Best tyre style for offroad camper ie AT/MT
Submitted: Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 22:36
Neetas
Hi guys - asked a similar question a few months back, however I'm more interested in opinions on experience with AT or MT tyres for an offroad camper trailer. I recently hired an offroad camper with AT tyres and after travelling down a dirt road with few puddles ended up with muddy slicks for camper tyres.
For high country work and a little bit of everything else, is a MT tyre going to be better than an AT ie stop the trailer from sliding around on slippery
trails. Incidentally I've used MT tyres on the blacktop and sand and find that driven sensibly, they do fine.
Anyway I have Pro Comp MTs on the car. You can get BFG muds for about $50 less per tyre and Goodyear MTRs a further $30 cheaper again. My preference is to match the tyre style (ie MT) & size to the car, but I don't have a money tree either.
So what do you run on your offroad trailer?? Thoughts on the above?
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:11
Saturday, Aug 12, 2006 at 23:11
Hi Mike
I have Dunlop Road Gripper S which is like the AT range. My Supreme Getaway is 2000 kg when fully loaded. It is a single axle independent
suspension van and the tyres have done around 30 000 km and in all conditions have been great. I thought they might have a soft side wall but have had no punctures yet. (Touch wood !) :-) Probably just jinxed myself !
Regards Derek.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:54
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 11:54
Matching the trailer tyres and
wheels to the car is the most practical and sensible approach.
I have matched the
wheels and am working on the tyres a bit at a time.
This week I will by two new tyres for the car and the two I replace will go onto the trailer. In about 12months time I will by two more the same and rotate the partly worn ones to the trailer. I will then have 8 matching wheel and tyres.
At's are fine on the trailer but if they all match you dont have to juggle them around all the time.
If you are on a trip and get more than a couple of punctures the spare from the trailer will end up on the car or the other way round. I know 'cause it happened to me.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:13
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:13
I think Duncs is right. I have matched car and CT
wheels and tyres (Cooper ST tyres). I carry 3 spares fully set up and interchangable. Since I did this, I haven't had a flat, but I think it is the right way none the less.
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:04
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:04
Gday Norm
Its always the way isn't it, as soon as you have the right set up nothing goes wrong!
Visitors up here have often asked me how many spares do you need for the Gibb. I usually answer 'not one', then explain from my, and mates' experiences, you generaly have no flats, or several. Just the way it goes I guess.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Slapnut - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:46
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:46
Hi Andrew B,
We were up your way just recently, loved Kunnunura, it's changed alot since I was there last (15 years), especially loved that new Irish pub/bar/restaurant at that motel on the highway. We extended our stay and had a ball, also loved the hoochery...took home heaps of rum from there!
Anyway back to tyres...match them all I reckon...same type, style, size, dia and you can't go wrong, the biggest problem always comes from OVER inflation and too HIGH speed. Just my 2 cents.
Reply By: Davo - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:33
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:33
I am in a similar process of upgrading my recently purchased TrakShak's
wheels and tyres to match those on the cruiser.
I'm actually going to buy a second set of "touring tyres" for the Cruiser for when we go away versus when we're driving around town.
Personally for me, the load & speed ratings are important factors to consider.
I'm putting BFG AT's LT specced tyres on the TrakShak - same size as those on the Cruiser; which will give me three spares.
Having matched
wheels and tyres makes your life a lot easier if you have a bad trip and get three or more punctures.
Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:24
Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:24
Hi Mike,
We have matched ours up on the car and camper and find it works fine. I run BFG A/T's and I am very happy with them in all aspects so far. When we got the camper built we had it built to be the same track width as the car and this helps a lot with performance.
Our off road work mainly is sand with a small amount of bush tracks.
Have a good one.
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 15:24
Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 15:24
G'day Neetas, Try Olympic Adventures, had them on for 18,000 klms, done the top end, Savanha Way, Plenty, Donohue Hwys, lots of dirt and tar. A great tyre
andy