Waeco or Engel, i can't decide.

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 10:47
ThreadID: 36985 Views:3175 Replies:22 FollowUps:27
I really need your opinions and assistance. I have a big choice to make.

As it is starting to heat up and the sun is coming out I want to keep things a bit cooler.

I have an opportunity to trial both a Waeco and Engel product. What I really need is some ideas about what I should be looking for to compare. The one thing that I dont have to worry about is price - I can get either fot the same cost.

Or is there another brand I could look at.

I have a photo of both below

of them

So far I have worled out that they are both made in China

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:07

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:07
Baz,

That's a beauty.

Don't be surprised if you still generate some debate over it.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 190225

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:10

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:10
You know what they say... "if you want to get ahead, get a hat".
AnswerID: 190226

Reply By: DaveNQ - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:11

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:11
It depends where they are made because anything stitched in China is useless,,,,,,apparently.
AnswerID: 190227

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:46

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:46
That is not so . They can make any quality you are willing to pay for . Most of the expensive clothes are "stitched in China " and most of the camping eqipment too.
FollowupID: 447906

Follow Up By: DaveNQ - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:10
Yeah Willie, that was my point, i just went about it in a smart @ss sort of way. People continuously bag made in China products ,and yet they hold a sh-tload share of the market. Try and buy something thats not made in China or at least have some part of it made there, and all of a sudden the options become very limited.

FollowupID: 447912

Follow Up By: macca172 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19
Just bought an Engle 40ltr fridge last week, Stamped all over the box "Made in Thailand"!
FollowupID: 447935

Follow Up By: macca172 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:21
Just bought an Engel 40ltr fridge last week, Stamped all over the box "Made in Thailand"!
FollowupID: 447937

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:20

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:20
Everything is made in china, the only thing soon that wont be (although Mr Sheen will try) made there will be aussie babies..
AnswerID: 190228

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:31

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:31
I think the pretty blue one would look good on you LOL

Regards Bob
AnswerID: 190230

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:47

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 11:47
Baz

From personal experience of both, and reading the passionate debates on threads like this one, I would suggest the following three step procedure:

1. See if the Managing Partner has a preference - if so buy that.
2. Find a twenty cent coin. Decide that heads is Engel and Tails is Waeco.
3. Spin the coin 5 times - which ever comes down three or more times, buy that one. If it comes down on its edge, buy both!

It really does not matter. Much more important that you run heavy cables from the battery, both active and neutral, to the fridge.
I duck for cover!!

Max
AnswerID: 190232

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:19
1. managing partner doesn't care

2. 2 to 1

3. 2 to 3

Which ment i came out tied

I thought about heavy cables for windy days but they would look silly on the hats so i went for light cables but they failed to meet drop standards, so i'm back to square one ;0((
FollowupID: 447934

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:13

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:13
Does any know if either one of these adjusters would be the stronger, i'm worried the velcro may lose it sticking capabilities over time.

The one size fits all is a good idea.

AnswerID: 190235

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:21

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:21
Geez, mate. EVERYONE knows that the Waeco latches are better than the Engel velcro jobbies........ ;-))
FollowupID: 447887

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:32

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:32
I'm trying to work out what is in the background of the above photo.
My first thought that it may have been a couple of lemons in the bowl which would have given the impression that either brand were lemons, however my second opinion is that it is apples in the bowl and therefore whichever you choose, she'll be apples.
I wonder if Trailblazer make hats?
FollowupID: 447890

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:29

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:29
Dems green apples Des, i'll try Trailblazer if they make a hat, but it will have to match the quality of these one's.

Baz ;-))
FollowupID: 447941

Reply By: nonon - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:25

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:25
As a user of this type of item, day in day out, the velcro one is as livable as the buckle because once you have adjusted it you will never think about it again. There are not many made in aus now, only one or two brands who make fur-felt [good] like the akubra, or wool-felt [not so good]
AnswerID: 190238

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:36

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:36
The Waeco looks gay
AnswerID: 190241

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:41

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:41
and the Engel looks real sick
FollowupID: 447893

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:38

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:38
And there I was thinking "Not another pointless Engel /Waeco debate" but I clicked on it anyway.... and I was right!

Good one Redback

Pete
AnswerID: 190242

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:43

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 12:43
haha, sucked me in also, couldn't believe that Baz was posting this stuff until I read both the same price...haha yeah sure
FollowupID: 447894

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:13

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:13
Which one has the best battery protection........... oops sorry sun protection ;-)))
FollowupID: 447928

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:37

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:37
If you fit a Hiclone under the brim the cooling effect will be a lot better!
FollowupID: 447944

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:50

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 13:50
The light blue one is wae cool .
AnswerID: 190255

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:35

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:35
Grooooaaaan!
FollowupID: 447943

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:44

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:44
Depends on what engel your looking from :-)))
FollowupID: 447945

Reply By: strzelecki - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:30

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 14:30
I think you have wae too much time on your hands.
AnswerID: 190261

Reply By: Emo - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:14

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:14
I prefer the new ones with the elastic inside so it doesn't have any catch at the back.
AnswerID: 190272

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:20

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:20
Do you think i could modify these that way :-))
FollowupID: 447936

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:56

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 15:56
BCF stores in Brisvegas had a Waeco promo when the stores first opened ,scored one of the Waeco solar panel protectors , have had to wash it a few times already but it still performs like new , in my personal opinion the Engle job has just too much writing on it ,people have to get right inyourface to read it , Waeco the way to go !! LOL.
AnswerID: 190284

Reply By: Groove - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:03

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:03
I think the dearker one would get hotter than the lighter coloured one and as such would heat up your head more. Thus once agin proving the waeco to be the better designed product.
AnswerID: 190287

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:48

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 16:48
Considering both Waeco and Engel are excellent products I think you will find Waeco are cheaper per litre. If you like the metal finish buy an Engel. If you can get either for the same price take the Engel , my shopping tells me Engel is dearer so for the same price it would be a bargain.

