Eyre Peninsula 2 weeks Jan 2007
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:40
Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen)
I have two weeks holiday in January 2007 and traditionally we have either stayed near
Melbourne for those two weeks. Was thinking about where we could go and thought that we could head over to the Eyre Peninsula for the two weeks. Have had a look at the websites about it but would like a feel for how busy it is at that time of year - school holidays etc. We haven't booked anything and wouldn't have a clue if we have to book or if there are good
bush camping sites or what.
We also have a 12ft tinny and on one of the sites it said fishing is great if you have a reasonable boat of 16ft or more. I guess
mine is then an unreasonable boat and not if it is worth taking - seas might be too rough.
Jen thinks it is too far to go but I reckon that if we made
Melbourne to
Karumba and back in four weeks, then Eyre Peninsula in two should not be too onerous.
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:41
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 09:41
Was looking at the last two weeks in January - hopefully quieter than the first two of Jan
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:10
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:10
I am sure you will find it nice and warm Andrew. We did in March a few years back, but there is plenty of nice sea food there.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:49
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:49
Warm?!!
We came thru there last Jan and it was a cool 45deg in
Port Lincoln after passing thru
Penong which was 47!! Guess it was not the normal range of temps for the region...
Seriously, the area is magic. We loved it.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:40
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:40
Gerry I am unlikely to overstate issues like heat ;-)
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:39
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:39
12 foot tinny would be ideal for the sheltered waters of
Venus Bay.
Things might have changed but back when i was a South Australian Eyre penninsula was the best kept secret of SA with everyone piling into the
Yorke penninsula for holidays. The area around
Venus Bay has plenty to see with nearby Mt Camel Beach good for Salmon fishing, also the back beas and surfers beach are worth a look . Further South is talia with fascinating rock formations and a huge beach which stretches towards
Elliston.
A little known (or at least it used to be) fishing spot at Talia is the ledge which is a few hundred metres to the right looking out to see from the formation posted as
the tub. You need to stand close to the cliffs edge to see it as it is a ledge below the cliffs but a reasnably safe distance above the
water for good rock fishing.
the Headlands between
Elliston and Anxios bay have good rock fishing
well above the waves, and just south of
Elliston is Locks Wells, Which after fishing extensivly in South Australia and western Australia I reckon is the best salmon spot in Australia.
Only problem is wind that time of year. used to be heaps of spots for
bush camping such as along the track into talia but things may have changed with new restrictions
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:54
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:54
forgot to say the best way to access this area is from
Pygery where they probably have finally finished bitumising the road from there to talia after 20 years
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:19
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:19
Thanks Davoe - will have to get my maps out on the weekend and have a squiz... Nice pics you have - hard to see the salmon though!
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:45
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:45
Hi Andrew and Jen,
Yes I guess it would be busy as most seaside
camping areas at xmas, but
coffin bay is good and some
bush camping is available in NP, and the is also the Flinders NP, but I havent stayed there.
Plenty of other spots up along coast towards
Ceduna and there would be quiet
places for sure.
Best spot for 12 ' tinny would be in Coffins bay, as bit might be too rough for small boat on open seas there.
Things are huge here this morning , first grandaughter was born during the night, Nan is uncontrolable.
Hope to catch up soon, been a long time !
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:22
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:22
Thanks Gramps - I've heard the weather is great at that time of year - pretty mild around there eh? Told Jen that. Enjoy the grandkids - you guys would be awesome grandparents - I can just imagine your cute faces beaming.... we maybe not cute but beaming faces at the cute baby.
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 12:00
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 12:00
We did Eyre Peninsula in early - mid January about 7 years back. What South Australians call crowded is still pretty darned good. Its not too far from Melb - you can make
Port Augusta in two very easy days (1030 km), and be down the coast and taking your pick of good sites the next day.
What we had not realised is that the SW winds that blow keep it cool just about all the way around and most days. You can either complain about the wind, or pick sheltered spots and rejoice in not being hot when
Melbourne is typically sweltering.
