Knee Replacements

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:21
ThreadID: 36867 Views:2725 Replies:10 FollowUps:1
Recently (27 July) had two total knee replacements done at the same time .I am pleased with my recovery after 3 weeks and getting along fine on crutches' but I was wandering if any others out there have had a double relacement and how long was it before undrtaking long drives (6-8hrs).I have had to miss my trip up North this year but hope by next winter I can enjoy my knew legs.By my observation in hospital there seems to be a lot of knees being replaced

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:25

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:25
Must be recovering fast because of all those pigs you eat :)

Seriously... two at the same time? Wow. Get better quickly and get back out there!

AnswerID: 189541

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:40

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:40
Ahhh Rambler...welcome to the club. You are very brave having both done at once. I had one done in 2003 and the other in 2005, just on 11 months ago. I was driving after a month but the complete healing process takes about 12 months per leg. You will be able to get both healing in the 12 months. Each persons physiology is different and the body responds differently to extreme surgery. I find my balance isn't as good as it used to be but I still managed to climb up and around some of the escarpments we visited on our recent trip. This is a far cry from 2002 when I was wheelchair bound.
AnswerID: 189546

Follow Up By: Nick R - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:13

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 23:13
mmmmm
3 1/2 months after a left knee arthroscopy and things are settling a little now, I can now see what to look forward to.......
doc gave me 10 years until i have to go again, it rattles a bit now so I hope I get 10 years......
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 447068

Reply By: hopscotch - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:42

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 18:42
BIL had one knee done and at about 10/11 weeks did a trip - Gold Coast to Jigalong WA. Asked him how it went at the time and his answer was Gold Coast - Broken Hill to Port Augusta. Across to Kalgoolie Turned right and there we were.
Seriously he was at better than 90% active in three months. Has been driving a delivery truck for the past 6 months with hardly a twinge. The other one gives him a bit at times.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 189547

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 21:54

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 21:54
Get better soon. Look at Willem, from wheelchair bound to having no bounds ! :))Don't know how you guys do it. I'm only a youngster:)) but am starting to realize that camping on the floor is for young people.
AnswerID: 189579

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:48

Thursday, Aug 17, 2006 at 22:48
This is what I would reckon....
First 2 weeks - Hell
Six weeks - No driving
Three months - Driving up to 4 hours per day. Should stop every hour to stretch.
Four months - Driving up to 6 hours per day.
Twelve months - to bed in properly and not get hot after activity.

Everyone is different and it depends on how much swelling and tightness is in the knee after activity. Sounds like you are doing well.

AnswerID: 189583

Reply By: zam045 - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 13:44

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 13:44
I had a Knee Reconcstruction (ACL) 10 mths ago today and have been back playing football (AFL) for 4 weeks now, apparently this should take 12mths but both the surgeon and physio gave me clearance to play so I thought they would know a bit more than me I'll give it a go.

Anyways, I used cruches for the first week, a full knee brace for the next 1.5 weeks and then just taking slowly after about week 3, then I started riding and exercise bike and heaps of walking after that.

But in answer to you question I was driving after about 4 - 5 weeks, only short trips, but if you were doing longer trips you might have to stop more frequently than normal to stretch your legs.

All the best for your recovery.

Zam
AnswerID: 189657

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 14:40

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 14:40
My father just had both knees done at the same time, and he's a 4wd nut.

Andrew's outline above is pretty close to the mark, however recovery time depends on:

1. Your dedication and persistence to physio ( painfull !)
2. Your motivation to get back in the saddle ( to my father being able to drive the 'crusier was a BIG motivation)
3. Quality of the surgery

I think Dad had his first small drive after about 5 weeks - mind you getting Mum out of the drivers seat of the 80 series was a big motivation.
AnswerID: 189665

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 15:41

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 15:41
I have a mate, fellow veteran, 2 knees, 2 hips & 1 turp. Says the pain was nothing compared with the injuries that buggered his legs in the first place...I have only had 1 Cystography without anasthetic & I would suggest anyone contemplating it should opt for the knockout drops as the pain was absolutley excrusiating.
AnswerID: 189670

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:34

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 16:34
Thanks for all the replies guys and it looks like the name of the game is PATIENCE which is not normallymy strength.It is encouraging to see that most that have been through it have no regrets.I'll let you know how thigs are going down the track.To all those out bush---enjoy!
AnswerID: 189677

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 20:00

Friday, Aug 18, 2006 at 20:00
I previously owned a "troopy" and know how heavy the clutch pedal is. My suggestion would be to sell your troopy and instead get a Prado automatic. Sparky
AnswerID: 189701