The benefits of Snorkles please.
Submitted: Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:27
JJ
In plain low-tech terms, what are the overall benefits of fitting a snorkle? (in our case to a Pathfinder).
We're mainly concerned with the dust factor. Do they have any effect on fuel consumption?
Also any reco on brands and costs?
I couldn't find a lot of info on 'search'.
We don't expect to be going through (any)
water more than maybe 'inches' deep at any time, but next year we do plan on doing the Plenty Highway/Oodnadatta/Innaminka etc. and maybe later the
Kingoonya Iron Knob track.
So it's the dust with every chance of being overtaken by road-trains, specially on the Plenty. And else where, there's always those who just have to overtake!
Thanks a bunch!
Any good info will be most appreciated.
Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:31
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:31
The main reason we 'snorkelled' was for cleaner (and cooler) air
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:33
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:33
Won't make any noticeable difference either way. Good idea on most of these 4WDs though as most of em now suck the air from under the front mudguard.
Where's all the dust??
Also good if you plan to do deep
water crossings, very deep!
Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:51
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:51
The main principal is so you don't induce
water into your engine which is catastrophic , diesel engines will self destruct if
water makes it into the combustion chamber. Cooler air is not really an advantage with modern engines as they have cold air induction as standard (Cooler air means a better combustion).
I have read about some negatives, such as increased induction noise on some vehicles. In reality you don't need a
snorkel unless you do
water crossings regularly IMHO..!
Follow Up By: wazab - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:22
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:22
i put one on my ute recently mainly for
water crossings. i used to use 10.5 ltrs per 100 kms now im getting 9.6 since i put it on. so give it a go im more than happy i put one on. good luck with your trip im doing much the same trip in sept 07.
Follow Up By: wazab - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:29
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:29
sorry i hit the wrong key it was ment for the gentleman who originaly asked the question
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:17
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:17
We do a fair bit of outback travel and we went with the
snorkel on the Jack mainly because of the huge amount of dust the intake was drawing from the front wheel arch pick up. The
snorkel dramatically reduced the air filter clogging (I use the serviceable oiled foam type). As a bonus, we have improved
water crossing reliability.
Water crossings seem a saga in themsleves - if going into more than 500mm some vehicles could
well benefit from a tarp across the front, as
well as a
snorkel, to avoid fan/radiator issues. Other vehicles can simply drive into 6-700mm with neither and make it ok - if you aren't a gambler, the
snorkel is insurance and the tarp could be a "good idea". As mentioned, diesel engines always get badly broken if any
water gets in.
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:18
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:18
I have never understood why people say "cleaner air"..........
How is it cleaner 3 feet higher when the dust clouds from other cars go tens of feet into the air???
On most 4x4's the standard air inlet is not directly inline with the front tyre,, it is hidden away from dust.....
So why the "cleaner air" comments all the time.????
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:27
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:27
Voxson, you would be surprised by the amount of dust which comes up into the engine bay.
My best evidence would be using light dry sand as an example. When I go to Fraser Island and drive through the dry sand on the inland roads, then check under the hood, there is heaps of sand sitting on top of the air filter. I mean heaps; 10 to 15mm deep where there are
places for it to be trapped.
Without a
snorkel, I can only assume a lot of sand would be sucked into the air cleaner.
With a
snorkel, I believe very little sand is thrown up outside the mud guards high enough to be sucked in via the
snorkel.
Dust is lighter, but the same principle would apply.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:49
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 10:49
Voxson - I agree with you for my NP Pajero - the intake is above the radiator. The Diesel even has a cyclonic pre-cleaner which removes the larger dust, insects and even small amounts of
water.
But it seems others have the intake directly at the air filter, inside the engine compartment. Just drawing in hot air from behind the radiator will reduce engine efficiency.
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:00
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:00
Ok.. Fair enough....
I have only ever had Patrols...And never been an issue...
I would have thought with a moving vehicle the air wouldnt be so hot unless it was a stinking hot day.....
