Letter from Nissan Motor Co in Australia

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:28
ThreadID: 36804 Views:4119 Replies:17 FollowUps:29
I sent a rather scathing letter to Nissan Japan about the way they handle warranty claims here in Australia. I highlighted the many problems with the 3.0td Patrols and the extent people have had to go through to make a warranty claim as well as my own experinece when they had my vehicle for a few weeks trying to rectify a problem. I pointed them to this site incase they have some time for a bit of a read.
I had difficulty in finding an email address to send my email to and picked one 'just for the hell of it' and haven't given it another thought since.
Well I recieved a letter from Nissan Oz today. My email went all they way to Japan then back here. Basically they said they are sorry I have the concern, thanked me for the feedback and how they strive for a high level of after sales service.
I was surprised that Nissan Japan passed on my email and glad they took the time to read my email. Whether anything comes of it....well that will be another story.

Leroy

Reply By: macca172 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:54
Leroy,
Im about to become a D40 owner and would greatly appreciate anyupdates on this subject, as they happen!

Macca
AnswerID: 189193

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:55

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:55
Leroy,

I figure the more that do this, the more that Nissan will know that their actions (or inactions) will not be taken lightly here in Aust. I know they have my nasty letters and my solicitors letters of demands. Really amounts to jack when they don't even respond, but still they know how I feel and the more that react this way the better I feel.
Good on you and I hope something comes from it, but I won't be holding my breath till something does :-))

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 189194

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:57

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:57
It would be good to think they may sit up and listen.

It wouldn't be the first time a Jap car manufacturer got a bollicking from an aussie, and then did something about it. 4WD monthly got stuck into Mitsubishi about the lack of power in the old 2.8 oiler in the triton, but absolutely went to town on 'em about the apparently poor turning circle, two points they said had been expressed to them many times. I doubt if this had any sway regarding the motor, but they now actually advertise "the best turning circle in it's class".

The thing that needs to happen Leroy, is for more people to do the same as you did.

Muzz

AnswerID: 189196

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:01

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:01
I had a problem with an excavator I bought.... I did the same. Sent a letter to Japan and of course got a response from the Australian dealer.....
I can tell you that they really don't give a rats A....E over there and probably send it back to Australia because they can't read it (LOL).
AnswerID: 189198

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:11

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:11
You obviously don't know the Japanese. I've lived there for years, and the very thought of being disliked or thought of badly by anyone is totally abhorrent to them. Their service levels are second to none - they really do give a dam because they really need to maintain "face" to live honourably.
FollowupID: 446622

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:12

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:12
I know where you are coming from with your sentiments about the Japanese and their strong feelings of "honour".

However, I've been in the customer service game (banking) for almost 36 years and a golden rule which I've always lived by is that you must follow-up when you delegate a task (lest the bloke you delegated the job to lets you down....then it's YOU that looks bad).

In this case I would have been pleased to see the Japs write back to Leroy and say that they have referred the matter on to their Aussie rep's and if he still receives no satisfaction, then please let them know so they can fire a bit bigger missile up the rear crack of the Aussie exec's......that type of thing.

Good luck Leroy.
FollowupID: 446641

Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:24
Omaroo,

I agree with you. From my short 17 day stay in Japan two years ago I saw and experienced some things I wouldn't have expected.

eg Ticket collectors on trains and buses bowing when entering and leaving carriages.
Documents "presented" to you with both hands, not shoved at you.
Greetings and thanyou's when entering and leaving any type of establishment.

They are very polite and honourable but just don't leave a space in a line at the bag checkin at Disneyworld or you'll loose your spot!!!

Garth

FollowupID: 446650

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:28
You're right there Garth. It's the one place I've lived in my life where I felt totally safe at all times, and that I was the one being rude (not that I was, of course). A truly amazing race of people.
FollowupID: 446652

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:43

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 16:43
Roachie,

"the customer service game (banking)" hahahahahahahaha

the terms are mutually exclusive :)))))))
FollowupID: 446820

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:16

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:16
That wasn't the impression I got.
It sounds like i am wrong though.
Maybe it is us Aussies that don't give a rats
AnswerID: 189203

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:20

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:20
LOL! I think that you've probably got that right..... sadly :(
FollowupID: 446645

Reply By: ACDC - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:16

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:16
In the overall picture there sales in Australia are a drop in the ocean!
AnswerID: 189215

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:21

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:21
I was always under the impression that Australia was Toyota's biggest LandCruiser market - as it is also Nissan's for the Patrol.... but I might be mistaken.
FollowupID: 446647

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:35

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:35
I don't think so, why do we always get the models years after they have been available elsewhere.

