Supercharge Batteries

Submitted: Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:23
ThreadID: 36948 Views:2269 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Lookin through the archives, I see Mr Roachie adn others bought them 12ish mths ago..

How are you people finding them now - any issues? I know the murderer uses one in his Jack, just wondering who else has stories on em

thanks

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:35

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:35
There is a twin supercharge battery set up in the secondhand cruiser I bought 18 months ago. Don't know anything about them, but- have done quite a lot of off road since then. Not sure how long the batteries were in the vehicle before purchase. Absolutely no problems from the batteries to this time.
AnswerID: 190015

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:49

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 11:49
Been using them for a while now truckster.

First one lasted about 5-6 years , fitted another about 12months ago.

Fitted one to my daughters car a few months back , and probably need to replace my patrols battery shortly.

Happy enough to keep fitting them.
AnswerID: 190017

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:12

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:12
Bruce

Delkor is also a Calcium sealed battery - have 2 in the GU and they work very well. Alco (Tullamrine) are the importer and they do very good prices. Got my Fullriver from them (via Mainey).

AnswerID: 190019

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:30

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 12:30
Hi, Truckster ................

I have a Supercharge Gold 24 Series now fitted to the Troopy, following my incident last year at Vrilya Point.

This battery was installed by "blokes who know" about 4WD and batts. and has been OK since Nov. '05 ...............realize that this is not conclusive at this stage but ..................
AnswerID: 190024

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:37

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 14:37
Yes we love "Blokes who know" . If "Blokes who know" tell us, well we gotta listen..
FollowupID: 447681

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:06

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:06
ya have to read pedro's story in the archives on it.. the journey from hell by the sound of it .. but should have hit the dude whose flat tray your truck was on for the new battery! Since his lights were dead and he was using yours.
FollowupID: 447688

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 00:57

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 00:57
Yo, Truckster .................

Should have given the fuller story..........
"the flat tray truck dude" really was a Good Samaritan and the 'lights episode" was done with my OK............. we think his lights died coming out to rescue moi !! ...

he travelled in his own time, after work, at night, winched my vehicle on around midnight, eighty k's from the Heathland Ranger station on the PDR, then drove all night to get back to Weipa .......... and then put in a full days work ! And he has a new wife and very small child ...............
blokes don't get more gooder a Samaritan than that, hey .......

No criticism intended here ........... I should have been more explicit.

AND ...... he initially refused any form of reward, but I'm a persistent sheit for deeds like that !!!

FollowupID: 447819

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:11

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:11
G'day bloke,

Yep, I'm still happy with the double super-charge set-up I have in the Ultimate. Mind you, they don't get a huge workout really. Even though we do get out'n'about pretty often, the 3 stage charger keeps them "floating" whenever the camper is at home (most of the time, unfortunately;-((......) and then when I drag it outa the shed for a trip, the Patrol keeps them topped up too. It's only when the camper is left idle for a few days while we're camping, that the batteries have to work for a living.....running the 80 litre Engel, water pump, a few flouro's and the hi-fi etc. I've never seen the voltage at less than 12.6

I'm happy.....
AnswerID: 190051

Reply By: conman - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 15:24
I've got a couple in my ute, gold series. Only problem (and i dont know if others experience this) is that the caps are shi-te. Going up very steep hills, like Deua, I get acid leaking through the caps. Cant tighten them as the plastic thread just strips.
AnswerID: 190055

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:09

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:09
Mine in the jack is ace, been in there 3 years, single battery and runs the waceo 24/7 and can sit for 3 days with out starting and cranks no worries, love the supercharger.

Might have some other options for you

murder
AnswerID: 190111

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:09

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:09
do tell.. :D
FollowupID: 447876

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:26

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:26
I have some old AAA sitting around we could solder together...
FollowupID: 447888

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:28

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:28
but you have no solder.
FollowupID: 447889

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:04

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:04
If he took a Codral flu tablet he could solder on ...

Sorry

Pete
FollowupID: 447897

Reply By: ACDC - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:41

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 20:41
Does not matter which battery you get one thing is for sure,it's guaranteed to fail!!
AnswerID: 190116

Follow Up By: nonon - Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:10

Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 23:10
Yeah.

Problem is, for a lot of people, they fail right when it's most inconvenient. Come to think of it, apart from when your car is at the auto electrics, when isn't inconvenient?
FollowupID: 447809

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:16

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:16
our rfs tankers and pcs have them. don't know the attrition rate, the shire maintains them. as you probably know though, we use isolators for when they are sitting in the shed.
AnswerID: 190186

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 09:00

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 09:00
We ended up hooking up trickle chargers to ours to make sure... but yea nothing better than 3am gettin a MVA and cant even start the flammin pig!
FollowupID: 447849

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 09:09

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 09:09
yeah we've got a trickle on the Cat 1. apart from the rare occasion when we might be waiting for crew, the only thing that slows us down is when there is a power outage. the roller door is so huge the chain pull is waaaay too slow, quicker to use the gennie off the truck.
FollowupID: 447852

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:11
We had a Tilt-a-door :) much easier ..

Funny when Engadine got their new truck, adn while in the station put a new ladder up on top, then 3am got a callout to a house call, and ripped the door clean off the station walls.. lmao
woke up a few neighbours, that were already pist with the constant sirens in the middle of the night..
FollowupID: 447877