The journey south and east from Pardoo

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:44
ThreadID: 36936 Views:3768 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
The rest of the trip wasn’t exactly 4x4 except when I got bogged on a beach or when we went for a run on 40 Mile Beach.

Here is a quick précis on it:

Pardoo Roadhouse. Expensive to say the least but the stuff has to be trucked there

Cape Keraudren: We had to pay $17.50 for a night’s camp on the beach with no facilities apart from a Long Drop. Nice spot though. New legislation in force soon: No dogs allowed

Yule River 24 hr camp. Some had camped there for 3 weeks. We found a nice shady spot about 1km from the highway. Budgies were nesting in the tree hollows. The river was flowing.

Cleaverville Beach: A nice open spot and for $6 a night a good camp at the waters edge. At first I ventured down too far on to the beach with highway pressures and sank the GQ. Dropped the pressures to 15psi and drove out. Rubbish and sullage facilities but no water and no toilets. You have to bring your own. Normally about 40 vehicles camped along 5km stretch

Point Samson: The Gold Coast of the North West….LOL

Cossack: Quaint historic town with some good fishing off the wharf and agood Look-out.

Karratha Caravan Park: The only park, which will take dogs. Ahh….. relegated to the bottom end of the market. Mainly permanents. Domestic fight at midnight. Loud music at 3am. All this cost us $27.90 for one night and $30 key deposit! Sleepless in Karratha!!!

40 Mile Beach: Lots of open space and boat ramp and beach access for driving. No shade. Some open beach and some mangrove beach. $6 per night. We enjoyed our stay.

3 Mile Hole, Ashburton River near Old Onslow. Only one road in and out of Onlsow. Bitumen all the way with alien termite mounds on either side of the road. A pretty little town with good fishing, salt mine and LPG mine. 3 Mile Hole about 25km from Onslow. Lots of Grey Nomads camped there. We had Happy Hour with them.

Lyons River Camp: Spider webs galore as we put our tent up. En route to Mt Augustus. No traffic but lots of bird life. Next morning plenty of Kangaroos, Emus and two beautiful Dingoes.

Mt Augutus: Did not stay there. Refuelled at ’Resort’ on Mt Augustus Station, $1.90 for diesel. Lady told me no diesel until Meeka. Funny, 40km down the road diesel is $1.70 at Burrungurra Community. I had been had….lol. Mt Augustus is awesome. Makes Uluru look like a pebble.

We camped 45km west of Meekatharra in an old quarry. Roads OK but 1080 signs everywhere.

Sandstone: Best gravel roads in Australia. Some good scenery including London Bridge. $16 in Caravan Park with best ablution block I have seen anywhere.

Lake Ballard: Breeding place of the Pied Stilt. It also has a sculpture installation. There are 51 life-like steel statues of people scattered around the salt lake. The lake was damp but we were able to walk over. The dog rolled in the mud …yuk!!!

Menzies: We occupied the only piece of lawn in the CP. $10 per night. Stayed 2 nights to do some family research at the Town Hall. Got acquainted with some prospectors who showed us REAL gold. Hmmmm…whets the appetite!

Kalgoorlie: Been there before so this was a shop and fuel stop. Filled up to our limit of 330 lts at $1.40lt discounted at Woollies. We were then able to drive from Norseman to Peterborough (1920km) without refuelling at servo’s along the way and thus saving some pennies.

Norseman: Stopped to have a look at the town and then camp 22km out off the Eyre Hwy. Although we were 500mts from the road it was still incredibly noisy. Limited sleep.

Enjoyed the road to Port Augusta as I had not driven it since 1968. Plenty of camp sites along the way. Got a good nights sleep 4km down the Eyre Bird Observatory Road and another in the Nullabor National Park. We drove into every ’Look-out’ over the Bight culminating at Head of the Bight. There is a charge of $10 per head with concessions for pensioners.

Whale Watching: At Head of the Bight we saw 25 Whales, some very close up, frolicking in the blue waters. It was a great experience. We were told that there were up to 70 whales in the bay that day.

Fowlers Bay: What a delightful little Hamlet. We will definitely spend some time there at a later stage. There are some awesome white sand dunes to play on too. Good fishing, we were told, from the jetty.

We drove home the following day with an obligatory stop at Port Augusta for some shopping!

It had been a really good holiday. We saw heaps and enjoyed the vastness of the Big Sky Country. Now to sit still for a while to gather some moss for the next venture, Tasmania, in 07.

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:56
You might not find too many deserts in Tassie.
You might need a passport. It is a foreign country, isn't it ?
And there can be some big corregations on the way there :))
AnswerID: 189957

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:11
Hmmmm...don't put me off, Footy

Missus won't like them big blue corrugations.

Dog is staying home. Need dog sitter for one month.
FollowupID: 447498

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:17

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:17
Willem, please dont take it seriously. I believe Tassie is wonderful. I know that there are some great people there. Some actually visit EO.
And they have a great sense of humour. Met a kid from Tassie and she said "yeah I'm from Tasmania" and then said "but its ok, you can see the scar" and showed me her shoulder.
Scar ? No scar there Missy.
You know, where I've had the second head removed !!!!!

I didn't even know that one !!
FollowupID: 447500

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 20:58
What time in Tassie . We plan on having 4 weeks March April next year . Errol
AnswerID: 189958

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:05

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:05
We can only get away in November next year so it has to be then. Would have preferred to go in March but other commitments prevent that.
FollowupID: 447495

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:48

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:48
May be on the boat with you as we plan to head back around then,as long as we can handle the up coming wet(which locals are saying is going to be really really hot this year).
November is usually a windy month,not blow house down type but annoying constant wind.Still well worth the look,how long are you going for??
FollowupID: 447523

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:05

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:05
Nick

We hope to go to tassie for 4 weeks.

Ahh yes the Tropical Wet Season. Have fun...LOL
FollowupID: 447531

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:50

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 21:50
Willie,

Thanks for that series of trip reports. You have kept me interested again and again..

All is well here in the 'burbs, but as you know it's seriously dry in rural South Oz. Only had 13 nights out so far this year...............that's "my drought" !

Keep me posted about the need for a short stay for the puppy in 2007. As you know, I'm in the industry, so may be able to assist.

AnswerID: 189969

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:01

Sunday, Aug 20, 2006 at 22:01
Hi Rick

Good to hear from you.

Yes I over did the trips this year what with one to the Cleland Hills, then the Geographical Centre of the Simpson and now the Western Deserts. All good stuff mate :-)

Thanks for the offer with the pup. We will see how things workout cloaer to that time

FollowupID: 447529

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:12

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:12
Willem,
Did you get any mud crabs at 40 mile beach as there are some big ones to be had by "hooking" if you know where to go at low tide.
AnswerID: 190052

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:53

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:53
Rambler

I heard voices in the mangroves every day. So thats what they were doing...lol

No mate, I am not into fishing or crabbing. Allergic to fish but not crustacea. I heard however, that some of the die-hard fishermen were getting a few.
FollowupID: 447727