What is happening with CDMA & 3G CDMA?

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 10:45
ThreadID: 36817 Views:3241 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
Ok, I put off upgrading my CDMA phone since 3G CDMA was announced.
Now I hear rumours that 3G CDMA has been canned.
I don't necessarily want to go GSM, since I do a bit of country work.
And I want to be able to download data.

What has every one else heard?

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:16

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:16
As far as I know Telstra has only "canned" the roll out of High Speed Broadband Hard wired network.

Last I heard was that the 3g network will happen from 2008.
AnswerID: 189279

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:47

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:47
First quarter 07 ws just this week for 3G and that the 3G will also be the carrier for wireless broadband. A large percentage of the hardware is already in place. I guess that is the wiring - fibre to the antenna towers and the towers themselves.
FollowupID: 446867

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:26

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:26
Im in the same boat, the old Kyocera 3245 has seen better days, well the battery has and the games are boring ;) Not sure if its worth buying a new battery or not...

What phones are other people using now or has anyone upgraded to CDMA still?

I want a phone thats a phone - like a 5110 they were bullet proof, not 4billion other electronic scams to make money out of you!
AnswerID: 189280

Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:44

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:44
My líl 2112 cdma is similar to the good old 5110. It's a phone- no cameras, no dishwashers.

Aren't some of the mobile phone TV ads trash. Like how good it looks, small, sexy,camera, video link, emails etc etc....
.BUT CAN YA MAKE PHONE CALLS WITH IT????
FollowupID: 446757

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:57

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:57
I went the old trusty and crusty Nokia 6225 CDMA.

Good points: no gizmo's, cheap, small, works well, car cradles available, doesn't crap itself when dropped etc.

Bad points: no gizmo's, small hard to read screen, easy to lose at the pub after drinking Cuervo tequila, also easy to lose in taxi's on the way home from the Ocean Beach Hotel on Friday's. (on my 3rd one now).

If the 2112 is the little translucent blue Nokia I think it is, they are rippers too. Had boxes of them for a job we did up north. Work a treat. B&W screen, no camera etc, but they WORK.

FollowupID: 446761

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 13:31

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 13:31
I have the 3105, no camera, simple and realatively bullet proof. I like it, and has performed well.

Only problems I have had with it is bad contacts with the car kit, and I once dropped it, the cover came off, phone and cover went left, keypad insert went straight down the drain-litterally!! what a PITA that was.
FollowupID: 446770

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:54

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:54
Do either have proper incar carkits, or 'in the phone' hands free?? I hate those CIA Kit hands free things, ya look like a dick with this hunk of crap hanging out ya ear
FollowupID: 446951

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:29

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:29
Yeah I'm with you v8, I got the same one after having a whiz bang CDMA motorola. Was washing the car with the motorola and just splashed my pants for a second and the phone crapped itself. The nokia has been dropped, kicked, rinsed and chewed and it still goes. Can barley see the screen though cos off all the scratches.

Truckster, yeah I've got the car kit for it, was $50 with the plan when I bought the phone. The phone doesn't have Bluetootch but the kit does, so handy if your missus has a blue tooth phone.

FollowupID: 447147

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:30

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:30
Bugger, typo! Dave where's the edit button!!??

FollowupID: 447148

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:48

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:48
Oldpodder,
not sure where you got the term "3G CDMA". 3G is for video calling, etc and is part of the GSM network. You may be confused as Telstra is sending out offers the current CDMA customers to move to 3G. I did a check and found this 3G has less coverage than GSM.

I work in Canungra in the Gold Coast hinterland. Here you can get GSM and certainly get CDMA. You do not get 3G, which leads me to believe it is not CDMA or have anything to do with CDMA. Below is an extract from the Telstra website about 3G.

"3G typically supports customers who:

want access to video calling and associated services* higher data rates

With a 3G phone you can also access Telstra's GSM network.

3G coverage is in selected areas, to check coverage at a location go to Our Coverage.

* For mobile to mobile video calling, both you and the person you are video calling must have a 3G compatible phone and be in a 3G coverage area. For mobile to PC video calling, the PC user must have a web camera, an eligible personal computer connected to the Internet and be a registered user for the service.