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:31
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:31
Voxson,
I am like you and have never understood why people say the cleaner air argument. I have one on my Patrol which was an experiment to see if this could reduce engine heat (which it did not) but out of this experiment, I am finding that I am cleaning the air filter heaps more often with heaps more insects and what not in the filter so I think the
snorkel actually failed in both it's pretences being claimed here. I would still have one if I was doing a lot of
water crossings.
I am not however going to remove the
snorkel on my Patrol and leave a huge hole in my front guard !! and my Jackeroo will not get one either.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:52
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:52
Trevor R,
..........'was an experiment to see if this could reduce engine heat(which it did not)', it's really hard to understand someone elses logic. Why oh why would you expect a snorkle to reduce engine heat???. There are one hell of a lot of components that make up an engine, all of them get hot.
andy
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:33
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:33
Trevor, I agree on the bugs etc. Used to have a Troopie with a
snorkel which sucked all manner of things out of the air which my 'unsnorkelled' 80 series doesn't with the air intake infront of the wheel arch and inbetween the panels.
Water- crossings are another story though.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:54
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:54
This directed to Andy,
The experiment with heat reduction in my overheating GU has been ongoing since I bought it new in 2001. It has progressed from Intercooler fitted to all kinds of other efforts and one of those advised to me by Nissan and other supposedly informed people was that a
snorkel reduces the intake temp of air and therefore may help reduce the onset of overheating and help my situation. Basically it failed to do so. This was by no means the only thing I did to try and prevent my engine from cooking itself inside to out., lots of fuel/air settings and all sorts of tricks to the cooling system by "people in the know" were tried but to date all have failed. Some have helped a little but the eventual winner was SLOWING DOWN and dealing with what I got.
Hope this helps you understand my "experiment" and my "lack of logic" LOL.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:15
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:15
G'day Trevor, yeah ok, I'd heard that some poeple had mistakenly bought this model of Nissan.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:16
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:16
When I had a petrol Pajero I measured temperature inide the engine compartment that was 20 degrees above outside air temperature when travelling at highway speeds. Working hard at low speeds, the air behind teh radiator would be even higher.
So if your engine air intake is behind teh radiator, it will be preheated by at least 20 degrees.
This would be less for a Diesel since it is more heat-efficient.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 10:55
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 10:55
bleep , you should stick you're head under my bonnet on a 40c day after 50ks down a
soft beach! It's like opening the oven door - seriously! You have to pop the bonnet, and very quickly undoo the latch and snatch you're hands back so they don't get burned, then go in for another go and lift the bonnet with you face turned away and prop it up.
The surf will easily run the
water temp at 100c on the mechanical guage on a hot day, more if I push her for long periods (full throttle), EGT's I don't know as I don't have a Pyro but I shudder to think! I'm glad she's sucking the cool sea breeze in through the
snorkel on those days...
In the 4bies I've had in the past without snorkels, that
grey fine dust we get over here in WA was a KILLER on your air filters. You could go for a drive for half a day in
the pines and you're paper filter was a throw away job, no amount of compressed air could clean it! With the surf and
snorkel unless you are following someone else that is kicking up heaps of dust onto your windscreen, you'd never know you'd even been 4bying.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:01
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:01
Cheap insurance. While most may not intend to go through deep
water, a puddle going into a popular
waterhole up here went from a few inches deep to over bonnet within a few months. I think it claimed 3 radiators and 2 engines. Previously, you could walk across it in lace up workboots and not get wet socks.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:18
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:18
That's why it's suggested that you always walk a crossing first (and if I'd followed that rule, it would have saved me being bogged for four hours)
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:50
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:50
Its one of those puddles which doesn't look too bad, and in the wet you tend to cross it once a week or so to access middle springs. I got a real shock when I drove through the middle of it, and instead of the usual 3 - 6 inches,
water came just over the bonnet. I was lucky - my
snorkel had just arrived and was sitting on the front verandah at the time patiently waiting to be fitted. I was tempted to go back on a weekend, drive through a few times so there was wet tracks entering and exiting the middle, then hiding with a video camera. If I had a bit more of a mean streak, I would have done it. Probably would have won some cash on funny videos, and got beaten up as
well!
Snorkel got fitted the next day.
