Winch Challenge Cruiser Park QLD

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:50
ThreadID: 36928 Views:2335 Replies:5 FollowUps:21
I have just got back from a great weekend up at Landcruiser Mountain Park where another round of the Genie winch challenge was help. Heaps of great 4wd action for all competitors but for me it was my wife's first foray back to the place where her fear and hatred of all things 4wd started so it was strictly 2wd all weekend :-(((

Ever been to a 4wd park with so many great tracks and not even locked the hubs in? There is a first time for everything they say, but I must say probably not a second hahaha. Well done to my Judy as she was very good and brave by her standards. I hope this may be the realisation that I will not put her through what I used to get up to, so many years ago (it was pretty bad territory for a standard Pajero to be in back then), and maybe as a family we can head back to places like this again with Judy confident we will go straight to base camp, set-up, offload those too scared and then get stuck in??? I live in hope.

I have put up a 5mg video of one of the competitors going hard if anyone is interested HERE
I hope this link works as I am still not 100% sure of these link thingys !!

Cheers, Trevor.

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:56

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 17:56
Great video Trev, its awesome to watch ya.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 189902

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:15

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:15
Yeah, I wish it was me. Trying to ease Judy back into it, still ended up passing a rangie stuck while I was in 2wd. I think he may have busted something as it was not a hard drive IMO (after all Jude wasn't rippin into me so it couldn't have been that bad !!!). His mates were getting ready to tow him out so I didn't stop.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 447419

Follow Up By: cackles - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:23
Maybe your wife would be more comfortable if she learnt to drive offroad, the she would see that it is not all that difficult and therefore have more trust in you.
(worked for me)

cackles
FollowupID: 447506

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:40

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 08:40
That's a good idea cackles. I might put that to her. She used to get amongst it when we were younger but I just pushed the envelope too far too often and landcruiser park was the straw that broke the camels back about 8 or 9 yrs ago. She has never really learnt to drive off-road though so I see this maybe an option???

Thanks, Trevor.
FollowupID: 447590

Reply By: barra man - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:25

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:25
hi trever .
love the video, we have not been to l.m.p. for a long time,
after seeing your video we will have to make time when
we get back from birdsville races. looking forward to
testing out the new chev transplant.

cheers barraman
AnswerID: 189922

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:46

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:46
Video was taken up in cruiser canyon if you remember where that is. It was a wild weekend for the entrants, some out even after the first night stage, Friday night.
You will not find a better place "to test out the new chev transplant".

Keep your eyes open at Birdsville for Andrew and Carolyn, driving a white Prado EO sticker on back window, is a member off here and also going for the races.

Cheers, Trevor.

FollowupID: 447433

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:30

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:30
Actually their EO sticker is on the black part (I don't know what you call it!!!!!!) near the rear door handle.

Just look for the garden spade on the spare wheel! We're gonna buy him a shovel for christmas!!!!! (just playin Andrew.. at least you were prepared! we didn't bring one!!!)

Jo
FollowupID: 447463

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:32

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:32
Theres nowt rong we'a garden spade lass...............

The sticker is on the door handle plaque, although I might invest in a wheel cover seing as there's 10% off at the mo ;o)

I'm setting up the carputer tonight now that I've got my in-dash touchscreen, so we'll see what sort of mess I can make of it LOL.

Barra Man, We're going to Birdsville via Thragomindah, Camerons Corner, Innamincka, Birdsville leaving this Saturday (Yippeeeee).

FollowupID: 447610

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:39

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:39
10 points Andrew because I thought it was quite a good brain idea to place it where you did!
Jo
FollowupID: 447642

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 19:58
Hope you had a good weekend mate, sounds like you did.
Remembered you were up there after I tried to ring and all was silent.
I spent a constuctive w/e getting the Pezzawagon ready for outings again, put the water tank, draw system and fridge back in, awning on, also bolted and hard wired the compressor with air hose attached into the back. All ready for days/weekends out again in between packing the house, LOL.
So when's the next gathering ?

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 189931

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:09

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:09
Not sure about the next gathering mate?? I still haven't gone on the big run down sth yet. Been on a quicky up nth but will probably head off next week and won't be back for a while as you know. Glad I will be taking the Nissan as Judy actually enjoyed herself and I don't trust her up there with it hehehehe.

