. well ok .. so be it .. more trouble in sand .. : ok .. enough space to carry a few grids and enough power to fly when necessary :)) .. width .. uff .. will have to make our own tracks .. :)) .. ok .. two extra spare tires .. wait a minute .. nothing we can do .. the boat trailer is 2.46 anyway .. same width as the truck ... can't go everywhere anyway .. ok we will leave the boat when we have to .. and we can leave the camper when we have to .. still can pack a tent and have all the room we need to sleep on the truckbed .. ah there is special ones for the bed .. pulled up in 2 minutes .. or we could sleep in the cabin and take our motorbikes on the back ? .. nah we put them on our 12000lb hitch ... no problem ... can we tow the boat ?
yep but not too much more stuff on the trailer .. maybe just 500-600 Kg .. why ? with a GCVW of 9860Kg and a tow capacity of 12000lb ?? well camper has an overhang of 24" and requires hitch extension ... hitch extension only has capacity of 8000lb with weight distribution and only if you use the Reese To Beast .. 12000lb hitch 2.5" ... ok then ... throw away the standard hitch and mount the beast ... ahh .. why not putting the standard hitch in the front ? ...want winch and winch mount .. so no room for hitch !? oh wait a minute .. I think I saw a grill guard with a winchmount and a light bar and front bars and a built in hitch reveiver ? does it fit my truck ?? hmmm .. not the diesel .. extra oilcooler in the way .... hmmm ... any other solution ? no .. all winch mounts for 9000lb winches only ... no hope .. want 12000 hydraulic ... want to keep my bumper ..
bloody truck ... get a standard 4wd .. ah can not .. weight ... camper already ordered ... etc etc etc ... :)) ... some of the decisions we went through ...
at the end of the day !! a ute/truck is the far more flexible solution in my opinion and can be adapted to more situations that any wagon ... for me a 4WD wagon is ok for short trips ... holidays etc .. but long term ... ute for me
gmd

AnswerID: 188281

Follow Up By: RedGibber - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:56

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:56
gmd,

Luv ya post mate!! And gdonya for sharing with us all here the how/why which led you to your choice! Only serves to emphasise the importance of personal preference/requirements in what you want.

{I won't ask you how much yer rig's gonna cost tho'...... ;-) ;-) }

I've owned 2 DCs and now a Patrol....each vehicle has served EXACTLY the needs I had at the time. And that includes comfort/practicality/on- and off-road requirements etc.

Red
FollowupID: 445661

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:23

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 21:23
RedGibber,

not as bad as you may think or as it may sound to some who have not researched it.

Ford is really ripping people off with their prices ... I can bring in a new truck from the US at a very similar price (done the checks with a 350) and end up with a far better vehicle, from a technical point of view and trim wise ... way better ...

When you even buy a used car in the US you are way in front ... there is heaps of good second hand ones with low mileage... 6 months old 15K miles or so and 10K$ under new mostly with extras ... we have opted for a new one (for various reasons) and managed to get it at fleet price ... then you title it because under the RAWS import it must be used and a title is proof of that ... then you ship it to AUS and have it converted.. there is NO customs duty on trucks from the US - zilch .. only GST and when you do it through a business (its a truck - not a pleasure car ) then you reclaim the GST .. also the GVW is above 4.5t so you qualify for the new petrol tax benefits ... once you decide to go that route then you have a real alternative to Ford .. downside: You have to bring your own software cartridge to a Holden dealer to put in their diagnostic machine to read all the codes or you buy a simple code reader and just do the main ones ... sure the service is limited ... yes ... but I take my chances ... If I break down with a F350 on a weekend I have worse chances than with a GM when I have service departments in the US shipping 24/7 ... well ... kinda ...
the truck camper is cheap ... yes real cheap compared to what you pay here. I ordered a brand new one, without all the 110V gadgets and the gas stuff. will fit it out here myself. 5% duty on campers ... + GST ... peanuts compared to local prices of imported stuff ... the boat too .. second hand, low hours, no comparison in price .. just a bigger market over there .. 10% duty + GST .. has a Mercruiser engine, no problem with service here ... so all in all ... we are actually quite a bit ahead with the total cost compared to a local purchase especially when you consider all the goodies (parts - add ons) which are simply not available here .. not even for the Ford ... it just takes time and a bit of luck I guess and we are not yet through ... but I am hopeful and optimistic that it will work somehow ... there is hundreds of little questions and decisions and things to organise and coordinate.
But it can be done and if anyone here wants further insight then just contact me .. am happy to share ...
gmd
FollowupID: 445682

Reply By: Davo - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 11:58

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 11:58
I used to own a 2001 Triton V6 GLS Dual Cab. I loved it - for me the decision at the time of purchase was based on available tray lengths - I need something that could fit two dirtbikes in the back (tailgate down).
It was a choice between the Triton and the Rodeo. Fantastic vehicle - did a few trips away in it, but because I was taking bikes away, or need to at short notice, the option of getting a canopy was discarded. I then bought a 21' fibreglass boat which weighes in at about 2.5T fully fuelled, etc.
Towing capacity was the major reason I offloaded the Triton and bought the Landcruiser. Now I know that some of you will say the Nissan Navara can tow 3T; but the cruiser was found alomst accidentally as a "plug-and-play" option - all ARB mods were done to it that could be done, and to this day I do not regret buying it.
Because I bought the Cruiser, I had to buy a 7x4 trailer, which I had custom-made wiht matching wheels for the cruiser (it cost me $1600).
The dual cab ute is an fantastic all-rounder, very handy and if you buy the right one and spec it out suspension-wise they're fine to drive around town.
The Triton did need a load in the back to soften the ride though.
The Cruiser fits more gear in it than the Triton did; primarily because you can load the cruiser up to the ceiling; remembering that I did not have a canopy on the Triton.

AnswerID: 188323

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:31

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:31
thought about posting this question last week, good on'ya Moose....

mate of mine was moving from old Navara to ? looked at them all but ended up with a DC LX Rodeo TD, manual ute. Has done him well although I question the integrity (wate/dust ingress) of the arb installed canopy (not up to the quality install i would demand.)

he took it on the drive for life (one N Mannell as convoy leader) and we recently spent a weekend travelling through the Ophir goldfields, across the Macquarie (no gold in the pans) down to Sailor's Bluff off the Bridle trail. We took the Daylight Crk trail to Blackbutt Mt trail and up the steep steps off Jackass Ck(where such a vehicle benefited from wheel placement guidance via portable UHF) then on through the Turon, Upper Turon, Blackfella's, Mtn Lagoon, Wheelbarrow Ridge to home.

Was impressed with the capability of the unit but only from the point of getting us through. We were only two and it was only three days but i do believe the rodeo may be the best vehicle gm offer at pres.
AnswerID: 188417

Reply By: Barnesy - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:45

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:45
If a manufacturer made a full size dual cab with live axles, coils all round, and enough space for rear seats as a wagon then i would buy one. Until then i'll stick to my Patrol.

Looking at second hand it was Patrol or live axle hilux. i thought about the poor wheel travel of the leaf sprung hilux and my decision was made. Coil Patrol. Some may like IFS but to me a fourby should have live axles.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 188481

Follow Up By: Landie - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:52

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:52
Landrover do......
FollowupID: 445745