Cooper STT update

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:36
ThreadID: 36803 Views:3255 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
On this last trek I was going to run MRF's on splits but in the end that did not eventuate and I reluctantly set off with the Coopers on the truck and Eldorados on the trailer all 265/75/16

I have now done 16,000km with the tyres and have had 3 lug punctures, 3 punctures on the tyre corners and 4 sidewall stakes. All are tyres on the right hand side of the truck.

I bought these new generation Coopers after my older set of STT's developed bead cracks and I was offered the tyres at cost.

In defence of the Coopers I will add that all of the punctures were aqchieved when driving off track through somne horrendous turpentine country and none on formed tracks like the AB or others or for that matter in the Simpson.

What I have found though is that once a sidewall has been staked and one lowers or reinflates a tyre the hole gets bigger and yet another plug has to be applied. You get up in the morning and yes, you have a flat tyre. Then it is a matter of re-inflating up to 40psi and look for the bubbles to appear when you squirt water over suspect areas. Luckily I had travellers with me with good ears and hearing and we were able to spot the offending holes.

I will be keeping the Coopers for general 4x4 treks as they are very good on sand, mud and the black stuff but will be sourcing a set of Nissan splits(I have tried before) and fitting MRF 16 ply cheesecutters for the next BIG trip in 07

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:49

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 19:49
yep - the roo-shooters are swearing by the MRFs ...

not that I've had any problems so far with the STTs in Nullabor Rock and mallee country on pretty old overgrown tracks.

Nice to hear how they're going for you though.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 189175

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:10

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:10
I am concerned what the effect will be when I air down my MTR tyres as both the rear ones have sidewall punctures. I had one patched (was close to the shoulder) as it started to leak again and the other is in the sidewall with 4 plugs in it.
I have found a place close to me that does 2nd hand tyres and next break will grab a set of bullet proof looking chinese rag tyres he had for 80 bucks each.
Some say it is easier to plug a radial than fix a split but considering you are so much less likely to even get a puncture in the first place. Also a sidewall puncture with a rag tyre (never had one) isnt death to the tyre as it is a radial and last of all it hurts much less wrecking a tyre that cost you less than 200 bucks (unlikely) than a $300+ tyre
AnswerID: 189180

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:27

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:27
Yep I saw a prsopectors LC ute at Menzies with Chinese 16ply tyres on. A real weird name too.

My mate was running MTR's on splits and after melting one on the AB had a number of punctures after that. He was cursing that he had to split the tyre while I just plugged mine. So I gave him a hand with most. The older one gets the harder it gets to split the tyres... lol. One tubeless tyre has 4 plugs in the same hole. My tyre man says he can get the tyre repaired in Adelaide for round $60.

I think I would prefer to have really good rags out there as peace of mind rather that worrying about tubeless sidewalls.
FollowupID: 446605

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:29

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:29
apparantly there is a place in perth that can fix sidewalls. i will have to look into it as the tyres would be lucky to have done 5000k
FollowupID: 446607

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:13

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:13
G'day young fella,
Last year we picked up a sidewall stake on the AB and we fixed a patch to it that night. The tyre is still fitted to the vehicle and touch wood, no problems with it at all. The tyre has been deflated down to 20psi on numerous occasions, run at that pressure for longer than it should and generaly abused. Having said all that, I know next time I go out into the shed, that tyre will be flat. LOL
Might see you on your way past then.
Des
AnswerID: 189201