Cop car on your rear, makes the mind go berserk!!

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 19:31
ThreadID: 36916 Views:3578 Replies:11 FollowUps:56
Hi.

Its amazing how you can react , when driving along in fairyland, glance in the mirror and theres a police car right up your a...r..s... First thing , chit how fast we going?, seatbelt, What did i do back there, WHAT HAVE I DONE?, then he pulls out and goes on his merry way PHEEEW!!.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 19:49

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 19:49
Hi there Axle, yeap know exactly what you mean, then your heart goes back to normal heart beat when they have passed, even when you have done nothing wrong, and you think bleep how longs he been up my arse for Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 189813

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:25

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:25
What puts the wind up my sails is when you are sitting your modified truck, they get halfway past you, then sit there and have a good look before driving on.......
FollowupID: 447292

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 09:04

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 09:04
Hey, Stephen, how long has he been there? You should have noticed when he was a few cars back or even a hundred metres or so ideally. Awareness of what is behind is important as is any other car. I get suprised though too :-(
FollowupID: 447344

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:08

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:08
goodday people
yes john you are right should be watching behind almost as much as in front
i often wonder about the number of people pulled over who have not seen the cars behind although the new yellow 1 desguised as a taxi are a bit harder to see yellow with low lights

FollowupID: 447352

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:14

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:14
Axle,
apart from the usual stupid adolescent behaviour, I've never had reason to spend any time in in the company of the plods... That is if you discount the time that bugger missed his target and belted me instead, so I belted him back and got to cool off for a couple of hours behind bars...LOL I even know a few cops and yet every time I see them on my hiney or I'm pulled over for a breatho, I feel as guilty as hell. I can nearly see my whole day flash before my eyes, searching for a reason for them to hassle me...
AnswerID: 189817

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:23

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:23
Hope you hit him hard Blue.
FollowupID: 447290

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:00

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:00
It wouldn't have mattered if I'd fairy tapped him, I did it in the line of sight of one of our finest... Live and learn hey...???
FollowupID: 447300

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:21

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:21
Kids are getting molested, Nuns are getting raped, our houses are being burged at alarming rates and dear old plod is out there pestering motorists for doing a right turn outside the hours permitted by the sign on the side of the road.

Yep, that's the way it is. We see plod in our mirror and, in fear, wonder what minor transgression we have committed.

Then you contact plod after your house has been pillaged, they take an hour to get there, take some cursory details and tell you there is little they can do.

"It's happening everywhere and we don't have the resources to pursue it". Then they trot off and file the report. Never to be investigated.

"No resources". Any wonder, they're out busting motorists for nothing issues.

The average fine for B&E is less than exceeding the speed limit by 11 km/h.

It's a miserable and totally unjustifiable system.

AnswerID: 189818

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:27

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:27
"Nuns are getting raped"?

Give us a break, mate!
FollowupID: 447294

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:36

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:36
Jimbo. Overall i can see what your saying there mate! spot on!

Axle

FollowupID: 447296

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:43

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:43
Jimbo, I know where you're coming from. But you'd be surprised at how many major crimes are solved because the crim gets pulled over by the traffic branch.
FollowupID: 447297

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:53

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 20:53
>Jimbo, I know where you're coming from. But you'd be
>surprised at how many major crimes are solved because
>the crim gets pulled over by the traffic branch.

I can't speak for Jimbo, however... I would be astonished, let alone surprised!

Got any figures to support this assertion or is it, merely, guesswork?

FollowupID: 447299

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:02
John,

Get the message, see the meaning.

And yes, an elderly Nun was raped not that long ago. Some fool even had the temerity, at the time, to suggest it was no greater crime than raping a prostitute, fact.

Take your break, whatever that may achieve.
FollowupID: 447301

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:06

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:06
"Nun's are getting raped"
Must be a 'Habit' of there's.Not.
FollowupID: 447303

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:09

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:09
Footy,

Like Mike said, some statistics please.

I'd venture to suggest that plod would snare many more miscreants by going for a drink at some sleazy watering holes than hoping to catch the odd crim by chance motoring infringements.

