Happy News for those worried about the 15mm Tyre Diameter rule

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 11:18
ThreadID: 36655 Views:4087 Replies:10 FollowUps:27
Spoke to Vic Roads again today about the 15 mm tyre diameter rule and finally had some luck. He said the same as always that 15mm is the max allowed. So I asked what about the info at this web site that allows upto 50 mm increase for fourwheel drives. He said that it is the new national code which all states will be going by in the near future, but these rules have not come into effect yet. So he phone them up to find out when it would be. But to his surprise he said it is now ok to go by these rules. He spoke with a guy called Grey Scott.

http://www.dotars.gov.au/transport/safety/road/bulletin/pdf/NCOP11_Section_LS_Suspension_and_steering_3Feb2006.pdf

Reply By: UFC - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:09

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:09
Well on page 16 of the pdf it said 50 mm but on page 63 it says 26mm. Thats if your vehicle is lifted more then 50mm. Just gets more confusing hey.
AnswerID: 188325

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:50

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:50
26mm passenger vehicle, 50 mm 4WD or commercial vehicle.....
FollowupID: 445608

Follow Up By: UFC - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 15:11

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 15:11
Sorry GaryInOZ. Check out pg 63 on the pdf from the address above. 15mm Passenger, 50mm 4wd or commercial. But if the 4wd in lifted over 50mm then tyres go back to being only 26mm over. Page 16 is on lifts up 50mmm and page 63 is lifts 50mm to 150mm. Check it out I could be wrong. Hope I am
FollowupID: 445610

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:20

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:20
Thank god they came out with new rules to make things clearer.
FollowupID: 445670

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:55

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:55
Was thinking the same thing T-Man, luckily its a national code.

FollowupID: 446103

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:36

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:36
so we can all be confused together?
FollowupID: 446108

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 12:51
UFC

Please help, need new tyres soon but want to stay legal. Just wondered how do we know that the individual states eg qld are adopting this standard, or in other words is this an "Australian Standard". Could i use this documents to show QLD transport and be granted approval for the bigger tyres with in 50mm and also the insurance company. For example what is the National Code? Who made it?

Any help would be appreciated.
AnswerID: 188331

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:49

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 13:49
I agree; very confusing.

Maybe you need to print a copy of the document off and take it to your local rego place and ask them if these new laws etc apply to qld (or whatever state). If they say "YES", then get the persons name, rank and serial number....or better still, get them to sign the page saying "this applies to qld" etc. If they say "NO", ask them why not and ask to see the manager/supervisor etc cos you've been led to believe these new laws are Australia-wide etc.

Once you're satisfied you've got the right answers, then go ahead and get the tyres that fit the law/s. If you're ever queried by the coppers, carry the signed documents in your car and say they meet the standards.
FollowupID: 445597

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:00

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:00
Seek and you shall find.
- from their website:

"Please be aware that the NCOP only represents the technical requirements that must be met - administrative requirements are dealt with separately by each state and territory's administrative guidelines or business rules."
"Further comments on the NCOP may be directed to the following email addresses."

Victoria
Gray.Scott@roads.vic.gov.au

New South Wales
Harry_Vertsonis@rta.nsw.gov.au

Australian Capital Territory
rod.paule@act.gov.au

South Australia
roland.earl@transport.sa.gov.au

Northern Territory
simon.saunders@nt.gov.au

Tasmania
Tony.Beard@dier.tas.gov.au

Queensland
robert.j.gibson@transport.qld.gov.au

Western Australia
rex.middleton@dpi.wa.gov.au
FollowupID: 445600

Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:25

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:25
My experience with NCOPs in other areas is that they aren't law unless adopted as a standard in each state.
The NCOP in this case is very prescriptive which provides the basis for standards to be drawn up.
Where I have had input into COPs elsewhere I have tried to steer away from prescriptiveness and focussed on outcomes.
It would be an interesting question to ask as to who was consulted in compiling this COP as it appears that not many 4WDers were consulted.
What is the real outcome being sought?
is there any evidence that completely legal (engineered) vehicles are any less safe than any other?
Is it really that there are many modified vehicles around that don't have appropriate certification? are they any less safe?

I think we all know the answers here and they have been said here and in other forums. It's not about reflecting fact, it is about policing the many for the sins of very few.

NickR

Won't the ATECO be dull when these standards are applied!!!
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 445642

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:14

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:14
To be 100% go with some 90/90 Avons...

NickR, thread on OL says they are accepted.
FollowupID: 445666

Reply By: allanmac856 - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:00

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:00
All is a bit 'clear as mud' atm. The other issue is how the insurance companies deal with this.

Alot of people believe, that if they have an engineers cert, they are 'A ok', but most insurance companies dont see it that way.

AnswerID: 188343

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:01

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:01
>> Alot of people believe, that if they have an engineers cert, they are 'A ok', but most insurance companies dont see it that way.

how do you work that out?
FollowupID: 445601

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:20

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:20
Truckster

Ron and Viv Moon are a good example, their patrol was fully certified, NRMA would not touch them, I think they had some problems with a few others as well.
FollowupID: 445604

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:21
Theres plenty of companies wont touch cars with over a 1inch lift now, so that could have been their problem more than the mods etc.