How did you shrink the young fella sitting on his peewee 50?
Still no news on CQ?

Avnagoodin, Trevor.
FollowupID: 447443

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:28
So the Pezzawagon is all back together hey.........So where are we goin camping? (ok or day trippin)

Jo
FollowupID: 447458

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:41

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:41
Yeah Jo, have decided to keep the 'purple people eater', after rectifying a uummm....minor technical problem which is too embarressing to mention on this forum, which was causing my indecision.
Will be going somewhere at least for a day trip in the next couple of w/e's, will let you know.

Hey Trev, I gather Thomas is learning the value of training wheels, LOL.
Got an email week just gone, made it through the first cull by the sounds of it, waiting for more. Starting date was "in september" not the beginning as I thought, so could take a little longer.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 447476

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:45
Forgot to add Trev, wouldn't worry too much about Thomas not being able to touch the ground, Karl can't even reach the pegs on his !! ( Rig Pic )
FollowupID: 447482

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:53

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:53
Funny, now everywhere I go I notice all these orange KTM's!!!!!
FollowupID: 447490

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:09

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:09
Yeah me too Jo. But all the one's I see aren't quite so big as "The Widow Maker" Perry has.
FollowupID: 447496

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:18

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:18
That's good Trev!

only thing is a drive would have to be a sunday run Perry because Mark has been working saturdays alot lately.
FollowupID: 447502

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:39
Bugger that mate !! You run all you like, I'm drivin' !!
FollowupID: 447519

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:04

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:04
oh yeh of course.... running up that hill with the winch so you can get yourself up!...
FollowupID: 447530

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:23

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:23
Glad you had a great weekend Trev, we were thinking of you up there!
Mark had to work yesterday, we ended up checking out Bribie today, about time we got somewhere local! That Poverty point looks like a nice little camping area, two areas.. one for tents (with fire rings bring own wood) one area for camper trailers and groups (no fire rings) spotted 5 roos while we we there, one was a eastern (or western???) grey, anyway one huge mother that was eyin me off big time!
Glad to hear Jude went with you!!!!!!!! any progress is good progress!

Permits for Bribie, you can no longer buy day permits, only weekly or yearly. weekly permit was $32.95...... so we will probably head there again on saturday or sunday of the weekend coming to make use of the money we spent on it.
Really though a waste of money because there was not one ranger in site, that many people who no doubt never had permits there either. No doubt on peak periods or camping for sure you'd buy a permit but I reckon for a one dayer you could probably get away with it.
But I'll check out this link now Trev!

Jo
AnswerID: 189944

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:18

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:18
You're joking. Weekly permits for that. There's another reason I don't drive on the beach...especially Bribie at that price. OUCH!!
FollowupID: 447501

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:38
We'd never been to Bribie before, and being the good people that we are thought we would do the right thing and buy the permit, but not next time!!

But am thinking where there wasthe good side of camping at Poverty point, you wouldn't need the driving permit, only the camping permit.
FollowupID: 447517

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:37

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:37
Hi Jo & Mark,

Bribie should be FREE just like Teewah beach AND you can't even take your dog (Hmph!). Having said that we've been there a few times now and even found the old WWII gun emplacements just behind the dunes. I can give you direction to find them if you're going back next week.

We enjoy going there tho, as you said it local and not from us.

FollowupID: 447613

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:42

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:42
We saw all the gun placements and that, followed the Dirty Weekends map, On the map it talked about a track behind the dunes which brings you out to an exit track further up. We saw the exit track and sign post no worries but the only in tracks behind the dunes and signposted that we saw was for the camping areas only.

Jo
FollowupID: 447643

Reply By: barra man - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:19

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:19
hi Trevor
cruiser canyon i know it well, we normally camp at cowra falls
nice and quite. we will keep an eye out for andrew & carolyn
in birdsville only about 5 to 6 thousand pepole.

cheers, barraman.
AnswerID: 190521

Follow Up By: barra man - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:33

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 14:33
Andrew we are leaving this saturday also st george,thargomindah,innaminka,
cordillo downs birdsville.
silver gu towing a kedron atv

cheers, barraman
FollowupID: 448170