Ah, but that would be policing. Using some investigative detective skills. It wouldn't raise much dough however and the Government wouldn't like that.

You undestand, the sad fact is the average flat foot is so indoctrinated these days, that they actually believe the Govt propaganda, not just enforce it.
FollowupID: 447304

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:28

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:28
Mike, sorry, no stats this time. But it's interesting that you should question my comments. Why ?
My comment was a quote from a senior cop I know in Bris. I'd ask him where to look for stats, if indeed they have been complied, but he's o/s with the UN at the moment.
In any case I wonder if such stats would be likely to be compiled and kept. I suspect that his comment resulted from inside experience rather than stats.

FollowupID: 447307

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:43

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:43
So you meant "A nun getting raped", Jimbo. No, I did not hear of any nun being raped ever, apart from the group of missionary nuns that were raped, murdered and mutilated by the Japs in New Guinea WW2 (which my father's unit came across).

Yes, I share your frustration at the apparent lack of law enforcement. My camper trailer was vandalised by some d*ckhead on Thursday night. Nicely spray painted and topped off with a threatening note that if I didn't move it from its (LEGALLY) parked position out the front of my house, they will burn it. The police were supposed to ring me back Thursday with a follow-up. I'm still waiting.....

Fortunately, a neighbour put me on to eucalyptus oil, which with a lot of elbow-grease I was able to bring the CT up like brand new. Even waxed the thing and it looks better than the day I bought it.

Now I'll take a break. :-)
FollowupID: 447310

Follow Up By: simple - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:55

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:55
Jimbo.
the cops that pull you over for speeding or illegal turns (they make them illegal for a reason) in most cases would be highway coppers. the ones that are specifically tasked to look after traffic offences.
and as "footloose" said. a lot of crimes are solved by people being pulled over. this is because it gives them a chance to look through the car, and a better chance of detaining them even for a shortwhile so they can be investigated better.
i think a lot of cops that do a fantastic job. and yes there are quite a few that are just tossers on a power trip, but its a job that attracts that kind of person.
it'd be wise to have an understanding of things before you make wild allegations about them.
stick to te rules and you shouldn't have a problem with them, and if you do break the law and get caught, even if it was an accident, cop it on the chin.
FollowupID: 447311

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:59

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 21:59
LMAO,

Now I understand why you call yourself "simple". Self expression I suppose.
FollowupID: 447312

Follow Up By: 1arm - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:00

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:00
But where do we draw the line

My view is if you break the law you break the law and if you get caught you get punished.If people get away with small things then it leads to bigger things and so on.
Im sorry but people who believe they have the right to do as they please in cars and then feel victimised when picked up and busted are stupid.
Evan
FollowupID: 447313

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:10

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:10
My orignal post had nothing to do with nuns getting raped, or what unit witnessed what , sometimes emotions rule what the original issue was about,so it pays to keep a lid on things at times!!?.
FollowupID: 447316

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:51

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:51
Jimbo, I am Guessing you have no idea about the amount of Call’s that are taken and investigations that are under way by the Police who are mostly undermanned and underpaid and not only need to deal with the chit from the public but the Government, media, and even the top Brass, it’s a Job where one mistake or complaint by some member of the public who has noting better to do can seriously F**k up your career

A lot of the car’s you see cruising around would be traffic cars who’s job it is to be on the road, and if they are not then the Public starts bitching about how little police are out and about

I remember when I was in school I would sometimes go into the Major crime building and get a lift home with dad I would looking up on the white bord and there would be up to 14 investigations just under his name alone and much the same for the other officers too, there was a entire room filled with boxes of unsolved cases and this is just for one division.

You ever had to come home from work 2 times in one night to change clothes because the ones you had on are coved with someone else’s Blood, ever been shot at, had to storm a building, hit by a car, shot someone or do drug raids in your Job, no I didn’t think so

You know what the overtime budget for the old man’s unit is $12000 per year split that between 11 people, you know what that amounts to a f**load of overtime that they aren’t payed for, Unlike mine and most other peoples job’s where all the overtime I do is payed for.