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:08
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:08
Since you are talking snorkels....
Ours was fitted in the NH Pajero the other week, no problems at all with it itself..
But (OK and I don't know all the technical terms here ok.. am only a girl!)
The way the
snorkel bits and pieces have been positioned under the bonnet is directly behind the drivers headlight.
The problem that we were thinking with this, is the bits and pieces are pot riveted here, sealed there..
how the heck are we suppose to change the headlight bulb? There just doesn't seem any other way to access the back of the head lamp unit without having all those bits and pieces removed?
Jo
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:21
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:21
That's hardly "fit for purpose" in a vehicle where headlight bulbs WILL need to be replaced.
If you buy goods that are not "fit for purpose" you are entitled to a refund under the trade practices act.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:25
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:25
Hey Mike.. yeh we just don't see any possible way that you could change a bulb without having to disassemble the whole lot under the bonnet..
My plan is to buy the new bulbs as required, stop buy the
shop that fitted the
snorkel and say 'here ya go, off to it!'
Jo
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:50
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 13:50
2 things Jo.
1) ONLY a girl????
2) Great Idea with the bulb replacement, make sure you video it.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:30
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 21:30
Hey Bonzareli!
'Only' a girl.... cause I'll admit I don't know it all yet!!!!!!
'THE' girl if I did know it all!!!!!!!!!
Mate honestly this bulb replacement, it even throws Mark out on how it could be done without pulling everything out!
I'll have to take a
pic of it and you can see for yourself!
Jo
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:31
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:31
hmmm yer wanna see the passenger side Nissan one Jo, I always lose skin changing them, or have done three times, not blown just me doing a Roachie.... We can swap pics if ya like
Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:15
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 23:15
yeh same here, no bulb blown but want to change to the
bright white bulbs but what if a bulb was blown and we needed to change!
Send me some pics Bonz.. jarsofclay@optusnet.com.au
I'll send some back when you email.
Jo
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:31
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:31
Is your vehicle diesel or petrol? Do you know where your air intake actually is located? Have you seen it? When you do actually locate and eyeball it you will see why people recomend fitting a
snorkel.
I would not be suprised if some vehicles can get water into the air intake while fording a large puddle caused by a blocked drain at the supermarket
carpark!
Do you know anyone who has the same model vehicle as you and has already fitted a snorkle? Some makes fit better then others so have a look at a vehicle that already has one fitted before you choose which brand. If you can spare the $ I recomend you fit one as insurance against sand, dust and water ingestion.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:35
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:35
A
snorkel is a definate!
I got in big trouble off my mechanic the other week! we had been driving on the sunday, went through some bog holes nothing dramatic at all, but got in big trouble because the air box was filled with water and mud. In a very stern voice I get.. 'Now you are going to fit a
snorkel aren't you???'
Yes I said it is already booked in for thursday! hence then the
snorkel went on without any delay!
Jo
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:07
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:07
Can't speak for other vehicles, but Landrover Defenders which are electronic (TD5s) are more likely to see water killing the computer before it kills the engine. Perhaps it is the same for other vehicles as
well in this age of electonically controlled vehicles.
We are currently doing up a TDI Defender 130 and have elected not to fit one, couldn't see the point as I would need water over the bonnet before it would be a problem. Some people might regularly go through extremely deep water, but unless you do it seems like an unnecessary expense.
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:26
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:26
I went to purchase a nissan patrol diesel and as we were doing the paperwork the sales man said I would need a snorkle fitted otherwise I would void my warranty if I went on unsealed roads.
As I walked out I advised the sales man that if Nissan build a 4WD that needs an optional extra to go on unsealed roads then what else is not suitable.
Generally speaking the higher you get the air intake the less dust will enter.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:00
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:00
Was the sales man joking? and did you tell him/her to go jump? Some of them have hides as thick as they think our minds must be, to come out with crap like that.
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:05
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:05
Went and bought a Pajero instead and made sure he new what I had done. Probably the same as saying go jump.
