Hilux 3lt turbo

Submitted: Monday, Aug 21, 2006 at 22:21
ThreadID: 36975 Views:5427 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
I've had a SR5 3lt turbo Hilux for almost 5 years now. Happy with the car except for the tortion bar IFS. Thinking of getting a 2nd hand 3lt Hilux with live axle and low kms. Would it be better to get a non turbo and have an aftermarket one fitted, or buy one with a factory turbo? Does the Denco perform better than the factory turbo? Would it be worth fitting an intercooler?

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:45

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 07:45
A word of caution. Generally, boosted engines are designed for the additional power. Heavier crank, pistons, con rods etc. Adding a turbo after the event could well lead to premature engine failure. I'm not saying it will, rather I'm saying you increase your chances of things going belly up.

AnswerID: 190181

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:41

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:41
Just curious where are you going to find a live axel 3.0lt diesel from the factory. Can't remember ever seeing one from Toyota.

AnswerID: 190191

Reply By: CHRIS UREN - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:46

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 08:46
Bear in mind that all Hiluxes since 1997 have IFS, and no 3ltr Hilux has RFS, since
that particular engine size ( 5L and 5LE) came out in 1997 and ran all the way to the end of '04

Cheers, Chris
AnswerID: 190192

Reply By: strzelecki - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:28

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:28
G'day Twinkle,what are you not happy about regarding the ifs.

What would be the latest year and configeration for a live axle hilux and would that include a factory turbo model?
AnswerID: 190229

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:01

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:01
Hilux didnt come out with a turbo from the factory in Aus until the model that used the 1KZTE, which was brought out 9/99, therefore no RFS Turbo Hilux has ever been produced ( for this country, anyway)

Chris at Lane Toyota
FollowupID: 447884

Follow Up By: strzelecki - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:51

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:51
Chris,I have a 1985 lux that needs replacing,it has been an exceptionally good vehicle.I am concerned the new hilux is not going live up to the "old girl" mainly in regard to clearance and robustness,I do not want any mods to the vehicle other than a tyre swap.It is to be used as a farm ute (hilly muddy slopes of gippsland) and general duties.Am I being unduly concerned?
FollowupID: 447896

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:18

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:18
Strzelecki,

The new Hilux, as you would now know, has IFS, and as such does not have the ground clearance of previous model Hiluxes, however as a farm ute it would be ideal, and a sight more comfortable as the tough old '85 lux!

I reckon that with a change to more appropriate tyres, the only thing that would stop one on a farm is if you had to traverse deep ruts, otherwise i dont think you'd have any problems

Cheers, Chris
FollowupID: 448096

Reply By: Twinkles - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:53

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:53
I may have been missinformed. I was told the Hilux came in 3ltr factory turbo and non turbo with live axle.
AnswerID: 190304

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:54

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:54
Why not have a live axle conversion done on your current box?
AnswerID: 190305

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:01

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:01
Just get the rear limo tightened or add a rear locker. I have solid front end on my SR5 hilux and 3 of my mates have IFS, IFS is smother, better steering, why would you want to go back to solid unless you use it for extreme off road use where you want more wheel travel etc. One of my mates has his 5L after market turbo and goes a lot harder and pulls alot more up the hills at 8 pound boost then our other mates 1KZ motor BUT I bet the 1Kz will out live the 5L as they were not built for a turbo. So far my mate has been lucky and had no problems and has 180k on his now has been on since about 40k. Time will tell. For what purpose do you use the vehicle ??? Most of the IFS have had no problems getting to where we go and even going out on the weekends to play around up at the Newnes at Lithgow there are some pretty challenging tracks up there and yes I have a slight edge over them but at the end of the day its a case of do I need to go there and if so 9 times out of 10 there is an easier way, if you are looking at doing some real hard 4wd then go a 80 series cruiser or nissan patrol best of both worlds, power and wheel travel, comfort and coils on all corners ???? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 190307

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:11
I find in rough country, rocky or diagonal holes, I have to rush and bash/bounce over where vehicles with live axle and longer travel crawl. The car has done 200,000 now. Ive put aftermarket shockers, new back springs, tortion bars, steering damper about 40,000 ago. Front wound up a bit, back 2" lift. Gives a hard ride and stil have wheels in air on rough terrain. Needs new bits in steering. Don't want to spend more in that department. I'd like a Patrol, but fuel and purchase costs hold me back. I have a 1KZ-TE motor. Happy with it, very reliable, wish it got better economy. What is fuel consumption of a Patrol, current diesel motor?
FollowupID: 447970

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:24

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 20:24
Hi there Twinkles, yes know where your coming from thats why my mate just had his limo tightened up for that exact reason, exactly what you said my mates the same where myn will walk up/over most things he gets there more by momentum by giving it a bit more gas and the front lifts more and the limo pushes him the rest of the way. He has 2 inch lift right round but since lifting the front has found that it doesnt have the downward travel it used to but gained more ground clearance obviously. He is actually going to drop down an inch in the front again, I'm surprised you find your economy the way it is, my other mates 1KZ uses on average 9/11 per 100 klms mix of freeway and city and 4wdriving. I believe from what I have read on here the 4.2 Diesel patrols are getting around the 13/15 per 100. I think for memory the 3.0 is around the 11/13. I havnt heard one bad thing about the 1KZ even no problems with turbo's. My mate works for Toyota where I use to work and he said they have had no engine problems what so ever the only thing was a fuel pump which bleep its self due to water in fuel and stuffed the sensors in the pump and cost the lady 3.5k for a new one ouch!! my old 2.8 cost me around the 650 mark, huge differance mind you Id rather the power of the 1KZ then the old 2.8 if you have driven one you will know what I mean. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 448009

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:08

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:08
Thanks Steve. My economy is between 9.5 and 11 too. Towing causes a dramatic drop tho. I have an off road trailer with a flip over hard floor. I'd just like better economy, but I suppose a bit unrealistic if you want to drive a 4by. After all this feed back I'll probably hang on to it and just repair any problems due to wear. I expect the motor to last for years yet.
FollowupID: 448043