Believe it or not there are a chit load of crimes that are committed and solved that don’t make the TV or newspapers bro, You know why they took 1 hour to respond to yore brake in because they were probably dealing with 10 others in the aria as well.

FollowupID: 447324

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:24

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:24
Mike, if you've followed this thread I assume that you're suitably "astonished" and "surprised" ?

My BIL is a Fed cop and some of my friends are somewhere in "the job".
I have the same gripes about Mr "Plod" as anyone else, but it's tempered by some knowledge of the job. Like doctors who have to give you the bad news, nurses who see too much, and undertakers, it's a job I could never do.

It's amazing how they are the cops, fuzz or much worse until you need them. Suddenly they become police.
FollowupID: 447363

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:28

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:28
True Story....

A friend of mine went to the Police Training School in Goulburn back when it was a 12 week course to become a cop....
One of the instructors asked the new recruits "Any of you planning to join the Highway Patrol section?".........about 3 hands went up....

To them he said "OK, well you're in the wrong room, the Labotomies are performed down the hall a bit"

Even the Cops hate Highyway Cops......
FollowupID: 447367

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:35

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 15:35
Wayne, I went through that college before it became the cop college. I could quite believe anything about that place :))
A guy I worked with became a cop through there, and he was highway patrol. I can remember being astonished when he told me exactly what speed signs were on a bit of road, and there were quite a few. This guy would have risen in the ranks...he was a right and proper A hole. He had an authority thing happening....
FollowupID: 447370

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:13

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:13
>Mike, if you've followed this thread I assume that you're
>suitably "astonished" and "surprised" ?

No.
FollowupID: 447380

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:19

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:19
Why am I not surprised.
FollowupID: 447381

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:36

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:36
Why, because you believe everything you are told by authority figures. There is nothing in this thread that is anything more than anecdotes. No official figures, no science applied. Just a few cop stories that you choose to believe.

Ever heard of Tony Fitzgerald?

Some of us apply critical analysis.
FollowupID: 447382

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:39
So where are YOUR stats ??????????
FollowupID: 447383

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:49

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:49
You're the one who said

"But you'd be surprised at how many major crimes are solved because the crim gets pulled over by the traffic branch."

Why are you asking me for stats? You made the wild, sweeping, generalist, uninformed statement that needs the support of stats. Of course you don't have any.
FollowupID: 447384

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:53

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:53
"Why, because you believe everything you are told by authority figures."
I do eh ? And what statistics, science or "critical thinking" leads you to that assertion ? I can see the critical bit but none of the rest.
Obviously never read any of my posts. In fact I am highly critical of certain authorities....

"There is nothing in this thread that is anything more than anecdotes. "
Which stem from experiences which you don't have.

"No official figures,"
Even a first year stats student could tell you that it is the interpretation of such figures that are important.

" no science applied."
Did you apply your science when posting ? Obviously not.

"Just a few cop stories that you choose to believe."
And you chose to question without any science, stats or experience.

"Ever heard of Tony Fitzgerald?"
And your point is ????

"Some of us apply critical analysis."
And some of you just argue for the sake of argueing !

FollowupID: 447388

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:59

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:59
I think you have answered your own questions, that is to your own satisfaction. Didn't make much sense, but as long as you are happy, that is all that matters.
FollowupID: 447397

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:06

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:06
*Yawn*
FollowupID: 447398

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:44

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:44
Footloose is a "Last Word Man" Jimbo - wait for the followup :)
FollowupID: 447400

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:48

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:48
Would love to know the stats on "nuns getting raped" or were you just trying to embellish the Australia wide lack of Police and the ever increasing crime rate due to the inbred disregard of the law ,,as a footnote , I spent 10yrs as an undertaker and in that time buried/cremated an average of 1000 per yr ,my old note books tell me that 200 per yr were vehicle related ,so if Mr Plod looks or books you for what many think of as a minor indiscretion ,think again.
FollowupID: 447402

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:03

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:03
Fair Dinkhum Alloy,

How dense do you think some people are. In Victoria there are about 350 road deaths per year and over 100 undertakers. Other states are similar. You reckon you were doing 200 per year.

