Finally - a Cobb Cooker, and it's brilliant!

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:41
ThreadID: 36805 Views:4351 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
It's my birthday this week sometime, so my darling wife, her brother and sister all pitched in for the full Cobb Premier (with the stainless steel mesh base) cooker set. I even recieved the frypan and wok accessories. Ripper Rita! :)

We fired it up with 7 briquettes, garlic & onion in water in the moat and soaked hickory chips in the fire ring. Then plonked a 1.5kg roast on the rack with appropriate veggies. 90 minutes later (I'm proud of the fact that I never opened the lid - even once) and voila! The best roast dinner I've had in years. Truly sensational. Smoked to perfection.

Now - how do you people that have them clean them after a decent cooking session, as there's a bloody lot to clean? The middle section is covered in fat vapour stains and ash, the rack is covered in cooking fat and juices, the lid's interior is covered in burnt fat vapour. So - given this, what do you guys normally do? Just dunk the middle bit and live with the burnt bits and just clean the rack and lid? Or. like me, do you normally go full-hog and scrub the whole thing out so it's all nice and new again? It's no problem at home because you just throw the whole shebang in the dish washer, but how about out in the field when touring?

I can imagine, that used every night or two, it'd become a bit of a chore... unless it's just the important bits that really need it.

At the end of the day, our first-ever Cobb session was a complete success :)

Cranking away.......

Reply By: Member - BBB - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:56

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:56
I started cleaning the hole cobb when it was new and a novelty but know I only clean the mote, plate and lid and every second or third time I use Sellys oven cleaner and even the tuffest stburn marks come off.

BBB
AnswerID: 189195

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:41

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:41
Cheers mate - sure does. If I don't take my dish-washer with me next trip ;)
FollowupID: 446632

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:58

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 20:58
They are great !

We met up with friends who are doing the big trip and they have a cobb.

Made a roast for 5 people and used 8 briquettes.

Its quite amazing.

I think I should add them to my product range.
AnswerID: 189197

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:06

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:06
Derek - especially the stainless steel model. The whole thing looks indestructible, so it's never going to be a problem knocking around in the 4by.
FollowupID: 446620

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:13

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:13
Is there really enough room for a roast and a decent feed of veges for five people ?
FollowupID: 446623

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:16

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:16
Mr Mad Dog,,,we have the two grown ups,,,me and SWMBO, a 17 year old that brings new meaning to the term "assault on a pantry cupboard" , a 15 year old that just eats like a horse, and a four year old following the footsteps of the 17 year old.
I can guarentee that all are well fed and satistied from a meal cooked in the Cobb.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 446642

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:56

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:56
ok, sounds good, Thanks Rick
FollowupID: 446665

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 04:10

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 04:10
Hmmm,

Small eaters? (of vegetables anyway)

I love the Cobb too. You can fit a decent sized hunk of meat in it but sadly, only a limited amount of vegies will fit in the moat (Potato and carrot for two people is about the limit) and there isn't any room on top, after you have placed a good sized leg of lamb or pork, or a rack of beef on the plate.

As far as the cleaning is concerned, I just wash the lot in the "premium plastic wash basin" if it's got grease on or in it. I prefer the meat cooked a-la-natural just sitting on the plate.

Some people will place the meat in an oven bag to "keep the oven clean" but I haven't bothered with that. I don't really give a rat's bum how long it takes to wash up anyway. I'm on holiday, life's good and so is the bottle of red:-)))

FollowupID: 446697

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:16

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:16
Things that are hard to clean when camping are not my bag.

Omaroo, your account of how hard it is to clean puts me right off. I hardly use our trusty camp oven these days because despite the superb meal we get, it is work.

Still, I'm a fat, lazy sod when all is said and done.
AnswerID: 189202

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:01

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:01
It's not too bad Jimbo - but you, like me, hates washing up - it's obvious. I think that if you rinse it off reasonably well after a meal it'd be OK to just go with it as it is for the next few nights, just like the barbie at home. The only part that really touches food that you consume is the rack, and that's teflon coated so it's easy to clean. The rest can live with itself and still function... it's just that it's new to me so I'm cleaning it meticulously for the first couple of uses. Just watch what happens in a week or two..... ;)
FollowupID: 446639

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:57

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:57
Jimbo, after you have enjoyed the roast out of your camp oven, just invert it & sit it on the fire for about half an hour, then next morning just brush it out & re-oil it.
Simple! See I hate hard to clean things too!
FollowupID: 446666

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:20

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:20
I love the fuel efficiency of these things. I did a roast pork last Sunday in the weber and used 56 briquettes, well half used as I douse them with water after cooking is finished and reuse the next time. Lots more room in the weber for a big crowd though.

Hope you have many enjoyable meals with it Chris.
AnswerID: 189204

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:45

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:45
Thanks Ray :)

Yep - there's quite a difference in fuel efficiency I gather. The Cobb will probably fit a decent 2.5 kg roast given the fact that the 1.5kg one we had tonight left plenty of room. Next time I smoke the roast I think I'll do the veggies separately (they really don't need to be smoked), leaving even more room. The books says to use X number of briquettes per kg and leave for 1 hour per kilo of meat. Get to camp, fire it up at 4pm... dinner at 6pm!
FollowupID: 446633

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:23

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:23
Throw it out &get a newbie.
AnswerID: 189205

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:46

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:46
LOL! Just like my undies.....
FollowupID: 446634

Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:29

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:29
Love our Cobb.
Upgraded to the Premier base and got the new wok a few weeks back.

