Dingo Dell closure??
Submitted: Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 09:30
Troop-a-dour
Does anyone out there have an update or confirmation of the closure of roads and area around
Dingo Dell?? From information received, a new landholder is (or was) considering closing Kowmung & Banshee
Trails- and generally fencing and gating off the
Dingo Dell area.
The owner states issues (hopefully NOT by ExplorOz people):
- Creation of new tracks, mostly on unsuitable steep slopes causing degredation & erosion
- Distribution of weeds over the valley floor by campers
- Leaving of rubbish on the property
-
Camping on the property in contravention of No Trespassing
signage.
This closure may affect the popular
Caves to
Caves trip, access to Morong Falls,
Dingo Dell and the spectacular Kanagra Walls.
If anyone has any info. I would be grateful!!!
Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:02
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:02
Have not heard of anything but please keep us informed (but i must say i went through last year with a friend first time since the early 80,s & was shocked to see
dingo del pack out with hoons doing doughnuts trying to just destroy the place the
ranger came thru took a few numbers & left & they just went back to want they were doing.)
Reply By: Shawn - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:10
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 17:10
Haven't heard anything on the closure, it would be a shame as it is a lovely drive and a great
camp site, albeit bloody cold in winter.
However a while ago (18 months ago) I saw @#$'heads doing donuts, etc at Limeburners and shooting at night around
Dingo Dell. That would not have helped the situation.
Shawn
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:30
Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:30
Yes that's all correct - the landowner you speak of sounds rather like the guy that sent me an email a few months ago outlining the closures of
routes that we had within one of our trek note and as a result we removed that trek note (Yeranderie).
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:34
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:34
if that is all correct then....
'ckwits behaving as such in the beautiful bush give me the first class bleep s. i never camped at
dingo dell myself, just drove through as it is too "public" but that drive goes through some great bush and the view to Morong Falls is the icing on the cake. will see what info I can get from Yerranderie.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:38
Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:38
dingo dell is news to Yerranderie but Limeburner's may actually be up for sale.
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 06:57
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 06:57
Mate of
mine followed it up with NPWS as we are doing a trip to Yerranderie shortly. He was advised the roads are still open and as they are public thoroughfares can be gated but not locked.
Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:05
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:05
G'day Richard
Thanks for your information.
When are you planning on being in the area???
Troop-a-dour
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:37
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:37
Camping at Yerranderie next weekend.
Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:48
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 09:48
Thanks mate
We're over on w/e 23/24..
Maybe you could give me a trip report?? And any interesting POIs???
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:12
Friday, Sep 01, 2006 at 14:12
Will do
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:02
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 13:02
Troop-a-dour
The weekend was wet so we went in on the Mt Werong track rather than over the Kowmung as we had two vehicles with H/T's. Mt Werong track has just been graded and is like a highway but even so was very slippery with one vehicle sliding off on a curve at about 30KPH and almost ending up against a tree.
Again on the way out we avoided Limeburners and used the Range Fire Trail which was more rocky and not as slippery coming out through
Wombeyan Caves.
As it was so wet and cold we only had a look around Yerranerie and on the way out stopped at the
well marked
rocky outcrop where the indigenous people ground edges on stones and at
Wombeyan Caves.