You sure had the road death funeral business cornered LOL.

If you're going to make up figures, at least apply some science to your estimates.

And you accuse me of embellishment. I could of course suggest you are a blatant bullchit artist, but I'm not that nasty.
FollowupID: 447404

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:23
JImbo ,u still haven't answered 'nuns getting raped ' .. as for my 200per yr read again ,,vehicle related , not necessarily a road death on the day ,as for road death funeral business ,In Qld you have the Government/Police undertaker .which shock horror for your information is a tender process ,and upon "winning " the tender you get to pick-up more road trauma than you ever wish to see ,,go back to your Police hatred and "nuns getting raped",,,b-l-sheet.
FollowupID: 447406

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:48

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:48
A tender process for buying dead bodies from cops. Morbidly sick, but you'll no doubt tell us "it's just business". So was the window shutter scam in Vic.

Wouldn't be any corruption in that LOL. Was Terry Lewis involved?

You dealt with one of the most corrupt Police Forces in Australia's history and you expect us to take you seriously.

I'm beginning to understand your defence of coppers, one should never grass on their business partners.
FollowupID: 447412

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:05

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:05
What do you mean Jimbo 'isnt just business' mobidly sick !! I supose you think people should NOT be buried /cremated ,would you prefer to leave the deceased where they lay/died , or that the people who do the job should not be paid ?? just so you know ,the tender usually goes to the lowest ,the last time my company lost the tender our "quote" was $1 per ,we lost to an American owned conglomerate who "bid" $0.10 . corruption???
FollowupID: 447416

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:07

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:07
"You dealt with one of the most corrupt Police Forces in Australia's history"
What a wild generalization ! What exactly are the statistics that resulted from the Fitzgerald Inquiry that are relevant ? How to they compare to similar inquiries in other states ?
Lets see...the rate of fatalities from Vic police, number of officers drummed out of the force in NSW, the record of the NT police in investigating high profile homicides, the problems within the WA force at the moment, the number of plumbers caught out on their tax returns, the number of politicians forced to resign in Canberra because of corruption................
I mean what's your point ? If you're trying to have a go at someone at least use scientific analysis rather than character assination.
FollowupID: 447417

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:38

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:38
I'll not taunt you chaps any further. It's been a lot of fun and you are doing a good enough job on yourselves without my input.

I'll observe an adage "Never argue with fools, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". Hence I'll opt out before I get dragged down.

You blokes might observe another adage "It's better to keep quiet and be thought an idiot, than to open your mouth and confirm the fact".

ROFLMAO, blokes like you keep me young. Thanks for the "entertainment".

By the way, and adage is an old saying. There, you don't need to get the dictionary out.

Oh, I'm breaking myself up.
FollowupID: 447430

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:12

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:12
You know when you're beaten. Well thats a good start.
Not sure what you're injecting , but any more broken up and you'd need an undertaker.

Take your own advice Jimbo.
FollowupID: 447445

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:46

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:46
It's over Mr Last Word.
FollowupID: 447484

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:49

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:49
Aww, come on Jumbo. The fun's just beginning...
FollowupID: 447487

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:00

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:00
Thank Christ you three blokes have finished.I went for a drive this morning & came home after 5hrs to find my inbox full of the proverbial.Then you went & had dinner & came back to start filling up my inbox again & i am the innocent one.Lol
Cheer's Bob.
P.s It did make good reading as the forum has been getting a bit blasé for me.
FollowupID: 447492

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:19

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:19
Hey Bob, who said it was finished ? Thats only until they decide to jump on me next time :)) ( memo to self...don't bite so easily...thanks Bridgette )
FollowupID: 447504

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:25

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:25
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paranoia
FollowupID: 447508

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:27

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:27
Ahh..Mr Last Word returns. Welcome back, Mike.
FollowupID: 447512

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:32

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:32
What can I say Footloose? You write your own obituary - can you resist a "Last Word" to this thread, I wonder...? :)