Reply By: 3F62 - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:35
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:35
If you drove a deisel off road & incl water i would be a YES for the
snorkel...... But if you have a pathfinder i presume its a petrol, you say no water crossings "planned" but dust will be an issue......... save your $400 dollars on a
snorkel & look into a free flow air filter like a K&N etc........ you "might" pickup a very slight fuel improvment....... but you will have cleaner air flow to the motor.
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:00
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:00
Beg to differ. Recent article posted on this site proves the "Free Flow" filters "freely" allow the dust straight into your engine.... ;-(
Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:37
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:37
There is only one reason I ever put a
snorkel on and that is to bring your air intake up away from water while driving through deep water.
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:50
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:50
Apologies to those that actually need, and really use, these accessories, but.....
For the most part snorkels, bull bars and
driving lights are nothing more than a fashion accessory.
They serve as much practical use as a neck tie. In 90% of cases that is.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:31
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:31
Jimbo, for the 'average' 4WD (Toorak Tractor), you are absolutely right. There are so many 4Bs around with snorkels that have never seen dirt or sand, let alone water.
But I'd have thought most people with the interest in travel and 4WDing to venture onto this
forum are more than likely to go off road. That often means water.
If your air intake is 800mm off the graound, it doesn't take 800mm of water to get water in it. More like 300mm.
As for bull bars (have one) apart from somewhere to hang the UHF and winch (if you have one) a big part is looks, but it's not a 4B without one).
Driving lights? We do lots of travel. Just got back from 14,000KM trip. Don't have
driving lights. Night is not for driving. It is for camp fires, red wine, telling stories, star gazing, etc.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:43
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:43
Agree Norm,
When I lived in
Townsville and did a lot of night travel (the GQ had dangerously poor headlights) I fitted a bar and lights. Gave me good vision and protection from the night wanderers.
Now that I've moved back to civilisation (
Melbourne) I don't do a lot of night travel, so lights (the standard ones on the Terracan are fine) and a bar are uneccesary. I've spent the dough on stuff that gives me better ability off road, to wit,
suspension and tyres.
Horses for course Mate.
PS. It still humours me to see Patrols and Cruisers getting around
Melbourne with all the 4wd essentials; bar, lights,
snorkel AND road tyres. Whose pud are they pulling? Their own, obviously.
Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:51
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 19:51
JJ
Just got back from the Cape, 7 vehicles including 2 pathfinders (no snorkels).
One tried to cross a deep
creek crossing and filled his motor with water. Luckily it was a petrol so by removing the plugs we removed an engine full of water. With a
snorkel there would have been no troubles.
We have a GU with
snorkel & use socks in the
snorkel that removes approx 90% of the dust, We used 5 socks & did not have to clean the main filter.
Good Luck
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:48
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 21:48
I rekon we were swimming at Cockatoo Creek when you guys went through...
I rekon he would have flooded his car at Nolans (Bridge Creek)...
I rekon you guys had a Suburban that didnt like Cockatoo entrance...
I rekon you guys must have bought bulk beach awnings before you left...
Or i might be wrong....
Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:36
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 17:36
If this happened on the 4th July then::
I reckon you are right about the first 2 comments but the 3rd & 4th don't seem to fit.
We were a group of 7 vehicles from the
Sydney Nissan Patrol Club that included 3 GU patrols, 1 GQ, 2 Pathfinders & 1 red Pajero
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:01
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 22:01
Oh ok.. The suburban wasnt with you i just remembered...
And the beach awnings comment was because the Pathys both seemed to have those beach awnings multi coloured thingos as water blinds....
Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 10:44
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 10:44
I seem to recall you blokes swimming at Cockatoo creek & the blinds you talk about where from the same place that these people bought tents from. Was a pile of offcuts apparently
Reply By: camollie - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:59
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:59
Jimbo it is obvious you have not spent much time living & working in the outback if you had you would know the true benifit of having a bull bar & spotties they are not an accessory item to those in the bush.
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 03:10
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 03:10
Maybe you missed his first sentence; 'Apologies to those that actually need, and really use, these
accessories, but..... '
I agree with Jimbo.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:28
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:28
I think the point Jimbo was trying to make was that most 4WDs don't go off the bitumen - THESE 4WDs don't need these options.
