Carrying a boat on a Dual Cab Ute

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:19
ThreadID: 36663 Views:11994 Replies:13 FollowUps:14
I'm looking to put a tinnie (about 3.5m) on top of my Hilux dual cab, with Carryboy canopy.

On a ute like this, a boat cannot by supported and tied down to both the cab and the canopy (tub) as thy move independantly.

To overcome this and a couple of other issues, I am thinking of mounting some removable bar work at the back which will be supported by the chassis via some protection bars I have welded to the sides of the tow bar assembly. These bars would be right at the back of the vehicle and come up high enough to clear the wind deflector on the canopy and allow the rear door of the canopy to open enough.

The boat would be supported by this bar (ie the chassis) at the back and by two conventional roof bars on the cab at the front. It would not be supported by the tub or canopy.

Anyone know if this would be OK? Ie is there enough stability between the chassis and cab for a boat to be supported in this way.

Reply By: strzelecki - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:46

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:46
The tub and the cab move independantly and the tub is mounted to the chassis. Therefore a support mounted at the extreme rear of the chassis would move in a similar or even a more extreme way I would think.
AnswerID: 188375

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:55

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:55
Maybe a rubber or spring arrangement suspension support at the boat tie down at the rear could take up the chassis flex?
FollowupID: 445624

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:18

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:18
Fair point strezelecki. The tub is mounted direct to the chassis, but the cab si supported via rubber mounts to the chassis. It is the movement in the rubber mounts that causes the cab and tub to move independantly. That sound right?

FollowupID: 445629

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:44

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:44
Would be a combination of all the above and maybe even some boat flex thrown in for the overall effect.I don't think you will eliminate it,the solution is can the tie down point diffuse it to a manageable level ??
FollowupID: 445632

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:56

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 16:56
Hi Norm,
How have you been, did you guy's get away this winter
AnswerID: 188378

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:03

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:03
Yes Brian. Just got back from 14 weeks in Kimberley, NT, Western Gulf. Great trip; I'd rather be still out there. Post ID 36597 has a short trip report.

Is that a new F250 I see in your rig profile?
FollowupID: 445627

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:52

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 17:52
With the BGO (blinding glimpse of the obvious) provided by strezlecki above, it seems that my first plan might not work.

A possible second plan is to use the same bar work proposed in the initial post at the back, but then support the rest of the boat on the canopy. The canopy can handle the weight (up to 100KG). Problem is the most forward bar I can mount on the canopy will be only 1500mm forward of the rear chassis supported bar. If the boat overhangs the rear bar by 250mm and is 3500 mm long, that means half the boat is forward of the front bar and is not supported. the heaviest half (the back) of the boat is supported on the chassis and canopy, but I'm not sure how secure this would be on long trips.

Any ideas on this one??
AnswerID: 188395

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:17

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:17
Norm C,
A mate of mine has a twin cab hilux and he carries a 3.7m tinny on top on a home made roof rack. When we went to the Cape in 2002 he took it all the way to the top and back with no problems. Since then he has been to Bathurst Bay and he is going again this Monday. From memory the roof rack protrudes out the back about a foot and over the full twin cab. We all expected him to have trouble with flexing and metal fatigue, but he proved us wrong. If you want i can try and get the metal details before we go on Monday.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 188397

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:45

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:45
Bros, I'm assuming his rack is supported by bars mounted on the tub, front and back. The rack canterlevers past this by a foot at the back and by 1.5 to 2 m at the front?

Certainly an option, although for me the front of the rack would probably be supported by the canopy.
FollowupID: 445645

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:25

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:25
Norm i am understanding you're dilema.Another alternative to put it over you're bonnet back on top of the cab if it were not too heavy & awkward to handle.That is if you have a bull bar & put a T piece up the centre with the bow ofthe boat there.Hope this helps a little.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 188398

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:41

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:41
Zuk, that was one of the alternatives I considered. But has similar problem. Bullbar is connected direct to chassis and cab is via rubber mounts, so there could still be different movement.

Although loading it could work, it would mean tipping the boat upside down, then lifting the back (heavy end) up onto the front bar (over the bullbar) and pushing it back to the other bars.

Depending on what I can find out about the different movement between the bullbar and the cab, it might still be an option.
FollowupID: 445644

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:27

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:27
norm,
ive done this on rodeo's with no problems. 3.5 mtr quintrex bolted down to tub only 1.5mt with 2mt hanging out over roof the boat is strong enough and the movement between tub and body is really noticable when you drive over rough ground.

have to go to a meeting now but can give more info and photos later.

regards peter
AnswerID: 188399

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:53

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 18:53
Thanks Peter, I've had a look at one of the pics in your profile. Is the boat well balanced; ie no tendancy for it to want to tip forward onto the cab?