FollowupID: 447515

Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:37

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:37
It's time I came out of the closet. Yes, I am a plod! And I can tell you that crooks drive cars, whether their own or someone elses. A major part of police strategy is to pull over cars. I have lost count of the number of times I pull a car over for a simple traffic matter, and it turns out they are bleep , unlicenced or disqualified, or a quick check of the car turns out weapons (including handguns), drugs, stolen items etc. This is particularly true late at night/early in the morning, or on weekends. I am not a traffic cop, just a general patrol whose prime job is to respond to community calls, and secondary role is to be proactive in seeking out crime and crooks. The problem is, crooks come in all shapes and sizes, so when you get followed or eyeballed, the copper is probably just checking you out and if you've done nothing wrong (drivng, illegal mods etc) then there is usually nothing to worry about. I let 9/10 people go on minor traffic matters, the 1 in 10 have either demonstrated they are not receptive to a caution by their attitide or have committed other crimes that have come to my attention.

It's a difficult job, but mostly coppers are ordinary people with skills suited to the job (not fitness necessarily!) There are a few bad eggs out there, I am ashamed to say, but my experience is that they are few and far between.

Next time a copper eyeballs you or your car, why not give a friendly wave and smile. Crooks generally don't do that because they've got something to hide at the time, or from their past. If I see a decent looking bloke wave, providing he doesn't look shonky or bleep , he's on his way and I 'm off to spend my time on something more worthwhile.

Now that I'm out of the closet I'm ready for all you can throw at me!

D-Jack
AnswerID: 189837

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:49

Saturday, Aug 19, 2006 at 22:49
Di Jack.

HaHaHaHa That should sort something out!!

FollowupID: 447323

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:32

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:32
Now D-Jack, are you really a plod or are you just wanting us to think you're a plod :)))))))))))))
FollowupID: 447338

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:34

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:34
My apologies, subsitute the bleep for the word 'drunk' and you will get my post!
FollowupID: 447339

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:51

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:51
hahahaha yep, far too many bleep .... er.. sorry, drunk drivers still on the road. Amazing that some still think it's a trivial matter :(((
FollowupID: 447342

Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:52

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:52
D-jack,

Likewise, burglars with the gear still in the car a few days later (nobody said they were bright), weapons, drugs, persons breaching parole, the whole works - most crooks drive cars - so well worth a check if sus. All part of the job.

The best parts though, getting called out to spend a night or two in the High Country for a search for a missing person - and finding them safe and well.

"Worthwhile."

Tim - Stratford.
FollowupID: 447435

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:39
By the way, I'm currently on nightshift in the city - plenty of brawls to keep us occupied, however, my partner and I only pulled over 3 cars for the whole of Fri and Sat night. 1 was a Mobile Random Breath Test (pulled it over on intuition), other 2 did stupid things. All 3 were over the limit, 2 had no licence or were disqualified and the other went 0.152! Not a bad strike rate but it shows people still aren't getting the message about drink driving and taking someones licence away often isn't enough to stop them driving!

D-Jack

ps. Mick SC thanks for the backup!
FollowupID: 447474

Follow Up By: cackles - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:27

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:27
I think it pays to remember that cops go to work to protect the community and some end up dying to make that happen.

May they rest in peace

Cackles
FollowupID: 447538

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:41
Keep up the good work. I have a cousin in the NT poloce and two mates who wear the blue unifom in SA. Not a job I could do.

Pete
FollowupID: 447580

Reply By: Member - Peter A (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 00:07

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 00:07
yeah,
jimbo get your hand off it mate, people like you would be sqealing if the cops were not there too save you backside
AnswerID: 189838

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:37

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 08:37
Yawn
FollowupID: 447341

Reply By: Mick sc - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:42

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:42
I will come out of the closet also, I too am a plod.
Boy there are some guilty consciences on here. Having been shot at, knives pulled on me and, burning uniforms because of the dead body I've just been to- can say that traffic branch police do pull people over for minor infringements BUT pretty regularly those people are wanted for serious crime. ALSO that idiot making an illegal left turn or overtaking incorrectly may just be the person that on the next bend could kill some innocent motorist. Just have a think about it.
And what's wrong with driving up next to a nice looking vehicle and admiring it-done it heaps of times.