The sea on the bight side is pretty rugged, but from
Whyalla down to Lincoln you are on the gulf, and there are sheltered bays in
places like
Coffin Bay and
Streaky Bay should be sheltered enough for a spot of fishing - maybe even bays around Lincoln NP.
Go for it - it is a hidden secret.
Max
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:23
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:23
Thanks Max - good to hear how it pleasant the south east winds are - I am sure it will be great...
Reply By: Brett_B - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:03
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:03
We did the Eyre Peninsular last January however we had 4 weeks
We slowly made our way from
Melbourne to Port August via
Renmark -
Morgan
From
Port Augusta we high tailed it across to
Ceduna in one day.
From
Ceduna we simply town hopped slowly down to
Port Lincoln.
Highlights for us -
Coffin Bay NP - Pt Lincoln NP -
Streaky Bay area
The run from Pt Lincoln up to
Whyalla was average after what we had seen and done on the southern coast, highlight at
Whyalla was fishing for Blue Crab and red dust :-)
This was one of the best touring holidays we have been on, made all the better by the great friends we made on the way whom we keep in contact with today.
We didn't book or make any plans we took each day as it came, if your off the road by 2-3 you will always find a spot we had no problems at all.
Heat - some days were 45 + but this made the rest days swimming even better :-)
We did the trip in the new Hilux towing the Jayco off road camper, had no problems at all.
You could do the trip in 2 weeks, although you would be busy :-)
Brett
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:25
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:25
Agree that the friends you can make on these trips are often one of the highlights of the trip. All this talk is making me keen to go... only five months away!
Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:34
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:34
G'day Big Kid Andrew, Anywhere along the coast would be great. You can get to
Cowell easily in a day from here. Nice big safe bay and then the rest down the coast to Lincoln via
Arno Bay,
Lipson Cove, Port Neil,
Tumby Bay etc and then up to
Coffin Bay,
Venus Bay and
Streaky Bay with the little side trips in between. From
Streaky Bay head back towards
Port Augusta staying at a free
campsite in
Peterborough (LOL) and then onto another free one at
Berri
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 17:26
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 17:26
Last time he was here he flashed his EO discount card at me...cheeky bugger!!!!
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:08
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:08
Sandwiches, icecream and prickly pear juice - Free with the EO card.....can't complain. Might stay five days in
Timboon, five days in
Berri and five days in
Peterborough - pretty cheap
camping with my EO card....
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:32
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:32
Actually the EO card has been fantastic - special deals in Romsey,
Berri, Lock 4,
Clare,
Peterborough, free night in
Warraweena, kiss in
Innamincka, kiss and TLC and Sticky Date Pudding in
Birdsville, tour and
camping near
Winton, Moustache and cuppa in
Kununurra - missed out on the pink diamonds but hey!! Met the cute Member Melissa followed her itinerary....Pretty awesome little card it is. Probably left off a few things .... like afternoon tea in Tarcutta..
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:06
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:06
You must get some special Medicare cooncession too I guess Andrew. On top of the EO one, you get all those bonuses. Wow
Reply By: Bricky - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:20
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:20
Definitely worth a look. We moved from the
Vic high country to
Batemans Bay, and about a year ago somehow ended up in
Coffin Bay. 12 ft tinny would be fine in
Coffin Bay, there is always something on the bite. On a good day you could launch off
Farm Beach and maybe get into a few Whiting. I was lucky enough to catch a 1.3 mtr, 20kg Kingfish about 500 mtrs from the
boat ramp not long after we got here.
The crowds aren't too bad here in summer,there seems to be plenty of room in the van
park.
As for the National
Park I am not sure if you have to book, but is surely worth the drive in. Magnificent beaches where the surf fishing apparently is excellent and great
views over the ocean.
The weather can get a bit warm over here, we had a 48c one day over summer which was a bit hard to take but generally not that hot.