What is your longest and most challenging trip carrying like this?

I note you also tie the front down to the bullbar, which seems sensible, given the possible uplift power and the leverage effect involved.

You have given me hope.

Do you have rollers at the back to help push the boat on, or do you just slide it across the bar?
FollowupID: 445649

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:18

Thursday, Aug 10, 2006 at 19:18
Norm C,
From memory the roof rack was made out of 25x25 box. I think that the factor stopping too much flex is that the boat is ratchet strapped upside down to the roof rack fore and aft and the boat doesn't allow the whole lot to flex too much. He has a frame from the tub with vinyl zip up sides much the same as the contributor above.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 188413

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:23

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:23
I can't see a problem.

Carrying a boat would be no different than having a basket mounted on roof racks would it?

Provided there was only two mounting points (Cab & Canopy) and the Canopy is capable of taking the weight of the boat, you would be OK.

AnswerID: 188471

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:55

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 08:55
Yes I reckon only having the two mounting points would eliminate the rocking motion caused by having the two bars on the cab.One bar on the cab and one bar on rear of the canopy possibly with a slightly flexible mounting point at one end would be a better alternative.
FollowupID: 445715

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 13:51

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 13:51
Hi Norm,
If you must carry a boat please consider how much use you will give it, if not much then there are the fold up ones, or the blow uo ones, if a lot then why not put it on top of the CT and carry a fold up trailer that way it would not always be on the truck. The CT will handle no trouble and as i say when you have to go retailing then the boat does not go with you, would only take a couplke of extra min to jump into bed to swing the boat back.
!MPG:15!
AnswerID: 188537

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:54

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 14:54
Thanks for the input Brian. We have given the CT boat loader a lot of thought and I've discussed in with Steve (AORC). Since I wasn't smart enough to get a loader put on when I had the trailer built, it will cost a lot more to retrofit, particularly if I get the drawer bar set up changed to carry the motor, fold up trailer etc.

Two other factors:
1. We would take up a fair bit more space in a camp site, and with the experience of our 14 weeks in Kimberley, NT etc, we would not fit easily onto a few of the camp sites we used.

2. Like you, we are thinking of getting a caravan sometime over the next couple of years to have a bit more comfort when doing 'on road' trips. To take the boat on these trips, I'd need to carry it on the vehicle. Don't want to invest in two systems.

I haven't entirely given up on the CT option, but I'm leaning seriously towards the vehicle mount if I can do it securely and simply.

Rhonda (AORC) has suggested getting a new CT built the way I now want it, with boat loader etc, then selling the current one, which should have retained it's value very well. But then she would wouldn't she; she is in the business of selling CTs; but it is not an entirely crazy idea; just expensive.
FollowupID: 445788

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 16:07

Friday, Aug 11, 2006 at 16:07
I had a similar question for the new Hilux also. At the 4WD show some time ago I saw a current model Hilux with Roof Racks on the Roof and also on the Sport's Bar. Now the Sports Bar is obviously mounted on the ute part of the vehicle so moving independently to the front of the vehicle (Hopefully in the same direction). He had a canoe mounted on the Lux using rubber tie downs so I presume the rubber would give to move with the flex, I haven't been able to find anyone who can mount a 3rd roof rack on the Sports Bar. Having a 3rd rack further back on the Sports Bar would give me some more length and mounting room for a dinghy etc
AnswerID: 188558

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:59

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:59
hi norm.

there is quite a bit of movement, the boat is only bolted to the tub racks. i added a tradesman gutterless bar on the cabin onto which the front of the boat sat but was only tied to the bullbar to stop it flapping at high speed. carefully feeling out the window while travelling and the boat moves around 30-40mm 'watch your fingers'
the front bar is for looks. i thought 2mt of boat hanging out the front would look a little silly.
i have boat rollers at rear for on/off. the wider the better as boat tappers towards front. i'm early 50's, fit and 6ft and can get it on alone, just. weight no problem my quintrex fishnipper 65kg the only 3.5 mt i could find a few years ago that took a 15hp, just lifting rear to slide forward a little awkward. if my wife helps to keep it steady i can lift/slide it ok.

i've been to fraser, wathumba and across ngalla rocks to sandy cape a few times.
and hauled it to south oz, vic, and tassie on a 6wk trip with some rough 4x4 along the way and no problems. i bolted the boat to the rack to secure it. interestingly the boat gives great shade while driving and i had no real increase in fuel usage, 2000 model v6 petrol in tassie.

hope this helps. may be able to give more info in person as i believe the gc4wd club is going to "the gorge station" 1-3 sept as is our club.

regards peter
AnswerID: 188839

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:21

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 08:21
Hi Peter, not sure if I'm going on the Gorge Station trip yet.