CGU if you call them now (or when I did), told me not interested if you have any suspension mods raising the car.

its all part of the big picture to squeeze us off the road - fuel, insurance, mods, etc...
FollowupID: 445672

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:35

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 09:35
Truckster, alot of people believe that the engineers certificate means the vehicle is roadworthy. From what I have been informed, it means the mods have been done correctly & subsequently the reputable ones give the certificate etc for that reason alone.

BUT, most insurances companies dont give a rats. As we all know, they will look at anyway to get out of paying a claim & if you/me go outside the specs as specified by the manufacturer, vehicle is unroadworthy. Not only with 4wd's but also includes the lowered riceburners/dunnydores etc etc.

That is why I'm interested to find out how insurance companies will view these new regs.

FollowupID: 445723

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:00
>>> if you/me go outside the specs as specified by the manufacturer, vehicle is unroadworthy.

Manure.

The reason you get a vehicle engineered, then the mods are registered with Vicroads is to make it/Prove it actually is roadworthy. The whole testing process, swerve tests, braking tests, and for example all the other crap that Lucy went thru to raise the GvM of his Troop, is to prove the vehicle is roadworthy and within the ADR's that the mods are affecting.

Thats how the engineer and the 12yr old on disability pension working at Vicroads told me, otherwise why would people bother? That made Lucy's rig legal and roadworthy, why would it be any different?
FollowupID: 445728

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 13:05

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 13:05
Truckster - your comment re CGU is very interesting especially noting that CGU are the underwriters for TCIS...doesn't make much sense does it?
FollowupID: 445772

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:01

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:01
TCIS dont use CGU anymore as their main 4wd insurance - havent for 2 yrs now.
That all changed.
FollowupID: 445783

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 15:29

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 15:29
if you/me go outside the specs as specified by the manufacturer, vehicle is unroadworthy.

Sorry, my bad. In the eyes of the INSURANCE COMPANY, the vehicle may be unroadworthy.

FollowupID: 445794

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:44

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:44
Just so happens I received a quote from TCIS to cover my patrol, kanga campertrailer and camping gear.........all underwritten by CGU
FollowupID: 445815

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:42

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:42
I called TCIS today to ask as I used to be with them, and TCIS used CGU as their pretty much only supplier until 2 yrs ago.

They said that they use them for lesser modded cars, but they are no longer 'the top of the list' and are probably in the bottom 5% of companies they recommend. they still recommended the same 2 for mine as they did few weeks ago.
FollowupID: 446333

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:21
Hi there UFC, so would the wheels and tyres on my 89 SR5 Hilux be legal or ilegal. I now have on it 15x7 inch sunraysha rims, tyres fitted are BFG All Terains 31x10, had a look in the glove box, inside door etc and cant find a tyre placard any where so not sure what the allowance is. These are wider than what use to be the vehicle from the factory. Dont know if anybody can remember what they look like but they are quit narrow and my were a grey colour but the later sr5's were in chrome like the earlier model 4 runners. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 188345

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:57

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 14:57
The term "can of worms" come to mind here.
AnswerID: 188350

Reply By: Charlie - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:33

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:33
The good news is 50mm increase in tyre size will be allowed but the bad news is this is with zero suspension lift, its also becoming more difficult and expensive to get engineered .
Regards Charlie
AnswerID: 188402

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:56

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:56
Not sure that is right Charlie, a 50mm increase in tyre size only gives 25mm of lift, so some suspension lift should still be available.
FollowupID: 445650

Follow Up By: Charlie - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:46

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:46
I don't think that's how they look at it,from what I've heard 50mm tires are regarded as being a 50mm lift!
WA,TAS and SA apparently have the new system,it's been happening any week now in NSW since last November? Rumour has it QLD won't bring it in.
Regards Charlie
FollowupID: 445657

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:04

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:04
nope, its actual measured lift, so 50mm bigger tire size only lifts 25mm. they are using chassis rail measurements.
FollowupID: 445730

Follow Up By: Charlie - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 18:32

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 18:32
Ok I'll take your word for that, I managed to get engineered last November and the memories a bit dim.
Regards Charlie
FollowupID: 445825

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:22

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:22
The "max" is 50mm???
Then can someone explain page 18 to me please.

meow

rick.
AnswerID: 188430

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:29

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 20:29
There is alot to this paper that i think really needs to be looked at....
for example......Page 21.
Extended or adjustableshackle paltes must not be used to raise vehicles on leaf spring suspensions.
Does this mean no drop shackles, or the pinned ones either?

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 445675

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:18

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:18
Strewth, after reading of all these dramas I'm just very bloody glad that I decided to leave my Patrol showroom spec stock standard!!!!! LMAO hhahahahah
AnswerID: 188540

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:15

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 17:15
Yep .... I reckon it's funny too!
FollowupID: 445809

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:08

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:08
Yep keep em standard Roachie, that what Lucy always says too Come to mention it do does Neil Cooper

FollowupID: 446106

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:04

Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 17:04
Roachie,

As you can well attest standard is the way to go.

The best thing about this whole argument is that I just picked up the email address of an old school friend who I have not seen in years.

I love this forum.

AnswerID: 188681

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:57

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:57
These rules definitely sound like they were designed by a commitee, and a bloody government one at that..............
AnswerID: 188869

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:40
nobody with a brain thats 4sure
FollowupID: 446331