I think this sort of question should be directed to a telecommunications provider, such as Telstra, rather than get the hearsay opinion from a forum.
AnswerID: 189284

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 13:27

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 13:27
Telstras new network is a 3g network utilising the cdma band width. Still different to current 3g, but with better 'countryability'
FollowupID: 446768

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:45

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:45
After looking at the current coverage area of this 3G it is worse than GSM, let alone provide a replacement for CDMA.

Contacted Telstra to get the real story. 3G will eventually replace CDMA in June 2008. It will be introduced from Feb 2007. Apparently you will be able to call from anywhere in the country and theoretically have the same ability that a Sat phone has, we'll see about that.

They have been offering CDMA customers an exchange to 3G but to do so now would be a BIG mistake as the network is very much in its infancy.

I'll stick with my, Oh heaven forbid, 4 year old, can't take pictures or video but you can make calls and SMS, handset, until the CDMA network is shut down competely.
FollowupID: 446963

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 08:58

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 08:58
The new 3GSM/3G850 will be totally different to the existing 3G2100 (which will NEVER be available outside major centres)

Calling the CDMA replacement 3G was the dumbest thing Telstra could do.

"Apparently you will be able to call from anywhere in the country and theoretically have the same ability that a Sat phone has, we'll see about that. "
- no way, it will have the same coverage as CDMA.
FollowupID: 447236

Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:50

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:50
3G is still on track for 2007 / 08. As was said only the fibre optic broadband was canned. Even if you got another cdma phone it will continue to work on the 3g network. At least in the short term. My son has just signed up with cdma as his job is in a cdma area. Telstra told him that he will be able to use his new phone until the end of his contract but if for any reason that doesnt happen then they will work out a deal to switch phones to the 3g network. So I think you would be covered anyway.

AnswerID: 189285

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:06

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:06
A CDMA phone will not work on the upcoming 3GSM/3G850 network.

A CDMA phone will continue to work for the next few years because there will be a progressive changeover at each basestation from CDMA to 3GSM. When there all basestations have 3GSM capability, CDMA will be closed down.
FollowupID: 446939

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:54

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 12:54
If you want to get a phone NOW that will have reasonable coverage in remote areas, you have NO CHOICE OTHER THAN CDMA.

Telstra's New National 3G Mobile Network
Site Link

The confusion is because there is an existing 3G network on 2.1 GHz which will only ever be available in Metro areas.

The new 3G network - 3GSM or 3G850 - will operate in the same frequency as CDMA and Analogue - so we and Telstra can re-use existing CDMA antennas.

The benefits of 3G850 are that a single national netwrk can be used to provide broadband - CDMA can't do that
AnswerID: 189286

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:04

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 17:04
Thanks everyone.

I have three older CDMAs (7 and 5 years old) in the family and the batteries are only lasting half as long as original and are dying reasonably quickly.

Might go for some new CDMAs even if I only get 2 to 3 years out of them.
Well, one is used more around town so it might go GSM.
AnswerID: 189324

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:24

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:24
Oldplodder

Correction on that one mate CDMA is CDMA and GSM is GSM and 3G is just that means 3rd Generation,it can't be 3G CDMA all are digital but different systems.

Doug

AnswerID: 189363

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 20:57
There was an article in the Fin Review last week about Telstra doing data tests using the new 3G network and apparantly the data rates achieved were abysmally short of expectations. Range was also less than expected.

They did achieve some good results but that was for a tower that was on a nice high hill and a phone that had pretty much clear line of sight to the tower and was not too far away.

Real world this is not going to be the case and when some more testing was done the engineers were not apparantly too happy.

Unfortunately the equipment manufacturer has told Telstra that the gear meets the stipulations of the contract and they are not going to improve the gear until Telstra stumps up more cash. Sounds like the Contract Negotiation Team from Telstra had a a day off!

Anyway - reports are that the network rollout is progressing and launch is imminent and we all wait with baited breath to see what the results are.

Typical bloody Telstra - regarding broadband access - there are a few operators out there putting in DSLAMS into Telstra exchanges and offering ADSL2+ services with speeds up to 24,000kb/s up to 3 km from the exchange (and at prices substantially cheaper than Telstra charge for thier 1,500KB/s ADSL1!).

