Chinese Winch

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 10:36
ThreadID: 36851 Views:3211 Replies:4 FollowUps:18
Has anybody had experience with the 12000lb electric winch offered by Iron Man & T-Max for the occassional use - not daily or for competition , just for the odd bog job when touring . Your comments would be appreciated .
Cheers John

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:48

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 11:48
Why do you need a 12,000 winch?

9k does more than 80% of people
AnswerID: 189464

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 12:47

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 12:47
Maybe a 12000 lb Chinese winch equals a 9000 lb Warn.
FollowupID: 446977

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:49

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:49
lol, dang beat me to my reply I had ready!
FollowupID: 446985

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:55

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:55
Bruce,,, In your club and generally the people you trip away with,,,,, do you hear much about Warn winches sucking in water on river crossings when they are in standard form??
FollowupID: 446986

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:59

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 13:59
and if so,,, what do they do to make em more water resistant???
Anything more than just sealing up the ends and joins???
FollowupID: 446987

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:04

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:04
Silastic is your friend, and service it each time you go swimming is pretty much it.

Brawn was supposed to be water proof, maybe Robin can add to that, nto sure
FollowupID: 446988

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:41

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:41
Voxson ,
I have read an article giving instructions on how to waterproof a Warn . Maybe you should try Google on that .
Willie .
FollowupID: 446993

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:57

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 14:57
maybe the 80% of people who actually dont get to use them but one decent bog will have you begging for something better
FollowupID: 446997

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:23

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:23
I ask this because i swapped my X9 superwinch for a Warn thinking it would be better...
I had been through heaps of water with the X9 and it always worked afterwards,,, and one trip to Cape York and the Warn was drowned and lacking power....
I have just rebuilt it by clearing the earth fault in the field windings and reinsulating the coils,,, unjamming the sliding gear in the end housing,, regreas it all and replacing the bearings,, silasticing every surface and put it in tonight and tried it and it still doesnt have any pulling power...
Driving me crazy....
i am not dissing Warn ,, i am just telling my story...
Maybe a bad solenoid... ready to throw it out...
FollowupID: 447069

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 07:54

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 07:54
Relay i meant,,, not solenoid
FollowupID: 447077

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 10:55

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 10:55
I think you'll find John's CVM (Combined Vehicle Mass) is around 4.5t (80 series packed with goodies + Ultimate camper), so a 9000lb winch is operating at it's full capacity (or beyond) on a single line pull under just about any circumstances. Add to the equation the fact that he may be stuck on a decent incline, or his 315/75s are bogged to the axles in sand or mud etc, and you'll soon see that a 12,000lb winch is the weapon of choice in such circumstances!!!
FollowupID: 447105

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:47

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:47
Yeh, Roachie, I'm with you. Most people have not looked at the calculations I reckon. If you tow a trailer or too, they can be useful. I have used mine as a porta power actually realigning steel work on farm equipment. Plurry useful. Nick reckons that justifies one for him too ;-)
FollowupID: 447542

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:08

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:08
Talking of winches....although a bit off topic......

I was talking to a mate on the weekend who was recalling a conversation he'd had with a bloke a whaile ago.

Bloke was out camping and looking at his nice, expensive, shiny newish winch which he had never had to use. In the background his kids were squabbling cos they were bored with this camping bullchit. The proverbial light-bulb clicked on for the bloke.

He reeled out the winch cable up a bit of a slope and tethered it (using his tree-trunk protector of course) to a tree. Placed an inflated inner tube in front of the bullbar and rigged up a flying fox for his kids to play on.

He now feels better cos he's getting some use from his winch; plus kids are having a ball!!!
FollowupID: 447618

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:15

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:15
Roachie, I hope his public risk policy was well paid up.
FollowupID: 447623

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:19

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:19

If you go to www.4wheelingoz.com go to the magazines for download and pick the Autumn 2006 (I think) there is an article in that in which the Whyalla 4WD Club have started testing various winches on a bang for your buck scale. Makes for interesting reading.

Snowy
AnswerID: 189516

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:25

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 16:25
Wait for the latest update ;) specially on the one the dude is talkinbout... on top of old smokey lmao
FollowupID: 447008

Follow Up By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 10:15

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 10:15
?????? Truckie ???????

The winch bought on ebay died a nasty death early in the testing, as reported in the story. Its internal quality was quite different to the other "chinese" winches.

The Terrain Tamer and Ironman4x4 winches are both still going strong and will be getting another workout this Sunday. They have already done far more work than the occasional user would expect. Testing will continue.......
FollowupID: 447101

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 18:34

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 18:34
Thanks everybody for your info - could not reply earlier ,had to sort out some houseboats , work just keeps interferring with important rec. projects .

After reading Andrew's winch test it would almost pay to dismantle and check a new winch before fitting !

You are right Roachie , the all up weight was a consideration - maybe our vehicles are a tad over - double reversing cameras etc.

I will advise later - good or bad , the results .

CYA John

AnswerID: 189685

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 19:46

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 19:46
Hi John,

Seems a bit extravagent buying a winch just to pull the ultimate back on its wheels when it gets tired, and needs a laydown?
Wouldnt a hunk of rope do?
LOL come on mate put up the pic's for all to see, if you dont, I will !!!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 447169

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:54

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:54
we want photos..
FollowupID: 447647

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 10:12

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 10:12
Well Pesty , I was really just thinking of you . it will be needed to pull your wagon over the sand at Peake now with a full load of grand kids!!! - Congratulations Pop & Nan , I hear Cub are making a double fold out hard floor dormitory now.

Wot photos ???????? - have you been in contact with Turtle?

CYA John

AnswerID: 189858

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:03

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:03
I too have a copy of a photo that shows a camper in a less than glorious repose!

Better get YOUR side of the story up into a post before we do it for you!

Muddy
FollowupID: 447494