Motsons chip for GU: What do they do?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 15:58
ThreadID: 36760 Views:6675 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Have been thinking about giving my GU 2.8l TD-6 the motsons treatment for a while but I haven't been able to find out exactly what the chip does to the motor apart from producing more grunt. What I would like to know is how the chip allows more power to be generated by the little battler (through the changing the injection timing?) and what are the side effects of fitting it. ( e.g. higher EGT or higher oil consumption). Apart from the lack of power of the mark when pulling the camper I cannot fault the truck as it quiet, economical and damn reliable so I am not keen to trade it but was just wanting to improve it's performance from a standing start.
Thanks in advance.

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 16:05

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 16:05
Motson,s look after my truck and have done since new, fitted the chip and have had no problem at all, my is a 4.8 petrol not sure about the deisel jobbie have found the boys at Motson great over the last 3 years and that is where my new truck " The General " will be going i found with the chip i got about 12% better fuel ecom which is what i was looking for also more power.
AnswerID: 188937

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:48

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 17:48
Gday PatrolBen

Good to see another owner of the mighty 2.8 on here. I'm in a similar boat to you at the moment, weighing up the options in the performance area. There is a few different chipps etc out there, and the LPG fumigation option. I'll be interested to see what you find out. I may be going the LPG at Xmas....maybe.

The little 2.8 goes OK though (similar to you, off the mark towing etc not real good), but up here (Kimberley) there is few hills, and they eat the k's on the open road. Economy on mine not the best - about 13.5l/100km @90kph, 16l/100km @ 125kph. Cars done 135,000. May need to look at my injectors and Pump ?

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 188959

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:33

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:33
Andrew,

Give Pezza a MM, he's a local here in Brisbane and has had his 2.8 enhanced with the Motson's unit for a while. I am sure he's happy with it but he may be able to give you more specific details as to the drive response ect.

To both Andrew and PatrolBen,

I have driven Pezza's 2.8 wagon and it goes nearly as good as my enhanced 4.2 on the road (No idea about low range off-road work where low down torque is required.). It really has a lot of pick-up which is not normal for the 2.8, out on the highway it was a real pleasure when overtaking was required (which was a bit with my lead foot heehehe). I would highly recommend getting your hands on one that has had the Motson's treatment done and go for a spin, I'm sure you will be impressed.

Hope this is of some help.
Trevor.

PS no affiliation to Motson's in any way.
FollowupID: 446301

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:21

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:21
Andrew - I suspect that there might be something wrong noting your fuel consumption figures....mine 1998 2.8GU now has a shade under 200000km on the clock and is still returning around 12.5lt/100km highway cycle (ie @100kph) and around 15.5lt/100km highway cycle with the kangacamper (1tonne) hooked up.

Pete
FollowupID: 446494

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:37

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 13:37
Gday Pete - I suspect there is something not quite right, but it doesn't blow any smoke etc. It had a rebuild about 20,000km ago (dropped the coolant out of a hose, now have a low coolant alarm), but it returned the same economy prior to the rebuild.

I'm not sure where to start, exchange injectors , then fuel pump checked out. We are a bit limited up here for 'experts' - Darwin would probably be the best option as far as getting the pump looked at. I may be taking the car (by truck, flying for free) to Perth for Xmas, may save it until then.

I have slightly larger than std tyres - 265/75 instead of the 265/70 as std. I don't think the 10mm or so larger diameter would make much difference (speedo/ODO is quite accurate by gps)

Any suggestions....

Cheeers Andrew
FollowupID: 446498

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:54

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:54
Andrew - I've go no idea - I guess the only real difference with mine is that I stayed with the 265/70R16 configuration because I thought it would take too much out of the little 2.8. I also run 4 x Rhino racks on the roof at all times so that would add a bit of drag too I reckon.
Pete
FollowupID: 446855

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 06:58

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 06:58
Thanks Pete,

Its a hard one. I have a similar roof bar set up (3x Rola). The tyres may make a little difference, and it would be quite expensive to get new injectors and a pump overhaul to save about $15.00 per month (if they are the problem?).