Is your 30 to 40 mm of movement after you tied the front to the bull bar or before?

Since your boat is bolted to the bars, the movement can only be flexong of the boat or the bars. Does that sound right?

The shade on the vehicle will help. While up in the Kimberley recently, I reckon it was 60 degrees in the canopy (where fridge is) a few times when I was in stationery in the sun.
FollowupID: 446148

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:58

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 10:58
Norm,

I had a similar setup also and you don't want to tie the front of the boat to the bull bar. If tight it will flex the front of the boat and you will get hair line cracks in the hull. I bolted my boat to the roof racks also. The only way to go as you don't have to worry about tiedowns wearing through.

Leroy
FollowupID: 446168

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:58

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:58
Norm,

I get the point, however there are other people that fit the boat loaders, would not go for a new CT as you say you will proberly go for the van next time, i know that Barb loves the van, i am mixed about it dont get me wrong i love staying in it but then you have to tow the bloody thing as well, of course its best in a tent if you are young enough then a CT if you are a little older and then the van just not sure where i am at the moment, we will not part with the CT and have also been down the boat bit, but as i say do you really need to take it shopping with you, a mate of mine has one on his roof LC and when we are away its rare to see if off, i met another person with a Patrol and towing a Kedron and has damaged his roof with the weight of the boat it has just split the side of the body of the pillar, he told me that quite a few of the Patrol's have done that, of course the limit on a Patrol is i think 100k without the rack.

I am upgrading the Patrol not because the Patrol will not tow the Phoenix but because i thing that it is a more suitable truck to do so on long runs in Australia, the Patrol has handled the phoenix great in NZ with all the hills etc but speed in NZ is slow not like Aussie.

Well what to do about the boat i thought that i might hire the few times i need one " in Tassie or Victoria" or take a guide, for fishing that is, also wonderd about how many time i would want to put a boat in up north with the croc's etc boy did we see some on the Ord where we took a "fishing guide" and proberly got more fish than had we not and cost less when one thinks of the cost of the boat transport, fuel, motor etc, dont forget with the boat go the life jackets, oars maybe second motor fuel tank etc.

Hope i am not putting a drag on you boat bit just ringing a few bells.

Brian & Barb

AnswerID: 188961

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:05

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 21:05
I'll use the boat a fair bit at home as well Brian. Used to have a 5.25m Stacer with 125 HP, but sold it just before we went on our trip as it was not getting enough use. The kids have grown up and moved to their own lives and the boat was too big for one person. Kathryn likes fishing, but only occasionally.

I can manage the small one myself and take it away to boot. It's first big trip will be to Cape York and the Gulf next winter.

A big part of the weight of my boat will be carried direct to the chassis, via bars that go down to the tow bar. I'll show you one day (if it works).
FollowupID: 446322

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:15

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 18:15
hi norm,
there may be a little flex in the bars and boat but the bars are bolted to the tub not the chassis so the flex is the movement of the tub through its rubber bungs to the chassis. the cabin of course is independently fitted where the whole problem comes from. this movment is of no real consequence as long as you dont tie the front to the cabin roof bar.
leroy is right about the bull bar tie down. i use strechable rope that gives a little and i dont 'lash' it down so the movement is mainly sideways, max of 20 mm from centre.
driving from cobar to broken hill the town temps were 42c the inside only needed low air cond.

regards peter
AnswerID: 188965

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:46

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:46
Hey Peter,

You heading back to Fraser this year? Umming and ahhhing about where to go as we enjoyed our trip last year.

Leroy
FollowupID: 446499

Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:58

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 17:58
g'day leroy,
yes the annual trip with claudette is locked in for 17- 26 november. depending on weather will camp at waddy, wathumba or sandy cape, will take the boat this year, on the roof.

also going back to tassie all of february for some trout fishing and west coast touring.

regards peter

ps. sorry norm wasn't sure how to reply to leroy..
FollowupID: 446558