Cleaning has always been a bit of a nuisance.
Always spray the inside of the lid with canola cooking spray. Just wipe it over and it's clean. We also spray the inside of the moat (all over the inside) - only part not sprayed is the area where the heat beads sit. Spray it all before you put water in. Makes it easy to give it a bit of a wipe, and it's clean.

Only part that takes a bit of work (and a bit of water) is the cooking plate itself. We have used an oven bag on occasion, and then there's no cleaning required, but you don't get the same advantage of the moisture from the moat.

The new wok is great. Used it every second night when doing a Simpson trip a few weeks back. Used it to make stews, and slow cooking items. Didn't think it really got hot enough for stir-frys. Maybe we need more practice.
AnswerID: 189206

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:40

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 21:40
Thanks for the tips Andrew. I'll try spraying it with olive oil spray (as we have plenty) next time and see what difference it makes.

Can't wait to use the frying pan and wok. I really can't believe the quality of them - they're like properly-produced items for the stove-top at home with their dual-layer bases and all.

Next time down at Omaroo I think I'll pot a rabbit when one sticks its head out of its hole, and do a nice slow stew.... :) Yumm......
FollowupID: 446630

Reply By: otrom - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:02
We're about to buy one ourselves.

Our friends just use normal oven bags. One for the roast & one for the vegetables.

Still turns out perfect and saves cleaning up!

AnswerID: 189210

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:48

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:48
This way you could also "pre-pack" your dinner portions before you leave home and leave them in the fridge, bagged, and ready to go..... spices, butter and all. Great idea!
FollowupID: 446660

Reply By: titl4 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:35

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:35
We've cooked a 5kg roast but almost all the veg had to cut to a size to sit in the moat just above the wine/beer line. As mentioned before a light wipe with oil of pretty much everything before cooking saves a lot of work at clean up time. I also put a bit of alfoil in the bottom of the firebox so that 90% of the ash can be just folded up in the foil - careful though to not block the air holes. Another great accessory for them is the smaller Bedourie camp oven - fits straight in and is good for stews, pot roasts, slow simmering, etc, etc.

Cheers ......... Alan
AnswerID: 189222

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:38

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 22:38
Alan - you mean "Bedourie" by brand, or an equivalent Cobb accessory?
FollowupID: 446655

Follow Up By: titl4 - Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:12

Tuesday, Aug 15, 2006 at 23:12
I was referring to the "Bedourie' type of camp oven. The one I have was made by Southern Metal Spinners in SA.
Site Link
but there are probably others. I like it because of its versatility as it obviously can also be used as a normal camp oven and the lid is a good frying pan.

Cheers ....... Alan
FollowupID: 446677

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:34

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:34
You wouldn't believe it. I told Jenny about these last night after seeing your reply and she took me by the ear to our "camping room", pointed to the second shelf and said "now - what do you think THAT is?" I had't realised that she had even bought a set - one of the benefits of her working at a camping store.....

You're right - the smaller one (10 inch?) is an absolutely perfect fit.

Now - do you personally sit it directly on the fire cage, or do you shield it in some manner so that the bottom of the camp oven is in direct cntact with the heat source?

FollowupID: 446718

Follow Up By: titl4 - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:05

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:05
good one Chris!!!!!!!!

It just sits on the rack of the 'fire cage'. Plenty of heat there - for a stew etc I use a small trivet and 4 or 5 heat beads - even sometimes a pile of 2nd hand ones (after a roast etc I put the beads in a small sealed tin to put them out). I also keep a pair of cheap multigrips in the kit as they're good for many things including handling hot equipment.

Cheers ........... Alan
FollowupID: 446729

Reply By: Member - Glen O (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 02:38

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 02:38
The Cobb cookers are great! Cooking your favorate roast lamb or chicken on the hot plate is great but there is not enough heat to crackle are pork but thats ok to save for the weber(with the 90+ heat beads!). The real bonus with the Cobb is camp oven cooking using a Med size camp oven which is a perfect fit. Great for cooking those marinated roasts or curries & caseroles with no cleanup of the mote required. We quite often use 2 Cobbs at work piss up's to cook 6kg's of marinated roasts, two 1.5kg roasts in each camp oven.
On the last CSR trip in July we used the Cobb's to cook evrey night!

Glen.
AnswerID: 189240

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:15

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 09:15
If you want to get the heat beads going in a hurry just put them in the wire basket on your gas or petrol stove - they will be ready for cooking in about 5 minutes flat, then just transfer the basket to the Cobb.

We got that hint off this site but I can't remember who from.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 189257

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:00

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:00
Hi Omaroo,
Even after all of my previous problems with the Cobb Cooker with its plastic base which self-destructed in the campertrailer, I always admitted it was a great cooker. Roasts are just perfect. I have, since those dark days, replaced the base with the steel mesh one and now it is great for knocking around the outback and those corrugated roads.

I just use a scourer with hot water and detergent to clean it. Rinse off with clean water before it dries off to remove the detergent from the surface.

It feeds my family of 4 adequately. I have yet to try a dessert recipe but that will be soon on the reamains of the coals leftover from the roast.
AnswerID: 189263

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 20:20

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 20:20
Contrary to my wife's opinion and other Cobb devotees, imho, the Cobb cooker is the most useless piece of camping equipment I have encountered. It + the heat beads take up a heap of space, it rattles, is no fun to clean (although my wife cleans it!) and I reckon the cooked meat is often cold. I reckon a tin of "Tom Piper Stew" beats it hands down. Sparky
AnswerID: 189707