The lack of smoke, and it runs quite well suggests to me I should just live with it. I will be trying to go the diesel lpg option later in the year if I can get booked in, that will help.

Thanks Andrew
FollowupID: 446916

Reply By: PatrolBen - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:06

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:06
Thanks so far guys. I think that the Motsons chip will be the easiest to give the Patrol the pulling power from below 1800rpm that I'll need as I looking at getting a bigger CT than my old mans that I've borrowed in the past and I think that around 1.5-2t loaded my test it to get moving. I've seen reports on here that the chips triples torque at 1300rpm before easing out to only a 20% gain at 1800 rpm and was wondering if people who've had the mod can confirm or deny.
So far the Patrol has been more than capable at everything I've thrown at it and with 175,000 on the odo with absoloutely no probs and if travelling at around 95-100 km/ph it usually returns 11-12l with a 2" lift, foot high roofrack and BF Goodrich AT's. I couldn't be happier with it and if it not for a bigger CT I would not even bother with the chip.
Will not be going near a 3.0 hand grenade anytime soon.
AnswerID: 188987

Reply By: PatrolBen - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:30

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:30
Thanks for your reply Trevor. I will endevour to give Pezza a ring find out more from him.

Thanks to all who replied
AnswerID: 189034

Reply By: PatrolBen - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:36
Give Pezza a ring...
Sorry all, had a million things on my mind and hit "Submit" before I read what I typed.

Be nice, its a Monday after all :)
AnswerID: 189036

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:56

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:56
See below mate, was typing my reply while you wrote this.
If you still want give me a ring after reading my other reply then my number is 0419 027 669.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 446365

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:51

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 22:51
Hi Andrew and Patrolben,
As Buggalugs has mentioned I have the 2.8 with the motsons, it does still lack the low down grunt and the driveability of the 4.2 for slow off road work, I'm talking around the 800 to 1300 rpm mark while it is still off boost.
The motsons unit has definately given it more down low compared to standard, it was pretty atrocious standard, as an example I can now easily go round intesection type corners in 3rd gear and pull away comfortably from around the 12-1300 rpm, if it's a little lower it just takes a couple of seconds to get to that point and your off. Keeping in mind it does have 4.6 diff gears, so with the extra power this type of manouvre is a lot easier than with the 4.2 which has 3.9 gears.
I also have the 4.2 GU with the dump pipe and exhaust done and a tune-up, haven't had them side by side as yet ( might have to do that test soon, got a spare w/e Trev ? ) but I'm sure the 2.8 would easily stay with, if not pull slightly away from the 4.2 under normal driving conditions.
I bought it off member 'Grungle' who had his dynoed before and after and got an increase of 27% in the kw, and 30% in nm. not sure of the 1300 rpm mark but it definately has quite a bit more there as well.
I don't know how exactly it works, though I'm sure if you give Motsons' a call they would be quite happy to explain it to you, all I know is that in conjunction with the unit the boost is increased to 14.5 lb.ft. and it is far more responsive in the early part of the accelerator.
Certainly no increased oil usage and still get 8km/lt (12.5 lt/ 100 ) 50% town and 50% between 100 and 110kph.
PatrolBen, you mentioned the 'taking off' bit, I can now take off with the 2.8 nearly the same way as I do with the 4.2 ie. no accelerator, just ease the clutch out, albeit slightly ( and I do mean 'slightly' ) slower in the 2.8, and once out can accelerate smoothly away from there, no way could I do that previously.
I would highly recommend the unit for anyone with the 2.8, it makes it far, far more drivable around town and IMO the best value for money enhancement for towing, overtaking etc.
Mine also has 250000k's up and is still going well.
Hope all this helps.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 189042