After all we only have approx 21 million people here which not much compared to other countries but hey i like it that way!..^_^..
FollowupID: 446654

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:41
Don't be too sure of this. I remember an article in 4x4Aus (or one of the others) recently that stated that we Aussies were extremely important to the design direction Nissan was taking in respect to their decision to go IFS on the Patrol or not. You don't get that influence if you are a drop in the ocean.
FollowupID: 446657

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:12

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:12
Nissan may take a minute to assess some feedback from australian journo's regarding some little disign they have in mind, which they have already commited to anyway, but make no mistake.......North America takes more Cruisers and Patrols in a day than we take in a month! Year in, year out.
FollowupID: 446676

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 03:51

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 03:51
You sure on that Muzzie,

I was under the impression that the Nissan Patrol is not imported in the US.

FollowupID: 446696

Follow Up By: ellmcg - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:52

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:52
Can't say I saw any Patrols in the US - spent the last 5 weeks there. Only saw less than 5 Landcruisers as well.
FollowupID: 446735

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:53

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:53
Sand Mans correct - Nissan USA do not sell the Patrol into that market.

I have to reiterate - we are one of Nissan's largest Patrol markets - if not the largest.
FollowupID: 446736

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:03

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:03
What about the middle east?

Leroy
FollowupID: 446739

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 15:38

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 15:38
The 78/79 series ute with the longer cab was apparently implemented after Japan saw the amount of cab mods and feedback from Aust.
FollowupID: 446802

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 23:36

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 23:36
The only LandCruisers in the US are the rebadged Lexus models.
FollowupID: 447220

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 16:39

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 16:39
Have a look at www.autointell.com

Some interesting facts like in 1998, i know it's a while ago but we only accounted for 3% of toyota sales.
FollowupID: 447265

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 23:16

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 23:16
Yes but how many Landcruisers do they buy compared to Oz.
FollowupID: 447326

Reply By: Member - Rob G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:33

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:33
G'day Leroy,
I have just been through a major problem with my 04 3.0ltr Patrol and I was fobbed off with a message from Nissan Head Office saying, and I quote, "well then go buy a Cruiser" and, "don't bother to call back"!
I would love to get the address to whom you sent your letter if you don't mind passing it on to me?
Thanks either way for taking the initiative to send a letter to Japan on behalf of all of us who are fed up with Nissan's poor attitude...which truly is a shame!!

Rob
AnswerID: 189221

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:01

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:01
Reading between the lines, it sounds like your letter was less than tactful!
FollowupID: 446671

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:58

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:58
Hi Rob,

I sent the email to nissan-ir@mail.nissan.co.jp

Like I mentioned further down I couldn't find a customer relations email address in Japan.

Leroy
FollowupID: 446724

Reply By: Member - Rob G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:10

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:10
Unfortunately I didn't send a letter, I had several conversations that started out very polite and subtle but ended in a, 'what the hell' kind of attitude when I realised things were going nowhere. Personally I have always liked Nissans and recommended them to others but not anymore!

Rob
AnswerID: 189228

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 00:04

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 00:04
> 'what the hell' kind of attitude when I realised things were going nowhere.
Thats how they appear to be trained. keep going until the client gives up
FollowupID: 446688

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:34

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:34
Your email would have been redirected to the Australian office, who (reading between the lines) said "go tell someone that gives a ****".

No implication was given that anyone actually read your email, and the fact that they made no specific rteference to YOUR problems with their service areas. They gave you a standard "form letter" response. I wouldn't get too excited about it.
AnswerID: 189232

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 00:04

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 00:04
thats pretty much how I saw the reply.
FollowupID: 446687

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:53

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:53
they would of read the email because the only email address i could find at the time was the inverstor relations email address. From there it would of been directed to customer relations in Jp and then forwarded on to customer relations here.

http://web.aanet.com.au/mypictures/Nissan%20Letter.jpg

In my email I made reference to this site and the complaints people post as well as my own experience. In the letter only my person experience was addressed.

Leroy
FollowupID: 446723

Reply By: Rokkitt - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:19

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:19

If we put our heads togfether we could get "trading standards" involved and force Nissan to take the after sales care seriously.

I would be happy to collect names and contact details with a detailed explanation of the problem - compile the data and then submit it.

Rod
AnswerID: 189259

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:01

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:01
Other expressed above that it's basically a waste of time sending letters but i disagree. You have to stand up and say something to be heard so the more that send letters to Nissan in Japan the more they will listen and say pull your head in Nissan Oz.
I for one like the new Navara and with an aging second car will need to do something in the future but would be put off buying one for lack of after sales customer service.

leroy
FollowupID: 446727

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:21

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:21
At the end of the day you have a choice, if Nissan don't service their customers to a satisfactory level consider a Toyota. I had an issue once with a V8 Cruiser (GXV) and Toyota covered the cost , outside of warranty. Thats why I'm still a Toyota customer. Vice Versa if Toyota aren't looking after their customers.