Don't know much about the rest of the Peninsular, we haven't had time to have a good look around.
Daryl
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:10
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:10
Thanks Daryl - how about a post saying how pleasant it is in summer as everyone is saying it can be hot and Jen is getting cold feet about getting a hot bod!!! Happy if you tell fibs!!
Follow Up By: Bricky - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 21:45
Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 21:45
Actually the weather is not bad that time of year, except for the occasional scorcher.
If you do get over this way let me know and we may be able to organize a day on the
water in our boat.
Daryl
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:05
Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:05
Sounds sensational!! I would love to get there so will keep in touch if it comes off - reckon we are an 80% chance at the moment!!
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:36
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 20:36
If you decide to go Andrew let me know, as i can give you some must see
places on the west coast.
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:39
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:39
Will do mate - hows the family?? Did you ever come to
Melbourne for a visit?
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 21:30
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 21:30
I lived at
Ceduna and
Penong for six years and love the area. The coastline from
Port Lincoln west is all worth a visit.
There is so much to see and do that you will only scratch the surface in two weeks.
A place to consider is
Fowlers Bay. Reg Davis has holiday units there and the price is reasonable.
There is also a caravan
park. I wouldn't use a small boat there. The fishing is great either from a boat or surf fishing.
You could also consider
Googs Track and the
Gawler Ranges.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:01
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:01
Yes Googs is great but January probably not the best time.
Smoky Bay is a gem.
Point Brown, Acraman
Creek to name a couple.
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:40
Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:40
Crikey - so many
places and names... will have to hit the maps.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 00:26
Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 00:26
We toured the Peninsular January last year, as
well as going into the Gawlers. Fabulous. On the coast some days it was too cold, so we'd go inland where it was quite hot, but not unbearable. If you search the archives back to around November 2004, i got heaps of good advice on
places to go. We bush camped (sometimes just on an
old road as so many are accessible running roughly parallel to the present road - no traffic at night on minor roads) only went to a CP twice (
Elliston CP near the jetty - we went there on the way back because we liked it the first time). We didn't catch any fish off the jetty, and froze in a very cold wind and showers.
We were told that the main holiday spots along the coast would be packed out in January, but not so. When we called into the tourist centre at
Ceduna for some info brochures, they asked if we'd booked accommodation, because everything would be full. I said we had a caravan, and they said we'd still need to book. Not in the bush, i said. The CP at
Elliston was less than a quarter of capacity. Their peak period is later, during salmon fishing season.
We were away for around a month, including touring the south west forests and south coast of WA as part of the holiday. We crisscrossed the Peninsular and saw so many
places. We also went further east for a couple of days, coming back heading north west from
Iron Knob through the stations and into the Gawlers for a couple of days or so (Michelle did a trek note on this route once). Two weeks touring on the Peninsular would be good - shame about the distance to get there and back which might leave you a bit pushed for time.
There are probably still some photos from this trip in my album on the caravaner's forums.
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:08
Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:08
Hi Motherhen
What caravanners
forum are you talking about??
Thanks for the tips... Jen keeps looking at the Bushtraker website.....
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:44
Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 22:44
Hi Andrew and Jen
Both the Bushtracker Owners Group Site Link (I don't know if the picture albums are are members only area, or for anyone)
and the msn groups Caravaners
Forum
Site Link
takes you directly to my Eyre Peninsular trip album
Not so many left there, as i had to have a big cull to fit my this year's holiday album into my allocation.
I just think if you have only two weeks, with travel to and from
Melbourne, you may not be able to do the area justice, or be able to have a relaxing holiday if you are pushed for time. We prefer to drive for 3 - 4 hours only per day when caravanning, and spend the rest sightseeing, walking or just taking it easy. Driving non stop is not really a holiday.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 08:52
Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 08:52
Perhaps you could contact Andrew from the
Whyalla 4wd Club, they might be able to help you.They have a website too www.whyalla4wd.org.au.
'nette'