Because Telstra is SO big and monolithic (and have to please everybody) they are doing ADSL2, but at only 12,000KB/s and you can bet they will be more expensive and will take months to actually bring it to market.

So how does that bode for the 3G network? Telstra will once again be naturally conservative and just provide a basic service WELL within the limits of the capabilities of the technology and if you are unlucky enough to not be in a high profit area where the competitors cherry pick the most profitable customers then you just have to accept whatever Telstra feels is fit to serve out.

Oh why did we ever sell it!!!

Getting off the soapbox now!
Muddy
AnswerID: 189375

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 23:19

Wednesday, Aug 16, 2006 at 23:19
I am also holding off buying a new phone, or battery for the one which now only works when plugged into the mains charger. I have decided to try and wait until the new network is is place, and the rush of high priced new fangled phones is over, then buy something which hopefully will work. I sure hope someone out there makes a phone to do just that; phone and text messages is enough for me. All the rest of the stuff is irrelevant.

AnswerID: 189399

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:09

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 08:09
G'day Oldplodder,

The construction of Telstra’s national 3GSM850 mobile network has commenced and is scheduled to be launched in late 2006.

The CDMA network is planned for shutdown in early 2008, but will continue to operate until the new 3G 850 network offers comparable or better coverage. Customers will be able to continue using their existing CDMA handset and services on this network until this time.

When it's time to make the change, Telstra will contact customers and work with them to agree a plan to transition their business to the 3GSM850 Mobile Network in a manner and timeframe that suits their business.

Customers will be able to keep their existing phone numbers but will need to upgrade to a new sim card and new handset with a wide range of offers. There will also be a wide range of plans and phone accessories to choose from.

Telstra will be offering Customers an opportunity to connect to the 3GSM850 Mobile Network on a 24 month contract with similar terms & conditions to the existing CDMA plans. However, if they choose not to take up one of the 3GSM850 plans and wish to allow their CDMA service to end, they will not be required to pay any ETC's or outstanding MRO payments if the fixed term of there contract has not expired.

AnswerID: 189419

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:05

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:05
>> ... but will continue to operate until the new 3G 850 network offers comparable or better coverage.

lol, so the CDMA phones will work for another 15 years.. My mind is made up! New CDMA phone comin up.
FollowupID: 446956

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:19

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:19
If you are looking at buying a new mobile phone aerial for your vehicle that will give maximum range in country areas, then you can buy one NOW that will work well with every current or proposed network (other than 3G-2100 - which will only ever be a suburban network).

The RFI Model Number is CD1795 and it gives 6dB gain from 825-960 MHz. It is a broomstick-style antenna about a metre high.

It will work on CDMA, GSM and 3GSM/3G850.
AnswerID: 189432

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:57

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:57
Telstra bloke here at work, stated that there will be phones or are phones that do BOTH 3G AND the good old GSM... He aint sure of models, but could be talking mozzie poop, who knows. he likes to spin a yarn occasionally
AnswerID: 189441

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:11

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:11
Truckster - It's easy to confuse the existing 3G network operating in 2100MHz with the proposed 3G network that will operate on 850MHz and will have the same coverage as CDMA.

Every 3G phone that Telstra sells now falls back to the GSM network, because 3G has very limited coverage and will only ever have coverage in well populated areas.

FollowupID: 446959

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:45

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:45
Thats what I was thinking, but he seems pretty sure that it good.. he aint in today.

I'll go another CDMA phone, it will be 10 yrs until the new network is as good as current.
FollowupID: 446971

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:36

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:36
g'day Bruce,

you didn't get that (anticipated) leeway with the AMPS network though did you/we? they just shut it down before the service was comparable.

never the less, i reckon unless your phone is cactus or the battery lasts less than one day then yeah me too; i'll prolly go another cdma, and mine is failing now: samcung SCH-N171.
FollowupID: 446992

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:42

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 15:42
I hear ya bushy, they will save a cent at any cost, so the day the new system is up for 10 mins or more between crashes, they will shut down CDMA
FollowupID: 447004