AnswerID: 190302

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:06

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 17:06
Redback,

You could go for the Bushman that has a a digital readout and a small solar powered fan on top. Comes with a warranty it needs it....
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 190308

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:12

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 18:12
Ya know i think some of you blokes should read the post again, then take a couple of humour pills and have a lie down.

Jeeeezus you guys are way to serious.

AnswerID: 190333

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:13

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:13
yup
FollowupID: 448079

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:13

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 01:13
...or just maybe a little slow?
FollowupID: 448080

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:48

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:48
did anyone notice, out of all the replies on this thread that not once, was price an issue, so we really are the lucky country [ thanks wa]. cheers
AnswerID: 190397

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:55

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 21:55
It was a JOKE ya know humour, and besides price was mentioned as i said,
"The one thing that I dont have to worry about is price - I can get either fot the same cost."

OMG
FollowupID: 448036

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:15

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:15
i know it was a joke redback but none of the REPLIES had anything about the price i was looking for BAIT daah.cheers
FollowupID: 448048

Follow Up By: oldmagpie2 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:19

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:19
you know what forget about that last answer i just realised why you need two hats .ha .cheers
FollowupID: 448050

Follow Up By: nonon - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:20

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 23:20
LOLOLOLOL well done oldmagpie2 but just be carefull not to insinuate that our Tasmainian cousins actually have a sense of humour!! te he
FollowupID: 448066

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:24

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 07:24
"you know what forget about that last answer i just realised why you need two hats .ha .cheers "

yep, and why would that be
FollowupID: 448088

Reply By: Tabz72 - Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Aug 22, 2006 at 22:26
Redback,
Must have missed past debates on this subject, but all I can say is I bought a 29 Lt Engel in 1982 (yep 24 years ago) and it is still in the back of our vehicle and used most weeks.
Summertime it doubles as a bar / barby fridge at home.
It has never been re-gassed or repaired in any way.That reliability is certainly good enough for me to replace it with the same brand if it does die. Your decision!!
Tabz
AnswerID: 190424

Follow Up By: Member - Bill I (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:18

Tuesday, Sep 05, 2006 at 13:18
Tabz72,

Just wondering how the LPG conversion was going? You mentioned in July you were getting a 93l usable tank.

Hows the fuel economy, range, reliability, use in general?

FollowupID: 450769

Follow Up By: Tabz72 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:06

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:06
Bill I,
Have only done a couple of tank fulls at this stage so really can not comment about economy much as has been all city stop start driving, but appears to be a bit up on what petrol was. That said I am buying 2.5 > 3 lts of gas to 1 of petol.
I leave on the long weekend for a couple of week trip from Adelaide to Bathurst and back towing a 18 foot caravan, so I will report back at the end of October. See how it all goes.
Tabz72
FollowupID: 451932

Follow Up By: Member - Bill I (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:12

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:12
Thanks Tabz,

Be interested to hear how the towing goes. You mentioned you installed a 93 litre usable tank, did that replace both petrol tanks or only the smaller one next to the spare tyre space? Do you still have petrol as well?

FollowupID: 451995

Follow Up By: Tabz72 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:53
Hi Bill,
I had the back 55 Lt tank and spare tyre removed. I still have 96 Lt front petrol tank, so have plenty of fuel overall. The system always starts on petrol and changes over to LPG after a few seconds or when ever I want to do it manually by just pressing a button (not a toggle type setup like older systems)
I'll get back to you after our trip,
Tabz.
FollowupID: 454217

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:41

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 08:41
The waeco hat doesn't go with my eyes, I hear ExplorOz have nice hats to wear, at least you will get asked when walking down the road what's your nickname on the site.
DOH! getting back to the fridges, I like Engel , what I don't like about them is they are taller in the back on my truck than the waeco

Just did a spell checker b4 I sent this off and it doesn't recognize waeco, that might mean something. It also didn't have the word "nice" in the dictionary
AnswerID: 190469

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:59

Wednesday, Aug 23, 2006 at 09:59
I detect a note of "devious/mischievious" in the original post...... LOL (Do some people not get it???)

I reckon go the Akubra, a good Aussie "allrounder"
AnswerID: 190485

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:28

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:28
Who me

Naaaah i would never;-))

Some never got it, oh well.

Oh i already have an Akubra, i wear both caps now on my 2 heads, apparently i have 2 heads.

Seriously though i wear the Engel when touring and when i do serious offroad i wear the Waeco ;-)
FollowupID: 451999