Car Maker spend mega bucks to find customers but none of them really consider the value of keeping them for life. Had Nissan looked after you, you wouldn't remember the problem, only the outcome.!

This goes for any business, customers always have problems, it's how you respond that determines whether you keep the customer, no matter the issue.
AnswerID: 189268

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:04

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:04
I have had a couple times I have thought the Japanese were polite and a time when we had never meet people so rude but we had the last laugh.
We were in Hawaii at Peal Harbour we took the US Navy boat out to the Arizona and the Japanese push past every one to get of the boat first. Once on the memoriam we all had a good look around, the boat was on it way back so all the Japanese pushed to the front so they all could get on the boat first.Just as they all got to the front it started to piss down with rain and at the front the roof stop we all stood firm and let the rude buggers get drenched while we were at the back under the roof. Ha Ha :-)
Regards Jeff
FollowupID: 446740

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:11

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 11:11
LOL, Thats so true and very funny..! You think they got the message when you all stood firm..? The moral of the story... Ahhh Not So Squeezy..!
AnswerID: 189272

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:44

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:44
Squeezy?

Japan population @127,000,000
Australia population @ 26,000,000

Japan Land mass @ 377,835 sq km (about the area of california)
Australia land mass @ 75,600,000 sq km

Reckon I might become a little pushy too!
Have you ever seen the subway in Toyko?
They have people to push you in before the doors close!
FollowupID: 446852

Reply By: blown4by - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 15:17

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 15:17
Very interesting to read all the comments on this topic. In my former life being involved in the engineering & maintenance management field on mine sites and in mining company head offices I had some dealings with the Japanese and found them to be very astute business operators. They wouldn't have come as far as they have in our automobile industry in 40 odd years that has taken the poms and the yanks about 80 years to do the same if they were stupid. I agree with the comments regarding saving face and reputation also. One mine site I was at where we had Japanese bull dozers we used to get visits from Japanese men dressed in khaki "uniforms" with little note books and they would talk to the operators, mechanics, supervisors, engineers, managers, etc and write notes furiously. One time I enquired who one of them was to be told "Oh he is the chief engineer that designed the dozer" On the very next model many of our complaints and suggestions had been addressed and that is why today they are really giving the yanks some stick when it comes to sales of mining equipment. All it costs is 50 cents to post a letter and the amount of free replacement goods I have been given even when the warranty period had expired absolutely amazes me sometimes. Most well run companies treat complaints like gold and when you think about it, it is the cheapest form of market research they can conduct. It is far better to get a complaint than hear nothing and just lose the customer because when you do the hardest thing of all is to try and get them to come back. A written complaint gives them a "problem" that they have to do something about and cannot ignore and most companies have complaints handling policy. If the complaint is handled correctly they will end up with a customer that is loyal for life and a good ambassador for their product. I say good on you Leroy for writing the letter and even if you don't get everything you want you will feel a lot better having just stuck it up them.
AnswerID: 189302

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 23:39

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 23:39
So true - to an astute business, "a complaint is a gift". An opportunity to improve their product/service and retain a customer.
FollowupID: 447222

Reply By: hadun - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:39

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:39
My understanding is that they sell more Landcruisers into Australia than anywhere in the world-----period.
Hadun
AnswerID: 189334

Reply By: Ozrunner - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:05

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:05
Yep up until recently Oz had always been Toyota's biggest seller of Cruisers, but I believe South Africa has now taken the crown. The US market has never been big although that may change in the future if import restrictions are relaxed.
AnswerID: 189348

Reply By: Scrubcat - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:31

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 19:31
Try telling Nissan Australia that you will go to one of the television "current affair" programs on this matter.
They may not want the public to know that their engines are failing.
Could be interesting to see what reaction you get when they think of the adverse publicity and potential sales loss.
Just might get a result.
S.Cat
AnswerID: 189353

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:17

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 22:17
You mean one of the same shows that bags 4wds by stereotyping us all......now that would be interesting to see if they bite... :) Maybe they would see at as an opportunity to put one out of action.

Personally - I love my 2004 3litre TD Patrol - hasn't missed a beat...

FollowupID: 446889

Reply By: camwill69 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 17:45

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 17:45
HI ALL,
My daughter speaks fluent Japanese so I will get her to type a letter in japanese and send it so the Aussies can't deal with it.
Camwill69
AnswerID: 189534

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 19:47

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 19:47
RFLMAO

Leory
FollowupID: 447036