Reply By: nonon - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:25
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:25
I fitted a
snorkel to my 3.0 GU after having trouble with the MAFS because of dust/sand from outback WA roads. It has a sock inside the head which catches all the bugs and sticks and a lot of dust, and the airfilter has been spot on ever since.
Nissan in
Port Hedland have Patrols with MAFS problems almost daily, all because of the dusty gravel roads and poor location of the air pickup.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:07
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:07
Hi nonon do you have a pic of the sock thing, I reckon my snorkels sockless and would like to fit one, my email is behind my rig pic thenx
Follow Up By: nonon - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:56
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 22:56
Bonz, any forby
accessories place that does snorkels will have them. I take mine out regularly and clean it in petrol, and I used to oil it as well, but I can't be stuffed oiling it any more.
It does a dandy job of "pre-filtering" all the big stuff, down to sand size stuff, so the main air filter stays clean a lot longer.
You can also get a
snorkel "beanie" which sits over the head of the
snorkel but I don't think it would last long in the bush.
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:33
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:33
JJ - you should have found the article on Snorkels covered these issues, but if you didn't find it, see Site Link
Follow Up By: JJ - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:13
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:13
Thanx Michelle.
Sorry, it didn't enter my mind to check Topic
Search, but I did take note of "related keywords" (below post) which are '
cooking' and 'water'...quite irrelevant I thought.
None-the-less, we got a good response of varying opinions, greatly assisting us in making the 'big decision', and has no doubt helped many other readers.
Reply By: JJ - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:22
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:22
Thanx all for a great bunch of helpful opinions that hopefully will assist others as well.
Now for the big decision of what is best for our over-all needs!!!
Reply By: allanmac856 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:32
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:32
Interesting subject here & TBH, I dont believe snorkles are the 'b all & end all' Hear stories of how much extra grunt etc etc, cleaner air etc etc, & notice some here also are skeptical.
Anyway I have a NL Paj & spend heaps of time up in the High Country, lots of river crossings & dust, plenty of it. Never had a major problem with dust, ok the filter gets a little in it, but nothing too bad. Some mates with snorkles seem to have much more.
In regard to river crossings, been in many deep ones with water over the bonnet & never had a problem with water.
(If I could post a pic here, I would). \
My solution?, the Michelle Sacs blind. Best $100 if spent. As well as keeping water out, helps with the bow wave.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:39
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 19:39
"If I could post a pic here, I would"
You can :))))))
Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:52
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:52
I had one fitted to my HJ47 (see profile) - given the age of the 2H motor and not wanting any cr*p in the diesel, plus cleaner air - I thought it was a sound option.
However, I have noticed it seems to run a lot smoother at speed than it used to.
Follow Up By: MP - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:12
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:12
I don't know if this has been already covered as I have skimmed over most of the thread, but with an open front
snorkel, at speed, air would be forced into the intake, rather than just sucked in from the engine bay. Mate of a mate with a Landie said his performance at speed improved after fitting a
snorkel. As I understand the cleaner, cooler and more air you get the better.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:11
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:11
Seems to be what's happening Mark :-)
Definitely runs better
Reply By: allanmac856 - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:31
Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:31
Ok. apic of a reasonably high river crossing; no probs with Michelle Sacs
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:09
Sunday, Aug 27, 2006 at 14:09
heres the pic (I hope)
Reply By: old mate - Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 01:43
Thursday, Aug 24, 2006 at 01:43
if it's an R50 Pathfinder, no one makes a snorkle off the shelf for it. Some guys on the Pathfinder
forum at www.pcoa.org.au have found a solution and a guy in in
Sydney apparantley can modify a Navara one to suit. Personally, if you don't go through water, not required. Can buy a lot of air filters for the price of a
snorkel. A good
snorkel for "cleaner air" should have a cyclonic pre cleaner on top. You would be suprised how much dust these will catch if in dusty conditions. I have seen many people with a Safari type snorkle with the intake reversed as not to ram dust down it whilst driving in the bush. I don't travel too close to the person in front. as others have said, depends where your intake is.