I am actually heading back out western Qld or the cape (off roaders heaven area) for another stint (transfer) and was going to do a road condition and traffic report for this site.
So keep an eye on the forum and will let you know soon.
Anyway back to the plod.
Tracker
AnswerID: 189868

Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:47

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:47
I dont know what sort of cops most of you have but either their arse#@&!* or your just paranoid.
The NT cops they have plenty to do without looking for extra work.
I havent even had a speeding ticket in the last 17 years!!!
If you think they are following you pull over and ask them why they are following you?
The last 2 trips Ive had in a cop car was a lift home from the pub cause I was too Pi$$ed to walk.
Plenty of times a year tourists and blackfellas go missing and who is expected to go and find them??? Yep the coppers
The NT cops do a bloody good job and get no thanks for it.

Ps any NT cops out there you can email my "get out of jail free card" care of exploroz

AnswerID: 189869

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:43

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 07:43
There is nothing like a blue light taxi for a ride home. When I was in patrol boats out of Darwin the guys used them all the time in remote ports.
FollowupID: 447582

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:59

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 11:59
It's human nature it seems to expect every copper to be out there chasing you: Last week I was driving from Cardwell Ranges to Cardwell (nice straight road with kms of visibility) and found myself at the end of a queue driving 80 in a 100 zone. First one was an old van, then police car, then some six more cars. No one overtaking (me included :-)). After five minutes (and checking mentally how legal I was), I started overtaking. It took me three goes to get past the whole queue, including cop car and van, and to carry on driving 100km/h. And guess what: they didn't follow me, didn't pull me over, I did not see any other coppers for the whole week and I didn't get anything unusual in the mail (yet).

It may be hard to believe, but most coppers in this country seem to have better things to do than to hassle motorists for no reason, or for pure revenue raising. (aside from the placement of some speed cameras). Try going to other parts of the world where every encounter with any policeman invariably results in money changing hands - over there you sure give them a wide berth if you can.

Just for the record - I'm not a cop and I have paid fines occasionally.
AnswerID: 189870

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 14:23
My funniest copper incident occurred one morning going to work afew years back. Waited too long at a traffic light, and put the boot in when it finally went green. On my merry way to work.

A couple of days later, one of my daughter's mates said to her "I was tempted to pull your old man up on my way to work the other morning. He must have been doing 80 as he left the lights. Tell him to ease off."

She was then a newly graduated cop, going to work in her own car, and I did not notice the uniform in the car next to me. I guess her timely warning slowed me down somewhat after that - maybe stopped me having a prang.

A lot of my daughter's mates are cops - male and female, most have made it to sergeant by now, and I reckon they are all fine people. Sure I get the @#*ts when I get pulled up for just breaking the traffic law, but when I hear the stories of what they do and the risks they take and the dirty jobs they do for us all, then I take my hat off to them.

But - I still get nervous when I see one in the rear vision mirror Axle!

Max
AnswerID: 189884

Reply By: bgreeni - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:52

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 16:52
The main problem here is not the police, but the stupid laws the have to enforce on the roads.

My favourite hobby horse.

The speed limits in Australia are rediculously slow compared with O/S. Cannot believe the 80 km/h on the so called freeway in Perth. Similar roads in Europe have speed limits much higher, and then you hardly see a police car.

Similar with RBT - I have been tested twice since ariving in Perth 6 months ago (both times cold sober - I don't drink & drive), but pulling up every one is crazy, to say nothing about infringment of rights. Test if there is reason to believe someone is drunk, or in accident, but stopping everyone, causing huge traffic jambs is nuts.

Off my hobby horse

AnswerID: 189899

Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 18:39
Shi$$ing yourself is being pulled over for speeding and having your friend think it's funny to tell the wallopers about the ounce of weed in the back, about the drinks you had at lunch and tease him for being gay!!!
The first 2 weren't true (don't know bout the 3rd???).

A year later I thought I had the purrr-fect opurtunity to return the favour, only to find the cop was the most masculine chick I had ever seen.
I backed down, as you do.

cackles
AnswerID: 189911